(2007/08) August 2007 MTBs

Loh,
haha.. my hubby doesnt have any toy at all.. he likes soft toys tho, and used to buying me a lot of soft toys during our pak tor time keke..
No doubt, he likes to watch cartoon, but it is not a routine for him to watch
He is very focus on his work and his studies.. i think he prioritises studies over anything currently.. He is a true saver... never buy any clothes.. unless i force him too haha or i buy for him.. but he never restricts me if i want to buy anything lar, i think this is the most important kekeke..

Nining,
I dunno where he wants to retire ler.. perhaps go back medan hahaha then everyday can eat nice indo food... oh yummy!!!

cola - your hubby sounds like mine. But mine not studying but he is always watching CNN news and surfing internet for world news.

His only toy is the playstation II which he don't play at all now except when he is super super stressed and his mind need to relax but i hope he won't play cos once he play, he can go on for 24 hours type so means he is very stressed and depressed over something.

Ya, don't restrict us in our spending is the best..hee, but now he does cos he say i have been buying my precious boy too many things and don't want me to spoil him rotten

Lilyn: Have a great trip to Perth! I don't think it'll be that cold there at this time of the year, now that its spring. Today its 17 degrees celcius in Perth. Muddypie went in May when it was winter, and she told me that temp in Sydney was only around 12 degrees celcius, so real winter clothing wasn't really necessary. You can google "Perth weather" to get an estimate. Just bring a jacket, a sweater and 2 or 3 pairs of warm pants for Yee Heng, apart from his usual clothes. This way you can layer according to his needs. That's what I did when I brought James to the American Rocky Mountains in June, and the weather varied between 4 degree celcius and 12 degrees celcius, depending on the altitude, and it snowed as well!

I shall be going to genting this 30 Sept - 2 Oct to meet up with my parents there.. They would love to see Megan anyway.
Now a bit concern if it is safe to travel during first tri... Tho i didnt go by coach, but plane..

Tho, during Meg's time, I did travel to taiwan, and slightly after 3rd tri, i went back to my hometown and then went KL..
Should be alright, right? Need some reassurance.

I shall be seeing my gynae on 29 Sept, perhaps will let him know that i am going to have a short trip a day after the check up hahaa

Loh: I hope Ivan's croupe is better now.

Nining: The swimming class sounds interesting, but I wonder if this is the right time of the year to start a class, coz it keeps raining so much...

an_gal

yes, Federal pump in 85bil and own 80% of AIG now

heng ah...my whole family insurance is with AIA..
yesterday was so worried, although there is assurance from MAS that there is sufficient fund but just cannot help but worry..

Choco,

Actually u need not worry too much if yours is life insurance with AIG or any other insurance companies in Sg.
MAS is very strict on the financial standards and their ability to pay claims before granting them the license to operate in Sg.. and they would have enough reserve to back up their business in Sg..

Chatty,
u made a good point there.. Hubby is very keen tho cos Ike seems to wanting to swim already but dunno how to manage his breathing.. Will check with Marsden for their advice.. we personally like their business cos they're not monies face hahaahah..

mommies who works at tanjong pagar,
last night I had dinner at 20 duxton Rd, Cumi Bali, super yummy!!!!!!!!!!! must try! next month they will relocate to the amara shopping centre..

Nining: Do let me know once Marsden has come back to you. I'm keen on having James resume swimming lessons, but I'm concerned about how the weather would affect him. Last time round, he missed half his lessons because he was down with a bad flu, and then we had to go to USA the last time round. It would be good if the lessons were held in an in-door or covered pool.

Tiny voice,
when i first saw the wrongly posted blog, tot u are ang moh. it must have been a big step for a Malay to be converted to Christian. it's good if there's a testimony to share.

Chatty,
yep yep, no probs.. I saw in their statement that there will be make up class if it rains and the class yet to start.. the instructor will call 1/2 before the class to cancel and arrange for a make up class.. let me check if there's indoor swimming pool option..

wow...

zhu zhu
how u know they will increase??

btw, just to share, serangoon ave 4, econ minimart is selling gain IQ at $27.20. compare to gurdian is cheaper by $1.

