(2007/08) August 2007 MTBs

thanks Chatty for the info!
will check out at Tangs on the weekends

an_gal,
the doc din say leh..i told u i called Thomson parentcraft rite? they say as long as the last spot to pop has heal is considered completely heal...
itz really no easy to take care when she has the poxes on her...scared to break it and leave a scare...i hope not too many on her face as she loves to "sweep" her face..nowaday she loves putting the index finger into her mouth and drools..haiz...
ya lor..hope tat itz would appear again when she grows up

Mel,
so sorry to hear abt the MIL's issue..i oso cant dahan the way my MIL take care of my bb....
as for her chix pox, still popping lor...

re: Baby bottle cleanser
i m using pigeon one...everytime juz one pump and fill the bottle full of water and brush it...after tat sterilize it...
but for wat i know, my babysitter doesnt do tat...tink she use the cleanser once a day onli even thou i provide a bottle for her...oso she din haf the sterilizer, she uses hot water to clean it before making milk..the old traditional way bah

cola,
i oso hav Heinz jar food at hm but trying 2 giv Melcolm fresh food if possible.. those jar food can wait cos haven expire yet hee

xman,
opps, looks like ur FIL is realli those "one kind" type.. i hope ur hubby don follow him in future

bundle of joy,
my boy slp tummy dw everyday during day time.. if i put him face upright, he will be 2 hyper active to slp nowadays

leooh,
haha happy shopping online ah :p i'm already a victim b4 Melcolm came 2 tis world :p

adeline,
every mon to fri at ur house is quite the same as staying with u leh..
btw, the Pureen cleanser cheaper? i using Pigeon 1 at the moment n quite ex and somemore finish veri fast ah

mel,
ur MIL realli good at "acting".. act until so poor thing in front of other ppl lol..

angeline,
best to steam the fruits with the skin so tat the vitamins will b retain

bliss,
hehe tats a gd idea hor.. let them hav a haversack to put angbao haha.. i saw at kiddy palace, those cartoon kind hehe..

pooh,
i tink jon is 2 much on the bm issue, i tink u did veri well n tried ur best already.. bb impt, mother oso impt leh..

mic,
ya lol.. wondering isit safe to switch to using mama lemon then can save $$ haha..

jang,
realli can use mama lemon ah? u use those yellow packaging type? so u mix the mama lemon with water until diluted then use ah?

chatty,
lucky u...

chatty,
no leh, my MIL has been sick for almost 10 years, in that 10 years, my FIL feeding her and wipe body for her, but then after my MIL passed away he became like that, just want his son to serve him with everything, he just enjoy life like that. While my hubby no complain to take care his dad, but can't expect my parents to serve him mah..it's quite hard for me as I can't say my parents is wrong, also can't blame my hubby for take care his dad so much and ignore us,sure quarral one..

Re:bblegs
today just received the bblegs from gold piggy's friend, the quality is ok one, will wash and let my gal wear then take photo to share with u all.

woof,
rem to wear mittens for ur gal.. hopefully she wont sratch... tat time melcolm still small so he not so active n i guess he dono wat is itchy oso...

an_gal,
my hubby actually very good temper one, his dad request him to do this and that, u can't imagine everyday call him and give him instruction on what food to buy and buy what from ntuc, or just throw him the bill to let him pay such as property tax, dog lisence whatever just let my hubby go to pay. basically the allowance that my hubby gave to him every month he never use one other than pay the house electrical bill by GIRO..Never hear my hubby complain anything leh..

btw, got 4 NTUC points to give away, anyone want just let me know..I can either pass to u at BISHAN(after work) or at BOON KENG MRT during lunch time..

Re: MIL
I also cant tahan my MIL with my gal, imagine trying to feed her with ice cream & lucky i stopped her in time. Whenever she's with my gal, my eyes must be glued on her.

