(2007/08) August 2007 MTBs

pooh_astro, choco;
Thanks for the reassurance. That is what I told them but they dont believe. They say it seem far too early for baby to recognise ppl. Haiz..

I have done some research too which say sum baby are juz fine w everybody while sum will oly choose those they are closer. Hope She will get out of this soon.

the flying thread
I just can't keep up...

Chatty,
yeah that's her intention.. I think she just based it on the discounted price on online shops.. the RP is actually those online shops' discounted price.. I think also that she should accept reasonable offers otherwise she will be stuck with too many barang2 in her apartement..When they bought the place they never thought the baby would come that early so they were okie with that size of apartment.. now they're panicking cos no space for baby's stuffs hahahaah...

An-gal,

U must buy the better grade ikan bilis lah! wash it real clean thn boil it, thn use a shieve(not sure if the spelling is correct)haha..english poor lah. U dun need the meat & the bones, so jz shieve it and only use the water niah, but to be safe U can buy those boneless ones, of course with bones ones have higher calcium level lor.

Adline,

Realli ah? I thought they tell me to bring out out often and soon enough she will out grown the fear for stranger so now bring for evening walk everyday so that she can meet ppl.

snnowy,
yup.. bb nw noe how to chose ppl liao..

even yest my MIL come over,
n carry him..
he see me den give e sulky face..
n cry loh.. kekeke...

IL will nt stop all nonsense 1..
until e kids like can stick to first loh..
hahahah

my friend gave birth yest
baby is 3.745kg 57cm tall...

it got me thinking, few months again, the moment when my baby is born.
so sweet...

Would like to share about something today.

I might stop BF soon. As I said previously, my girl has got eczema, it all started when she was about 2 months old, started from cheeks, eyes, and spread to her thighs, knees and now hands.
We have already done whatever prevention that might lead to the eczema. None of our families (hub and me) has got any allergy or asthma... Wonder how eczema could strike my girl.

Firstly, perhaps coloured-slings, so we changed to non-dye sling. Perhaps, too dry, we bought humidifier. Perhaps shower gels and lotions, we changed to very mild one (well- it should be "well-priced") and formulated esp for baby with sensitive and dry skin.
Every step that we took, it shows little bit improvement, yes all those steps help.
But one thing we didn't change is her diet of BF.

During the first 2 months, she is mostly on FM mixed a bit with my BM, coz when I get started it is not much supply, ss only came in after 2 months.... and since then she is on TBF unless when we go out, we will make FM for her.

Well, doctors' opinions are different, some said might be my BM and some said BM will help to prevent eczema..
Sigh.. now will try the last method is to gradually intro my girl to more and more FM... if the situation helps and all her rashes clear up, I might just stop BF.
No point keep on feeding her, and her skin condition like not very much improvement. Anyway, she should be getting enough antibodies from me already.

What is your comment, mummies? Can I have some views on this??

Last nite, after putting her to sleep she actually scratched some where near her eyes, and lots of blood flew out.
I was so shocked when I went and checked on her, and saw the bloody eye area!!!! Goodness! I basically picked her up and used her cord spirit to cleanse the area, and found out only small scar but deep! Super heart pain!!!!!!

cola,

My opinion is whn U BF, watch yr diet, avoid allergy trigger stuff...and to avoid her from scratching, wear back the mittens during her sleep...at times I still wear mittens for my gal cos she love sucking her fingers...

Hi Pooh,

Yes, she is alright. Thanks for the concern.

Yup I know everyone said BF is the best for baby. That why I am quite persistent to giver her TBF so long as I got enough supply.
But I was thinking no harm trying to stop her BF if FM really helps to improve her skin conditions.

hi rc_cola

I don't think your breast milk is causing all her ecezma unless you anyhow eat maybe you eat keep on eating seafood?

ecezma my son also have, i do not have and my husband only have it last year. So i think ecezma is not hereditary but maybe cos they are sensitive to certain things that triggered into the cause of ecezma?

Anyway, try using mustela or cetaphil for her skin? My PD recommended for my son

rc_cola: Oh dear! So sorry to hear about your girl's eczema. It must be distressing for you. I guess its all about trial and error.

From what I understand, Eczema is usually genetic. Changing the environment and things she's exposed to can reduce its incidence, but not eliminate it completely.

I do not know if BM can cause eczema. I'm currently checking with my dermatologist via sms. So waiting for her response.

May I suggest that you continue to pump your milk out, but store it first rather than feed it to her? This way, if you find that its not the BM that's causing the eczema, then you can continue to BF. The antibodies in BM are good for your girl. If the BM is indeed contributing to the eczema, then you can dispose of the EBM.

