(2007/08) August 2007 MTBs

So mummies giving me sweet advice.
Thanks!! We really must meet one day, coz we share a lot in this forum.

Mel,

Sorry to hear bout your incident with MIL. sometimes it is really not easy to stay with MIL.
Think you have to be more patient to her, or maybe dun talk too much lar... if not really familiar, then not so much probs crop up, rite?
Just respect her and talk when it is necessary lor.. otherwise, in near future, it will be more "suan" ler..
Your hubby will also be in a difficult situation, on one side is his mum, the other side is you, the wife.

Just vent here if you have anything to share....

My mil also takes care of my girl during the day, i guess i have to be grateful to her. She will be going back this CNY though.
Me and hubby was actually thinking of engaging a nanny or put baby in infantcare if nobody takes care of her, coz we won't allow MIL bring baby back to Indonesia. FIL volunteers to come, aiyah.. i wont dare to imagine what will happen if FIL comes. He is the fussy type ler.. which is not really my cup of tea hahaha if he said A, you must do A, that kind lor.. no ground for negotiation one.

I only think of the bright side lor, at least my baby is in good hands. For my baby, I will "ren".

Cin,

Ya true, we need to think on the positive side lar, just close one eye. or else, have to be a SAHM hehehe actually I sometimes thiink it will be good if i can be a SAHM, or at least just work part time hehe Nowadays, my priority is really on family first.

An_gal,
I bought some gerber fruit juices and pureed vege for my girl. Will feed her beginning of the year hehehehe she will be 4 months by then.
Since my girl rejects my frozen milk, I will mix it into the bi-gor haha.. i got only 11 bags though.

adeline,
sorry to hear about boy's finger, hope it's fine now..must be extra careful hor..
feel that yr MIL is same as my FIL leh, I dont have MIL, but my FIL is not better than yr MIL, he always come to my home for lunch and dinner on weekends, when he came he just sit there either read newspaper or watch tv, at the same time waiting my parents to serve him, my parents do the cooking and serve everyone the rice and put chopstick in front of everyone..Of course I help a bit, but the rest of the 2 man(my hubby and his dad )do nothing other than eat. Worse part is every weekday my FIL request my hubby to dabao and send dinner to his house, and buy every single things from NTUC and send to his house. basically he do nothing, just stay at home and eat, while his excuse is his leg pain so can't go out to eat dinner at coffee shop, but it's so obvious that his leg no problem since he can come to my house for lunch/dinner every weekend. and last weekend I even saw him q up at the singaporepools shop buy 4D, the q is very long but he can stand there for so long to just buy a 4d but can't go to near by to eat dinner..funny old man..

wah... alot of you have hubbies who are mummy's boy. I dont have that prob with mil bec i dont have one,and i dont take help from my mum as well. therefore his priorities are really comforting. and now since i am a SAHM, he rushes home after work to take over. My boy oso too much. after 5pm he will start to miss the father. throw temper until he sees his dad. So in the evening they are inseperable.

Hey does anyone of u girls let ur baby sleep on his tummy? I jus tried putting rishi on his tummy and he is sound asleep. but worried if its ok.

an gal,
i guess with this baby my level of patience has really gone up. thank god. if not for sure cant manage.

can i chk do ur still use baby bottle cleanser to wash their bottles or we can use normal cleanser like "mama lemon"? n oso wat abt baby clothes detergent? wonder we mus use these until when?

wah so many of us have PIL problems...

well i guess mine are the nice type.they love my hubby a lot(only 1 son with 5 daughters),but heng because they dote on him,they also dote on me.i must be grateful that MIL won't chide me for not doing housework or making my hubby do housework.basically she does all the housework etc,though i do try to help sometimes..

we did have some minor arguments initially when enci wasn't sleeping well,and she wanted to use yao lan.and because during ML i see her everyday,i was bored at home and irritated with her and the world in general.but after ML when enci started sleeping better and we saw a lot less of each other,things are ok again...but must sweet-talk her sometimes lah,buy her things etc..

my hubby is also one of the proactive type too,he'll play with the baby,change her diapers,bath her,feed her etc...so taking care of baby is 50-50%.maybe cos he's 6 years older than me and more mature,he really dotes on me.i basically didn't lift a finger in the house during my pregnancy.

but i agree with bliss.must sa jiao sometimes...;-)

an_gal

oh oh,u tempted me to go buy more clothes...how ah..

i just went ikea and bought the finger/hand puppets for enci!so cute..