Re: Maid taking care of bb
My maid used the pail that is used to wash my gal's milk bottles to soak her own clothes. She even told me that she feed her childen with coke in milk bottle when they were 4 months old.. faintz.. better not mess with my gal.

an_gal,
just some communication breakdown. aiya.. he's like tat, on cold war over the slightest matter. now he's hiding in the bedroom while i in the living room + miss my gal so much cos me now in msia house, my gal in spore with my mum. cant wait to go back tmr to bao bao my gal *sob sob*

an gal,
I let him slp like that jus now, and he slept for 45 mins in total, 20 mins on my lap and 25 in the cot tummy down. HOw abt at night? does he sleep well? do you swaddle him?

woof, I sent out the Fitti on Tuesday. Have you received it already?

re:hubby
I'm also currently taking care of two kids. Jed and Hubs. He doesn't do anything one lor. The most is play with Jeddy about 15 mins after work each day. But the thing is Jeddy loves Daddy. He always laugh out when Daddy plays with him, whereas he sulks when he plays with Mummy...
I'm a SAHM... really tiring to have to take care of everything myself....

Jo,
no leh..i haven rcv yet...dun tell me lost in the mail...

an_gal,
ya..i put on mittens for her..now day time oso wear long top & bottoms..

ytanhn,
hope everything will be fine soon...

xman,
i tink ur FIL like ppl to serve him n command ppl do tings 4 him lol..

ytanhn,
ic.. no wonder u so sad, somemore at msia nw.. don wori, i'm sure ur gal will make u smile 2mr..

bundle of joy,
at nite after my son last feed abt 12+, i will place him upright n he's able to slp by himself after tat, i don swaddle anymore long ago cos he will keep escaping frm my swaddle haha.. usually he will wake up abt 7-8am in the morning

jang,
haha thks.. mayb i will switch to using "mama lemon" soon, cut cost haha.. wat abt bb clothes? u still use those bb detergent to wash their clothes?

jo,
u didnt ask ur hubby help u after he reach hm?

woof,
day time long top n bottoms wait ur gal will sweat boh? luckily these few days weather quite cooling except today quite sunny..

hi ytanhn
everything ok? hope u n hb patch up b4 going to bed.

maid
though i have a helper at home, i still look after the baby all by myself eg changing diapers, bathe him, make him sleep, etc. i m just grateful she helps out in the hsework, but i still believe since i m a sahm, i have to look after titus by myself.even when i bathe or shit, i bring the baby monitor along.

hi jo
really can understand your tiredness. i m still suffering from fatigue n i am running out of ideas to entertain him. like what u say in your blog, the myths abt once babies reach 4 mths, it will be easier to look after them. no lor, absolutely no. they sleep less, the growth spurt, teething issues, etc, its more tiring to look after them now. cant imagine when they start to crawl n walk. but his smile make me feel all worth it n i go ga ga over it.
you also do tbf with jed right? do u still latch him on or bottle? i find that latch on baby has more difficulty to sleep on their own. after latching on to their mummy for half an hr, the moment i put him on the cot, the body contact is lost n he will wake up. so i have to really make sure that he is in deep sleep b4 i put him down. from your blog, i realise he sleeps very little just like titus too? not sure if its becos of latch on?

haiz... i kena recall home halfway during dinner with hubby. dun know why titus just refused bottle, when i was not around, he doesnt want mil to feed him n kept whining for me for 2 hrs. mil no choice but got to call us. when i reached home, can hear him crying from outside. after latching him on for 30 mins, he just fell asleep. alamak, how m i able to go out in future? i keep thinking since i am a sahm, i have no urgency in giving him bottle. looks like i still have to, if not my social life really will dive into ZERO. really hope to train him by 30th dec. i want to go out with hb n frds for countdown. its the first time since 2nd aug that i have stepped out of the hse after midnite. hope baby will give mummy a nite off for that.

hi lilyn
how is your bottle training with yiheng? take u how long? can share with me?

an_gal/woof/cin,
thanks a zillion... ur words of concern realy bring tears to my eyes... to make things worst, sunday is my 2nd year wedding anniversary, thot can celebrate happily. anyway, there's ups & downs in marriage life, i believe i can overcome this and smile again when i c my gal tmr. i'll be the happy me soon... (i hope).