OIC...
thats very useful...thanks
i have got 12 tins at home now...dun know should stock up or not...if i stock up then my house can be mini provision shop liao...haha

my sis is looking for lansinoh milk bags.. anyone got excess to let go? let me know pls
I am looking for about 6 packets of $25 pcs or 3 of 50 pcs,.. cheers

Huh? Gain gonna increase price?? mommies, where do u all buy it from? Mathias finishes 1 tin in 1 week so I need to find a plc that sells it cheap!!

Loh,
How's Ivan now? Oh my..I hope he's ok..good thg u sent him to A&E//if it were me I thk me and hubs would just think he's having nightmare or something..

Nining,
Im interested in the swimming classes..cos Mathias loves the water..let me know when u have more info ok? THanks! Btw, what recipes do u have for indo food? I love indo food!!!

Nining,
Can let me know more abt Pulai at Desaru and how to get there,how ot book, how's the ferry ride,how to get land trf to and from resort etc.? Thinking of changing this weekends trip to Bintan to Desaru instead cos Mathias and me sick so dun feel like travelling too far.. Ferry to desaru abt 20mins only right?

Mel,
all my recipe in bahasa kekeke., let me see if I got time to translate.. got all sorts from oxtail soup, all kind of sambal, all kind of soto etc..

You can book all in one via Holiday Bagus, for desaru it's cheaper to book via travel agent. For Bintan it's cheaper to book everything ourselves via internet..
www.holidaybagus.com

yep ferry is abt 1/2 hr.. and at some part of desaru u'll see monkeys!!! lots of them!

Mel,
there's a chinese medical hall in Jurong West that sells the 1.8Kg tin at 50.50, but they only take cash and no delivery..

So for swimming lesson, the interested group are:
1) Nining
2) Tek Koh
3) Chatty
4) Mel

I am thinking of still doing in at their pool at Holland Rd cos that's the heated pool. Or for easy commute is the queenstown swimming pool. But these are not sheltered.. I was looking for sheltered or indoor public pool and looks like its almost non existance? I know there's one at JUrong West Sport Centre but it's quite far for the rest of the mommies and the sheltered one is not for kiddies..

Hi Nining

Wld like my ger to join all ur bbs in the swimming lessons too

So for swimming lesson, the interested group are:
1) Nining
2) Tek Koh
3) Chatty
4) Mel
5) Tulip

Thx

my friend goes to that swimming school w her 1.5yr old boy...its more to build up water confidence and he does seem to enjoy it!

re: weather in perth in nov,
i was studying in perth for 6 years so can help u out w tis question!
its getting warmer by then, start of summer..dec can get really REALLY hot, like up to the 35-40 degree type..NOT fun! we're packing lots of warmer clothing for perth this trip because we're going down to margaret river for 3 days, which is cooler than the rest of perth, so if u intend to travel down south, then that's something to consider too...u can also google the perth weather forecast before u go, which will usually give u the 5 day forecast n is pretty reliable

nining,
thanks for the offer!! could i have that contract via email please?

rccola,
yea, just check w ur gynae...

zhuzhu,
yee heng is VERY good at pulling off hats, so that's a no go! oh well, just gonna use sunblock and bring mozzie patch and also making sure i have antihistamine syrup since it's spring and lots of ppl get hayfever..have u been to perth this time of year?

chatty,
yea i'm not bring things which are too thick/ winter cloothing (i hope!), just LOTS of them cuz i'm planning to layer the clothes on him..i've got 1 denim jacket, 2 sweaters and long sleeve tops/bodysuits...i'm know that i'm being over-prepared but better to lug a couple more pieces of clothing than realise he's got nothing to wear! ;)

mel

my house the econ mimimart sells the 900g similac at 27.20.

an_gal
haha, if u last min need just let me know, but i dun think u will meet that kind of suitation lah

lilyn: nope. I went to sydney last nov for work. Daytime is pretty ok but u might can sunburn if u dun take precaution. Nite is chilly

chatty, Mel,
Ivan has been making weird sounds since there is inflammation in the throat. Read fr internet, it might take a week to recover. But he is still active like nothing happen, can eat, can play, can sleep, and even dancing....kekeke

rc_cola,
if u r taking plane to KL u wld still need to hire a cab to genting. i went there last wk by coach and i feel like vomiting on the way up the hill to genting (which happen everytime even though im nt pregnant). so i think u better prepare those medicated oil, sweet and plastic bag!!

