(2007/08) August 2007 MTBs

nining,
haha i guess all ur neighbours r invited
can ask ur maid 2 help clear the mess after party

zhuzhu,
where u buy ur plants? jus curious u bought plants frm IKEA b4? i wanted to buy but dono can their plants tahan under my care haha

rc_cola,
I've been to The Line twice for lunch.
the variety is great but price wise a bit steep for dinner at 60plus
lunch not too bad $45++ plus got 15% off for UOB card holders.
I'll try Triple 3 next. hehe...

Goldpiggy,

How come yr cake so ex from PG?? 2kg at $150?? What flavor you order?? I order 1kg black forest for top layer and 2kg for bottom layer, thy chrge me $145 include toppers, mini icing, design and delivery leh..

Adeline - yours is very cheap lor. I just checked invoice again, mine is $148 and i provide all the toppers myself...yours provided right...mine is triple layer chocolate and lychee martini...with design, etc

goldpiggy,

Yours is 2kg or 3kg? better check lor cos their cakes is like $36/kg for the flavors you order mah
2kg how can it be that price? if 2kg, it should be ard $100+ niah with delivery

nining,
ya, v tired if using fin...haha

snnowy,
My friend's bb also showing butt to parents during every scanning and doc said shd be a gal, she really got a baby gal.

zhuzhu, an_gal,
It is money plant. I only water it once a week. So i shd anyhow spend $$$ then more $$$ will auto flow into my pocket...hehe.

Zhuzhu,
then parents can also have face painting, surely fun!! ahahahaha...

An_gal,
only neighbours at my floor laaa.. so many how to invite the whole tower kekekeke..

Loh,
u not using fins when snorkelling, just floating around?

anyone don't mind eating children's food can try go Disney Naturally at Anchorpoint opposite Ikea Alexandra.. We went there and the food were too blant for me and hubby, but Ike enjoyed the atmosphere very much, he ate his porridge without any fuss for 15 min!!! Usualy at home takes him at least 30 min with continuous stimulation like me becoming monkeys, or give him a book then when he opens a page then I make sound of the creature inside that page etc..

Adeline - i called liao. They said will amend for me. So should be less $148 now...haven't got the new bill but should be less than $120 i guess..but i headache on the cake design leh

Now thinking of what i can cater for the kids to eat else they also very 'chiam' right, like nothing much to eat, mostly adult food. order sandwiches like waste of money like that leh.

GoldPiggy,
I plan to have some cookies and choc bars fun size for the kiddos such as toblerone, M&M, kitkats to put on the buffet table too..
Also, you can order mini cup cakes or mini doughnuts or cook something light like macaroni and cheese..

Goldpiggy,
Sorry, it;s raining so my hubby will not be going to orchard. Can keep for me at your office?? Hubby sometimes went to his HQ at Newton, so he might be able to drop by during the working days. Thanks!!

Can somebody advise me if i have about 30 pax of guests, how many kgs should i order for the cake?
Feel like giving a call to Pine Garden and just order.

does seem like a virus is going round and round cos dd fell sick last week with a fever which lasted 3-4 days...with the nights being the worst, at some points she was measuring like 39.8 deg!
had to quickly sponge and cool her down
definitely heartbreaking...then after the fever broke, she came down in spots/rash all over - cheeks, front, back, neck...legs and arms were spared...so it's called fake measles eh...some surfing on the net brought me to this virus called ROSEOLA, which sees a few days of high fevers then followed by a rash...typically affects children from 3mths - 3years and very very common between 9-12 months...hmmm hmmmm.....

adeline:
how did you manage to get delivery included too? they quoted me $15 for delivery, i baulked and said i'd collect it myself! lol...$15 for delivery is real pricey :| did it require some haggling to waive the delivery? ;) but i suck at haggling.......

COla,
2 Kg is more than enuff.. last mommies gathering we had 2 Kg cannot finish, 1/2 of it gone to the guards kekeke..

