(2007/08) August 2007 MTBs

Jete,
eamiled u..

YS,
yep evenflo I think is the upper class for exersaucer,..

AN_gal/Woof,
MY hubby said " then RENT ONE!!" kekekeke when I told him it's ex to buy in SPore!!

Emily and Paige are adorable!!!

Hey, Where's the voting links? I think Jang and another mommy submitted yach? I havent voted and I have 4 email addies kekekeke....

1295166.jpg

mel,
he looks so stylo in his float..like big boss like tat..like tat pic.
wow..ur hubby very thick skin hor...keke

alsie,
glad tat jerome is eating well..

nining,
if he insist to rent, den rent for ike lor..if not poor ike got no toy to play..

ivy,
any idea where else i can get the head protector? miss the BP u organise previously.

woof,
i was going 'wow wow wow' when i read u bought bright start for carene. i was just browsing thru 'rent a toy' website last night and tempted to rent it at $65/mth and when i saw the pic u post, that's the one! so did carene enjoy it? i like the concept that it can rotates 360 around the perimeter of the table.

an_gal,
the last time i went J8 was 2mths ago and i managed to get tat blender (courts and harvey range are around $70-$90). the next time i go will be when i crave for the beef la1 mian4 from 'din3 tai4 feng1' :p

yolk sac,
emily's realy... cute! tks for her 'demonstration'. kekee...

rc_cola,
ur gal's total milk intake is about 480ml/day. chloe drinks 3x a day @ 180ml per feed so it's abt 560ml/day with 2 meals (porridge). sometimes she drinks lesser than that cos she tends to reject milk when she's not hungry but she never rejects food (dun understand why). today she only drank once in the morning and rejected afternoon and night milk feed but she's still active. I believe once in a while they will throw tantrum or simply 'no milk' day. As long as she is active and shows no sign of discomfort, it's fine. chloe's longest milk strike record was 14hrs when she was 3mths+ *faintz then*

an_gal,
i'm also hesitating about the use of walker... everytime i go kiddy palace i like to look at walkers but always restraint myself from buying. pros and cons...

woof,
think i'll sms ocean tmr and check with her. maybe she's busy since her hb is outstation this week.

irene & Jang,
voted 4 times each!

Woof,
IMHO Ike has too many toys oredi hahahaha.... and he's interested in playing with paper cups from the fast food drive in when in the car!! duuh!

An-gal, Xman,

The shichida method class has 2 location, 1 is at Springleaf tower at tanjong pagar and the other is at Toa Payoh HDB hub. My boy is at HDB Hub.

The class is for babies as young as 3months old till toodler. I only start my boy at 20months as that is the stage where he started to learn talking. I can say its quiet stressful lor espacially if you are working and have to guide them on their homework. Now my boy is coming to 4yrs old nxt month and guess what thy are doing in class? every week thy have to recide poem and recite their linking memory of 50 pics in sequence. Gals in their class are vry fast in learning, I was shock that thy can recite the 50 pics within 1 mins, I thk for boys thy are slower in learning...sigh...my boy cant even do it...he can only recite poems but nt the 50 pics lor...but I do nt like to over stress him, I let him go by his flow....

The fees there is S$790 + 7% for weekends classes. My boy is attending their Saturday class. They have long wait list cos the class size is maximum 6 in a class only and they group them by age. Can call them up to enquire whn is the open house lor...I think should be this few weeks as their term is ending soon, usually their open house is before the term ends, if U miss it thn have to wait till nxt term liao! And got to see if there is space for yr baby at the same age to group up a class or nt.

Mel: Your boy is so handsome - he have those caucasian look and i like his 1st picture. The motherlove is good. To me that is, i find it good because i took only a little while and i have my milkflow back.

Woof: Carene like her new toy?

Adeline - the shichida class very expensive hor but is it really beneficial?

Alsie,

the shichida class so popular hor, u r in the waiting list for register or trial?I dont want to just register without seeing how and what they teaching leh..

Mel,

yr Mathias can hold milk bottle by himself liao?ruoxi never leh...

