(2007/08) August 2007 MTBs

mommies,
how to clear blocked nose on babies? I tried those rubber bulb that supposed to suck out the mucus, but cannot clear.. do I need nasal spray first then clear? Where can I get nasal spray for baby?

jang,
I want also.. 1 pax @ 4 boxes.. cheers

nining

u can get the sterimar sea water spray from guardian pharmacy,just spray into baby's nose and it'll wet the dirt,and when baby sneezes it'll come out.or when it reaches the opening of the nosetrils use tissue to gently remove.PD advised us not to stick anything inside the nose,not even cotton wool strip or cotton bud.

Is it neccessary to shave bb's hair? I noticed Jerome's baby hair is getting lesser and lesser leh, seems like the hair drops?

Jang, can I order one pack of the milk bag? Thanks!

Milk thrush
Last week I thought Jerome has it cos I saw some whitish things on the gums. Brought him to PD and was told to be calcium build up due to constant chewing of his fist around that area. No medication as it will go away by itself. If you feel unsafe, just bring to PD for a checkup although its more expensive but at least you feel safer with a more experienced doc.

posted due to popular demand!

1045870.jpg

here's my pink eclipse tote! put a bottle of water beside it so you guys can see the size.

my mum got the princy bow boston. very nice! classy n yet chic. i think i like hers better. hubby says my pink one is nicer but the princy bow has got the classic gucci look .. so tempted to buy another one..arghh!! will take pic n post to show u guys later

nining, yeah i agree with u that the princy bow is indeed nicer than the bauletto..

jete,
jereth uses pampers stages, its also quite absorbent leh.. can last 10-11 hours easily since i change him at 10 or 11pm then through the night until his bath next morning at 9-10am.
during the night he'll go 'eh, eh, eh...' but will be still sleeping while he does that. he usu cannot finish the whole bottle of 120 coz he falls back to deep sleep halfway thru.. will usu finish 70-90..n no matter how we try to wake him to finish, he'll just refuse to budge n shut his lips tighter..

thanks, jete/Jang

can i check.... playtex BP is about $10 also but for 140 bags... why u gals don't consider playtex? and also is there a difference betw bottle liner and milk bag?

thanks, jete/Jang

can i check.... playtex BP is about $10 also but for 140 bags... why u gals don't consider playtex? and also is there a difference betw bottle liner and milk bag?

also the amazon site says 4 box for USD 20.99 that means 4 box cost about $30? still more ex than playtex leh..... unless there is a difference between bottle liner and milk bag.... hmmm... can anyone advise pls?

Nining: No problem, I can pick up gel from Jete and pass to you together with mini-fridge...as long as Jete is ok with it.

Jete: If you're getting gel sent to you by post, let me know how much postage costs and I'll pay you.

Magical: Oh No! My pillow is totally soaked with drool! Sigh! Must resist, the bags you and your mum got are the ones I've been dreaming of...

Mesh: Are you referring to Playtex drop-ins or the original soft disposables. I like drop-ins as can pump directly into them, then freeze, thaw, and feed. Very convenient, not like milk bags, but I think it takes up more space in the fridge...

chatty,
thks, i shall stop buying the jar food 1st. Bought a few bottles of Heniz liaoz, mayb let him try and c hw wen he's ready.

ng,
mine earlier, on the 4th hehe

magical,
nice bag !! i'm aiming at the same bag as urs too.. like the pinky bag but mus work 1st then can buy haha

cin

have u bought the yao lan??
i am using the tranditional one. i think its better cos i dun 'yao' him one. dun wan make it a habit.i put him in then just pat his butt and shortly he will fall alseep.
furthermore, the automatic need power supply and with my pumping, washing and sterlising, i alone is causing the pub bill to be rocket high. dun wan to make it worse.

yest night is the 1st night my boy sleep in yao lan and he can sleep more soundly. his drinking time is 9pm, 1am,4.30am and 9am...although in between got 'eh eh ek ek' but i pat pat his butt and he fall asleep liao...

Mel,
hydrotherapy seems interesting.. can i have the add, pls? maybe wait my gal's neck is more stable b4 gg.

Jayden's mummy,
hv voted for jayden. good luck!

