(2007/08) August 2007 MTBs

have u gals start teaching the baby ABC or other reading materials yet? When is the best time to do it? Aft sleep or feeding?

Leooh,
Maybe sometimes we have sensitive period, thats y a bit childish :p
Anyway, Bintan trip is better than just a movie rite? hehehe

Yup got MIL is a blessing lar.. I think both our MIL is very nice willing to help us take care of bb.
My MIL helps me out will all the housework also ler..

After CNY she will be goin gback already, FIL will come.
FIL fussy ler, dunno how it will turn out to be... He will never help out even washing a plate he used.
No choice also, at least he helps me take care of baby... less worry for me and hubby lor.

Loh,
Hehe thanks.. for the 18 yr old praise :p But I do hope i look a bit more mature lar, at least ppl wont think I MBA *married by accident* coz look like a kid bearing another kid hahahahaha

An_gal,
Hehe I think i should be more careful not to bend so much but squat down.. really painful ler last few days.

Re: baby legs
I order already!!!!!! want the rainbow color but reserved arlready

Want to check with you ladies, will the baby legs be very loose? or it's like a sock?

Xman,
My baby is also wearing 12 months to 18 mths old pyjamas. Not very big though, just a bit long..
Luckily I didn't order the 18-36 mths sleeping bag...

Pst,
Thanks for the link hor hehehehe

pooh,
thks.. tink u can go ahead n meet xue, usually sunday i need 2 go in-laws house for lunch/dinner.. hws xue doing? she missing frm the thread liaoz

leooh,
the sea ride jus abt 45mins nia leh, u will get sea sick? must enjoy urself hor
i oso didnt print out Melcolm's pics, mayb wen i work liaoz hav $$ then 1 shot go n print haha.. brought some scrap book material and a clear folder to store his pics oso didnt do leh.. lazy mummy..

rc_cola: Babylegs are expandable, so it should fit 4 month old baby quite well. Description states that it will fit 0 - 4 years old! So can last for long long time.

loh,
don wori, ur're not the oni 1.. mi too oso lost in direction.. poor memory and very lousy oways depends on hubby.. tats y i cant drive well too haha..

chatty,
ohh.
My friend brought a set of Encyclopedia for her baby when he was only 4mths. It costs her 3K plus.

cola,
the babylegs material abit like socks.. tats y if u let bb wear too long will hav some markings on their thighs especially the upper thigh

rc cola,
I still swaddle my boy. he keeps getting startled and wakes up. although he does not like to be swaddled, we can help it. Cant wait to unswaddle him. Bec of this I cant put him in his cot yet. He still sleeps between us.

But more than this, i am feeling troubled abt another issue. He dont seem to drink his milk properly. He takes at least 3 to 4 hrs to drink a bottle of 180ml. Dunno what to do...

loh/chatty

now i read to my baby cloth books and simple books with big big colourful pictures,so that she can at least see colour pictures.don't think she understand but i like the feeling of her sitting in my lap and me reading to her;-)

usually its after she's eaten and in a cheerful mood.for a few minutes only lah..

bundle of joy

u mean he drinks 180ml that lasts him 3 to 4 hours?
if he takes more than 1 hour to finish the milk you should throw away the milk already leh(advice is to throw after 1 hour or there'll be contamination.)

180ml every 3-4 hours sounds ok leh.my gal is drinking 120ml every 3 hours.wondering when to start her on 150ml every 4 hours...

Bundle of Joy,

Dun worry, my girl is only drinking 100ml per 2 hours.
She drink about 6-7 feeds per 24 hours only, Night time worse, she usually dun like to drink milk, prefer to drink plain water.

Re: 5in1 jab,
My girl is going for her jab this friday. It is her first 5in1 jab though.

bundle of joy,
it's too long for bb to drink so long leh..
esp e milk is nt hot liao...
sum more got wind if e milk is taken to long...

is he slp while he tkae his milk??

leooh,
He drinks the bottle of 180ml throughout the 3 to 4 hrs. The most he drinks in 1 hr is abt 60-70ml. For throwing away the milk after 1 hr, does it go for FM as well?

pooh_astro,
I know its too long. My mum said by now bb supposed to finish milk in no time. when i was breastfeeding him lagi worse, he sleep the min he latch. Now i give him only FM, and he plays with his bottle. Hubby says he is drinking more than b4 but i still not satisfied. Cant feed him while he is sleeping as well bec he spits it out when he dozes off.

