(2007/08) August 2007 MTBs

woof,
saw them at the park, walking towards home. Just walking around, nothing naughty.
The babysitter looks nice. And so good she's speaking to her in mandarin.

jenny,
hehe..i thot usually she will bring her in the evening....surprisingly itz in the morning..i guess she is gng to fetch the other boy from the kindergarden or she mite have drop by there after fetching him.....
yup, she speaks to her in mandarin...now i m worried that my girl doesnt know english..haha
one day we shall meet up and let our girls play together

woof,

my gal also only speak mandarin, she can't speak english and if we talk to her in english she seems not interested and still talk her mandarin. so we just stick to mandarin at the moment, think when she go to full day child care next year she will learn english very fast.baby are all language genius.

Xman, it's good if you can speak proper mandarin to her at home. Let the school educate them English. For my case, we speak both English and Mandarin to them, but I'll not mix. (My hubby kena my scolding when he mix the sentence with 2 language.) I don't want them to confuse. And whenever they mix, I'll correct them.
However, just read from the newspaper recently of an Ang-Moh Chinese language genius, (he's a German but US citizen) we should speak "pure language" to the baby at 1 time. He and his wife spoke only Mandarin to his son, until 2yrs old he speak German to him, and the son can pick up w/o problem! He left the education of English to the school fully. Today, his son is very genius in all 3 languages too...

Woof, I think NTUC try to play safe and down-shelf all the 3 types of Baby Bites. I rcv a clear list from my fren for 7-11, they only remove Carrot and Original flavour, Chicken flavour is not in their list at all. So I guess the Original flavour contains milk substance too (same as the carrot flavour).

Anyway, damn it, one of the goodies that I bot failed the test as announce in y'day news. The Xu Fu Ji cheese stick. Luckily I haven't give out the goodies pack...

Hi an_gal

thanks for giving me the link... Seems fun.Decided to go there this weekend.. Do we need to register first or just go there pay money and can play liao?

twins_mama,

wow, sounds amazing, sometimes I also worry my gal can't pick up english but since my home environment is chinese, so I decide leave english to school, should start not mix with english liao, sometimes it's bad habit to talk mix language that is very common in sg.

Xman,

Not to worry about language. so long as you speak to her a proper sentense.. (ie u didnt mix english chinese in a sentense), they should be able to differentiate :p
My MIL speaks to my girl in chinese also, we speak to her sometimes in english, chinese, and hokkien.. surprisingly she understands haha

we tries like.. pls take off your socks.. (english), then we said TUO XIA NI DE WA ZI... , or we said in hokkian.. she knows what it means hahaha

now, trying to speak more indonesian to her.. so that next time she understands, now she still blur everytime we speak indo keke

Xman,
that is fine too if you want to leave English to school.. cos my friend and her hubby speaks only Indonesian and spanish separately ie. mommy - indonesian and daddy - spanish; and they leave english to school.. and the children now both can speak all three lingos fluently and seamlessly..

Jessel,
I was exploring marsden swimming school at Holland Rd, now I am exploring Happy Fish www.swimminglessons.com.sg they dont have own pool so perhaps will ask them to come over my place for private class with Ike, bo pian.. Marsden cannot come cos their instructors now all fully occupied with back to back class schedule..

nining, im also interested to enrol steve in swimming lessons as he really loves to water, and enjoyed when we went swimming.
also for safety reasons, better if he learns at a young age.
swimminglessons.com.sg only for admiralty, very far from us and we dont have pool...
i was thinking to enrol steve in aquaducks, but it says there that they dont allow kids to wear floats...that is scary isnt it? so now im thinking is it worth to enrol my son at 13months or wait for him to be at least 24mnths.

any mummies enrolled their babies below 24months in swimming lessons? think its advisable or wait till 24months?

jessel,
where's ur location? my place in boon lay if u wanna join..
at this age, it's more about building confident level and watermanship, not learning stroke or swim forward..

nining, thanks for offer but i live in east, so boon lay is very far. oh, so its more of building confident...i think my boy already confident in water...hahaha! the trouble now is difficult to get him out of water =)

Jessel,
ike also quite confident, but cannot hold breath UW.. I want that auto self mouth close when UW hehehe.. like natural self defence..

puppygal,

you might want to register by sms-ing so that you get a free one-time coffee/tea. it's free membership anyway. And since we have to pay now, with membership, i think it's $2 off.

Xman and rc_cola,
Yes, I use the same tactic too, I speak a sentence 2 times, once in pure English and once in pure Mandarin. So they can understand both language precisely and likewise for their speaking. You can teach whatever language so long as you have no problem with it. If you are not sure of that language, better don't speak/teach them else they'll learn the wrong one and it is difficult to change, becos 1st impression is always strongest.
I had understand that some kindergarten teachers have hard time correcting the young kids' rotten English which was taught at home...
But I think 3-4 types is max at this kind of age. Anyway basically I think the most important is the mother-tongue and English (and perhaps the mother-tongue dialect). And let them learn unconsciously, not by force.

Now my gals are not even 3 yrs old but they already can recognize A-Z, 1-20 and all the Primary & Secondary colours, and some wordings. Their BB doctor say this is very good and infront of their age's milestone.

