(2007/08) August 2007 MTBs

Hi Chatty, am from Sept thread. I would love to hear about your adventure with your boy to the cold cold country yeah. Am going to bring my boy to Canada in Dec for 3 weeks.

Can share with you what is this FAA approved carseat? What brand and model issit?

Am asking my friend in Canada to buy an aircraft harness for me and ship over cos' i have purchased a tix for my boy since he won't be able to fit into the bassinet by year end.

Hi Nining: Thanks! That's what we thought too! I love your SitNStroll...its sooo cool, esp. the way the wheels pop out : ). You know the headrest thingee you were saying Ike hates? We have the kiddopotamus version called the head cradler... can't wait to try it...hee! hee!

Tiny Voice: Sure. Will share with you my experience when I return.

Some car seats are approved by the FAA (which stands for Federal Airline Authority or something like that) for use in planes. One of them is the SitNStroll which is supercool...
http://www.lillygold.com/sns.html
My BIL, who is a SIA pilot, told me that there are several brands of carseats which can be used in planes. You can ask the airline for the list of carseats.
Its only useful if you intend to buy a plane seat for your baby and rent a car in Canada though...

You won't need to buy an aircraft harness for your baby, as all airlines provide it automatically.

Cin,
So qiao my hb's frd staying at Warren too & i brought my boy there for swimming b4. Next time can say hi to u

jete,
welcome back... u must hv had a enjoyable trip, so envy!

zhuzhu,
i've no idea abt maclaren xt techno or quest, nvr did any research on strollers. heheee...
so far i'm quite satisfied with my peg perego aria which is my 3rd one. peg perego p3 too bulky to handle alone and combi, as rc_cola said, too narrow although it is lightweight and easily folded, even the seat space is also narrow and i always feel that chloe looks uncomfortable so i changed to aria, it's with 'moveable' 5pts harness.

xman,
some ppl just talk w/o using their brain *faintz*
dun worry, chloe also used to crawl by pulling her body with her hands, after a few weeks of lifting up her butt, she's now crawling on 4s. just need a lot of practise.

gold..piggy,
wow, that was ex for an assessment. chloe did her 9mth assessment when she had her 1st pneumococcal jab at kidslink so PD didn't charge me although it was my first visit to that clinic.

mel,
i just confirmed the $258.00 package with foto-u, already made my appt in july and i chose benjamin, no particular reason. hopefully he's good.

thread is going so fast! can't catch up!!!!

welcome back jete!

ooo, speaking of post-birth trauma! my colleague is gonna pop any day now...really evokes memories of what it was like for me

i had super bad piles too post birth! gynae recommended that i even do something about it before i plan for nxt bb.. but i'm hesitant to go for surgery tho..

i'm running out of food ideas! what shape pasta have u guys been giving bb? i'm worried about giving tomatoes..too acidic i've read...but yee ehng loved it in his porridge last time we tried, when can we start giving cheese? is it too salty? i'm giving him homemade yogurt now, super easty to make, i use UHT milk so its cheap too!..i've started using my bread machine again and baked bread for yee heng to try last week..he seems to like it! but funny boy doens't like to feed himself, seems to prefer it if i put the bread in his mouth for him..how do i encourage him to eat it himself? also, he's only 7.8kg now at 9 monhts..teeny tiny! doesn't like to drink milk..how how? i'm nursing him a lot at nite instead so super tired..but i figured if it'll help with his weight gain i'm ok...

re: carseat, yee heng went thru a hate carseat stage too..but what i did was to train him slowly by letting him sit inside and then play with him with lots of toys whilst he's inside..when he fuss, try n distract him n if cannot after 5 mins i'l take him out, wait for him to calm down and try again..took some persistence but he's mostly good now except for when he's super tired in the evenings

re: baby's development...yee heng has been able to stand holding the side of his cot since about 8 months, but he's not particularly chatty tho..hardly babbles..how can i encourage him more? i'm not scheduled for a 9 month assessment, only a 1 year with my PD..is it absolutely neccesary?

zhuzhu,
i bought maclaren techno xt, sitting in the cupbaord now..yee heng did use it at infant stage even tho its not 100% flat..

have a great day ahead everyone!