Feel the milk goes to waste so we keep it for at least 3 hrs and then throw. Is it adviseable to reheat FM?

bundle of joy,
reheat of FM can onli do within an hour..
if nt e FM will contains lots of wind and it's nt gd for bb..
but reheat onli if the bb din drink a slip at all...

Did u check w ur doc abt tis.. sum bb dun like to drink milk... but guess amyb u hv to drag e hr long to feed him.. like mayb he drink his milk at 9am.. n should b hvin his next feed at 4 hrs later.. mayb u try to give him 5 hrs for each feed.. mayb tis help..

ARRIVAL OF NURSERY RTHYMES BOOKS!!!

The books have just arrived! Lena of Parentcraft just called me 5 mins ago. I will be giving her your names by today, so I think you can start collecting tomorrow.

Jang, Muddypie, Jete: Thanks for helping to distribute books. Do you want to collect directly from AMK? Thanks.

Distribution Points

Chattypheyling (Boon Lay MRT Station / Jurong East MRT Station / My house in Hoover Park)
1) Magical (West - Bt Batok)
2) pst (Jurong West)
3) Nining (West - Jurong)
4) Cin (Bt Timah - Stevens Rd)
5) Inu (Bt Batok)
6) gold..piggy (Bt Panjang)

Jang (Redhill MRT Station)
1) settes (central - tiong bahru)
2) redvenus (Redhill)
3) Poohwei (Sept Mummy - Redhill)

Muddypie (Serangoon)
4) PiggyB (Northeast - Serangoon Gardens)

Jete (Sengkang / Punggol / Tampines)
1) Alsie (Northeast - Sengkang
2) wttee (Jete - Punggol / Sengkang / Tampines )
3) Adeline (tampines)

AMK Parentcraft
1) Tulip
2) Melia (Jul Mummy)
3) candypop (AMK-Parentcraft)
4) Nielle
5) Coolzy (AMK - Parentcraft)
6) Snnowy (AMK - Parentcraft)
7) Bundle of Joy (AMK Parentcraft)
8) Leooh (AMK - Parentcraft)
9) Disneypoohbear (AMK - Parentcraft) - waiting list

Oops! Amended list. Disneypoohbear's book is also confirmed.

Distribution Points

Chattypheyling (Boon Lay MRT Station / Jurong East MRT Station / My house in Hoover Park)
1) Magical (West - Bt Batok)
2) pst (Jurong West)
3) Nining (West - Jurong)
4) Cin (Bt Timah - Stevens Rd)
5) Inu (Bt Batok)
6) gold..piggy (Bt Panjang)

Jang (Redhill MRT Station)
1) settes (central - tiong bahru)
2) redvenus (Redhill)
3) Poohwei (Sept Mummy - Redhill)

Muddypie (Serangoon)
4) PiggyB (Northeast - Serangoon Gardens)

Jete (Sengkang / Punggol / Tampines)
1) Alsie (Northeast - Sengkang
2) wttee (Jete - Punggol / Sengkang / Tampines )
3) Adeline (tampines)

AMK Parentcraft
1) Tulip
2) Melia (Jul Mummy)
3) candypop (AMK-Parentcraft)
4) Nielle
5) Coolzy (AMK - Parentcraft)
6) Snnowy (AMK - Parentcraft)
7) Bundle of Joy (AMK Parentcraft)
8) Leooh (AMK - Parentcraft)
9) Disneypoohbear (AMK - Parentcraft)

pooh astro,
I never thought of the wind in the milk. I think i will refrain from reusing the milk. and drag the feeding time and see how. But at night when he cries for milk, sometimes he finishes his milk, sometimes he dont.
If dont give milk then give what? Doc so far said he is normal. Bec being born a small baby, he is now in the 50th percentile for a 3 mth old. Need to see how is the progress on the 22/12/07 for his 2nd jab and 4th mth checkup.

chatty
i will collect directly from amk hub. so i'm collecting 3 + mine. so we pay parentcraft directly? how much is it again? $22 each??

Wah, something wrong with the thread again, luckily chatty email me the link. Thanks chatty.

Was out shopping at Suntec the whole of yesterday with Aidan and my parents & my nephew, brought Aidan for a haircut at Suntec, wow, so expensive for a 5 minutes haircut, $18, even more expensive than my hub's haircut....ke...ke....

chatty, Shermin will be arranging for the delivery of my food processor on Monday.

