(2007/08) August 2007 MTBs

Loh, wow! your boy has a big-boy face!
handsome boy!!!

loh,
wah... ur baby retro baby... wearing cloths so many yrs ago... i'm sure ur grandson hav chance to wear cos it still look so new.

Adeline: I guess your hubby has reason to be cautious about spending money unneccessarily...my hubby's that way too, and it was further reinforced when he was studying in the US and working as a dishwasher in the hostel canteen to earn extra bucks...but I know what you mean...very hard to deal with sometimes, esp when you want to buy things that you really like or which you think is good for the children but he doesn't agree...I have that problem sometimes too.

PiggyB: I think it depends on the brand of diapers. I've noticed that some brands have a smaller cut than others, even if the weight range is the same...Mamy Poko seems to have a bigger cut than Pureen. Drypers has a smaller cut. Maybe it also depends on the baby's body shape, as diaper in the right weight range may not necessarily be right size for baby. My boy's wearing "S" size too for Pureen, Mamy Poko and Pampers, and he's only a week older than yours... For Drypers, he needs to wear "M" size : )

cola: My ss oso dropping. Like u, i will give as long as i can lor until no more ss.

Mic: Me ardi using carrier for Rin liao. I am using the combi carrier. Can carry her lying dwn, front or back. It costs $148.00, hb likes it.

An_gal: Melcolm realli looks cute. So different from when he's juz born.

Loh: So cool..ur kid is wearing the clothes u wore b4. Ur family realli can take care of things. My bb clothes long time gone liao..heehee

rc_cola: Dun worry. As long as you try your best, that's all you can do. My aunt attended a BF talk for doctors two weekends ago, and she learnt that its not the type of food or number of times you pump that matters when you want to increase milk supply. Apparently, its the amount of rest you have that's the most important factor in increasing milk supply. After she told me that, I tried to rest more, and true enough, my milk supply which had dropped somewhat, rebounded. The same was true over the last few days when my supply dropped by 2 to 3 ounces, and yesterday, my hubby took over babycare for the morning and I slept till 11.30am, and though I missed at least two to three pumping sessions, my milk supply went back up to its original level...so try not to stress yourself out too much, and as and when you can, try to have some R&R. It'll work wonders...

pst,
heheh...he will bcom a monster when he is not in good mood....

an_gal, must ask all the auntie which brand of cloth detergent that they use, can protect the colour so well

jang,
my baby also like to sleep wif me, he will make so much noise and cry when we put him in his own bed....ppl said bf baby likes to stick wif us coz of the smell that the mummy produce wor...

an_gal: Good to know it wasn't another
"deceptive" photo : )

mic: Someone gave me the Chicco carrier, which my hubby uses. Its okay, though its not that easy to put baby into it and clip it up at the same time. I usually have to help him...not sure if all carriers are like that. I use the MIM sling, and my baby sleeps very well in it. Only thing is that its rather complicated to use and adjust, so since washing it, I haven't put it back together again...Someone also gave us the Evenflo carrier, which unlike the Chicco carrier, is for babies up to a year old. We're still using the Chicco carrier which is for the first 3 months, so haven't tried the Evenflo one yet.

Chatty,

My hubby also study and work while he is abroad in London. And he never depend on his parents for his fees there and his expenses there, can U imagine, he can survive with just S$20K for his 2years there including his school fees...but can tell from his pics in London that he really stuf himself lor...very skinny looks...he told me he either eat food that is almost expired from the supermarket there cos its cheaper or either cook vry simple food in the hostel

Adeline: Wah! You're even better than me at finding bargains online. In fact, I didn't even know about BP and sprees and WTS until these few months. : )

Chatty,

I am expert in yahoo auction leh...sometimes can get good buys from there, my twin sis also bought so many lightly use infant wear from there, all vry nice condition, as she says kids grow fast, so dont have to always buy new ones...when I need something, I will just look around, recently, I just got a gd buy from ebay...6 4oz and 4 avent bottles all likely use come with freebies also...2 new bottle brush and feeding spoon also new, I got it as a bundle at $10 only..can U believe it? the seller is very generous...she says her hubby wnt to chg her baby bottles every 3mths...I dont see the need of it leh...if its teats I believe need to change that often..