Nining,
Thanks, I shall order 1.5 kg then, I scared cannot fin then wasted.. anyway the guests have a lot of food to eat as well :p

rc_cola - no problem. Just let me know when you wanna pick up. But not until february 2009 hor~! hehehe

Nining - was thinking of donuts and something like more nutritious. cos nowadays many children are sick then eat junk food, scared they fall sick again...cos intially want to order ice cream for all the kids..but think better not, weather so bad liao still eat ice cream, then cough more worse..

burp: so how long did the rash last??
today is the 4th day of my girl's fever but no longer at very high fever.. so after 4days is considered safe?

GolPiggy,
u can also do fondu with fruits, fruit salads with some colourful fruits on it.. macaroni and cheese usually accepted easily tho..

Mummies: As tricia is turning 1 soon.
I intend to let her enrol in some classes on weekend like sat or sun..
Any recommendations?
I have not attended any trial classes so far.
Please help.

i just bought an avacado fruit. thought of letting my gals try. but how to know whether it's ripe already? how to feed?

Dot16,
my elder gal also stand up while in the stroller during one of our shopping trip, so malu, she stand up and scream,haha!

twinkle,
when the skin turns brown and it's slightly soft, it's good to eat.
Cut into half in the length, along the seed. use spoon to scrap it bit by bit, and feed directly like that. Other option is to mash it with your kids' milk (a little).

zhuzhu,
wat type of classes u are looking for? I intend to enrol carene in GUG class leh...from my frien's blog, itz looks interesting!

Adeline: Really good deal for the cake toppers! I was super tempted to order from PG, but after calculating the cost of the cake, the two trips I would have to make to sample, order and maybe even collect the cake, and all the time spent hunting for the cake toppers in-between, I decided that it wouldn’t be worth my while, esp since PG is in AMK, which is too far away for me…

Nining: Agreed. The kiddos won’t care about the taste as long as it’s sweet and passably nice, and the adults won’t really eat much cake either. I ordered the same cake as what we had for the last gathering, but changed the flavor to Choc Sponge with Choc Mousse, so hopefully it’ll be even nicer.

You know, James’ has started “pinching” my food. Yesterday I was holding a hotdog in one hand and James in the other. He started tugging at the hotdog wrapper. I looked away for a second and suddenly my mum started laughing, “Look what happened to your hotdog!” . I looked and a whole chunk of bread was missing, and James was happily munching the missing chunk of bread and grinning mischieviously!

Guess what? Your manual arrived from USA today. My IL put it into the parcel containing James’ b’day present. I also just realized that I still have your headrest. I’ll drop by sometime next week to pass both to you, k? Thanks : )

Goldpiggy: E-creative is cheap coz its not a customized design (though very pretty), and the flavours are quite ordinary. Their average price for a 2 kg single tier cake is around $82, and they have a whole range of designs to choose from. On top of that we enjoy the 15% Aug 07 Mummies BP price and free delivery. For PG, you have to pay for cake, design fee, your own cake toppers and $15 delivery charge. The advantage is that you get really nice range of flavours to choose from and your own design…so it really depends on your taste and preferences, lor…

As for what to feed the children: I usually make pasta with tomato sauce for the kids during parties. Just get the shell shaped dried pasta, boil for 10 mins, heat up bottled pasta sauce, add some minced meat and frozen mixed veggie, and you’ve got a simple, delicious and healthy dish for the children.

An_gal: I usually buy my plants from the main distributors/wholesalers to nurseries, NTUC Fairprice and Ikea. They are all located in Bah Soon Pah Road, which is off Sembawang Road and kinda opposite Khatib Camp. You will see big white road sign stating something like “AVA Wholesale Plant Suppliers”. Quite “ulu”, but you get a really good range there. However, you do need a car or a cab to go there. Otherwise, better to just go to your friendly neighbourhood nursery.

Rc_cola: When I last spoke to Pine Garden, they told me that for 30 guests, 1.5 kg is more than enough. For the last gathering at Nining’s place, we had a 2 kg cake for 24 people and about half went uneaten…E-Creative cakes are thin, i.e., only 2 slices of sponge glued together with cream. Your PG cakes looks like a 3 layer cake, so smaller may be better.

I would just like to share with you a piece of advice given to me today by James' Physiotherapist: Once babies start walking, they shouldn't be wearing soft-sole shoes. They should wear shoes which have relatively stiff soles, the sort sold by bata or bubblegummers.