Nursery Rhyme: Will collect it frm AMK, hopefully by Friday cause might not hve the car for a couple of days, someone just crashed into the back of the car on Monday morning. Luckily bb was ok.

jete, congratulations! 10yrs is a long time. I'm only 1yr for customary and 2yrs for ROM...... a long way for me to go. I found out I was pregnant 3 weeks after my wedding. Hee....hee...Aidan was concieve the 2nd or 4th day after our wedding....therefore didn't manage to go for any honeymoon at all as was suffering frm morning sickness.

Aidan will be going for his 5-in jab on 28 Dec, his was delayed for abt 3 weeks as we hve to wait for his MRI result before proceeding.

Feeding bb solid food:
I hve been happily feeding bb with just milk until recently when chatty mentioned abt getting the food processor did I realised that I shld be starting Aidan with some food like cereal or something....what a blur mummy. Any idea what brand of rice cereal shld I get? Read frm the book "First Food", they suggested that we shld be starting bb with cereal then followed by fruit and vege purees.

bundle of joy

ya FM can reheat only within the hour.babies at 3 mths loves to play,thats why tmaybe he's not interested in drinking.enci was like that for a few days too.

what we do is we tuck one arm under the arm that's holding her,the other hand hold her other hand so that she's like immobile,and feed her at a place where its quiet.and we don't talk to her while feeding her(but depends,sometimes i'll coax her to drink and make sucking motion and she'll drink.must trial and error la).

dragging the feeding time is also a good idea,like what pooh suggested.drag from 3 to 4 hours lor.or 4 hours to 5(but i think 5 hours is too long to go without food during the day).

but my own opinion is not to feed the baby after 1 hour if he drank a little but didn't finish.cos the milk he drank is still in his tummy undigested,the new milk might cause him discomfort when it mixed with the old milk.this might cause him reflux,and it becomes a vicious cycle.this happened to enci when she was 6 weeks old.

better to wait til at least 2 hours after the last feed if baby is hungry and cries for food.

chatty

thanks again for organising the nursery rhymes book thing.hmm can i go collect this evening instead?if no then will have to get hubby to collect tomorrow instead.just give our full name can already right?

muddypie

haha i thought i was fast,u're faster.enci was conceived the 2nd months after our wedding in oct last year..

just bought 3 carters rompers for enci,and 2 for my bro's baby boy from a shop beside the coffee shop diagonally from buona vista MRT.very cheap leh!the 3 girl's rompers are plain printed cotton,3 for $15.boys rompers have embroidery so 1 for $9.the material is very good.shopowner said that its authentic,from the factory in china,thats why she sells it so cheaply.Biopolis/science park mummies,can go check it out!its the shop which sells ladies clothes and accessories,with a small corner for kids clothing.a few shops from the pizza shop.

Chatty,

No lah, I am refering to both of them at 4mths old, both similar size. Thanks for the books...!

An-gal,

Yeah, both are michelin cos both also breastfeed babies, but kor kor got less milk to drink cos did nt produce that much, need to add 1 formula to his feed everyday.
The babylegs is nice on melcolm..looking forward for my babyleg from golden piggy and ivy, still hv not collect from Jete. Hope my Chloe tigh can fit, her tigh so fat...kekeke...

Leooh,

No lah, I thk jang jaeden also leh...see he got more layer thn chloe worrh...

My gal enjoy watching Barney with her kor kor leh...!! And Chloe is drinking ard 100-120mls(4hrly) during the day cos so difficult to feed whn she is awake, she only can finish 150mls(4hrly or longer) during dreamfeed.

Wow,

The babylegs going fast, I ordered another 4 pairs, saw Pooh astro, leooh, pst,rc-cola and chatty order also. But chatty, think yr order no more stock worrh..

leooh

hee....yah, it was really fast, at first thought we're gonna hve a hard time trying due to our age.....anyway, it's god's gift for our wedding.