Hi Nining

Happened to see this, am interested, can I hve more details ie. fee, day and time

1) Nining
2) Tek Koh
3) Chatty
4) Mel
5) Tulip
6) Muddypie

Thx

choco
ya, actually on boy is on enfagrow but after the price increase due to the 4X DHA thingy faster switch to gain iq.. haha. cuz e diff is like 2-3 dollars!!

choco - how much is Gain IQ actually? So $26 is considered cheap?

Missy - The 4X DHA is found in Gain IQ milk? Then the 1.8kg per tin for Gain IQ is how much? Boy still on breastmilk,wondering whether to let him go on FM also?

Muddy,
here is the excerpt of the info I received from marsden swim school:

here is the Marsden swim school info:

"Terms and Conditions"

This sheet provides information about our instructors, classes and facilities. If you have any questions, please talk to your child’s instructor or call 6473 8353 and speak to our office staff. Also, Jane Marsden is contactable on her mobile 9621 9965.

Instructors
We have three full-time instructors – Jane, Jason and Wendy – and several part-time ones (including Jana, Lisa, Nikki, Paula, Alvin, Pete and Sek Chuan) who teach at Holland Road, the Australian International School of Singapore, Avondale Grammar School, Queenstown pool, Turf City and private residences. All our instructors are certified by AUSTSWIM, the key Australian body that provides comprehensive swimming and water-safety teacher education. They are qualified to teach infant, general and adult water familiarisation, water safety, and learn-to-swim and stroke correction. Most are also qualified to teach people with special needs. Most of our instructors are university educated.

Jane and Jason Marsden are also ASCTA (Australian Swimming Coaches and Teachers Association) members, PADI scuba-diving instructors and Emergency First Response (first aid) instructors with a combined 15 years of teaching experience. Jane’s grandfather coached Britain’s 1948 Olympic swim team, including Bronze medalist Cathy Gibson and her uncle was the fastest long-distance freestyle swimmer in England for four years. Currently studying for a Master’s Degree in Primary School Teaching, Jason swam competitively for Hong Kong when he was a teenager and did his practical training for his ASCTA Bronze Coaching Licence under the Singapore Olympic Swim Squad’s head coach, Australian John Dempsey. Wendy worked for several years with AUSTSWIM clubs and schools in Perth, Western Australia, before joining Marsden Swim School.

Office staff
Apart from Jane Marsden (mob: 9621 9965), office administration is done by Anne and Melissa. If you want to check the class schedule, need to call in sick or have questions about payment, speak to either of them on 6473 8353 OR LEAVE A MESSAGE ON THE VOICE MAIL. Between 9am and 1pm on weekdays you can usually find one of them at the desk inside the sliding glass doors near the covered porch in the playground.

Expectations
Safety is the highest priority in any aquatic activity. No swimming class can ‘drown-proof’ a child or non-swimming adult, but it can increase their ability to assess and avoid potential aquatic dangers (for example through the use of safe entries) and develop a realistic understanding of their swimming ability. The three initial skills beginners must acquire are water familiarisation (which can take several months), buoyancy and mobility. Emphasizing strengths in a fun, non-intimidating atmosphere is vital to building self-confidence in the water. Whenever possible, students should also swim at least once or twice outside class times to reinforce skills. Please talk to us if you have queries or concerns, wish to change times or instructors, or have suggestions!

Assessment
Certificates of achievement, based on levels recognized by AUSTSWIM and the Australian International School, are presented twice a year.

Class size
There are a maximum of six students per group class, with an average of three to four, depending on student age and ability. Individual classes can also be arranged if a student requires extra tuition or special help.

Parent/caretaker participation
If your child is unable to swim independently, regardless of his/her age, you may need to be in the water with them during group classes. Please bring your swimming costume! If you do not wish to get in the water with your child, you may wish to book individual lessons so they can be supported by the instructor, or at least request your preference not to get into the pool when making a booking.