Adeline,

recite 50 pics in 1 min?sounds very difficult even for adults leh, so will they tell you that your boy have any telant based on your boy's performance?I saw their web got so many kid's pic showing they are hving different talent, when told my hubby he said if they told u yr bb no talent then waste $$..haha..

Dear ytanh, an_gal, and other mummies,

Just an update.
Finally when I got home at nite, she took about 100ml at 8 pm, and another 100ml at 11pm.
Think it is also because of her flu and cough.

Yesterday, Meg kept waking up because of cough and blocked nose.
Her flu is now not watery but I think denser because she can't breath thru her nose, she opened up her mouth instead.
I was like having only about 3/4 hours of sleep last nite, because she kept awaken by her cough or blocked nose, so pitiful.
She was never cranky though and is still very active, despite rejecting her meals and milk.

Let's see how it goes today.

Re: Meg calling "papa"
Everytime her dad come home, she would start "PA PA PA PA PAPA"
She calls my FIL "gpa" now she knows when my FIL plays with her, she will start "eeeee paa" "eeeee paaaa"

Mel, guess she recognises who is her papa and gpa, but ask her to call "mama" she just turns away from me

She is now starting to struggle to stand. she will grab the edge of her cot and try to stand, of course she is still unable to do that :p
hehe but it is a cute picture to see her struggling inside her cot hahaha

re standing...clara also has the actions wanting to stand...esp when she cry hard that time...wa wa wa...the legskick kick...put her on standing postion...laugh...ke ke ke...pull her on her playmat also...want to grab things to assist her to stand...from the playyard the other time we BP one...she grabbed the phone...then off balance...poom...she is now learning the art of breaking fall...slow motion falling...last nite on our bed...she wants to 'climb' down the mattress...as our bed is on platform one...so is abt 10 cm hight diff...guess she exploring every areas now

btw so far anyone see before bars that is like monkey bar kind...for guys to do chain ups kind...hope there is such to hang on the playyard for clara to practice her skills

sunbloom,
some things are cheap, but delivery sin't that cheap leh! they don't do by post either..

babydoll,
ur husbnd is funny leh..infant care nurses do acc to how the baby is at home one leh, not the other way round! try the babywhisperer book or website, there are lots of resources about what to do in ur situation about co-sleeping..u can maybe try the PU/PD in combination with helping bb sleep in the cot. about taking the bottle.i gave yeeheng nothing but bottle for 2 days, eventually he took it cuz they have survival instinct...be prepared for lots of crying tho....after that he got bottle at least once a day, but u can latch on other times..but why dun u decide whether u want him to take fr bottle or sip cup n train from there? tho i do think bottle will be easier at this age.

jang,
actually i HAD to start with daytime naps, cuz i can't sleep in the day..my internal clock is very strong
good to hear that things are going better tho..jia you! sounds like he can definitely go without milk feed for longer at nite already..yay!

yolksac,
hehe,the exerscaucer is lip-smackingly ymmy eh?! tho i know what u mean that everything seems to go into bb's mouth at this age...yeeheng was about to suck the beads on my necklace this morning!

zhuzhu,
supernany uses the naughty step/naughty corner etc..its the timeout concept really

alsie,
i've been to melbourne round that time of the year and it can be pretty cold! its more windy than anything else, so i'd advise dressing baby in layers cuz having layers close to the skin traps warm air..so try to get long sleeve rompers, babylegs, socks etc as well as a jacket..that way when u go into the shops u can remove some layers too to prevent overheating, as the shops etc are fairly warm

rccola,
wow, meg is starting to associate words with people! that's fantastic! should tape up a video of her, sounds too cute!

mel,
love mathias' hair! he seems to enjoy the pool! how did u introduce him? yee heng seems to not like the fact that its rather cold..

Hi lilyn,

We do have a tape of her mumbling papa papap papa in front of her gpa.
If you have time check it out at www.youtube.com then search for jrbearus.

There are few clips of her, but only one with "papa papa papa papa"

Wow, all your babies are like progressing fast. Mine likes to suck and grab whatever thing he can find on me, hair, necklace, clothes ruffles, brooch, earrings, anything at all..

He likes to stand but i think can't let them stand for too long right?

