(2007/08) August 2007 MTBs

an_gal,
I hope I will enjoy man!
I'm going this time cos i enjoyed the last 3 cruise trips.
the first was on Sun Cruise which had already sunk!
will check with Gynae if there are remedies for sea sickness suitable for preggies, just in case got very choppy waves!

choco,
ya i bet Doren will be so excited and distracted that he wont feel a thing on the cruise.

bliss
i went for 8d7n when i was pg. only 1 day when the water was very choppy then i was throwing up, but even hubby was sick, so not fair to say it was due to pgy.

over the counter motion sickness drug some cannot take, so if you need motion sickness drug, best to get from your dr. the non medical solution for motion sickness is prob those wrist band. mine was called seabands, not sure what they are called here, can ask the pharmacy.

enjoy.

JTS:
after the long waited, NTUC having offere for nepia 2 for 26.95 and pampers active 3 for 45.95 from today.

xman,
ya lor...a long wait...den today flip thru the papers and i go "WOW! cool!" a lot on sales...
i muz go stock up this weekends...

RE: GUG trial
anyone interested? i called them up and we can haf our own trial class..max of 12 babies...details as below.

RE: GUG trial
Date: 12th Oct (Sun)
Time : 2pm
Venue : United Sq
Fee: $50 inclusive of GST

1)woof
5)
6)
7)
8)
9)
10)
11)
12)

if you are keen, pls add on to the list.
Thereafter, PM me ur name, baby's name, baby's DOB and contact no.

chatty,
i've packed ur 'parcel'...will mailed out tml..
have included one pcs of NTUC brand for u too

bliss
paiseh I forgot u preggie.. u cannot take the sturgeron.. u can take anything with ginger as it's safe for preggie, ask ur gynae tho, cos if you have some high temp, u may not wanna take ginger.. the motion sickness band is find for preggie, in fact it's recommended by US gynae to prevent MS..
Call these two shops, I bought before in Sea-Land lucky Plaza.. can't rem the price.. the brand is sea-band..

SEA-LAND SPORTS
304 Orchard Road, #B1-71 Lucky Plaza S'pore 238863. Tel: 65-62353377

WORLD SPORTS
304 Orchard Road, #B1-113 Lucky Plaza, S'pore 238863. Tel: 65-67354922

wOOF,
Ike's been having hair fetish since he was 8 months old and it gets worse now!! I hope this phase out soon! cos I am loosing my hair oredi..

Loh oh no!! Poor thing.. Has he start eating well? maybe best top up his milk with rice cereal, to beef him up..

BLiss,
check out guardian first, cos one of my friends said she bought before (like 5 years ago hahaha)

it should look similar like these

1744077.jpg

or

1744078.jpg

xman and cola, how big are ur BBs now?
don't need to force your BBs to learn, at this age they have very good photographic memory, that is how flash cards come about. we juz need to repeat and repeat, few mths later u'll see the result. a good thing is that my gals like to flip the books that i bot for them (they r similar to the flash cards, wif pic & words). actually i oways thot my gals r oni able to call out the names of the animals / things when they see the pic, but today we try to pause each word when it appears on the video b4 it was read out, and ask them what r the words, to our great surprise they can recognize >90% of the words. be it colours, animals, action, etc. it can b as short as "red" or even as long as "giraffe"! i'm so happy!!

cola, u stay 15th flr so at least ur gals got high chance to learn till at least 15 very fast. my gals oso very interested in the jumping no.s, but unfortunately we stay on the 7th flr oni, haha.

jenny, thanks for ur recommendation, actually i oredi bot this set of VCD during the book exhb this yr, haha! my gals like to see ur niece reading, esp the one reading san zi jing! they kept asking my hubby to repeat tt slot for them to see! :-D
the reason i choose this VCD rather than other educational software at the exhb, is becos it can be shown on the TV and they donnit to b tie down to the seats too. i don like the idea of asking little kids to sit still infront of the pc/laptop. no good for their eye-sights.

bliss, aiyoh, how come i say cook water.. shd be boil water... anyway, just recalled, we cannot cook or boil water.. don't think they have given us an electric kettle... but you can request for hot water via room service. That's what i did the last round. But I don't know if they will charge if u ask for more. we have two rooms so we ask for 2 flask and they never charge us.

an_gal,

ya, 28.95, my memory so bad nowadays, but remeber last time the offer is better, forgot 3 for how much but after caculate its $13 per pack. now use nepia for night, day time my mum said will start using training pants, as recently the weather so hot, it's suffer for bb to wear the diapers whole day. though we change every 3 to 4 hrs, but there's still strong smell.

woof,
ya, u can get the petpet it has offer too.

twinsmama,

my gal will be 14 months in less than 2 weeks time. I start using glenn doman flash card only this month, so far didnt see any effect, let's wait and see. the instructor also say must wait for several months b4 u see the effect, as long as she enjoy the learning then I'm happy liao.

bliss,
I remembered virgo only gave us a few bottles of mineral water during the stay, don remember given any kettle in the room.

nining,
haha, did the little gal scream when ike pull her hairs?

