(2007/08) August 2007 MTBs

hope pigeon biscuits are safe.. Charlize had quite alot of those.. btw which ones are sweet? she had those ikan bilis or fish ones which are alittle saltish, the other ones are potato or sweet potato and dunno what veggie..not sweet leh..

Ivy,
Agree, health is the most precious item.. better be safe than sorry

Chatty,
so the different is only in the form, ic ic, agree porridge they can just swallow, whereas rice, they need to chew..
I am afraid of the rice (harder than porridge) will hurt their digestion system.. wouldn't it??
Need some reassurance here..

Meg has gotten so bored with porridge, that she spent so long finishing it.. have started her on rice since last week..

Hi Everyone!

I came back yesterday..loved desaru for the clean beach, soft sand and poolside movie in the evening
Oh! and Mathias loved the beach and pool..but the waves of the sea were HUGE but not as huge as Bali..but also not swimmable...ut food..nothing fantastic..but bfast was good..huge variety. and guess what I ate there?? MAGNUM and CORNETTO!!hahahaha!! Actually hubs told me not to eat cos I was coughing and having flu..but i die die wanted to eat..then when we came back yesterday we got the SMS abt the foods that are recalled
One sad thing happened there though..hubby decided to take a photo of me and Mathias while we were sitting at the beach so hubby brought the camera into the water cos Mathias and I were facing the beach so the only way to get a frontal shot was to take it from the water...so..while i was posing...and Hubs was aiming..a big wave came and wooosh!! hubs and the camera got wet!!! Damn!! SO now, the camera is spoilt and I'm hoping SD card is ok...

an_gal,

If u want to go you can make booking with www.desaruresorts.com its cheaper..the seaview cost me RM270,Return Land trf RM36 p/pax (infant free)then we bought the ferry tix ourselves for SGD32 p/adult and SGD11 for Mathias..so altogether it was abt SGD217.50 for the whole family

Nining! THanks for recommending Desaru! Btw,I decided to choose Aussie school too.since its nearer for Muddypie then it should be nearer for me too

------------------------------------------------
best let get ourselves organized first..
starting with name - pool location - group (max 6, aiming at 4 bubs in a group) or semi private (2 in a group) or private

1) Nining - holland rd or queenstown - group or semi private

2) Tek Koh

3) Chatty - holland or queenstown - group or semi private

4) Mel- holland or Australian school - group

5) Tulip

6) Muddypie - holland or Australian school - group

7) Jete (tentative)

muddypie
when i buy the searler, i'll pass you a few to try. i intend to buy when hubby let out of "jail" and we can finally go do some household shopping. halloween? end of oct, ok see if can find anything for paige to wear.

paige loves those xiao man tou. at first i bought the pigeon one, found them too sweet so my fren suggested i buy wang wang, cos only like 80 cents a pack. i bought once, found them too big piece then switch to another brand. think if mommies want to continue to give the xiao man tou, can try this brand, this is made in japan, think the brand is xiao mei mei.

unless this brand also recalled??

Oh yah! One more horrible happened during our trip!! Mathias stabbed his eye with a straw from the tetra pack and he now has a blood clot in his eye..called KKh yesterday and they said that it should clear up but if it doesnt /if it spreads then we should bring him to the hospital...I have no idea if its serious or not serious...I dunno if I should trust the nurses judgement that was given over the phone...

Nining,

3 of us went to desaru sick and came back still sick!haha!! Im really worried for Mathias..He's been on medication for 1.5 weeks..saw the PD and kidslink twice but his cough stil sounds so chesty..He's taking zyrtec, ventoline,the orange powder, singular and sterimar..so many medicines...PD says to see her for a 3rd time if he's not well by this Weds

oppps, sorry, just look at the xiao man tou brand, it is 3 sisters. made in japan. look exactly like wang wang xiao man tou, packaging nicer and smaller pieces.

mel,
cant wait to see your desaru pics.. i've already booked the trip with Holiday Bagus at $255. Now i cant wait to go there and eat and enjoy ! btw, did u go for any optional tours?

hope Mathias recover soon

Karen Law: A few people I know were unfortunate enough to still require glasses after Lasik...guess its really important to get an experienced doctor.