Rc_cola, you know your daughter meg is drinking much more than my son. My son is on alternative porridge days and only drink milk fully every alternate days. Think 7am to 7pm only drink 600ml till i come home, i latch him on.

I don't know how to stop my son from doing the comfort nursing at night, just wake up for no reason and want to suck suck then sleep so hor, i started the put pacifier in his mouth tactic, each time he wants to nurse for pleasure, i put the pacifier and he suck and went back to bed.

Haha, but last night think he was really hungry i put him he kept quiet then a little while later made noises so i let him latch and he really drink. Anyway, trial and error...haha

So i hope pacifier will do the trick and make him slowly dislike waking up for nothing in the night..haha

Meg - so good your daughter can talk liao. Mine is shouting only leh.

His cot look so empty, thinking of buying him a cot mobile..hahah but donno whether is it already too 'out' for him liao since he is 7months..haha

Today isetan sale..nowadays so many sale...

can anyone help? Thinking of filing my income tax. But what can i claim for and what can my hubby claim for as in is there something which both he and i can claim? i tot i read somewhere here that there's 1 thing which both can claim

Just FYI. I wrote to Customs to check on how GST for incoming USA goods is calculated. They use the prevailing exchange rate. Right now, the limit is US$285 for avoiding GST, but this includes shipping charges:

"All goods imported into Singapore are subject to 7% Goods and Services Tax (GST). GST relief is granted on goods (excluding dutiable goods such as intoxicating liquors and tobacco products) imported by post or air to a total value not exceeding SGD 400.00. Where the value exceeds SGD 400.00, the entire sum would be subject to GST. For the purpose of levying GST, the value of the goods shall be based on the value indicated in the accompanying commercial invoice, inclusive of the freight and insurance charges that are incurred for the shipment. The CIF value if shown in foreign currency should be converted to Singapore dollars by using the prevailing Customs exchange rate (

http://appm4.internet.gov.sg/scripts/customs/exc/exrate.asp)

2. All goods imported by parcel post through ordinary mail or speedpost
are subject to clearance by officers of the Immigration & Checkpoints Authority (ICA) at the Singapore Post Centre (SPC). Buyers are required to declare the actual value of goods, suppported by commercial invoices and other relevant documents, for the computation of CIF value of the goods.

3. For more information on import of goods via parcel post, you can
visit our website at

http://www.customs.gov.sg/leftNav/trad/cle/Internet+PurchasesPostal+Parcels.htm

4. We trust the above has addressed your query.

Your sincerely,

Tng Yi Mien (Miss)
Senior Trade Officer
Singapore Customs

nining,
since hubby say rent 1 then faster go rent 1 for Ike.

mel,
can I check where did u buy the float tat Mathias is using? He not scared of water yea

ytanhn,
ya lol, i went harvey n courts chk all veri ex 1.. for braun, cant find any blender around $40

as for walker, i'm tempted to buy oso cos Melcolm don hav 1.. hw ah.. u buy? i also 1 2 buy bumper mat leh, hubby jus node his head n say ok haha.. cham, so many tings 2 buy n like forever buying non stop..

adeline,
thks for the info.. is realli ex leh and stress sia.. recite poems, faintz.. but Toa payoh is still quite convenient for xman and me.. if u know of their open house date can let us know, don mind going down to look c look c 1st..

cola,
finally not so worrying cos megan had some milk intake already.. melcolm now everyday oso say papa papa.. but i doubt he knows wat it means haha then mi n hubby oso everyday say papa papa to him..

Goldpiggy: Yup! Right now, Cherry is rushing to the Coach Store. They have just confirmed a limit on orders...Everyone on the list will get something, but not everything they ordered (subject to availability of items etc), so I'll be doing lots of refunds. What is really exhausting though are the quotations that people keep asking for, even though they've been given the formulas to compute costs, and told that we do not know exact shipping charges. Its all this work that makes running a spree not worthwhile, because the earnings are miniscule compared to the tens of hours spent in quotations, tabulating orders etc.

Nining: Could I trouble you to pick up some winter wear for James please? Just 1 or 2 jackets and pants. I dare not ask Cherry. She's on the point of collapse just trying to run this spree.