Chatty,

I thk U hv the right to ask for refund lor, cos its her mistake not yrs.

An-gal,

No, I dont stay with her, she come over every monday morning and go home every friday evening.

Mel,

The Ameda valves is that price if U get from auction, otherwise it at $9.80 each if U buy from the distributor. As for steamer, if U hv space thn its good. I use the microwave steralizer in office, pretty efficient, 5mins job done.

COMBI HIGH CHAIR:

I had an offer from a mother who is migrating on 1 Jan 07. She has a Combi Enjoyme High Chair that she bought 6 months ago. Its peach colour. Selling for $130 (neg.)

I already bought an Enjoyme combi high chair from an auction and will be collecting it tonight, so I won't be needing hers.

If anyone is interested, e-mail me and I'll forward her e-mail wif pics to you. I think you may be able to get a good deal because she's in a hurry to sell.

An-gal,

I still using the cleanser to wash bottles, my boy 3.5yrs old liao...I have been using since the day he was born...keep lots of stock...last wkend, I wnt to Expo, happen to see the lifestyle fair, there is this stall selling the Pureen products,got sale leh...1 bot for $5.50, 2 bots for $10, i grab 6 bots cos I use a lot as washing bottles and pump parts..actually the day before I already bought 4 bots from the JL sales $6/bot with 5% discount for robinson card holders, so its $5.70/bot

haven't been on in AGES! busy taking bb to hubby's relatives place to get him used to the environment...out of the house at 7+, only get home at like 8+! SO tiring! dunno how to tahan next time when i'm at work...pei fu u mummies who r working now n taking of bb urself at nite...

Nining,
received my shawl already! thanks so much!
i owe u a coffee ya?

cola,
poor thing...hope things get better soon....guess must really do like what xman say..tell nicely and directly ur expectations....otherwise they just keep doing things as per normal pre-baby times..

Thanks for lending your listening ear..I thk I want to explode already..

Actually in the past, b4 my MIL came to live with us, we were actually very close and got along very well. then she came to stay with us and look after Mathias with her old-fashioned ways and doing thigs like using my finner fork to dig soil then wash and put back into the drawer and use the container we use for soaking veggie to soak clothes etc..btw, she's malaysia and she started shifting all her stuff from her JB house (plates, utensils, knick knacks )and they look so old and dirty..all this sure irritate me right? Its so unhygenic...actually have alot of things lah..but Im very lazy to list everything down. I was actually more of hurt than angry that she felt so badly towards me and made it seem as if I was torturing her..

Xman: Sounds like your parents' cooking must be very good, that's why your FIL is willing to endure the pain to come to your house for homecooked food : )...people are like that, they follow what their parents do. My dad doesn't help with housework, but he does all the cooking at home. My brother is the same, except he isn't at home enough to do the cooking... Really like father, like son.

Adeline: You're right. I will ask for a refund...hopefully I'll get my pursebrites and it won't be necessary.

Mel: Poor you! Sounds like you've been tolerating her habits for a long time, and the white bib's incident was the straw that broke the camel's back. Problem is that she's probably not going to change, esp when she feels that she's not done anything wrong...sigh! Just "ren", if not, best if you don't live with her...

Bliss & an_gal,

Maybe my son still cant swallow very well so he take a longer period of time to finish his cereal.
Aiyo, my son very picky, once the rice cereal turn cold, he dun dare to eat liao, he will show us his funny face machiam telling us " hello, rice cereal turned cold already, cannot eat liao! " very funny sia!

Do i need to remove the apple skin when i steam the apple?

Very tempt to try out bi gor leh

bliss/leooh,
maybe that's the reason why you sajiao got effect as yr hubby older than u? I'm 6 months older than my hubby, so he's the one that sajiao. faint..

xman/leooh/bliss,
i dont need to manja my hubby. he is 4 yrs older than me. i guess this whole thing is bec we set things straight right from the time we met and plan for the future of how we should be as and when we are crossing a milestone.

leooh,
high 5! my hubby oso like urs. do all the work except for bathing bec he felt its bonding time for me and bb. but now he see me bathing him, last week he started to whine that he oso want to bathe him. so funny...

xman/leooh/bliss,
i dont need to manja my hubby. he is 4 yrs older than me. i guess this whole thing is bec we set things straight right from the time we met and plan for the future of how we should be as and when we are crossing a milestone.

leooh,
high 5! my hubby oso like urs. do all the work except for bathing bec he felt its bonding time for me and bb. but now he see me bathing him, last week he started to whine that he oso want to bathe him. so funny...

re: ILs

my MIL is here for a period of time to help me take care of Jaeden so that i can take a break. So glad. Today is day one, hope there isn't going to be too much of a conflict..