Jete: This "xiao man tou" that everyone's talking about is a frozen bun?

I didnt go out anywhere cos 2D1N dont really have time..we checked in at almost 2pm (took the 12pm ferry), went for lunch then headed for the beach and pool..then Mathias napped till abt dinner time..so we headed for dinner..then played table tennis and pool..then went for 9pm movie "meet dave" at the poolside.Mathias slept when the movie was abt to end so after the movie we went back to the room for the rest of the night..next day we woke up, went for bfast, got changed, went to the beach and pool, went back to get changed, Mathias slept and by the time he got up, it was time to chk out cos our transport was leaving at 1.45pm to catch the 3pm ferry

karen,
its meant for the long run. My dad did the lasik 2 months back and he was told its possible tat the short-sightedness may come back after years (how long later depend on individual). Then my col was told that she can never wear lens after her lasik even when she became shortsighted again in future, so if cannot wear lens then gotta wear glasses and I hate wearing glasses..

Glee: I heard the same thing too, that Lasik effects aren't permanent because one's eyes change as one ages. That's why people (who haven't been for Lasik) can become long-sighted as they grow older. I didn't know about the contact lens part though.

Mel: Sounds like what Pigeon has. I haven't seen any other brand selling this xiao man tou...but maybe I haven't been looking for it.

rc cola: I don't think it makes a difference in terms of digestion. Its still cooked rice either way, and Meg's saliva and gastric juices would process it the same way...look at it this way, if you put the rice into soup and fed it to Meg, its no different from feeding her soup and rice separately or feeding her porridge. Porridge is essentially rice boiled in soup or water.

finally finish reading the thread!
anybody stay in sengkang or ponggol? been to the new swimming pool at anchorvale. its quite cool le. we took a peep outside, looks fun. so tempted to bring my gals go swimming there. but haven buy swim suits yet. saw kiddy palace so expensive cost $49.90 each le? any lobang or place selling cheaper ones? which type to buy for gals ha? how abt floats?

Gerber stars puffs lovers
NTUC sunplaza having promo buy 1 get 1 free but not sure abt the other outlets. shd hav oso ba

cola, don't think can do lasik when pregnant, cause of the hormones changes in your body, so won't be accurant.

Karen, me too, it never really cross my mind that I'd go do it because I was too scared, but last year, a friend who just had her bb went to do it and I kind of just thought abt it and then put it off. Then just 2 weeks ago, I woke up one morning and decided to just do it. So I called my friend and asked abt the docs, do a little research on the net, and next I know, I've got an appt to see the doc. Somehow, influenced my hub and he just got his done last week.

glee/chatty, yah, I'm aware that it's not a guarantee thing, if we don't take care of our eyes, it'd still come back. Actually, I don't like to wear glasses too, thought I look like goon goon. My reason for doing the lasik is because my eyes gets dry pretty easily, so it's not very comfortable to wear contact lens, esp when you've got not enough sleep.

jete, when your hub's let out of jail, it's my hub's turn to go to jail.....sob.......sob.......

All your todds, so good, can eat so many different types of stuff alrdy. Don't know why, Aidan is still eating those bbs stuff, ie pureed food, porridge, bb biscuits.... Made some organic noodle for him at dinner time, he refused to eat, kept choking on it and crying away. Noticed that he refuse to take the chuncky food, only soft and pureed food. How??

But one good news, he's starting to drink water.....at last, I noticed that when I give him a cup, he'll drink it. So happy, but of course depend on his mood (at least a good start right?).

Cola,
Ike been taking rice (cooked soft) since he was 10 months hehehehe.. Now he eats better if it's rice..

Muddy,
Ike only likes mee sua, other type of noodles and spaghetti he will refuse..
No worries bout Aidan, he possibly just being careful/ afraid of choking.. Some of these kids are really smart hahaha.. as long as he's willing to eat real food, not pediasure, he's still good..