Goldpiggy & mummies,

Last nite bought my boy back for his sensitive nose review & oso check his ear. PD said nothing wrong with his ears leh, maybe its a habit that he likes to scratch & pull his ears. He mentioned some bbs like to do that. So long as we keep their nails short will do.
So mummies, no need to worry too much, ok

cin, woof,

shld be manageable without a maid, will definitely be getting a PT one. quoting from snowy: just sleep lesser. keke..

oh.. i think there's free shuttle from clementi and toa payoh going to turf city..

Loh,

that happened to me awhile ago. i also thought is self-weaning. but end up, he still latches now. It might be the teething period that makes him less interested in latching.

pink,

one of the reason of not having a maid is because i'm not comfortable with a stranger at home. secondly, my hse is tiny with me, hubby and baby, not much things to do since i decided to be SAHM.

jang,
oh, ic.

Glee,
I go NTUC LOT1 everyweekend for groceries. I guessed u stay near the school rite? The KJE express there?

Joey! Busy busy mummy after maid gone huh? heehee

ytanhn: thanx. I got my new stroller oradi. 2nd one. pple r telling me I waste $$ cos Tricia is growing older. Duh? She can't walk or gallop like the horse so who's gonna carry her?
madness

lilyn: I'm gonna fully utilise my xt techno! Went supermarket with tricia in it. At least relieve me of my load.. haha

jang,

I had the same situation as u.. used to have a maid, but nothing much for her to do.. that she just sat at the kitchen and "wang4 tian1" looked at the sky most of the time! Scary..
So decided to let my baby stay with a nanny near my place while i continue to work..
Prob will send her to childcare when she is 2year-old

Glee,
Ya, dunno y last sunday NTUC super crowded. I normally go there abt 4-5pm, dinner + groceries on sunday.heheh

I always wonder wat will a SHAM do everyday at home dealing wif baby. I will be full of energy to play wif him on Sat, but will be so tiring and dunno wat to talk and play to my baby on sunday. Coz watever can talk already talked on Saturday...hahah

Loh,

I've mixed feelings on that.. I miss my baby alot mon-fri when i'm at work but on saturdays & sundays, it'll be sooo tiring that i dare not think of being a full-time mummy..
Salute to all SAHMs

jang,
the pasta u make for Jae sound yummy!! What cheese do u put? Cos right now we can only feed them hard cheese right? U put cheddar huh? I didnt know butter was ok for them to eat..like that its basically like cooking pasta for myself!haha!!

Cin,
I have no choice but to entertain him cos he likes me to do it!haha! But luckily nowadays he takes a 2hr nap at abt 11plus and thats when I can surf the net etc...other than that, he naps for only 1/2hr

As for cheese, they only can eat Gruyere,Emmenthel,cheddar and Edam right now..thats what I read..only hard cheeses..they cant take soft cheese yet..

an-gal,
Dont like that leh..I dont want to play catching with him..must keep my fingers crossed!! When reach that stage I thk I'll just start training him to be in his room and he can play catching himself inside *evil mom* hahahaha!!

Cin,
U sure 1 zero enough?? Hahaha!!!

Jang,
Cin is right.turf city is along bt timah rd and the old turf club..somewhere around Ngee Ann Poly..

