(2007/08) August 2007 MTBs

i am back!! how is everybody. just shifted over the our new place last wed.still trying to get used to a threesome life. most stuff has been unpacked. titus is not used to the environment n he missed our dog. everyday got to bring him down for a walk to pacify him. other than that we r fine.

how is everybody? I missed so much posts. if i got the time, i will slowly read.

see u gals again.

nining,
i cant find any medela bottles at JL in marina sq today..

loh,
wah..so good...toilet train liao har & not using potty but on the norm toilet bowl...COOL!

ytanhn,
i ordered tees fm cuteeland and my items were sent to me pretty fast...

chatty,
luckily u haf some knowledge to it..if itz me, i would tink tat some babies skip tat stage..

angeline,
sorry, i keep forgetting to ask my friend abt the deco...will sms her and ask her...let u know again.

an_gal,
got improvement har...at least some progression lah...give him a few more daes before u take any action.

jang,
jaeden has grown up so much more! so watz the recent toy tat he is playing with?

cin,
give urself more time. i m sure u will adapt to the new place in no time...can bring him to lot 1 for shopping to distract him

Jang: Bottom shuffling occurs when a baby sits on his bottom, and uses his arms to push himself around. Kinda like when a person sits on a wheelchair, and uses his arms to push the wheels.

Pinkysummer: I'm a psychologist, and I do psychoeducational assessments. Hence, I work a lot with OTs. Many doctors in my family too, and they're also not really aware of this issue. Even my own PD isn't aware, and many books on child development written by PDs say that bottom shuffling is ok...hence, the widespread perception that it is. The weak muscle condition is due to developmental issues with the cerebellum (a part of the brain), but it can be corrected easily enough with therapy. We know that there's a correlation between bottom shuffling and developmental dyspraxia, and this in turn may (not always) lead to problems such as inattention, poor social skills etc in school age children. Children with such problems are often diagnosed as just below borderline ADHD, but may never receive treatment because they're not ADHD. The treatment is really administered by occupational therapy, often with very good results. However, OTs tell me that the window closes by age 12 years. In my practice, I've seen many children with this condition, and many either bottom shuffled or were prevented from crawling by their parents (weird but true).

Date, Time: 6th July 2008, 2-4pm
Venue: function room at either Hume Avenue or Lakeside
Cost: TBC(shld be having high tea buffet like the previous time at Nining's place and will prolly order a cake)

1. Jang (2pax)
2. Pooh_astro (2 pax) tentative
3. Nining (3 pax)

ythanhn,
I think everyone envying Jete now, I know I do kekekeke.. and soon I'll be envying chatty!!

Chatty,
ya cos u have the pro background, can reason better with PD, for me I'd be more emotional hehehehe..

Woof,
I got extra 2 boxes of medela bottles bought during OG sales, usual kiasu me.. I can sell u at S$25 / box (bought at 27). U want?

I saw jete just signed in!!! I think she's back!!

Pink,
mine not lake view one so not that nice lah kekeke.. we thot of getting the one that really lakeview by lakeside mrt, but too noisy due to mrt..

woof,
medela only comes with 150 ml, which if I fill full, it's actually 200 ml up to the brim.

yes I use pigeon teats, rings and caps, so I just use the medela's bottles, I keep the ring and seal disc in storage..

here is the pic..

1455707.jpg

woof,
Ike also drink 200ml, then I make to full brim.. I actually did a test, I filled up water up to 200ml, then pour into the medela bottle hehehe.. when inside got formula powder, must pour slowly.. If ike needs more than 200ml then I make 2 bottles..

i'm back. it's almost 3am, i'm awake, hubby is awake, so is paige. that should sum it up!

i'm sick, tired, and jetlagged. paige is sick and jetlagged too. cranky definitely!! will try to catch up more when we are settled in. the cruise was nice, weather a bit rainy. our little piggy got popular on the ship with the staff and grandparents. they come play with her when we are about the ship. "hey paige!" and i'm trying to remember when/where i have met this person heading our way. heehee even the security personnel got to know paige since they have to scan her card whenever we get on and off the ship. and know what paige loves? the breakfast buffet!! what a piggy!!

chatty:
i didn't realize not crawling by 9m is an issue. paige didn't start crawling until the day she turned 9m old and still doesn't crawl very well. hmm... glad you had the knowledge and persistency and got him the help he needed.