Adeline,
Agreed tat ur BM is really power. The other two mummies r Jang n ytanhn, BB really grow to b strong n big.

Pst,
Hope u'll get well soon n dun had the same experience again. Tat time when i had engorgement on 3rd day after BB's delivery, I charged to KKH immendiately. But din noe can go 24hrs clinic, so was still waiting at home for the Clinic to open in the morning. It was really a painful experience, screamin n crying when the nurse help me to clear my blockage duct. But luckily, i dun have fever, so no need to see doc.

Pillow,
Am glad that u had clear ur block with medication. Being a mummy is not easy, especially when we want to bf our bb.

Chatty,
Ur 1st day of work seemed ok hor! But u have ur own room to pump? How nice!

Inu,
How's ur first day of work?

Today, bring my bb for 3mth jab. She was only 4.8kg n 57cm tall. Thot she at least 5kg liao, but not yet, so sort of sad... Then as my bb had only her Hep B jab at 2mth instead of 1mth, was advised by the nurse to take 5-in-1 instd of 6-in-1 due to the latter having the HepB at one mth later.

Complain to the nurse that y the previous round, they did not advise tat my bb not advisable to take 6-in-1. Cos if so, I wld pay for both jabs together with a discount.
Sigh... The nurse still insisted she did n she remembered herself advising. Wondered how she can recalled since everyday she see lots of bbs..

Cola,
The classlist is actually consolidate by Woof in general to know who are the mummies "studing" in Aug thread. Think it is good as a guide as we like to noe our friends here.

Adeline,
Yap, I bought from one of the overseas sprees at ard S$77.24 including shipping. Considered quite expensive due to the exhange rate fixed at 1.60. Now, saw that can buy direct from tower.com and the shipping is US$2.99 per item. So no need to join any spree for this. Think average out with the low exchange rate, the cost is abt S$68-69.

Btw, r u thinking of getting the leappad learn n write system for 3 to 8yrs child? I was still debating whether to get this from one of the overseas spree at US$14.99 instead of the touch system which is for smaller bb... Haiz, maybe i shldnt buy too many books previously...

ocean, yeah! we also didn't know there's a 24 hour Women's Clinic at KKH. We went KKH coz we have a friend, also just kenna mastitis - they went to TTSH A&E, but TTSH side also not very sure, so refer them to KKH coz it's a women and children hospital. so my friend advised us to go direct to KKH, don't waste time and energy running elsewhere.

My boy also TBF, was 6.75kg at 11 weeks. Think now also 7plus kg already. Seems like TBF babies are pretty big yah? But thought all along people say formula fed babies are bigger, but now seems to be the other way round???

Chatty, you are a super shopping queen

Jete, cute hor. I'm thinking of buying.
2 pigeon container, good idea... then can save a bit hor..

hi jang

i also do not store up ebm, i will only express out if i need to go out n passed the bottle to mil or hubby. my pd dr advised e that during diff stage, our body produced milk that is catered to our babies at that stage. so the nutrients that my baby needs now may be diff from what i have pumped out 2 mths ago. also since i m a sahm, its easier to latach on.

ah gal
its my $ and hb still complain. my hb doesnt like shopping. if i do window shop or real shopping for myself, i will not ask him along. cant shop properly if i bring him along cos he will say that i take a long time. n will always hurry me. if i asked for opinion for something, he will always say nice to get me done with my shopping. therefore i normally do my own shopping n meet him at taxi stand for him to pick me up one i am done. the only time we will shop together is GROCERY shopping or if we go overseas.

woof m jang
your babies sleep with you? do u use blankets at nite then? i am scared my fat hb will squashed my baby. is that going to be a long term arrangement? i try not to cos if doing the S thingie, baby in the way. :p

jayden's mummy
i am in the 24th 10 to 11 am class too. but the unfriendly lady told me its only an hr class n its going to be practical class. why they give us different instructions? is your hb going with you? to thk abt it to pay $90 for an hr class is kinda of ex.

who else in that class from aug thread?

hi alsie
is your baby better?

at last i took the courage to drive the baby out alone. thank God he is cooperative n slept in the journey. but poor thing, his head is slanted when we reached home. the next thing is i am going to bring him to church as i gain more confident.

wah loh, your baby dun look like baby, he looks like a little boy! so handsome. mine is round like his father. we call him porkie pig.