Facilities
At Holland Road, we have a private, heated tuition pool in a pleasant garden setting. If you arrive early or have children in back-to-back classes, a swing set is in the front garden (to be used at your own risk). Under the awning you’ll find a seating area, a notice board, registration forms, the class register, a lost property box and the payment box. Please check the notice board for news! At the back of the Holland Road premises are a toilet, change area and a hot-water shower. At Turf City, there is a covered playground just next to our covered pool. Within our premises are showers; the toilets are a short walk inside the shopping complex. Our other venues at Avondale Grammar School, the Australian International School and Queenstown Swimming Complex all have showers, toilets and change facilities.

Hygiene
All children under three must wear disposable or permanent swimming diapers/nappies (such as Huggies ‘Little Swimmers’, which can be bought at Cold Storage supermarkets). If you cannot find them, we can sell you diapers for S$1 each.

Aids
Flotation aids (kickboards, backpacks and noodles) help beginners practice skills with less fatigue and also help timid students maintain a buoyant position. Kickboards are invaluable in teaching stroke correction. However, some children dislike aids so wherever possible their natural swimming style is encouraged. Dependency on aids is also avoided by alternating between aided and non-aided swimming within the class.

Lightning/Rain Policy
If your class is definitely cancelled due to lightning or torrential rain, your instructor will phone you ideally at least half an hour before the class starts. Otherwise, if you have not heard anything from your instructor, please show.

A make-up will be offered for all classes cancelled ahead of time due to lightning/heavy rain.

If, during the class, lightning strikes, the instructor will ask everyone to immediately vacate the pool. If the class can recommence after 15 minutes of no lightning, the instructor may choose to combine classes or start subsequent classes slightly later to accommodate all students as fairly as possible. If the class has to be cancelled because the lightning does not stop, a makeup will be offered except when 15 minutes or more of the class had already been conducted before the lightning struck.

For offsites, if you wish to cancel the class ahead of time due to heavy rain/lightning, please ring your instructor directly ideally at least half an hour before the class starts. A make-up class will then be arranged at no extra charge. If your offsite instructor shows and there is lightning at the start of the class, the instructor may make a decision to wait no more than 15 minutes to determine whether the class can go ahead OR to reschedule the class for another time. If 15 minutes or more of the class has occurred before lightning strikes, no makeup class will be offered for offsite classes.

Parking
At Holland Road, three cars can fit in the driveway in the painted white carpark rectangles. Other cars can park in the slip road parallel to Holland Road. Please don't box in our Chevrolet Spark or we may have to ask you to move your car during a lesson. At Turf City, there is unlimited parking. At Avondale Grammar School and the Australian International School, parking before 3pm on weekdays is in the street just next to the schools. After 3pm on weekdays and on the weekends, free parking is allowed in the school carparks. At Queenstown swimming complex, parking is in the public carpark where coupons apply.

Charges per half-hour class
Group class:
S$25 per child student (maximum of six per class)
S$25 per domestic helper student (maximum of five per class)
S$30 per adult student (maximum of three per class)

Semi-private group class:
S$35 per child student (two in a class)

Individual class:
S$45 per child student
S$50 per adult student

Offsite class:
S$20 per student (minimum charge of S$60)

Charges per hour class
Group class:
S$60 per adult student (maximum of three per class)

Individual class:
S$80 per adult student

Children’s Swimming Squad
Once your child have mastered the strokes during learn-to-swim classes, they are welcome to join our fun swimming squad, conducted on Monday, Tuesday and Thursday afternoons at Queenstown pool (50m) and Sunday mornings at the Australian International School pool (25m). For one or two hour-long sessions a week, the charge is S$30 per week, payable on a term basis.

Payment
There is a one-off registration fee of S$25 per student which is due the first week of class. We have a quarterly invoicing system (i.e. January to March, April to June, July to September, October to December) If you join part-way through the a term, you will only be invoiced for the remaining classes. Please return the payment slip with your cheque and PLEASE MAKE CHEQUES PAYABLE TO C LICENCE PTE LTD (NOT MARSDEN SWIM SCHOOL). We also accept cash and credit card payments.