Good news is that after 2 months of intensive physiotherapy, James is finally on track with his gross motor development. Yeah!

oh,
wow, money plant.. ya.. got output then got input again so excuse 4 u 2 shop and spend ur $$ haha

nining,
haha if u invite the whole tower u mus open a SKP shop at the tower haha

chatty,
oh.. ntuc sell plants too? nv came across b4.. i oni know they sell plants accessories..
glad to hear tat James had great improvement.. Melcolm oso finally crawling the rite way now.. hoping to see him in walking action soon.
any idea why mus wear stiff soles shoes? more support.. ??

waaah, angeline finished 20 bottles of DOM? My mum was nagging i can't even finished a bottle. 2 weeks of confinement at her plc, i can't take it, i 'char bo' home. haahaa!

Loh,
Ya. That why the sonographer said too.

Chatty,
How about when the process of learning to walk? Is it ok to let them wear soft-sole shoes? I notice if I give her a hard-sole shoes, she will simply sit down and try to take it off. She will only stand if the shoes is finally being pulled off.

Angeline,
Wow 20 bottles of DOM. My MIL will surely love you. I only took 1 small cup (the tiny cup attached) and the rest is still sitting in my cupboard collecting dust.

woof: not sure oso, maybe some gym class or perhaps something to channel her energy.

good news. seems tricia has recovered well..

zhuzhu:

great to learn that tricia is recovering somewhat! :D

my girl's rash lasted for a few days..they subside (not so red or not so much) when she's cool, but when say she perspires or get warm, they'd appear again...i believe the rash disappeared after 2-3 days after the fever went away :D we were kinda glad to see the rash actually (something the pd did mention we'd see when the fever goes), it's better than the fever which made dd miserable and unhappy
anyway, when i read on the net on roseola, it mentioned that the rash can last a couple of days to a couple of weeks lol...

Angeline,
hehe how you drink 20 bottles of DOM?

Snnowy,
my sil last time also for every scanning, due to baby's position, can't see gender, she thought should be a girl, so happy, but she got a boy.

chatty:

just wondering aloud on the point your physio made on walking and the type of shoes...

all along i thought soft soled is better...well, i'm thinking along the lines of how it's 'recommended' to let babies go barefoot (even without socks) to help in their walking, grip, friction, that kinda stuff? thought all along it's important for them to feel the ground, blah blah...

did your physio elaborate on how stiff soled works better for babies and their walking? :D could be a new finding!

anyway dd isn't near walking from what i observe...she does a lot of crawling, cruising, pulling herself up from here and there from what she can reach, helping herself down from a sofa or bed (reverse so legs and bum down first)...but she isn't taking any steps...

science can be so fickle, always with a new finding and throwing everybody off course and scrambling to get things right again lol...

Hi Angal, Snnowy & Burp: According to the paediatric physiotherapist at NUH, no point wearing soft-sole shoes, coz "its just for show. Looks nice but of no use to babies". Instead of wearing soft-sole shoes, babies should just go bare-foot. If they do need to wear shoes outside, they should be given shoes with stiffer soles, which can provide better support. He suggested bata shoes. Bubblegummers is the same as bata, just more expensive because of the brand name. Actually, his advice concurs with the advice given by my Podiatrist from TTSH, who advised me to wear covered shoes with laces, to ensure maximum support for by feet and back. This advice applies to babies who are learning to walk or who can already walk.

Mic,
Me more or less already psycho myself it's going to be a gal lor.

Chatty,
Thanks for sharing the theory. Think will just let her be bare-footed till she knows how to walk.

Chatty, congrats! Good to know that james is now on track.

Nining - good idea hor, Yeah i should buy from four leaves...at least its something nice and chatty, your idea is good too...but on that day, i'll be very busy liao..so i will buy outside food for the kids and yet do for my another day..hee..

I already asked my mom to come early to help me with taking care of my boy and my hubby i have told him to do the decor for the function room and also to blow up the balloon. He said to rent the helium gas from Balloons r us at turf city but i remembered that is rather expensive right? The cheaper one is grefio but they aren't available from 1 to 12 aug, so can anyone suggest any other company which is cheaper for the rental of the helium gas?