Morning gals...
What a day to start with.. raining so heavily and jam!!!

Twin mama,
Are u a new joinee in this thread? Never see you before.
My girl is 13th month old today!!!! I think the book that you mentioned is similar as what I have, books with pictures.. like a flash card.. yes my girl likes to flip as well, but on bad day, she tears them!! which she will get either a scolding or a spanking from me for tearing her books!!

Not like xman, I am a bit cheapo.. wont be buying expensive materials such as GD cards hahaha

haha, cola,

my gal always tear the magazine, but those magazine all free one, either get from kiddy palace "living well baby" or from watson"living well" or some ad mag that someone leave in my mail box, my gal enjoy tear it and play. I just let it be since free.never spank her leh, maybe I spoil her liao, always she3 bu2 de2 scold her.or maybe she didnt do things that beyond my limit yet.

Xman,

I dun think it is a good habit for baby to tear books ler..

I dun want meg to have a habit of tearing books next time.. until now she seldom tears our magazine or whatever booklet.. just that occasionally she will "ren bu zu" and tear..
so whenever meg tears books (irregardless of whose book is that), I will give her a scolding..
anyway she is naughty, she knows it is wrong, coz everytime after tearing she will glance at us.. when we scold her.. she wont cry but about to cry that kind of face..

You are really patient ler.. I just cant stand her testing my limit sometimes.. she knows i love her tho. coz after scolding her, she will still cling tightly to me.. and give me a hug or a kiss.. i dun want to spoil her at all.. hahaha but i do feel guilty after scolding her hahaha..

pampers active 3 for 45.95???!!!!

is for how many pcs pack??

cos normally 1 pack of L 60pcs, is ard 34++, average each pcs is 58cents...

this offer price is really cheap!!

yest receive sms from Mead Johnson and abbott to assure us that they dun use diary ingredients from china

also receive this list from my friend
Tuesday September 23, 2008 MYT 8:01:38 PM

Health Ministry's list of safe milk products

Mead Johnson
(Milk ingredient sourced from Australia, New Zealand, United States and Europe)
Enfalac A+
Enfalac Routine Infant Formula
Enfapro A+
Enfapro Routine Follow Up Formula
Enfagrow A+ Vanilla
Enfagrow A+ Original
Enfagrow A+ Honey
Enfakid A+ Original
Enfakid A+ Honey
Sustagen Junior Honey
Sustagen Junior Vanilla
Sustagen Junior Chocolate
Sustagen Kid Honey
Sustagen Kid Vanilla
Sustagen Kid Chocolate
Sustagen School Honey
Sustagen School Vanilla
Sustagen School Chocolate
Enfamama A+ Chocolate
Enfamama A+ Vanilla
Enfalac A+ AR
Enfalac A+ HA
Prosobee
Enfalac LF
Enfalac A+ Premature Powder

Dumex
(Milk ingredient sourced from Australia and New Zealand )
Mamex Gold Step 1
Dulac Infant Formula
Bebelac Step 1
Mamex Gold Step 2
Dupro Follow Up Formula
Bebelac Step 2
Mamil Gold Step 3
Mamil Gold Step 4
Dugro 1 Plus
Dugro 3 Plus
Dugro 6 Plus
Bebelac Kid Step 3
Bebelac Kid Step 4
Bebelac FL
Bebelac EC
Mamex LF
Nutrakids Cereals
Mamil Mama