Angeline,
read that it's best to keep the skin there during steaming in order to retain most of the nutrients.
but must puree without the skin.

Mel,

you take care.no choice but to endure. like what many ppl say, not only have to close one eye, have to close both eyes. But the hygiene issue, really have to to resolve... sounds scary..

Mel,
If I were you, I wont be able to accept the old stuffs and the ways they use the pails, utensils, wiping cloths senselessly.
I like my pails, basins, wiping cloths to be differentiated clearly. each has its designated use
but what to do? sometimes, have to endure no matter how bad.
at times, i do give myself that guilt trip after being straightfoward to MIL. cos ultimately, she is a very nice lady, just that the ways we do things are different. very hard to change her cos she's been doing her ways for years.

re: hubby

my hubby wasn't very involve in baby in the beginning. i vent it out, cry and scream, tell him the problems .. then he realised that he has to play a bigger part. It better now.. The hubby won't understand a lot of things unless we tell them.

My hubby take for granted that breastfeeding is good for baby and tell me that i shld BF as long as possible. I do agreed on this. But hubby doesn't know the effort involve and how tiring it is for me also. I just want him to appreciate the effort that i'm putting in.. but i don't think he knows..

xman,

no one is perfect, so no hubby is perfect

i'm sure ur hubby has qualities that attract you in the first place, that's why u r now husband and wife, right?
every couple is unique

an_gal,
now thinking of getting a cute bag to put baby's ang bao. hehe... maybe a baby haversack. but dunno where to get.

jang,
i agree w u..
cos my hb also wan me to BF my bb...
n keep askin me y i give me FM when I'm at hm n nt givin him BM..

I'm juz worried that he might feel hungry or nt full..
n he ans me tat, might well i dun feed him BM.
reali damm angry w him sumtime..

an_gal, jete,
thanks for the info on babylegs, ordered from one BP but she seems to take ages to reply query posts.

an_gal,
i am still using pigeon bottle cleanser, sometimes will use 'mamalemon' if i forget, so far ok with my bb.

cola,
hope you and hubby make up soon.

Any of u interested in getting the Ameda Valves? Cos the person I'm buying from is willing to sell for $6 each if I get more than 6 pcs...

About Hb and BF,

I think is a give and take thing...

Sometime hubby dun understand how tiring we are and feel that its our job...I tell him off, I say I can stop BF and have my own freedom, why should I suffer?? Its for baby health sake, if not I will hack care and make him pay for all the FM. After I speak out, he become more helpful by bringing in the steralize parts to my room and arrange it for my next pump. I think must voice out sometimes, if not thy feel that its our job lor...

BABY BOTTLE CLEANSER:
the consumption rate is quite high and the cost also not that cheap.
but intend to use it for a long time.
dun dare to use Mama Lemon leh

Harlow ladies, there's a Johnson & Johnson Xmas Sale!!! It's really quite cheap...juz came back from there...below are the details:

Venue: International Biz Park (At Juro East)
Date : today and 14th dec 10am-7pm

eg, of how cheap ah..the j&J shampoo usually is selling at $12 now only $6!! Plus the shower ones now is selling 2 bottles at $9.80 only!

an_gal,

me too still using pigeon bottle cleanser, just bought 2 refill bag for $17.5,without offer one is $11.9.

chatty,
ya, my parents cooking very nice, but of course they complain sometimes as they are so tired looking after my gal and also do the cooking and washing cloth for us. while the other hand my in law do nothing but just wait ppl serve him..I have to be the one try to please my parents else they feel unbalance why both are parents but they need to serve the other one and no appreciate from the been served one. actually they are ok to cook for everyone but it's such take for granted attitude hurt them..

bliss,
ya, u r right, there's no perfect man in the world, that's what I an wei myself each time when I feel unsatisfy with my hubby..

lena_soon,
the sales sounds not bad, while it's too far for me,must buy a lot then worth to go..think I will give it a miss since I dont use a lot J&J products so far..

