(2007/08) August 2007 MTBs

mel, think I know why your's cheaper, you haven't add in the gst right?

xman, not so bad lah, think most studio pics are almost the same, mine is photojournalistic.

banquez, mine is by Kelvin of Lighted pixels.

chocco, the combo is not weird what, I just gave Aidan pork & broccoli last week, think it was very tasty. This week, I'm giving him cauliflower & chicken puree cook in pork stock.

banquez, it's ok to intro meat to bb under 1yr, as by the time they are ard 8 mth, they'll need protein to help them grow too. And meat are good source of protein.

lilyn, your receipe looks interesting, did you puree the apple? Maybe I shld try it too. Sound weird at first, but then, there's also apple soup, it's cook in pork bone stock also.

jete, managed to see Dr Lee, waited for abt an hour, so not too bad,, reached there at abt 1 plus, got to see her at abt 2 plus. Jusst wondering, don't she have any lunch break?? Because, when I arrived, there's alrdy one patient waiting, and another inside seeing her. After that, another one whom I think came earlier to register came in and after me, there's 2 more.

an_gal,
can try out if u wan...

gold piggy,
cant really comment much abt the milk powder coz i started off wif dumex and sticking to it...
will try to get a special rate from ecreative...if he has tried similac and itz ok, den stick to it lor unless u wan him to try out other brands...

chomecc,
erm....sure bingo meh...well, will try and leave the rest to nature....juz visited my colleague today who had delivered...newborns are really so adorable! but when come to tink of it, if itz ur own, can be quite scary....

Mel,
me too...i use my lips to "bite" carene and she tinks itz funny..*faint* but she really nibbles on me especially in the morning..maybe this is her method of waking me up...haha
btw, got bulk discount for dumex or not?

hi an_gal, woof!
enjoyed lots! its a good getaway to take a baby coz no bulky diaper bags to lug around.... n naps are easy coz simply just go back to cabin ..

jete,
should definitely go! better still if u have someone to go with you to take over baby for awhile so can at least spend some couple time together too..

hi bliss!
we missed going on virgo coz their last sail here was in march .. its since sailed on to hong kong already.. i think u meant star aquarius - the smaller one. this one is superstar aquarius .. its also smaller and older too. leo doesnt exist anymore .. sold to norwegian cruise line n is now known as something else ..

try to psycho your hubby lah.. sell the convenience of bringing baby on cruise.. =)
very relaxing right? hubby n i went last year due to my pre natal depression on valentine's day n we got a free cake.. this year we booked a week before departure and was super expensive!!

re: porridge
i use chicken or pork or fish. add in red dates and wolfberries n ikan bilis. take out meat n ikan bilis to blend and return to porridge n add veg puree before serving.

oh btw i use tap water to cook.. no stock n not even boiled water.

jereth's schedule

6am - 180ml (still sleeping while feeding)
1030am - wakes up and bathes and plays
12pm - porridge + a fruit puree , then i take him out for a walk and to buy my lunch
130pm - takes 10ml of gripr water + 100ml of water and naps
2.30pm - wakes up and play
4.30pm - 160ml milk (usu falls asleep after)
6pm - wakes up and play again
8pm - 5 teaspoons cereal + 1 fruit n 1 veg puree
1130pm - 180ml milk and HOPEFULLY sleeps.

today is an exception. he's still sitting on my lap watching me file my income tax. haha..

adeline
paige will take nan but still not willing to take it all the time. but it's better than enfapro, which she will not drink at all.

mel
is the brown rice with si sen? and must cook? not just add water? hee, my style of cooking now is just add water leh.