Nestle
(Milk ingredient sourced from Australia , New Zealand , United States and Europe )
Nestle Yogurt Drinks
Nestle Bliss Zero Fat Yogurt Drink
Nestle Premium Fruit Yogurt
Nestle Natural Yogurt
Yoco range
Nespray Instant
Everyday Instant filled milk powder
Nestle Omega Acticol
Nespray Cergas
Nesvita High Cal Non Fat
Nespray 1+ Original
Nespray 1+ Honey
Nespray 3+ Original
Nespray 3+ Honey
Nespray 5+
Neslac 1+ Original
Neslac 1+ Honey
Neslac 3+ Original
Neslac 3+ Honey
Milo range of products
Kit Kat range of products
Nestle Potong red bean
Nestle Milky Bar and Crunch
Mat Kool range of products
Nestle Tropicana Lime/Vanilla
Nestle Crunch
Nestle Original Lime/Vanilla
Sundae cup KFC Vanilla
Nestle Sundae Cup Vanilla
KFC dessert orange sherbet
Nestle range of ice cream
Favorita range of products
Nestle Drumstick range of products
Maggi fixes and Maggi soup containing milk
Nestle Full Cream Milk, Low Fat Milk
Omega UHT
Nesvita UHT
Nesquik UHT
Nespray UHT
Nesvita Hi Cal UHT
Nescafe 3 in 1
Nescafe Mocha Freeze
Nestle Prebio 1 (infant cereals with milk)
Nestle Teh Tarik
Nescafe Body Partners
Nestum Sarapan Berkhasiat
Nestum Cereals 3 in 1
Nesvita 3 in 1
Nestle Cereals (premium infant cereals)
Nescafe range of can drink products
Cap Junjung sweetened beverage creamer
Ideal Full Cream Evaporated Milk
Carnation Evaporated Creamer

Fonterra Brands
(Milk ingredient sourced New Zealand )
Anlene Gold Milk Powder
Anlene Regular milk powder (plain/chocolate)
Fernleaf Kuat milk powder
Fernleaf Instant milk powder
Anmum Materna milk powder
Anmum Lacta milk powder
Anlene Concentrate UHT
Anlene Yogurt
Fernleaf Calciyum yogurt
Fernleaf full cream milk powder
Fernleaf growing up milk powder 1+
Fernleaf growing up milk powder 3+
Anmum growing up milk powder 1+
Anmum growing up milk powder 3+
Anmum Infacare infant formula
Anmum Infacare follow on formula
Chesdale slice cheese
Anchor butter
Anchor cream cheese
Anchor mozzarella cheese
Anchor Colby Cheddar blend shred
Anchor processed cheddar cheese
Anchor whipping cream (UHT)
Anchor culinary cream (UHT)
Anchor full cream milk powder

Kilang Makanan Mamee
(Milk ingredient sourced from Australia )
Nutrigen Cultured Milk
Nutrigen IQ3 Cultured Milk
Nutrigen Liteyo Yogurt Drink
Nutrigen Liteyo Stirred Yogurt

Dutch Lady
(Milk ingredient sourced from Australia , Thailand , Indonesia and Netherlands )
Frisolac 1 Gold
Frisolac 2 Gold
Dutch Lady UHT
Frisolac Comfort
Completa Brand
Yes! Tutti Fruiti
Yes! Grape
Yes! Strawberry
Yes! Orange
Dutch Lady 2

Ace Canning Corporation
(Milk ingredient sourced from New Zealand )
Drinho Rose Bandung
Dutch Mill
Nugrow

Maestro Swiss Food Sdn Bhd
(Milk ingredient not sourced from China )
Vico
Vochelle
Darry's

Wyeth Malaysia
(Milk ingredient not sourced from China )
SMA
S26
S26 Gold
Nursoy
Promil
Promil Gold
Progress
Progress Gold
Promise
Promise Gold
Wyeth Mama
Enercal Plus
S26 LBW
S26 HMF

Malaysia Milk Sdn Bhd / Cotra Enterprise Sdn Bhd
(Milk ingredient sourced from Australia and New Zealand )
Vitagen cultured milk drink
Marigold HL Milk
Marigold Pasturised Milk
Marigold UHT Milk
Marigold Cream yogurt
Marigold Yogurt drink
Marigold sweetened condensed filled milk
Marigold sweetened creamer (from Singapore )
Vitagen Collagen cultured milk drink
Marigold sweetened creamer
Marigold evaporated filled milk
Marigold evaporated creamer

GlaxoSmithKline
(Milk ingredient sourced from UK , Ireland , Australia and New Zealand )
Horlicks Malt Food Drink
Horlicks Malties
Horlicks 3 in 1
Horlicks Instant cereal drink

choco,

45.95 for 3 is for the XL size it's 34 pc inside if I didnt remember wrongly, for L size 60 pc one it's 2 for 45.95.

cola,

ya, I'm very patient to ruoxi, though I'm not a very patient person in general. maybe I really too softhearted to her liao, will try to scold her if she do things wrong next time. I just can't see her cry.