I think next time if you do organise, no need to give them computation right? Cos i believe they should know how to calculate based on your format. Unlike leapfrog, that is really beyond estimates...

an_gal,

i tot last time someone mentioned that walker is not good?it's dangerous to kids or something like that..

Chatty,

ya, some ppl r just lazy to caculate and it's always easy to just push the things to others to do...I feel it's really not worth to spend so much time and effort to caculate/buy/ship/meet up and then only earn $10+..not a easy money..

Gold_piggy: I agree with you. I told Cherry that if we ever do this again, we will NOT give quotes...Can you believe it, some people even asked us to do simple addition for them, after we gave them quotes for individual items...unbelievable.

Xman: Guess what! I was searching for a document yesterday, and I found the envelope that Cherry sent me, with your Coach store receipt! All this while I thought it had gotten lost in the mail, but actually, it had gotten lost at home...haiz! How can I pass it to you?

xman: Its less than $10 for some purchases...super not worth it. Next time, we'll just keep the discounts for ourselves and a few friends, and even then, will limit to 1 bag per person. I

btw, went Robinsons 2 days ago, there is a 20% discount on leapfrog toys. Not sure if the leapfrog activity center is there though.

chatty,

ya lor, I think if u buy from coach use the 25% then sell later when the 25% sales ends, can earn more than do the spree..hehe..

jang,

I didn't see the leapfrog activity station on robinson raffles city branch last weekend. my friend told me $199 is already the offer price liao..still hestate which one to buy, jumperoo or leaprog..hehe.

chatty,

for the coach receipt, no hurry at all, understand u r very busy recently, just let me know next time when u go somewhere near to town area then I meet u to collect the receipt since I almost go to shopping every weekends..

xman: Good idea. Actually, I was thinking should just buy any bag from coach then sell using official BP...no need to consolidate orders and all that nonsense...Just looked through one of the other coach spree organisers, up to a point, she asked people to just calculate themselves, and still people asked her to calculate for them...

As for receipt, I'll be at Raffles City on 22/3/08 morning...any chance you'll be in the area?

Chatty,

I remember there's one time a lady organized a BP on this forum selling 9 coach bags that they bought from coach outlet, it's very fast all the bags sold out liao, personally I dont feel those bags are that fancy at all..so if u buy from shop those latest design use 25% then just fix a price to sell later, sure very popular..

for meet up at 22 march, normally i go out with bb and parents to shopping at city hall or orchard after lunch leh..maybe next time since u only be there at morning..alternate choice is I send u a envelop with stamp if u dont mind post it to me..

Loh,

Yeah, no need to dip anything lar, plain bread is very soft anyway. My baby actually starts with her baby cracker, and she is good at swallowing without choking, so when we are having our bread as breakfast, we just peel a bit for her, and she is ok with it.
So long as things which soften after getting in touch with saliva, i think it is ok. As for pieces of fruit (pears or apples) normally I am very cautious about it, even my girl has not got any tooth yet, she can bite piece of apple if we let her suck on it. I will dig it out from her mouth, coz those are hard, and wont easily soften by saliva. Just in case she chokes...

xman,
ya lol, heard alot of ppl say walkers no gd but oso hav ppl told me can use wen they r older.. my frend bb visit PD and PD say can start 2 use after 9mths.. however, until nw i haven bought 1.. i tink now my top priority is to buy the bumper mat.. tis is more useful

loh,
i jus gav my son pitch of bread in the morn... cos on way to bring my son to parents place, i will had bread inside car then i will giv him some haha, he took both whitebread and wholemeal bread

an_gal,

I bought the bumper play mat and the playyard quite some time liao. but ruoxi still can't prawl yet, so wasted, at the end the play mat and playyard just lying in my living room balcony collect dust, then every week need to clean it..

xman - very funny leh you said still have to clean although never use.. with kids, we mommies get more tedious hor when it comes to housework.

woof: how much you bought the bright starts? am planning to buy - it looks fun...

jang: that car which jaedan sit in is also nice? how much and buy from where?

anyone knows whether there are any NTUC promotion on diapers today or yesterday? I don't have newspapers...thanks cos am planning to buy diapers - or is diapers.com.sg cheaper?