I think it's time I start to emphasize on their Chinese education now, there is not much relavant material / video in the market to teach chinese words / mandarin like the English... :-(
Maybe I need to spend some time to do some material myself... maybe can use their own photo to raise their interest, haha.

that's a good point to consider, nining...maybe ill tell my hubby to encourage him to let steve go for swimming classes =) thanks

Jessel,
no probs
Actually I saw in webbie the best reflect we can get out of babies at 6 months, but during that time Ike was sick, then after that we had that season of HFMD..

Twin mama,

Agree.. wow before 3 can learn A-Z.. I must buck up a bit, nowadays a bit lazy to teach her alphabets... so far she knows A-G, and can say no 1 to 6...
Can recognise pictures - and for those that she is able to speak up.. like owl, dog, cat.. she will mention it whenever she sees the picts..
Those that she doesnt know how to say, when we ask her where is the camel.. then she will point to the camel hahaha..

I hope one day when she can speak, she would be able to spell out the san zi jing, which I have been teaching her since she was 8 months old.. nowadays, she kinda listen me whenever i read /sing them out..

Lately I am very lazy to teach her things haha.. everynite I feel so tired, maybe due to the preg.. not as energetic as before..

cola,

yr Meg can say 1-6, already very good. I think we have to let bb take their own pace to learn. ruoxi can't speak number, but she know so many words in chinese, and when she see it from magazine she will speak. I didnt really teach her that, just my parents teach when she read the magazines. I teach her the glenn doman english and math cards but she always no interest. I just flash and can't force her anyway.

Xman,
Cant force, this is very true. What i do is just read her books and teach her when i see the things.. cant really force them to sit down like 45 mins listen to our ABCDE rite?
hahaha.. how she learns the numbers.. is from the lift!!!

Our lift normally shows the no. of floor we are at .. she is very excited with the moving numbers.. so in the lift, we are mostly doing counting..
I stay at 15th floor.. so we will be like 15 14 13 12 11 .. all the way to 1.. then when we go up we will also do the same thing from 1 to 15.. but so far she could say only 1 to 6..

Wah can read chinese words!! I think they learn very fast ler.. I seldom read chinese book, so not really have chance to teach her chinese..

Some of the shapes she can recognise, but not many.. only circle, eclipse, star, triangle..

Nining,
Ike is drooling coz he saw a baby girl!!!!

Sang,
Teach them and talk to them regularly, surprisingly they will know what you said..

Nining,
Mathias not doing too well.. went to PD for the 3rd time.now, he needs to take a steriod puff (like thopse taken by asthma patients and I gotta attach it to a mask and i just tried it out..its tough getting him to let the mask stay over his mouth for long..she also changed his Ventoline to the puff type instead of the liquid ones...and the best part is that I gotta give him 2 puff of each medication and after each puff, the mask has to be kept at his nose and mouth for 8 breathes!! Its NOT easy!!

I've just booked a 4D3N cruise to Penang and Phuket on 9 Nov.
any mummies going?

though i've been on cruise 3 times before but never with a baby.
Can any experienced mummies who have been on cruise help answer my queries? Thanks in advance!

- Can I bring stroller on board?
- Is hot water easily available?
- Can I bring baby to watch performance?
- Can I bring baby to Casino?
- Actually besides eating and eating and land tours, I dunno what we can do on the cruise with a baby.

Hi Bliss,

To ans your question. You going for Star Virgo?

- Can I bring stroller on board?
Yes u can. All the way.

- Is hot water easily available?
You can cook it.

- Can I bring baby to watch performance?
Depend on what show, if topless show then cannot. If you watching that you can put your baby at their childcare.

- Can I bring baby to Casino?
Strictly NO NO... you can put your baby at their childcare too.

- Actually besides eating and eating and land tours, I dunno what we can do on the cruise with a baby
Bring your baby for a swim, if star virgo the pool is not too bad. but if star aquarius than not that fantastic.

Hi Ivy,

thanks for helping to answer.

What do you mean by cook water?
you mean can boil water on board?
I was told not to bring in any heating appliances at all.

just now i learnt from another Mummy the sea can be very turbulent if going during year end.
she even said got ppl vomit.
aiyo, this really dampen my mood and spirit of going on the cruise.
i've been on Leo and Virgo but never encounter anything like that.
hope the weather will be good.

Mel,
oh my, sorries for Mathias.. I bet it's not easy!! he doesnt understand why he needs these mask..
no future anything hahaha.. dont wanna put pressure kekeke..

BLiss,
I guess u should have a kettle in the room? provided by the vessel?
During my diving years when doing liveaboard, I took either ginger pills or motion sickness pill brand sturgeron. Those did the tricks altough the later makes me sleepy.. Other than that u can buy also those motion sickness bands..

hi bliss,
last time my nephew went at the age of 2. he vomit leh. then the previous time he went at age of 4,ok liao. maybe for younger kid cannot tahan the "wavy" sea? or maybe also depends on individuals. i also tempted to bring my gals on board le. maybe u come back, let me know more k.
enjoy your trip

Thanks mummies for the advice!

Nining,
where can i get the motion sickness bands?
is it safe for pregnant woman?
how effective is it?

bliss

i think motion sickness depends on individual...

as for the motion sickness pill, best to check with gynae

mayeb doren will be so exicted that he did not even notice he is out in the sea...