Xman,
Haha.. different ppl have different characters.. it really depends on the parents..
some parents are so gentle to the kids..

but it is just not me.. if she gets on my nerves, then she would know what's next.. if she cried non-stop coz of being naughty, i just let her be..

Meg is a tough girl.. ruoxi is a soft girl, really it depends on a lot of factors..

No need to follow what I do, just do whatever you deem is the best for your Ruoxi k..

xman,
mayb u saw 2 many brands of diapers on offer 2 excited tats y confused haha :p so fast can potty train ah.. i wonder wen should i start since melcolm not walking yet..

bliss,
Doren walking liaoz?

Thanks mummies for all the advice!

Nining,
I kiasu, went to Guradian to buy the Sea-Band after calling up to check if they have the stocks.
bought 2 pairs and wearing a pair now. 1 for my MIL

Does the Sea-Band work for you?
i'm still having MS and I feel that the bands are not that effective cos i still feel nauseous!
maybe it's more effective for travel sickness.
think will still check with Gynae on what drug I can take for sea sickness. hopefully dun have to resort to that.

jete,
are the bands effective on the travel sickness?
actually Virgo is pretty huge and will it really be affected by choppy waves and make us vomit?
sounds serious.

an_gal,
Doren is not walking independently yet.
he only walks when i hold his hand by his side.
Melcolm?

anyone giving their baby karihome goat's milk? its from NZ, so its safe right? im already getting paranoid with all those milk-recalls

an_gal,

ruoxi can say "ba3 ba3" when she want to poo, but for pee she never say, my mum said she normally pee after wake up or a while after drink milk, so she will try to train her, but we are prepared the floor will be wet and always need to clean the floor.hehe. she can walk without hold our hands, but not that stable, we still very scare when she walk alone, only let her walk a lot at playground as the floor is not that hard.she fall down twice after walking both quite serious so we scare liao.

choco,

think sg is quite safe, but still a bit worry,hehe.

bliss,
Melcolm oso, need to hold 2 hands somemore then he walk.. if not he will cruise himself lo

xman,
was tinking 2 start potty once Melcolm can walk for awhile.. i'm sure rouxi can walk veri stable soon..

Bliss, an_gal,

Actually if they cant walk yet, they are less mobile.. when they can walk.. wah they walk super fast like one second here another second there..
i.e when i run to the kitchen to throw some rubbish, after awhile meg is tailing behind me wor.. hahaha

when i go inside the room also same thing, after awhile she is behind me liao.. the tailing part is so fun tho hahaha

Zhu,
Meg outgrows that stage liao.. nowadays instead of clinging to my feet, she will find something that she can do around me.. kinda kepoing around but I must be within her view..

i would like to share this article publish in new paper and one of the chinese newspaper...

NANNY SHAKES BABY SO BADLY THAT...
She bleeds in brain and eyes
By Celine Lim

September 26, 2008

IT was one shock after another for the Singaporean mother of a baby girl.

TRAUMA: Madam Lee's daughter is now a year old, but has to be tube-fed her milk. Madam Lee holds up a copy of the police report the family made. PICTURE: SHIN MIN DAILY NEWS
First, her nanny called to say her daughter, then 4 months old, had been rushed to the hospital's emergency unit on 22 Apr.

Later that night, she and her husband were questioned for 20 minutes by the police on suspicion of child abuse.

The doctors diagnosed that the baby girl had been shaken so hard, bleeding had occurred in her brain and eyes.

The couple worry that their daughter, now 1 year old, may never regain her sight fully.

On Monday, the police issued a stern warning to the nanny, who had looked after the baby girl and her brother, now 7, since last December.

The New Paper checked with the police yesterday as to why only a stern warning was issued. The police were not able to comment by press time.

The nanny is in her 30s and has two sons of her own, aged 12 and 8.

The mother, 31, who wanted to be known only as Madam Lee, a sales assistant, said she had been on her way home at about 6pm on 22 Apr, when the nanny called to say the baby girl was in the emergency unit at the National University Hospital (NUH).

Madam Lee rushed to the hospital after informing her husband.

Shivering

She recalled: 'My daughter's entire body was shivering and the whites of her eyes were showing. She was also breathing heavily.

'I was crying. I was very scared and panicked. My husband rushed down to join me, but we could only wait while the doctors and nurses worked to save my daughter's life.'

She said it was two hours before the baby girl pulled through.