Rc_Cola: I agree with Gold_Piggy. All the doctors in my family (dermatologist included) recommend Cetaphil for bathing and moisturizing, esp in the case of eczema.

Adeline and Gold Piggy,

I dun anyhow eat ler, my diet pretty normal one.
I also dun take nuts coz afraid nuts will trigger allergy. Seafood? Not often, only once in awhile take prawn.

Gold piggy,
How is your boy condition?
Yup we also use Cetaphil for her. Sebamed is also prescribed by PD.

rc_cola: agree with the mummies here.
maybe u shld change yr diet if u do not wana give up bf..
e.g. seafood (only fish is ok), milk, eggs

Chatty,

Thank you very much for cheking with your dermatologist.

Yup it is very stressing to see a small baby scratching so vigorously on her hand (when it is supposed to be super smooth).
I also think that eczema is normally hereditary. But so far , none in our family (extended families) has got this prob, nor asthma.

Yup, I am thinking on continuing to pump for a period of time, if the cause is my BM, i will just stop her from BM.
I also try taking vit E, Evening Primrose oil supp which are supposed to be good for skin. So that when I pump out the milk the effect will also be there.

It is really about trial and error...

rc_cola,

Hope your darling is alright.
Yup, agreed with chattypheyling, my doc also said eczema is genetic. I have very bad eczema on both my hands since 9 and has seem countless doc and had jabs. It was until a seen this doc in Bukit batok who told me that it is genetic and often than not, it will skip a generation and passed the next.
Not sure if true or just by chances, my grandma had eczema too, but not my mums or aunty and i got it. So he say my children will not get it but chances are my grandchildren will have it. My hubby reaction after walking out of the clinic was like "Siao, where got such thing".

none in my husband's family have ecezma too and we were wondering how my hubby got it - so it's genetic?

Yes store your breast milk into freezer first. Don't put it to waste. Or you use calendula cream? might be able to help and eat more fruits for better skin?

rc_cola,

hope that your bb is ok. Jerome also has eczema although me and my husband do not have it. My PD told me most babies when they are young they will have it because their skin are sensitive to the environment. She even encourage me to continue BF as it is known to help clear eczema. If your baby is afraid of heat, try to let her wear more cooling clothes during the day and watch your diet when you BF.

inu,
yeah I have no time to pump before I leave home, so I pump when I reach office at about 8+am. then once around lunch time. then again before I leave office at 6+pm. Am very lucky that my company very supportive, very family friendly. We shifting office, and I manage to convince the colleagues coordinating the reno works to have two cubicles built into the Mum's Room (for us to express milk one, got mini-fridge inside for us to store milk too). and yesterday I went to our new office to take a peek before we move there next friday, and guess what?! REALLY have two cubicles!!! wooohooo!!! gonna write my colleague an email to thank her

snnowy,
yeah nonsense that its due to bf lah. she just jealous. it's what the rest say lor, the kids now 4/5 mths old, know how to recognise people, and recognise house already.

nining,
I wanna come let Isaac try the jumperoo! hehehe... maybe coordinate with bliss, see if she wanna bring Doren to try, see when wanna come over. then can have our first playgroup session! hehehe...

jo,
yeah! so envious of your crafty fingers. your stuff is very nicely done, neat, and nice to look at. think when I finally post pics of what I've done, will look so crude! hahaha...

Alsie and all mums,

Thanks a lot for the comments, I really appreciate it.
I am just very heartpain seeing a small baby itching until like mad

How I wish I am the one who get it and not her.

Tomorrow onwards, will try no to take my butter with bread for breakfast.
Egg, will try to avoid also. I do drink mamil mama (the one for pregnancy and breastfeeding), do you think I should stop as well?

pst,
wah, where do u work arh? ur col so nice.

an_gal,
I also got a Jap boss, very hardworking, he works till 9pm lor. All family members not in Sin, so he just work and work. He always looking for me at 8.30am one lor...

cola,
My boi ezcema bcom obvious since last month. Initially only sole affected, then hands, face ,neck, shoulder and wrist areas. Now face and palm recovered liao, rashes will on and off on his soles. Neck is most serius now. I also tried lots of methods like buying chinese medicine for him to bath, tried bm bath also. Eczema improved compared with last 2weeks. Most important is to keep moisturised ur baby, if very dry condition, try oil bath, soak baby inside for 10-15min. PD said QV cream and cetaphil is very good and safe for baby. Make sure nails are cut short, will let my bb wear mitten at nite to prevent him from scratching his scalp. My boi bled a lot as his cradle cap is very ichy. Understand very heartpain when see baby has lots of patches here and there and very ichy somemore. My PD never ask me to stop bf, he said bm is the best of all.