Zhuzhu - i also want to bring him for class leh. if there's any interesting ones, can let me know. By the way, u staying in bkt gombak is it? There's a childcare which is opposite the gombak mrt that is going to be converted into a montessori school...

Now am looking at childcare centres when he turned 18 months - does anyone of you know the rates for : -

1) Growing up gifted
2) Shichida
3) Julia Gabriel
4) Modern Montessori

If anyone did a comparison already, can share share?

Chatty,
Glad to know that James is improving well :p
Thanks for the cake advice.

Re: shoes
I noticed Meg is more willing to walk when she is on hard sole shoes, i.e. croc. I get her a pair of croc and she could walk well. if i gave her the osh kosh soft sole, she can't walk properly.

By the way, My girl is walking now :p she could walk about 2 metres without falling. But most of the time she is just too timid to walk and prefer to crawl. Have to encourage her more.

Snowy,
Boy or girl is okay so long as your baby is healthy rite?

Goldpiggy,
I think the above that you are looking at is not really a childcare centre. But it's enrichment courses or baby class. I think Montessori do have childcare tho.

rc_cola: I find Meg learns extremely fast. Wat a smart girl! Tricia only can stand for long say 30secs or more? but she dun wanna go forward 1 step.. she used to wanna do that. once she's tired, she just squat down..

cola: totally agree with zhuzhu that your meg does learn fast! walking already, wow, cool! i'm looking forward to having dd learn to walk too, erm, less carrying??? lol

chatty: thanks for your sharing on the shoes and for the suggestion on the hairdresser...though i wouldn't mind having dd's hair trimmed, but somehow i can't bear, cos she hasn't had her hair cut since birth...had an obligatory trim at first month, but didn't shave and didn't cut since...

moms here, does your aug baby take the pacifier?

mine does and i wonder when i should wean her off it...and importantly how i'm gonna do it...any suggestions? any been there done that with your older kids? dd's my first, so no previous experience to fall back on ;) she only uses her paci when she's sleepy though, she doesn't get it for any other times in the day, it's not used to console her if she's whiny or anything...we ebf and she took to the paci really easily (unfortunately) i think from 2nd month onwards and had no nipple confusion........

so how now brown cow is what i've been asking myself with regards to the paci ;)

Chatty,
hahahahah James is naughty kekekekekeek... Happy to hear he's on track now.. You shouldnt worry bout the manual.. Soft copy is good already
Ike wanted pinches of my burger buns whenever we did drive in in the US trip, on the road.. and if I didnt share he would scream and scream with his eyes looking deep into my burger kekekeke..so if it's after his meal time usually I gave him, but if he had not had his meal, I ate after his meal or when he slept...
I told your hubby that Ike started to want anything we have on dining table like spaghetti or even roti prata!!! so I pinched roti prata at the egg part for him hahaha.. only very little, like total a cm2..
From An_gal's advice I gave Ike mee sua but with mild indonesian soto soup, he loves it and finish the whole bowl without fussing at all, but also, must feed him with chopstick!!
Also, when we ate sushi he wanted some, so I gave him the omelette and rice, but must feed him with chopstick!

GoldPiggy,
re-balloon gas - Kidforte at Henderson is cheaper, but they won't deliver. but it's only cheaper by $10 ish than balloon r us, so if time is critical I think ordering from balloon r us will be more sensible. Just remember to order enough for your requirement, noting that for 18" mylar, you will need almost twice as much gas as normal size latex. If you have airwalker, that is equal to something like 8-10 normal latex balloons..
Four leaves pastries are really good, me and my MIL used to buy in bulk when she was here last year, everytime we went to taka.. They also have shops all over the island, in IMM also have..

Zhuzhu,
great to know tricia is well now!!

Cola,
wow congrats on the walking.. I saw Ike walked few steps the other day without support and I went gaga over it kekeke.. he has not repeated that again tho..

Chatty,
yeah I wasted $70 on 2 pairs of shooshoos that Ike never worn, sold them brand new at 1/2 price.. He hated them.. then when we went shoe shopping again for him, I let him tried all sorts of shoes and he is only happy with clarks so he has them now..

burp,
Ike never has pacifier, only once in a flight, but he kept on spitting it out.. but here is his latest habit, sucking on his lower lip..

1587076.jpg