speaking of shopping and hubbies..i think my situation is the opposite! I'm the stingy one! E.g. we just went suntec and marina on the weekend and hubby bought a pair of shoes tt cost $180..i saw a dress that was really nice, but at $200, i immediately gave it a miss! hubby felt VERY guilty about his spending after that tho...kekeke.esp since i've been going on and on about how i have nothing formal to wear and 2 weddings to go to! his guilt is his own doing tho,no fault of mine, he just wished that i bought something too so he's not the only one spending all the $$!!

jang, woof,
i put bb on bed with me sometimes to feed at nite lying down when i'm BF and i've fallen asleep halfway thru b4 putting him back on the cot...hubby has gotten such a fright so many times tho, cuz he turns around in the bed and has almost put his whole big fat arm down on bb a few times now! so now no matter how tired i am, bb doesn't stay on the bed with us but goes back into his own cot!

jete,
i don't bring out a diaper bag..i have a big handbag and put 1 little clutch bag of bb's things inside, which has:

3 diapers
1 travel wipes
1 change of clothing (onesie and a bib)
2 folded small plastic bags (for soiled clothes/to bag his dirty diaper)
2 pacifiers

i leave a flannel wrap that i bought from TMC in his stroller just in case it gets cold and i bring my nursing cover out all the time too, but that's it!

how is it that u guys get free gifts from robinsons? we brought the maclaren stroller and the britax royale car seat fr them in one day! no gift or anything leh!

nining,
hubby, me n bb are all coming for the gathering..can't find the file wi the details so thot i'd just mention it here

hi jang

is your baby your 1st child? what do u normally with him in the day. i m still trying to get use to be a sahm. though i love motherhood n enjoys my boy's company, but i cant help feeling bored. i have been at home most of the time since giving birth to him as i am his sole caregiver n he is still too young to go out. to take care of baby full time can be real tiring. by 10 pm i m already exhausted. really hope baby will grow up fast, then i can start going out with him n no need to cope at home.that is why i m looking fwd to the gathering. : ) any chance to go out makes me happy. sometimes i will leave baby with hb at nite n i will cruise down the expressway with my fav music on. therefore if hb not around, alamak.. i even more bored.

cin
I am also attending the 24nov 10 to 11am massage class. The class is at AMK hub or at TMC?

Jerome's fever has subside today and no signs of fever since morning. Now is to continue feeding him antibiotics and wait for the lab test result to be out.

Shopping
I also have Isetan, Robinson and Tangs card leh. My hubby is ok with me spending on Jerome, as long as its something useful. But of cause I am using my own money lah, so he cannot say much. Sometimes when I ask him to pay, he will ask for more details (eg. is the LG bumper mat). He feels that its very expensive for a bumper mat, but in the end he still pays when I tell him if Jerome fall down and kok his head dun blame anyone :p

cin,

yeap! jaeden is my first. what do we do at hm? hmm..normally, he wakes up for only an hour. during tat time, i play and feed him. after that, try putting him to sleep. unlike lilyn's boy, jaeden is very hard to put to bed. can spend up to an hour. even worse, can't at all. if he didnt manage to get any slp, i'll carry him while he slp and i watch tv. sometimes, i take nap with him. to prevent yourself from getting too tired, nap while he naps.

i understand the frustration. once a while, bring him out to mall? for one hour also happy, find malls with nursing rooms... i always remind myself.. its just a phase..

even worse, my boy is a super glue. daddy carry also cannot, must be mummy. its just a phase...

for me, the worse part of the day is putting him to sleep..

cin,
i try to go out, otherwise i get too cooped up at home! like jang says, once in a while go mall also happy! i've popped into compasspoint just to charles and keith..in and out in less than 1 hour! but some days it works, some days it doesn't..like today outing was an utter failure...tried to go shopping at wisma atria but baby wouldn't sleep in his stroller..slept in the car seat happily but eyes open big big when we were in wisma, and wouldn't let me shop at all! grrr...i just gave up and decided to go home so he could rest in his own cot!