Mel,
glad u enjoyed ur trip, but yeah 2D1N is too rush when travelling with bubs..

Hey there's an idea, next time our kids 2 YO we all can go desaru hooo!! hahahahaah....

Twinkle,
if u can, buy the thermal swim suit, cos it really helps them keep warm.. the neoprene is the one keeping them warm, same materials used for diving suit..

I went bought magnum and cornetto today, at cheers.. I saw the packet has country of Origin: Germany so i think OK.. no german ice cream co will make so much effort in using china made milk, right, heheheheeh... besides the shop keeper said all recalled oredi cleared up 2 days ago..

an_gal,
the bottle of gerber biscuits is too big leh...
when are u gng for ur hol? bringing melcolm?

sanq,
i have tat concern too...too heaty if too much is taken.

xman,
ruoxi is so smart...able to talk liao..my girl is still using baby language...haiz

jang,
is ur power very high? heard tat if the power comes back aft lasik, cant wear contact lens liao leh..izzit true?

cola,
carene has been on rice since she was about 9/10mths..cant rem liao....she doesnt like soft stuff...juz now i was eating marigold jelly...she wanted so i gave her..the min i put in her mouth, she spit it out...weird!

RE: diapers
stock running low...only haf a pkt of sealers left at home which has been opened and using..so juz now went NTUC to get..no promo except drypers...2 for $24.85..in the end, i bot NTUC brand..dunno good or not.

Mel,
wah so jealous leh..do show us the pics..hope tat ur SD card is ok as i wan to see the pics..
oh poor Mathias..hope he is fine..

Mel,
didnt see Matthias' incident with the straw.. hope all turns out well.. if he doenst seem to be in pain perhaps he's actually OK..

re: baby bites
After reading zhu zhu's posting, i went to survey the baby bites, it has an islamic logo that said, 'certified by china islamic association', means origin from China right? We quickly consolidate and threw away baby bites and few pkts of m&m, even marshmallow. hee hee... better to be safe than sorry, anyway these stuff are relatively cheap to be chucked away.

Pigeon xiao man tou is made in japan, the price also very big diff, haaahaa.

Mel: welcome back, did u wish you have stay longer?
Is Pulai resort run down? They provide baby cot?

sanq,
thks for the info, will check out the ntuc near my place 2mr.. hopefully realli hav buy 1 get 1 free hehe

muddypie,
yes, finally Aidan started drinking water.. don wori, so long he eats i suppose is ok.. maybe a few more months he can eat more chunky food already..

woof,
the gerber biscuits bottle is big but hor the quantity inside not full 1 leh.. once i open, i pour some into lock n lock containers.. but i notice once i open the bottle, the stars tend to "lou feng" veri fast.. wondered do mummies her hav tis prob too?

will be bringing melcolm to desaru too on 4th oct

tinyvoice,
haha like the way u say "Pigeon xiao man tou" hehe.. is $4.90 a packet and inside consists of 4 small packs. I usually buy wen JL hav 20% off... btw, now JL have 20% off hehe

an_gal,
i stored it in the fridge after opening to prevent it from 'lao hong'.
i wanted to get petpet but no offer leh..so since i've nt try NTUC brand, decided to give it a try..this wk not many diapers on offer....hopefully there will be next wk..
as for the jelly, ya leh..itz cold but not due to the coldness lah..coz before tat i was drinking yakult and she took it..

muddypie
that's good that aidan is drinking water. hopefully your hubby doesn't get a very on guy to run the show, if not very siong. my hubby very unlucky, got a newbie and super on guy so they are all not happy.

paige is also still eating porridge with either pureed vege or cut up. does aidan eat bread? only this past sat then i gave her rice for the first time. my part time cleaner bought lunch for me and she was greedy, so i let her try. quite surprise when she open her mouth i can see the rice is small small pieces. she was stuck at 2 teeth for a long time, now must get use to the idea she has more teeth, can chew for real already.

chatty
the xiao man tou is like little egg cookie we eat when we are kids. same thing as the pigeon one just cheaper. pigeon one is quite sweet and overpriced.

even for pigeon biscuits is made in japan, how can we guarantee the milk content dun come from CHINA? many japanese products uses china stuff too

Hi Woof,

Thanks. I think I have swim diapers for up for 12kg. Its been so long since James has had a swim, he's going to outgrow it soon. I'll send you the swim diapers in exchange for the sealer?