BPA bottles:
i was looking for bigger BPA free bottles when we were in the US but non i fancy, so we decided to use the playtex drop ins when we need bigger bottles. paige takes 4-5 oz now so when she needs more than that, we'll just use the drop ins, if not we'll use the medela bottles we've been using. she's not a big eater and have kept to the same oz for a long time, hopefully it'll be the same, esp with more food.

if any one wants to buy the pigeon bottles, i heard you can go to their office and buy it from them directly.

Chatty, prevented from crawling by parents!!!! but i thought parents would love to see their little ones crawl.. these parents must have their own reasons.

Xman, rouxi cough and flu better now?

Jete, welcome back. I was thinking how come you have not been posting for so long liao then i suddenly remembered... cruise to alaska

Wow Loh, your boy already toilet train... How you do it? Can share the tips.

I'm starting to potty train Shannon and i manage to "catch" 1 poo poo and 1 wee wee... then she was down with flu & cough so i stop and i'm lazy to start again until now..

woof,

no new toys for a looong time. with his weight, cannot play anymore exersaucer-type of toys. so, stick to floor play and loads of crawling ard.

woof,
Nanny started potty train since my baby does not know how to sit yet, so cannot use baby potty. Now he doesn't want to sit on the potty tt i bought coz not used to it.

Ivy,
Can ask him to poo when heard him fart. Pee is normally aft he woke up. Got to spent time for the training.

My boy is literally screaming all the time and i really mean SCREAMING...just now was on bus with him, he was crying and SCREAMING until i have no choice but to alight and take a cab home in the end when its only like 3 bus stops away.....haiz

cin,
finally moved into ur "home sweet home"... enjoy the "san ren shi jie" :p

woof,
oni slight improvement lah.. but he finally know how 2 use the walker liaoz.. today keep going kitchen look 4 me haha.. then hand itchy, open the drawers of the cabinets..

jete,
welcome back.. ur trip seems so interesting and exciting.. don 4get to show us some nice pics..

Cin,
Welcome back. Miss you

Jang,
Congrats to her. How come she dont need to stay for observation? She did not take any maternity package from hospital?

snnowy,

i'm not sure of the details but was quite shocked that she can go home so fast.. baby is going home with her too.. in this case, she shld have saved alot of money.. hehe..

Some updates...
Doren and buddy Melcolm is already 10.5 months old.
can't believe in 1.5 months, he will be 1 year old!
till now some people still can't tell if he is a boy or girl

1458963.jpg
1458964.jpg

bliss,
aiyo.. Doren looks more n more like u leh.. his eyes so charming.. love his eyes...

birthmark still there huh.. Melcolm 1 oso hehe..

Good morning to all!

Bliss, doren look like girl to me...leh, very very nice eyes, very alluring.

Nining - i have no clue. Nowadays he is into screaming. Happy or crying also can suddenly scream....either too happy or too hungry will scream super loud..

Jang - wow, she is really amazing...how old is she? Hers is natural birth i guess but no pain meh.

The weekends pass so fast.

So when is the gathering date for the birthday bash. Think my hubby won't be going. Anyone whose hubby won't be going?

Should we like each bring a gift ( unisex gift ) and capped it at a certain amount? hahah...

Nobody saw my post regarding the gathering? No interest?

--------------------------------------------

Cost: TBC(shld be having high tea buffet like the previous time at Nining's place and will prolly order a cake)

1. Jang (2pax)
3. Nining (3 pax)

Joey! there's another outing???

1. Jang (2pax)
3. Nining (3 pax)
4. zhuzhu07 (2 pax)

bliss: oh my. doren's eyes are mesmerising!

ytanhn: i need to get a maclaren xt techno or quest. know anything abt it? basically a 5-tier harness cos tricia can climb out of the stroller! faints

wat abt bottom shuffling huh???

Joey,
so pity huh.

Okay I add my name in.

1. Jang (2pax)
3. Nining (3 pax)
4. zhuzhu07 (2 pax)
5. rc_cola (2 pax)

Zhu,
I got my quest already. I actually thinking of whether techno xt or quest. It is said that tehno xt can recline more than quest and suitable from birth (i think), but somehow I let meg try hor, not really recline that much ler.. How can a newborn sleep on it?? For quest, stil cant recline much but at least she could sleep inside
my old lucky baby one can recline till sleeping flatly ler, which is very good, but a big too bulky for me to handle alone.