CHatty,
he slided off the sofa during his nap time lah.. hubby was beside him but napping too.. and kicked off the pillow beside him, so he fell on pillow.. I guess for him it's more the shock than the pain cos after cried loudly for abt 3-5 min, he stopped and slept again and even smiled in midnight.. strange tyke that one hehehe..

banque_suez,
i was advised by 2 PDs to give yee heng more protein due to his weight dropping from the 50th to 25th percentile in 1 month...that said, i think we need to balance their diet with carbo and veg too!

xman,
who was the PG? how much did u pay for the shots? i think muddypie's one isn't cheap rite? kelvin did for my SIL's wedding last yr...

re: baby's schedule..seems like lots of babies sleep quite late here le..yee heng usually goes to bed at about 8/8.30, but he usually is awake from 4/5m onwards...BUT STILL NOT SLEEPING THRU THE NIGHT!!!! last night he woke up at 9+, 10+ and 11+ after his usual 8pm bedtime...dunno why?!! now i'm such a zombie at work..hope my morning clients don't show up..! Hubs was nagging and scolding me to just take MC, but i feel bad doing that, since i'm not really sick, just tired+++++..sometimes i'm reluctant to even tell him i'm tired, cuz he'll always nag at me to take the day off..but i feel so bad when i do cuz i have to cancel all my appointments and my clients have to wait a long time to see me...urgh! if only yee heng sleeps thru the nite, it wouldn't be so bad..i'm half tempted to just wean him of BF and give him FM at nite to see if he'll stop the nightwakings!

Just read all the post, was super busy recently..

Alsie,

the market yogurt inside they add "milk solid" or something like that, forgot the naming, which is to make the yogurt looks very creamy, but homemade one we add nothing, based on my friend's research, those added things are not good since they are not nature one. Another reason is home made yogurt price only about 1/2 of the market one.

banquez/lilyn,

my PG is David, he's quite a nice guy, maybe the indoor studio all like that like what muddypie mentioned, will try outdoor one next time..hehe.

woof,

good luck to yr make bb plan, are u ready for pregnant again?last time I also wanted an ox bb, but after a lot conflict with parents/hubby, I decide not so rush, may just stop at #1 if all those problems can't be solved..

Luckily my boys' poo poo is ok! Haiz and yippee, this morning, he gave a little poo so changed him before bringing him to my MIL

Chommec - you very young only is it - i think you look like the 27-29 range leh

Loh - will ask my hubby to bring me there tonight if it is not too late and around what time normally you will be home - hope it won't rain heavily again...it's always raining nearing home time..

Re: Bumper Mat
I saw there's a BP from Small Small World - $119 for the sweet bear instead of $149. Do you all think it's cheaper if i buy from Small Small World instead of Alien but who is cheaper and comes with better material for the mat? What is LG Prime also? Sorry cos their posts always so long and can't finish reading at 1 go when boss come to office...boss are such a pain in the neck!

Nining - my hubby also always nap along with my son and after 1 time when he didn't really stay alert, i didn't really dare to leave him alone with daddy. Even when i was sick last week, i still brought him along with me whenever i went altho' my hubby did volunteer to help..case of Once bitten, Twice Shy!

chatty,
All babies milestone really different!
My boi is 7.5mths now and he is learning to sit up by himself these few days! First in lying position, support wif legs and hands, then slowly sit up!

Lilyn,
My boi can stretch longer hour at night if his last feed is bm! Was thinking to mix cereal into his milk for last feed...

gold piggy,
sure. u can come aft 7.30pm. use my hb hp which i pm u last time coz i always left my hp inside the working bag at nite.

babies not sleeping thru the night

i remember reading somewhere in this forum that if babies are full in the daytime and having enoughs naps, they will sleep well/thru the night.

and i fully agree with that.

gold piggy,
if ur son don feel constitpated is ok, don wori..

chomecc,
ya lol.. but was so tired yest, oni the 1st day leh.. luckily i don hav 2 travel like u n bliss cos my mum came over.. i find tat pork with brocoli porridge is ok leh.. sounds delicious hehe

lilyn,
u can finally take a break, do enjoy urself tis wkn

xman,
i find that the pics are nice leh.. rouxi can smile in front of strangers is consider gd already..

magical,
the red dates and wolfberries in your porridge jus for taste oni rite?

muddypie,
u talking abt the Similac huh? Just chk with my friend, $32.15 is b4 GST
but buy 12 can gets 2 cans free and free delivery so if I divide e total amt by 14 then its abt $29plus p/can....correct or not? (sorry, I not very good at calculating GST etc... So still cheaper I guess

an_gal,
wa, that part of the pork is very ex leh, thot it is more for Confinement.
i wont buy this, but had asked MIL to check with the butcher which part of the pig is more tender.
anyway, i will still have to puree the pork before giving to doren.