Zhuzhu,
Mathias also pulls out his books and VCDs from his section...but only when he wants to watch soemthing or if he wants me to read to him..we purposely put his stuff within his reach so that he can take himself but that day he tore off the cover from one of his books..*aaarrrgh*

Gold Piggy,
Go set up store at flea mkt lah! I am planning to do that..I have tonnes of clothes and shoes that I cant wear anymore..(my feet seem to have expanded after birth)

Loh,
Your boy auto-wean..so cute...

woof,
they cant eat seafood yet
I'll try out Jang's recipe..sounds yummy

TinyVOice,
if you're flying SQ, they provide child harness for lap baby. If you get a seat for your child, then u must bring a carseat along.. we got a sit n stroll and my son loved it, he hated it at first as he hates anything that strap him hahahah but once we're moving he's fine, and in car he slept most of the time, or play or watch the sky moving .. I sat in the back seat with him of course, so he was not lonely..

for feeding food, bring the pigeon feeding bottle that has spoon attachedment.. I used to use boon squirt, it is very good for purees, but won't be able to use with chunky food.. the pigeon feeding bottle I think is cheap.. and it's not polycarbonate so not to worry bout bpa..

use the hotel kettle to boil the bottles and teats.

Jang,
May I kaypoh a bit.. when you return to agent, since you're not getting replacement, did you get your upfront $ back? I think taking new maid from agent will require you to pay their salary upfront, like 8 months , to the agent, right? or she has paid off that? hehe.. if the maid is good, should ve let me know, many of my indo friend are looking also :D can do transfer easily..

Nining,
Ur company also so good? My company only allowed Jeans on fridays 2 mths back!! Gosh!! Dress code here very strict but it was worse couple of years ago..haha!! U also want me to add 1 zero only huh?

Chatty,
at least for u u seize the opportunity and ask for more than a zero..hehehe!!
so unfair..u and Nining can wear crocs to work..so comfy and nice to walk in..

Mel,

so far, i've used cheddar and parmesan
i'm trying to make our(adult) food in such a way that, even baby can eat too! i tried baked salmon with orange juice and topped with parmesan cheese, also nice too! i always bake one big piece, than the whole family can eat together, no need to cook separately for baby.

Angeline - thanks for letting us know that it's ok for them to scratch their ears..

Jang - i agree with you. Initially he refuses but end up, till now, he is still latching on and absolutely love it! Won't even settle for pacifier at times and can wake up in the middle, crying so fiercely and tugging at me, demanding for his addiction to be satisfied!

Chatty - ya and i thought you went for holiday already....that is really difficult to pack - from super hot to super cold climate - such a good adventure trip for James but better pack biscuits and bread and toys in case he gets cranky...

Chatty,
heheh Ike just hates anything on his head, I dunno why.. till now he will throw away any hat or cap or beanie I put on him, so any picture with him with hat etc, had to be done in a hurry hahahaah..

let me know how James like/dislike the sitnstroll.. i like it cos it's just very handy, even if you don't use in airport, can put barang2 in.. and during meal in airport without baby feeding chair, then can use.

Glee,

when i read your post about "wang tian", i was laughing! yeah.. my maid also wang tian alot.. we also allow her to read papers and her book.. because she doesnt need to tend to my boy, sometimes i feel that she has more free time than me..

Loh,

normally i'll let jaeden play by himself on the playmat whole i do hsework or msn. until he needs my attention, then will start playing with him or walk around the house. but i try to bring him out often, because time at home pass so slowly..

Mel,
hehehe am working in a plant maaa... and engineer somemore, so no need to dress up meeting customers or outsiders.. everyone I got to see are internal ppl, or if outsiders, are suppliers who used to see engineers being messy kekekekek.. so no probs..

Yaya 1 zero enough, big enough to blow my acct, but small enough to not get detected kekekeke..

Jang,
wah I wanna copy cat your idea, same food for everyone.. meaning no more spicy stuff for me and hubby hehehehe.. maybe once a week ok ya..

Nining,

my maid already paid off her loan, so i don't get money back. The only thing i'm paying is the levy. Paying until she gets a new employer or for a month, whichever comes first.

I find my maid quite ok, compared to the many horror stories i've heard. Mine is a filipino, if you have friends who are interested, i PM u my agency, then you can forward to your friends?

Angeline, what's the sensitive nose review? my baby now has colds so not sure if that sensitive...he has very sensitive skin though...i only use cetaphil to bathe him.