Make-up classes
Make-up classes are offered at no extra charge if plenty of advance notice is given (if you are sick or have a conflicting commitment) or in exceptional circumstances. Every effort will be made to fit you into the existing schedule as it is in our interests as well as yours to ensure students have consistent lessons! If you must miss a class, please ring us before the class whenever possible so we can give another child a make-up class in your child’s absence. IF YOU DO NOT RING US, YOU WILL FORFEIT YOUR CLASS FEE.

Absence without informing us
If you are absent from class for two weeks in a row, without informing us in advance, we will assume that you are no longer interested in attending and may fill your space with someone else. Because the instructor will turn up even if you don’t, you will also be liable to pay for missed classes when you do not let us know if advance. WHENEVER POSSIBLE, PLEASE RING US (TEL: 6473 8353) AND LEAVE A MESSAGE IF YOU CAN’T ATTEND A SESSION. We also ask that you inform us in writing if you do not wish to resume classes in the following term.

Holidays
CLASSES WILL NOT BE HELD ON SINGAPORE PUBLIC HOLIDAYS UNLESS OTHERWISE SPECIFIED.

Behaviour Management Plan
The Rules
1. Follow the teacher's directions.
2. Listen when the teacher is talking.
3. Keep your hands and feet to yourself.
4. Walk around the pool area.
5. Use respectful language with your fellow swimmers and coaches.
6. At Marsden Swim Squad, keep lanes/swim areas clear for other swimmers.
7. At Holland Road pool, stay on the platform when you are not swimming.

Consequences
1. In the event of disruptive behaviour, the teacher will first state the consequence as a choice e.g. "You have a choice, please follow my instructions or leave the pool for five minutes."
2. If student chooses to leave the pool for five minutes, and then gets in and disrupts the class again, the next time-out will be 10 minutes.
3. The third time-out will be removal from the pool for the duration of the session.
4. With dangerous or violent behaviours, immediate removal from the pool and possibly from the swimming venue will be requested.

CPR/First Aid courses
If you, your domestic helper or child is interested in receiving up-to-date first-aid training, please ask us about the different courses available. We offer an internationally recognized CPR/First Aid course specifically focused on infants and children or we can tailor a course to meet your specific needs. Please contact Anne on 9227 7747 or [email protected]

Swim Gear
Children's and adults' goggles, swim flippers, noodles, kickboards, toypedoes, dive sticks, ear bands, Marsden Swim School squad and school t-shirts and other swim gear are available in our swim school shop near Anne’s desk. There is also a merchandise list on our website.

For our female swimmers/mothers
Recently several clients have chosen to miss one class a month because of their period/menses. We have spare tampons for female clients if you come without; unless you are ill from your period you will be expected to forfeit your class fee if you choose not to enter the water for your or your (accompanied) child’s class.

Feedback
As a family-run business, we pride ourselves for our individual-focused service. We respect and welcome your continuing feedback to help us improve. Please email feedback to [email protected] or request a Feedback Form (hard copies available in the Information Folder on the table under the covered porch at Holland Road) or contact Anne or Jane on tel: 6473 8353. We also have a clipboard with blank paper on the wooden desk for you to write any notes to Jane or Anne.

Registration Form
All students (or their guardians) must fill in a registration form before joining a class. If you wish to enroll your child, please complete on below and mail or drop it into Marsden Swim School, 113 Holland Road, Singapore 278556

goldpiggy
enfagrow is the one with 4X DHA. i've switch it to gain iq becoz of e price(cheaper currently) and i also find gain iq seems to have thicker FM compared to enfa ones.

Muddy,
re day and time not sure yet.. but we may want to arrange for more than 1 group.. cos 1 group is max 6, normally 4..
we can also do semi private, means 2 babies at 1 session of 1/2 hr.. this way if we have 6 babies we need 3 sessions and so on..
For me personally I am looking at Saturdays or sundays at Holland Rd..

oh i see. Then enfagrow sounds better to me. But Gain IQ have probiotics...haiz, i need to go research on it liao..I have the $3 off coupon leh,. you want? For Gain IQ.