doren now poos everyday. mostly once and alot but sometimes, like Melcolm he poos 2-3 times in small batches! haha! wasted alot of diapers!

this weak, i'm going to try porridge.
will buy some dried scallops to make the porridge sweeter...

banquez,
actually i think i start doren on meat quite late.
think meat is important cos it gives baby protein for Growth!

magical,
Wah, so many changes to Starcruise! i'm really outdated liao... i've wasted all my saliva and efforts in persuading hubby to go cruise. told him all the plus points, blah, blah, blah, but still he stand firm not to go. i think he's scared of the sea leh... hehe...

lilyn,
curious what you work as...

Jang, ya the thickness but i realised that the sweet bear is 15mm and 2300 x 1400mm and it's considered thick and bigger than the usual? Hee, i have ordered the sweet bear already cos it's cheaper lah, but now wondering whether i should be buy the more boyish one - what you think?

Mathias fell off the bed again today!! hubs just called me to tell me
He just fell off the bed last weds....but this time he fell on the pillow *phew*

Morning.

Seems that most bbs here sleep quite late huh. Mine, I'll make him go to bed ard 7.30pm to 8pm. But lately, it takes him abt an hour to fall asleep, think will try to adjust his sleeping time to 7pm now.

mel, luckily he fell on the pillow. And abt the similac, yes, it's right. Just clarify with my hub last night, it's buy 6 get 1 free, we bought 1 carton, 12, so get 2 free tins. Think with the gst, the price is the same.

jete, yah, I remember reading a notice in the clinic abt that, but I just thought I try to call, no choice as Aidan was having fever, the lady told me to get there asap.

jete,
which ship are u going on?
wish i could go again too..

an_gal,
the red dates for taste only.. but i feed him the wolfberries..

bliss,
wah seems like your hubby is really anti-cruise! =D
actually with the $$ we spent on the cruise, we could've flown to somewhere .. but hubby says since he got fat he doesnt like to take plane liao.. haha.. he says wait til we can afford biz class then we'll fly somewhere... crazy .. that means 'wait long long' loh..

mel, nining,
thankfully they fell on pillows! jereth has a tiny bruise on his chin coz he tripped and knocked his chin on the floor .. he was sitting and wanted to crawl somewhere but his legs were crossed and he got stuck. what a way to hurt himself!

hm.. many babies here sleep early!
jereth cannot sleep before 11pm, otherwise he'll wake up in the middle and want to play! tried and tested many times liao.. even sleep at 1055pm also cannot.. so we gotta try n keep him awake until past 11.. difficult to handle when he's in a cranky mood.. when he's in a good mood still okay..

n we go out for dinner every night.. or visit my parents or my in laws .. so only get home at 10 + ..

muddypie

u mention that ur boy need an hr to fall asleep, could it mean that he is not sleepy?

so if u force him to sleep at 7pm, wouldn't he take longer to sleep?

have u thought of letting him sleep at 9pm or when he is tired? that maybe he only need 10mins to fall asleep

hi magical

my bb the same, dun sleep before 11pm. If insisit, we ve to spend lots of time patting him, end up waste our efforts. Same here, will bring bb to my parents out for dinner on 2 weekdays, they will play w him but in a way, they get overstimulated & can't sleep. Car ride home is the only time tt can cool him down. Also reach home around 10plus or 11.

hi nining,
glad tat ur bb is fine.

I always v scared when my hubby pat my boy to sleep on his arms, he will pat and lean on the sofa w the sleepy bb on his arms. Most often, he doze off, i so fearful tt my bb will fall off fr his arms!