cin,
while i was in msia today, my mum called to say my gal didn't smile at all and refused milk from 8am to 5.30pm today. tink at this time, they are starting to have seperation anxiety (or she sense her daddy & mummy quarrelling
)??? this morning when i left, she was still playing heartily with me & hb, cant wait to hug her tmr.

ytanhn,
there's always a saying tat quarrel will make the couple's relationship stronger and understand each other better...take care

chatty
you're not going to ask your IL to get the coach baby bag for you?

the organizer of the BP sent it to the wrong address then she should be the one asking the PO to track the parcel, not you. glad it worked out any way and you got your package.

ivy
thanks! cannot go away leh. find it very troublesome to travel with pump and stuff. my chinese wedding was on 2 jan.

leooh
romantic? no leh, nothing planned yet. every time we come up with something to do or somewhere to go, i sian already thinking have to bring the pump with us.

maybe go for a night stay at sentosa? heehee, not very romantic right?

adeline
yeah, she looks quite mature to me lor. haven't received the bblegs yet leh. today the postman so lazy, came to the door but didn't bother to ring the door bell, left a note for me to collect "something" from the post office, dont know whether it's the bblegs, will go collect tomorrow.

collected the books from parentcraft though.

bliss
nice bag. but we want to see pix of you carrying it, not catalog pix. ;)

hope you dont mind, i took down the green peas recipe and kept it at the other forum for future ref.

when you mommies said your bb flipped, exactly what do you mean? from back to tummy or tummy to back?

paige flipped from her tummy to her back on tuesday night. i suspect she can do it for quite a long time already but we never let her try cos she hates it when we put her on her tummy. she was about to flip and we couldn't get the camera in time, i watched her flipped and hubby missed it while he was going for the camera. we put her on her tummy again, this time with camera ready, and caught it on video.

on top of it, tuesday was a good day. paige officially moved from the cosleeper to her new crib. my baby is growing up!! *sob sob* i thought she was going to fight it since she love her cosleeper but it was thankfully easy! was planning on letting her nap there in the afternoon then slowly transit her to the crib. who knew we put her in, and she just went to sleep by herself. she even make sure all the bears are lied down when I left them sitting. lol

------------

chatty/adeline
i think the babylegs were delivered today. i just got a note under my door to collect them at the post office tomorrow. i was at home!! why cant the postman just ring the doorbell?? *argh* he prob knocked on the door, i can't hear the knocks from my bedroom lah.

Pst: So sorry about tonight. I was all ready to stay home to wait for you, but then last minute realized that I was supposed to pass something to hubbys aunt urgently, and my mum had accidently taken my set of housekeys home with her. Hence, we all ended up running to 2 places, coz not nice to just send hubby to return things to his aunt, who would want to see baby too, and I couldnt possibly expect my mum to come all the way to my place to return my keys to me. By the time I got home, it was already 10pm

Lena_Soon: Thanks! : ) Intl Bz Park is near my place but not sure if its worth it after the cab farewill consider.

Bliss, Woof, An_gal: Thanks! Im so relieved too...at least now I dont have to spend another frantic afternoon searching for replacement gifts for all my aunts, not to mention the money that would go down the drain, and all the trouble trying to get a refund...

Woof: So sorry to hear your daughter has chicken pox. Not sure why I missed the post about this. Hope shes better now.

Ytanhn: Hope things get better with yr hubby soon.

Xman: Oh dear! Guess youre really sandwiched between 2 sets of parentsmust really ren. Maybe your FIL feels that hes done his part already and its time to enjoy lifewhich is not an unreasonable expectation provided he doesnt impose on others, which hes doing.

Woof, Jo: I heard from Angeline of the Pursebrites BP that mail service is slower this month, coz some of the other BP participants received their Pursebrites 1 week after they were mailed outmine too, and she sent my parcel out on Sunday. Guess the Fitti will arrive by next week : ). If not, I can give you the name of the Singpost personnel to track down your package : ))

Jo: Poor you! Taking care of a baby on your own is exhausting to say the leastwhat I find helpful is to take time-out for myself at least once a week. My hubby does that too. It makes a lot of differenceI read in some textbook a long time ago that babies tend to prefer playing with their daddies, but seek out their mummies when they are upset

Cin: Hmmminteresting observation. My babys the opposite. He sleeps a lot more now than he did when he was 2 or 3 months old. So I do find him a lot easier to care for. However, when hes awake, he demands to be entertained, so I either sing to him, or show him nice pictures (leappad / flashcards / DVDs for babies), or let him listen to nursery rythmes. These are all things for older babies, but theyre useful for keeping baby occupied, if nothing else.