rc_cola, do you think house dust mite is the main cause. I knoe that lotsa of Singapore children has house dust mite allergy. Maybe you can bring her to NUH to do a skin prick test to test wat's ur gal allergy to. Discuss with the dr wat are the most likely allergens & do the skin prick test to confirm it. Is not painful. If is a confirmed allergen, it'll develop a small red bump on the site tat is a bit itchy. It will subside after a while.

cola,
i never restrict my food diet, PD said unlikely is due to bm. We always distract the baby when he starts rubbing his feet due to the itchiness. Hav u use striod cream? Don not over use, max is 5days only. Hope our babbies recover fast fast and can be a healthy and cheerful always

pst ,
you, bliss, puppygal and any AUg mommies are welcome to try it out :D

I brought Ike to office now, he's now in mother's room with his nanny screaming cos I told his nanny to give him his milk.. hehehehe..

sigh, busy so no time to catch up the post at office, back home hubby use pc and bb sleep at 7plus, i hv to sleep with her together as she not sleeping well this days, always wake up cry after sleep a while..

Re:gathering,

me no problem on 24th, Feb..see you all there..

cola,

poor gal, I know how's that feeling, see bb suffer but we can't help and replace them..my gal also like to scratch her head during sleep, and got a lot bleeding scratch mark, just wear mittens for her at night recently and it improved..hope it get over soon...

pooh_astro

I stop BF when baby is 2.5mths, menses come after 2 mths.
i was hoping it will delay for another few mths...

Jo
hmm..i thought BF will stop the menses, urs come so early

my menses is bright red and a lot.more then pre-preg...sob..sob...

choco/xman,
ur bb slp so early ar??

will ur bb wake up middle of the nite??
or slp thru out??? expect askin for milk loh..

snowwy,
your MIL is so irritating..pls lor! BM is the best for BB..most BB will go thru this stage from 4-6 mths...she dunno meh?? But heng my son not like that..he very sociable..hahaha! Except when he's hungry...hmmm... Maybe its cos I've been bringing him alot since he turned 1 mths old..hahaha!!

Choco,
Talk abt menses..I've been BF all the way but NOV my menses came back liao...so sian..then Dec also have..so far Jan dun have yet...the dates quite irregular though..weird right?? Bf mums I tot no menses? I dunno y mine come back ...

rc_cola,
I hear u talk abt ur girl I feel so sad...so poor thing..I thk u should try the steriod cream leh..but just apply a thin layer..once a day max...but on top of that need to apply moisturizer..the portion should be 1:2..more moisturiser than steriod cream..try it..it worked wonders for my boy..

Nining,
Lucky u, get to bring Ike to work..if only my workplace allow...

Pst,
Can I know where u bought ur $170 insurance from??

xman/choco..

u all so lucky, BB sleep so early...mine only sleep at 11plus...EARLIEST!! then yesterday he woke up at 2plus..want me to carry till 4plus!!! then 6am woke up for milk...wah piang!

pooh

my baby will wake up once for milk, abt 3+ but i find it still reasonable. then i will wake up at 6+for work.

MEL, did u try to talk to ur baby ask him to sleep. i did tat when he is young, when come back from the hospital, i will say to him "now is night time. time for sleeping. good boy. sleep tight. mummy is here with u..good night."
i think it helps lor

u also try lah

Thanks for all the postings
I've just come back from meeting, now will go home and see my dear darling :p
Will catch up with you all again tomorrow.

hi cola,
Do take care and slowly investigate the cause for her eczema. Probably can do a trial to give her bm and fm at different days/timings so as to ascertain whether its her diet or not.

The thread is really flying, don't think will be able to go through everything.

Have been quite worried abt my boy, as his weight has been constant since the last checkup, ie. 6.3-6.4kg, and also he's been taking lesser and lesser milk. But when I feed him with rice cereal, he loves it and kept wanting more. So I called Prof Lee today to get her advise, the nurse/assistant took down my message and said that Prof Lee will get back to me by end of the day. At first I thought she might not, but was very surprised to hear frm Prof Lee. She actually calls back personally to attend to my questions. Previously with Dr Ong of S'pore Baby & Child, his nurse/assistant will always be the one answering our questions. Am really impressed.