I am thinking of ordering some clothes from US sites. U mums any idea over the sizes? pretty confusing. Sites never put measurements some more. how ah?

goldpiggy,
the $266 mat is bigger and thicker in size..

bliss,
haha isit, tat part is use during confinement? i dono leh.. my mum oways buy tat part to make soyasauce pork haha
talking abt poo poo 2-3 times a day.. realli waste diapers i agree and is the trouble need 2 clean their butt so many times..
sometime back i saw dono which mummy say is not advisable to use dried scallop cos it can b salty? cant realli rem.

mel,
seems like our bb's are getting veri mobile nowadays, now Melcolm slps on mattress at my mum place, no more on the bed..

magical,
thks.. mus we use any special type of wolfberries or any type oso can?

choco, the problem with him is that, he's tired, but want to play, esp when he sees his dad. Every night, he just need that comfortable position, and he'll just doze off... He'll crawl all over the bed with his head rubbing on the pillows, and then up again and so on. Anyway, I don't want him to get into the habit of sleeping late, just like my nephew. At least, when he sleeps I can hve time with my hub or watch a bit of TV.

Muddypie, i agree with you. I rather my son sleep early. So i will shoo him off to bed latest by 8.45pm, even if he take an hour or not, i will still do the same routine. Else if he sleep late, i have no time for tv, talk to hubby or even to the extent that i will have to sleep later then when i am about to relax, he gets up to nurse liao...but hor, now i don't have lots of time to watch tv liao..shit and then after putting him to bed, i get so tired myself that i fell asleep together with him cos i have to get up so many times at night and then at 6am to prepare for work!

Anywhere got good part time jobs? Am thinking of quitting but need job to have side incme..haha

Babies really like daddies a lot hor. Mine too!

An_gal - thanks but then hor, this alien's sweet bear is 2300mm x 1400mm x 15mm which is considered the big one liao right? Then still $152 but i don't really like it leh, the design so now still thinking whether wat other designs i want - what you think ar?

Chommec - you bought which one?

hi baby doll!
yeah usu he'll fall asleep in the car and then continue sleeping when we get home for a while before waking up .. by then its near 11pm and he'll play for a while before i give him his milk and pat and rock him to sleep.. sometimes he'll knock out in 10 mins.. sometimes he'll only fall asleep near 12 am..

an_gal,
i use the normal ones .. dont think wolfberries got special type leh.. i use the same pack left over from my confinement.. hehe.. so long already but been kept in the fridge so should be ok.anyway feed so long liao no problem ma..

blis,
i'm a clinical psychologist...think i shared this in forum before with chatty
interesting job, and i do love it..but i also always feel very obligated to come to work even when i'm not feeling too great cuz feel like i need to "take care" of my patients...hubby thinks i'm always trying to "pia" and never take care of myself..super mummy syndrome..haha!

sunbloom,
what sites are you looking at? i got some items from mandee spree a while back, and i find that the sizes are fairly accurate/similar to ones here..i.e. i'm a size M in singapore, and size M US works for me..most of them do have measurement tables tho!

muddypie,
my boy loves playing with daddy too! need to make sure hubs is out of the room when its his bedtime, otherwise yee heng will smile at him and hubs will xing1 ruan3 and want to play with him too! it adorable, and not suprising given how little time we have together during the weekdays..

so many incidences of babies falling/hitting their heads! just to share, was just reading about babies' skulls and their fontanels (soft spot at the top of the head)..interestingly the skulls don't close up so early because babies always hit their heads! cuz heads are so heavy, that's where their centre of gravity lies, so its almost inevitable that their heads get knocked..the wonders of mother nature!

choco,
unfortunately yee heng doens't eat much during the day, so i'm not sure if he's making up for it at night...he'll take some solids (bananas/porridge) and only take 3oz milk max per feed! and its every 4 hourly typically..so i think he's trying to make up for it at night..doesn't help tat his growth has gone down last time we checked, so i feel as if i "have" to feed him at night to ensure he's getting enough calories....

loh,
so bb can pull himself up fr lying to sitting position? wow that's quick!
yee heng still needs assistance i.e. uses the pillows beside him that he'll use to manipulate himself to sitting/or i'll put him into sitting position..its funny tho, my uncle-in-law has now taught him to "walk" up the stairs with someone holding him under his armpits, and he can "walk" up super fast! its hilarious to see, and he loves it too!

Gold Piggy, I agree, I'd rather he goes to bed on time every night, that's to make it a habit, and also for me lah, ke..ke.. my own time. Every night, I can't wait for him to go to bed, so I can do my own stuff...