Jete: My hubby doesnt approve of me spending more money on the bag, plus Ive decided to buy it next year when it hits the factory outlets. My friend was going to buy it for me, but it wasnt in the factory outlets yetAnyway, Ive already spent a bomb on the Coach Spring collection patchwork bag when it was in the main stores, so cant possibly justify buying another one so soon.

Yeah! If time was on my side, I would have asked Angeline to track the package down. However, her office doesnt allow her to access the internet during office hours, so by the time she saw my e-mail, it would have been tonight. Hence, I decided to just track it down, in the hope of catching it before it was deliveredand luckily for me, that worked.

Same here. My friend invited us to stay with her in her new condo in Bangkok this week, but we decided not to coz we would have to bring too many things with us. She has a 2 year old, but doesnt have a sterilizer coz she used the boiling method. I dare not risk boiling my bottles coz one melted the last time we tried doing it. And the pump & cooler bag already takes up a whole bagso why torture myself over a 3 day trip? I told my friend that she can come to stay with me if she wants to : )

jete,
haha! dun wanna post my pics here, paisay. hehe...

sure, feel free to take the recipe. it's from the book i bought actually

Suitable for 4 to 6 mths:
anyway, the steps of steaming and pureeing are also applicable to vege and fruits like carrot, pumpkin, apple, pear, sweet potato, chinese spinach (boiled), etc.
other fruits that dun require steaming are banana, honey dew, avocado

jang, leooh,
tks for helping me collect e books! must hv been v heavy!

jang, tink me meet u on sat to collect ok, shall message u again to pick up at redhill...

adeline/alsie/wttee

collected books from parentcraft tonight already. if possible could you ladies transf the money to me, i'm lazy to deal with cash. thanks.
POSB Savings
Account: 152-03281-1

adeline: i will email you, prob meet up on sun if you are home in the evening? your total is $52 + $20.90 = $72.90

alsie: sms me when you want to come by. i can pass you both the book and babylegs. your total is $20.90.

wttee: sms me when you want to come by, as long as i'm home, i can meet you downstairs my block. the book is $20.90.

chatty
paige does the same thing. she wants to suck her thumb when she is drinking milk, and now she wants to suck BOTH thumbs. no doubt about preferring the thumb to the pacifier. i bought one to try if paige will give up the thumb, just tried it today and she "phew" as soon as i put it in.

Jete: Congrats on Paige flipping! : ) James flips from back to front, but can't manage the other way yet. The problem is that he really likes to lie on his tummy, and I have to watch him all the time, because I'm afraid he'll suffocate should he become too tired to lift his head up.

Good to know that the babylegs have arrived : ). I have your food processor, but not collected the other stuff yet, as it has not arrived. Will collect it, then arrange a meet-up with you sometime next week?

Jete: James likes to suck both thumbs simultaneously too! Our babies are quite similar in some ways : ). James will take his pacifier when he wants to sleep, but isn't so interested in it at other times. I guess he prefers what nature has bestowed on him

mel
so sorry about the fight with MIL. i think if i'm you i'll just consider infantcare. hopefully mil will get bored and find somewhere else to go.

an_gal
have to take paige along whatever/wherever we go. she doesn't want anyone now except us. die, she's stuck to us already, cannot even get a break. no more alone time, not even in hours.

haa, not really copied lah. just so i can do a collection of photos of our babies in leg warmers.

cin
eh... feel old lor.
we've been together for 14+ years and soon to be married for 10. i agree, we have been through a lot tog and if i have to do it again i will still marry him.

adeline
can consider doing a dish with slow cooker. dump everything in in the morning and it'll be ready by dinner. i used to do that when i was in the states. i will make one dish with the slow cooker, then cook a soup and rice.