Jang,
oic.. all my indo friends only wants indonesian maids, easy to communicate and know how to deal with them already hehehe..

but can PM me maybe someone at office will want.. also pls let me know the maid's name.. cheers...

jang,
am looking for a maid!! is ur old one still available actually? u find her ok? i need one soon cuz the uncle who's caring for my boy has a grandson coming in 2 months and i'm concerned that 2 young ones will be too hard to manage..

jang,
Salmon lots of bones ler. I only know cook chinese food. How to bake salmon? need marinate? need to wrap wif aluminium foil? Bake how long? BTW, why must preheat the oven b4 use har?

My oven already kept in cupboard since i went to give birth. PReviously only tried to make garlic bread and grill pork...

BTW, anyone know how to choose cherry? Must choose dark red and hard one? I bought some but is sour. Baby can eat cherry?

nining,
re: baby flying..i didn;t get yee heng a seat for our perth trip in sept..how does it work exactly? i'm flying SQ, wasn't told i needed anything like a car seat..i vaguely remember them saying we get some kind of bassinet?

loh,
my son not so good life..cherries are too expensive! i've let yee heng have kiwifruit, and that's pretty sour but he seems to like it!

Nining, Lilyn,

you can call Nation(toa payoh): 6353 8199, Look for Mandy, she's my agent. Maid's name is: Emmalyn.

Just sent her back yesterday. Her bio-data is not uploaded on the website yet.

Lilyn,

just to let u know that she doesn't take care of my boy. So, not sure about her skills on caring for children. But she pick up things quite fast, so i don't think will be a big problem.

Loh,

wah.. ur oven very under utilise lei.. lol.. my salmon fillet no bones lei.. if i eat salmon with my boy, i only add some orange juice to flavor and then topped with cheese to bake. if i eat with hubby, we use teriyaki sauce, honey and other spices to marinate.

i use aluminum foil to bake. depending on ur recipe, some needs u to wrap with aluminum foil, some doesn't. yeap.. i also preheat the oven..

jang,

hehe me giggling too..
But i'm considering.. back to having a maid when my Liz is ready for childcare (by the time, really have to cook real meals).. as i hate housework and my cooking sux
.. lousy me

lilyn,
BB can digest the kiwi seeds?

jang,
Hmm, how come last time my salmon fillet so much bones. Then bake how long har?

Nining: If you know of any good maid, do let me know. I need one from July onwards...I finally managed to get the FDW Employers Orientation Program cert! The Singapore Poly e-learning system was overwhelmed by the sheer number of students logging on, and each page of the powerpoint slide took forever to appear...so it took me a whopping 5 hours to complete a 90 minute course...and then only after I complained to Singapore poly and they gave me the instructors PDF manual : 0

James doesn't like having things on his head too! He takes off the head bumper. Haven't tried any hats yet, but given that he has so little hair, he'll have to wear a hat in the mountains.

Sewing course - I think sometimes community centres or those shops selling arts and crafts supplies will have such courses. However, if you have the patience, u can just buy a sewing book and learn from there...

Really looking forward to using your SitNStroll : ). I don't think James will have a problem, as he's usually quite good about sitting in strollers and carseats. He's only protested once or twice in 10 months. When we go out shopping, there've been several occasions when other mummies walk by and tell their children loudly, "Why can't you be good like this baby? You see, he's sitting quietly in his stroller!"

Gold_piggy: Yup! I'm also concerned about how to keep him entertained during the long long flight to USA. Spoke to Muddypie this morning, and she suggested cutting little pieces of masking tape for James to stick all over the place. Another friend also told me to get lots of stickers from SIA for James to play with. Good reminder though about the biscuits, didn't think of it at all!

jang,
just rang the agency, ur maid has interview this afternoon...may not be available depending on whether or not she's taken...ah well, will see how it goes..
btw what is the reason that she doens't care for jaeden? i'm not sure how to train up the maid myself or what to look out for even..friends have given me tips, tat i should find one who has kids (primary school age is better), been in singapore before..what do u think?