hi aisle

since no fever, i m sure jerome is alrite, so fret not. : )

jang
sama sama, same, same. its very difficult to put my baby to bed too. every evening around 0730 pm, i will start to feed him. by the time he finished at 0800 pm, i still have to rock him for another hour or so b4 he is into deep n then transferred him to bed. if he starts moving n eyes big big, means i got to start ALL over again. he doesnt sleep much in the day too. other then that, he is easy to look. he is quite a joyful baby.u mean each time your baby wakes up, he will stay awake for an hr n then sleep again? wow! he sleeps alot! that is good for u. : )

hi lilyn,

u r sahm too? maybe next time we all can meet up during the weekday when babies r bigger. form a playgrp for them.

hmm... the tmc people told me the class is held in amk. i thk i also better call n confirm with them. wah!! imagine go amk n then they tell me at tmc??? pengz...

hi chatty

r u staying with your in laws? who look after your baby when you work? how is your 1st day of work? used to it? is your room still very dusty? : P last mth when i went back to work, my money plant died!!

oh my goodness... I'm sooooo out of touch with this forum liao.... anyway, here I am! :D

lilyn, your 'diaper bag' contents are exactly like mine! I'm also total latch on (yep, SAHM too...) so no need to prepare bottles and all...

Glad to know that there are other sahms!

Dream Bag:
Hi Angeline/Tulips/inu/jete/leooh,

Hve confirmeds with itsy bitsy our order, you can start trfing $$ to my POSB Savings a/c: 025-28029-6 as I may not be able to log in so often for the next couple of days. Hve informed itsy bitsy to sms me regarding payment and collection. Thanks

RC Cola,
tried PM u but the forum said u cannot accept PM. So here is the gathering details:

Venue: Summerdale's Multi Purpose Hall, Boon lay Drive
TIme: 1 Dec 07 - 2.30-4.30pm

Lilyn,
noted..

jete

you like bring the whole house out in ur diaper bag..wohh..so many stuff. i normally bring a bag (not a proper diaper bag), put in 3 diapers, dipaer cream, wet wipes, tissue paper, a diaper met, one romper and 1 pacifer, my nursing shawl. tat's all

first day of work: SIAN!!!. i miss bb the moment i stepped out of teh house. then i called back at lunch, talked to my mum, with bb crying at the background. my mum said trying to put her to sleep and she crying. i immediately heart pain...aiyoo. my hubby says first day i already feel like that, then how?..i pumped twice today. first time in my ofc nursing rm, I first time went in.wah..there are 3 cubicles, so at any one time, can hv 3 mothers pumping which happened to me. so i feel kinda weird..and stress cos can hear pple like pumping very fast...so i take v long to let down. afternoon, i decided not to go down to pump..too far to walk..so i use one conf room locked myself up and pumped and read emails at teh same time..so much faster and more relaxed..heee. now i still clearing ofc emails while reading forum..n i alrady super tired.

I also feeding Total breast milk le..but jaelynn dun seem to be too big. at 12 weeks she is 5.1 kilo only.

muddypie will TT the $ to you later. pls check. let me know when the things arrive lor.

ocean

wah sealer at .12 cheap cheap...i got it from giant at .26

hi chatty!
i really hope he'll be sweet n sensitive! but i think he's a boy who knows what he wants and must get it! i would agree that he's been quite easy to care for, except for his colic when he was younger. now he still throws tantrums every now and then but i'm immune to it .. last time would be so worried n wonder if there's anything wrong with him!

Re: wet wipes
I bought so much before delivery coz everyone says need to ues alot! in the end now 3.5 months liao i havent even used up my first pack which i put in my diaper bag! at home i just use normal facial tissues with water. got abt 18 packs still taking up space in my drawers.. hope they dont dry up!

Re: Diapers
We use pampers stages all along. n hor, we only used a pack of S before changin to M when Jereth was barely 2 months n 4+kg! he looked quite funny in his oversized diapers earlier but coz its quite airy so he doesnt get diaper rash at all.. only now n then gets a little red but will go away in a day with J&J diaper rash cream.

Re: TBM
He's been on TBM too n at his 3 month checkup 3 weeks back he was 6.3kg n 59cm. but his milk intake so far only ave 100ml pre 3 hourly..i think its very very little! now 15 weeks liao eh.. he can finish up to 130ml at times but not always.. is this appetite normal? we worry but PD says he's growing very well n above ave, so we thought maybe we're worrying needlessly.

hi jo!
long time no see! welcome back!