Somemore techno xt, heavy ler, i think about 8.2 kg or sth. In the end I chose Quest lor..Brought it out with me yesterday (alone with Meg), stil okay lar, not very heavy for me hehehehehe.. easy to fold and unfold.

Seriously I think combi one very nice, lightweight and easily folded, but too narrow for our babies (even Meg fits so nicely in it without any extra space), think for newborn and smaller baby stil okay.
I asked hubby NEXT TIME MY NEWBORN HOW LER?? QUEST, SURE A NO NO FOR NEWBORN.
He told me WE BUY ANOTHER ONE

If you want quest, get it from OG - sale at S$219 (mothercare sale at S$257+), techno og no sale i think, and mothercare sale at S$392+...

bliss,
doren still as charming as before..like the pic on the right more (somehow or rather the pic on the right melt my heart)..

cola,
i agree wif u..the lightwt combi stroller is real small for our bb at this stage..newborn still very comfy but this stage, itz pretty small especially if they lie down..
ur hubby so nice har...willing to buy another stroller for ur nex newborn, so to speak, ready for the 2nd one?

Sorry to disturb.

Anyone interested to work for 3 months doing data entry work in a hospital environment. That person will work in a office. Don't need to type very fast but must pay attention to details. And must be able to commit to 3 months of work.

For more details please contact Veron at 91729703

1. Jang (2pax)
3. Nining (3 pax)
4. zhuzhu07 (2 pax)
5. rc_cola (2 pax)
6. Gold..piggy ( 2 pax - me and baby )

good morning mummies,

just got time to catch up the threads.

ytanhn,

some ppl really blind one, last weekend I shopping with a friend, her daugher 1.5 years old while ruoxi 10 months old, that gal already walking and my gal sleep in my arm, they looks so different in sizes and skin color, then got one auntie ask me if they are twins,faintz..

Chatty,

from what u described looks like ruoxi also bottom shuffling, last weekend we trained her to crawl, use keychain handphone all those stuff that she like tempting her, she can move a bit but the posture so different with other bb, she mainly use her hands but not her knee to crawl leh. jialak, have to bring her to see doc liao.

Jete,

wow,paige is so popular, hehe, update us the photos in facebook leh.

Ivy,

thanks,I didnt bring her to see doc again, just feed her more water then after 2 days she's ok liao.saved the doc's name for future use.(hope no use at all)

jang,

my friend daughter 1.5 years old only 11kg but already looks quite chubby, no wonder ppl mistaken Jae as 2 or 3 years old.haha.

jessel,

thanks for the link, seems I have to throw away the NUK and pigeon bottles as they are not in the BPA free list.

bliss,

wow, doren latest photo really sooo pretty, haha, really looks like gal gal leh.esp the second photo his smile so gentle.

hi all! haven't been here for a while. My son juz recovered. Older one. Fever went up to 39.8. Good thing i got bufen stand by else.

Any bbs like to scratch & dig their ears?? My boy everyday dig & scratch his ears one, dunno anything wrong anot?? Need to see PD?? Any bb do the same thing, can share more info?

Chatty,

Can help to check with ur aunt ( doctor )

Gt this from my friend..

NEW USE FOR VICKS VAPORUB

<font color="0000ff">To stop night-time coughing in a child (or an adult, as we
found out personally), put Vicks Vaporub generously on the
bottom of the feet at bedtime and then cover with socks.
Even persistent, heavy, deep coughing will stop in about five
minutes, and stay stopped for many, many hours of relief. This
works 100 percent of the time and is more effective in children
than even very strong prescription cough medicines. In addition,
it is extremely soothing and comforting and they will sleep soundly.
I heard the head of The Canada Research Council describe these
findings by their scientists when they were investigating
the effectiveness and usage of prescription cough medicines in
children as compared to alternative therapies like acupressure.
I just happened to tune in to a.m. Radio and picked up this guy
talking about why cough medicines in kids often do more harm
than good due to the chemical make-up of these strong drugs,
so I listened. It was found to be more effective than prescribed
medicines for children at bedtime and in addition to have a
soothing and calming effect on sick children who then went on
to sleep soundly.
My wife tried it on herself when she had a very deep constant and
persistent cough a few weeks ago and it worked 100 percent! She said
it felt like a warm blanket had enveloped her. The coughing stopped
in a few minutes, and believe me, this was a deep (incredibly
annoying - every few seconds!), uncontrollable cough, and she slept
cough-free for hours every night she used it.
If you end up sick, try it yourself and you will be absolutely amazed
at the effect.</font>