She was transferred to the paediatric intensive care unit, where she remained for 10days.

Doctors told the couple that their daughter's brain and eyes were bleeding internally and that she had been having a seizure when she was admitted.

Madam Lee said: 'The doctor then told us that the police will be taking our statements because they suspected that our daughter had been abused. We were stunned. The thought had not crossed our mind till then.'

They gave the police their statement.

Madam Lee said the nanny had been the only one with her daughter before she was rushed to hospital.

Their son was in school then.

The nanny's husband was in China for work.

Madam Lee said: 'At the hospital, the nanny said she had not done anything except, maybe, put my daughter down on the bed too forcefully.

'But the doctor said my daughter's entire head was bleeding. It was unlikely to be caused by a fall or by hitting her head against a hard object, because the injury would be only at one point on her head then.'

The couple had hired the nanny, who lives across the road from their Jurong West flat, on an ex-neighbour's recommendation.

They paid her $750 monthly to look after their son and their daughter from 7am to 7pm, Mondays to Fridays.

They usually dropped off the children at the nanny's flat in the morning before they headed to work, and picked them up in the evening to go home.

Madam Lee said that in February, the nanny had told her that the baby girl had rolled over and fallen from a cot while she was busy cooking in the kitchen.

But as she did not detect any swelling on her the next day, Madam Lee did not take her daughter to see the doctor.

She said: 'I did notice a blue-black mark on my daughter's cheek the night before the incident, but the next morning, I forgot to ask the nanny about it.

'After that, my daughter was admitted to hospital and I forgot about the mark.'

Two operations

Madam Lee said doctors at NUH operated on her daughter twice in three months.

The first time, they inserted a tube into her brain for excess blood to flow out into a bag in order to relieve the pressure in the little girl's head.

But her condition did not improve.

Three months later, doctors again inserted a tube to let the excess blood flow into her daughter's stomach.

Their daughter was in hospital from 22Apr to 15 May.

Madam Lee said her daughter had to be given morphine so she would not feel the 'many needles and tubes inserted all over her body'.

She said: 'The doctors said they had to let my daughter 'sleep' because if she woke, she would feel the pain. And if she cried, the pressure in her brain would increase and cause another seizure.'

She said the bleeding in her daughter's head has subsided somewhat. But doctors have to monitor a blood clot at the right bottom part of the baby girl's brain.

Her daughter is unable to see out of the right eye completely, while the left eye can still detect light.

Doctors told the couple that it was unclear whether she would regain her eyesight.

Madam Lee also said that her daughter has forgotten how to perform simple actions like turning over and drinking milk.

The girl now has to be fed using a tube inserted through her nose. She also has one session each of occupational therapy and physiotherapy every month.

Madam Lee said: 'The nanny initially told us at the hospital that she'll take responsibility for my daughter's accident. But a few days later, she denied ever saying that.

'No one knows what happened except her and my daughter, who can't talk. But the accident did arise in her home, so we feel she still has to take responsibility.'

The couple has stopped letting the nanny care for their son after the incident.

Madam Lee said she did not know if the nanny was looking after any other children.

damn it. remind me of my coll's wife's church mates.. both their girl oso like tat. kanna shaken by the maid until she's cannot perform anything simple. like a veggie liao. poor thing.

sometimes its not that we dun trust the baby caretaker like the maid or nanny but with all these news, we have to be vigilant.

no matter how good they are to your babies (on surface)i believe spot checks are necessary.
eg, going to pick them up ealier then the stipulated time, or taking half day then pick the babies up, or going during lunch hr

choco,

it's a sad story, but think it's accident and i also heard my colleauge mentioned b4 even child care also have such scary stories, so if we dont trust anyone then the only way is to become SAHM. but finance wise I think a lot family can't but no choice to let others be the bb caregiver.

an_gal
when he start walking then u gotta strain ur eyes. haha...cannot let him out of ur sight leh! my boy juz recently konked his little head on the wall while toddling. =P
now got blue black..so sim tia!

An_gal,
Actually it is not true that you can rest your arms when they can walk.. I ever put meg on floor at shopping centre coz I was very tired then she walked..
She would want to walk her direction lor!!!! go inside stores!!!! haiz.. then when i carried her up, she cried, coz she wanted to walk *faint*

Miaon,
Poor boy.. a little knocking is okay lar :p

cola: i agree with u
they wanna walk everywhere... have to keep an eye on them. tricia will walk den go and pick up papers on the floor!! or go touch pple ~_~