Cld you pm me your address too?

Muddypie: I’m the opposite of you. As much as I like the idea of being spectacles free, I can’t get used to the way I look without spectacles. I don’t like contact lenses either. Maybe someday I’ll pick up the courage to go for lasik…until then its just specs for me.

Don’t worry about Aiden not being able to take solids. He just started having his first tooth not too long ago right? I think it takes a while before babies can take solids…He will start taking it when he’s ready. James still takes some pureed food, plus some mee sua, and scrambled eggs.

Mel: Is Mathias better now? I hope his eye recovers soon.

Tiny Voice: I just threw away James’ Baby Bites yesterday. I found the Want Want logo at the bottom of the box.

Jete: Not sure which egg cookie you’re referring to but I vaguely recall eating little round balls of cookies under the Doraemon brand when I was a child. Is that what you’re referring to?

Zhuzhu: I agree with you. The problem with Japanese food is not only the origins of the milk in their products, but also the quality of rice that they used. Recently (last week, I think), there was a report about Japanese authorities investigating the use of industrial quality rice as food for old folks etc. So we can’t really be sure that Pigeon food is really using as good quality rice as they claim.

Chatty,
that japanese industrial quality rice, is what's supposed to be rejected rice from imports.. Japan imported some 10% of their rice consumption from thailand and china and india, and due to weather some fo the rice grows fungus etc, henced must be used for industrial use only i.e. glue etc. but some ppl are buying them as industrial rice, registered using bogus companies, then trade among themselves so it's not traceable to the source of rice, then ended up some in the sakae industries since sakae only used the inner grain which is very little, it's difficult to differentiate the good rice and these rejected rice anymore at that level..

Mummies morning,

Going out in the next 3 meetings to a far far away jurong there for meeting, dunno where it is...

Chatty,
Thanks for giving me logical reason of digestion of rice and porridge

Muddy,
Same like what Chatty has said, Aidan has recently had his first tooth, it might take some time before he enjoys the chewing of food.
Maybe once in awhile you can give him some bread to try.. dun give too big piece, it tends to get soggy inside the mouth.. slowly start him on chunky fruits first like papaya, mango..

Meg has always been drinking water, so i have no prob feeding her water.

Woof,
haha.. maybe carene doesnt like cool stuff. Very contrary to Meg, she loves ice cube!!! so naughty..
She loves her chilled pear pureee and apple puree, must be chilled !!!
Btw, i realise they cant digest jelly! that day we made jelly ourselves, then i fed her, when she poop I could see the crystal jelly on the poop.
Will not feed her that again..

Read articles on baby chocking on jelly coz it is crunchy, so pls becarefull when mummies feed your babies some jelly k.

Twinkle,
I saw quite reasonable priced swimsuit at BHG at Bugis, quite cute, about S$26++ if i am not wrong.. not thermal tho!

Okay will continue again later...
Still m/s and feel like puking since my journey at bus to office and now..

an_gal: I oso have the same problem. my first bottle of gerber bisuits "lao hong" when it still have 50% left hehe so I eat as snacks lo haha.So subsequently, I keep them in ziplog bag so that the freshness can last longer (but didnt keep in fridge.)

Thanks for all your reassurance and advice, will wait a while a try again later. Yah, I guess one thing at a time then.

Now with this milk frm china issue, it's really so scary. A food item which you think is safe, might not be safe anymore, even if it read "Made in Japan", but some source of ingredient might be frm China. Isn't it scary???