Bliss: If you're talking about those small backpacks that are plush (furry) with say disney characters, like Piggy etc. I saw it at Tang's nursery dept on the 4th floor.

Lena: Thanks for the info! Is International Biz Park the one with Creative and the other computer companies?

Mel: I find my Ameda valves lasting a long long time. Only 1 valve has torn, but only because my mum didn't know and used a brush to scrub it...I'm already getting 1 spare pair from a friend's friend at $6.00 each. Thanks.

chatty: my hubby says it's near to acer so i guess yes, it's near the computer companies..and also near to chevron..i personally didnt go la..coz usually anyway, i also cant rem the prices...marketing belongs to my hubby's job scope...haha....i only inform him of any gd deals tat i know..then he wil go chk it out...haha...my hubby bought a box of J&J back..aiyo..the things so cheap and he can stil buy til $100! tink if war comes, we are assured that we stil hv clean soap to bathe..haha..provided there's water..haha..

guess what? I just had an indirect argument with my MIL *sigh* TOday she brought her brother's maid to my house cos her bro went overseas..so she let the maid come and clean the house. she told me abt this last night. I thought ok..whatever lah...but in the end, my hubby just told me the maid will be staying over at my plc?? hello?? She treat me as transparent huh? Never even ask me first! Its her house or my house??

And the best part is that this afternoon when she went to settle her passport things she was supposed to brign Mathias along (as what my hubby inform me) but in the end when my hubby was leaving for work at 3 plus he informed me that his mom didnt bring Mathias and the maid along cos malaysia high comm cannot bring kids. so any way, it meant the he would have to leave the maid (who I don't know) alone at home with Mathias...I was so pissed off..in the end my hubby waited till his mom went home then took a cab to work. She's familiar with the maid thats her prob..I don't know the maid..so how can I feel safe?

bundle of joy

high five!!yes,our husbands are both very sweet..actually i think pst's husband is also very sweet...
actually during confinement my MIL don't let my hubby do so much(taking care of baby)will take over from feeding/bathing/changing her cos she feels that he's tired from work already.i was quite annoyed and told him if he's not going to be involved,then don't blame me if baby is not close to him in future cos no bonding mah.then he became very proactive and told my MIL that he wants to do it,otherwise baby won't be close to daddy..

sometimes better to let hubbies talk to their mother abt the things we're unhappy about.cos DIL and MIL relationships are very delicate.

xman

sometimes he sajiao,sometimes you sajiao lor..i think most men would still want the feeling that they're taking care/doting of their wives.unless its those type of super mummy's boys la,then bo bian.

jang

got the money,thanks;-)
yup took cab down again,but ate the vegetarian special cos i'm vegetarian la.and cheesecake too--so delicious!
enjoy the break!go pak tor a bit with hubby now that have MIL to take over for a while.

I just went to pump and guess what?? Not a single drop
I had to manually squeeze then the milk came out..but also not alot plus my hand also very tired..if my situation at home continues being like that I thk my milk supply sure stop soon...

mel

oops...sounds like you're really very unhappy with your MIL...sigh,i think can only ren and ren leh,or tell ur hubby to talk gently to your MIL about all these issues?

but must take care that you don't pressurise your hubby too much too,cos it must be very hard for him to be sandwiched in the middle..

THanks leooh...u see its coming to 2 weeks liao and we're still in this situation..Im really feeling so sian abt everything...

Furthermore she's at home complaining to my HB that her back pain, leg pain..etc...cos of taking care of my boy..I really dunno what to say...

mel,
if for me, i cant 'ren' liao..
i will straight say her off..

cos is u who wan to take care.. n nw u say like tat.. no1 force u loh...
kekeke.. this is how i will react..

i also dun like my MIL to take care of my bb
but heng, I got my maid & mum to help me...
cos she(mil) say tat she can help me to take care..
but like to interfer this n tat, den i will say 'oh.. i follow e nurse say' loh...
so she keep quiet.. hahaha

mel

i do emphathise with you and i guess its really emotionally draining when everybody's unhappy at home.but actually we do have to realise that our MIL are not young anymore,so it is rather hard for them to be taking care of active babies..

maybe you all can consider getting a maid and ur MIL to supervise instead?

Leooh,
I dont have MIL or FIL. miss out on alot of these relationships. some ppl say lucky some say unlucky. but watever it is, at least hb and me take decisions together. although my mum intrudes once in awhile. but now after a good talk with her she stays out unless i ask her for advise.