Aidan is taking abt 120-170mls 4 hrly

adeline

next gathering we must take a picture of all the michelin babies!enci is also bah bah..haha.jang's jaeden is younger than chloe lah,and also tanner so look a bit slimmer haha.potential to be a beach hunk!;-)

these days its quite hard to get enci to drink during the dreamfeed unless the clock strikes 11pm.haha like cinderella,she has an internal clock!even if we've fed her at 7.30pm and put her to sleep,she refuses to drink for the dreamfeed at 10.30pm.until its punctually at 11pm then she'll automatically start sucking,its so funny...

we're thinking of starting her on the 4 hour baby whisperer EASY routine cos she's coming to 4 mths already,but dunno when we should do it.tried feeding her 150ml for 4 hours and its ok.but her napping time turned haywire cos she can't stay awake for 2 hours yet.

other mummies on BW routine,any experience with this?

muddypie

indeed its God's gift.or maybe Aidan has been waiting and waiting for you 2 to get married cos he's destined to be your child!;-)

Chatty,
What do we say when collecting the book. Should it be our usernames or actual names?

Leooh,
That was really food for thought. I think the part on the milk he drank is still in his tummy undigested,the new milk might cause him discomfort when it mixed with the old milk is really logical. never thought of this. Thanks alot. Will see if he changes for the better.

Do your babies sleep on their own? How did u go abt doing it?

bundle of joy

that was what the PD told us when enci suddenly had feeding problems.good luck for ur baby!

we have to swaddle enci real tightly(and reswaddle if her hands managed to sneak out)and pat her gently on her back(she sleeps sideways) while "chanting"in chinese"sleep baby sleep"over and over again.until she sleeps.usually takes us 5-10min,unless she's overstimulated or playful and don't want to sleep yet.still can't get her to sleep by herself.planning to unswaddle her soon though,but don't know how to "wean"her off swaddling.

Bundle of joy,
My baby is 3.5 mths..

An_gal,
Will leave marks ar? actually now bb legs abit like kfc drumstick already hehehe...
everytime i see sock marks on her ankles i feel heartpain ler...
But i think should not be a problem hor?

Chatty,
Thanks for the info. coz normally i let bb wear her pyjamas stripe pants with her jumper suits when going out, but the pant is still a bit loose...

Sorry if i miss out some of the mummies' post.

Leooh,

Chloe sleep pretty early everyday, ard 8-9pm, she alrdy in dreamland liao...and she will be totaly awake like 6.45-7am. I think night feed can last them longer leh...Chloe sometime drink at 5hrly during night feed, we will wait for her to make noise thn go and warm up the milk.

Yeah, hope to meet everyone on next gathering.

adeline

enci sleeps even earlier,7.30 or 8 depending on whether she's tired/hungry.usually she'll sleep while drinking her 7.30pm/8pm feed.then at 11pm we'll let her have her dreamfeed.she'll usually be able to last thru the night til 7.30am when she wakes,then 8am will take her first feed of the day.

think our girls are same same in drinking/sleeping habit..

leooh

we're also swaddling Aidan once in a while, now that with the dreambag, we still do it when he refuse to sleep. Just swaddle him and put him in his cot, he'll fall asleep in a few minutes. Aidan sleeps at ard 7.30pm to 8pm everyday and we wake him up again between 10pm to 11pm for his last feed. I usually wakes up between 4am to 5am to feed him and then he'll doze off again till abt 7am to 8/9am

which kind soul can help me collect 4 books? then i collect from you somewhere in town(raffles place/ cityhall) or anywhere along the west line before JE ?

AMK and thomson are abit out of the way. cos i have to bring jaeden out wherever i go, cannot too far..

looks like a few of us still swaddle our babies. Rishi needs to be swaddled when put to sleep but we cant swaddle his legs as they are too long. and he keeps raising his legs and throwing them on the bed. he can even wake us up. In the afternoons i need to put him on my lap and rock him before i transfer him to the bouncer.

muddypie,
me also brought my gal for haircut y'day, i went to united sq. agree, expensive at $18 but at least my gal had the TV to distract her, if not she normaly cried when i cut for her. maybe should trying turning on my TV the next time i cut for her

ytanhn, you mean you cut for her?? I dare not, that's why brought him to the one at suntec. So, they hve one at united sq too, I was contemplating whether to go there to give it a try or not, cause thought I vaguely remember seeing one at united sq.

leooh,
ur bb drink 150ml for 4 hrs ar??
mine muz wait till 5 hrs den he wan to drink..
if nt he willl refuse to drink n will cry leh..

so headache loh..

bundle_of_joy,
ya beta dun use reuse milk..
reali nt gd wor..

chatty,
do u still hv the Disneypoohbear's book?
tot of getting 1..