Jete/chatty/nining/ocean,
sorry.. r u gals talking abt the collection of the gel we ordered? abit lost cos didnt log in for few days. tentatively who's collecting? i might need them to be posted to me cos sometimes quite diff for me to go out.

Re: Maid
normaly what time does ur maid wake up? woke up this morning at 7am to make milk & she's still zzz...

what time are they allow to go out during their off-days? mine having hers this coming sun & i'm not very sure abt the 'norm' timing. does she need to do housework when she's back or she can rest for the whole day?

an_gal,

What kind of Heniz puree hv u bought for yor son?
Now can start feeding him with puree liao ah?
I kiasu, already bought the food jar liao, i bought gourmet brand at $59.90 if im not wrong, memory still very poor!

Ytanhn,

Its located at 2nd floor of Punggol Plaza

Mel,

U going to try out the hydrotheraphy ah?

ythanh,
my maid wakes up at 6.30am, sleep at 9pm. That's my requirement and she follows that. But sometimes if hubby and I dine out, she will sleep when we get home, but I tell her to stay with Ike in the nursery..
her off day is every sunday, from whatever time she wanna go out, till 6pm max. If she needs to stay later than 6pm she must get my permission at least a day before. We're quite liberal with her..

chatty! you're a lifesaver!!! (or milk saver!!!) hahhaah... a pity I threw away 500ml last night. but luckily I haven't throw away the frozen milk yet. hehehe thanks man!!! yeah the GP I saw prescribed the Daktarin edible gel already. so, since it is edible, I dun have to wipe off before feeding baby, right?

Dunno whether issit I xing1 li3 zuo4 yong4, but like last night, I found that my nipples were very itchy - another symptom of thrush... hiaz. but then the nipple and aeorola looks normal leh. it is a little reddish, but it has always been a little sore from breastfeeding, so it looks 'normal' to me.

yeah think if it doesn't get better, will bring bb to see PD already.

chatty, you stay near my parents. my parents stay at Toh Yi that side inside inside. and you work near my house at JW! hahahaha...

Adelynn, I was reading your blog whilst bf-ing Isaac last week, and then I read that your bb doubled his birth weight at 6 weeks - I exclaimed aloud:" 6 weeks?!?!" I was so loug that I startled my baby and he started crying! hahahaha...

inu, thanks, I already bought the fridge-to-go minifridge model with shooulder straps. think same as jete's. So far I quite like it. used it to transport frozen EBM from my place to MIL's place - good good! the EBM never defrost - was afraid it would.

Jete,
same here pls advice cost of postal to you.. Make it easier for Ocean dont need to post individually... THen Chatty can help me collect from you kekeke.. isn't our network just nice?

argh, just sit down to read posts and paige starts crying.

nining/chatty
no problem. i'll arrange with ocean to either pick up or post for all 3 of our gel.

ocean
let me know if
1) can have my sis collect from you at raffles place
2) collect from you at another location (your work or home)
or if not
3)have to trouble you to mail chatty's, nining's, and mine to my address.

Mesh: I also have the ones on the link you posted. Its not the same as drop-ins, but cheaper. I have a few boxes which I purchased during the Jul spree, when Playtex store was having a sale, and selling it at half-price. H/w, since I only have the 8oz size and my baby is still drinking max 4 oz, Ive not used it yet. All I can say is that its not as convenient as the drop-ins, but functions like a regular milk bag, which can be placed into a regular bottle. Only thing is that it has no seal, so you have to tape it up. I prefer the drop-ins, but this is ok.

Magical, i like ur bag!!! but it's light colored, u must really take gd care. if not, stain liao very heart painz.

Pst, u reading my blog *happy*. hahaha yah i oso wonder y Nic so chubby coz hb not fat n me very skinny one leh. i'm only 45kg at 1.6m height. been underweight since birth till now. oops.
U talk to urself also ah?!! this morning i oso didn't realise that i was mumbling abt something myself n Nic was staring at me intensely. for a moment, i thought i'm going SIAO already.

ytanhn, me dun hv maid at home but i think u shd start to give the maid a time-table. my aunt's maid has a alarm to wake her up every morning. and the list of things that needs to be done. my hb is super-anti maid coz i become the maid. hehe

Popby and saw <font size="+2">Gucci Bag</font> again!! Wow...
kao_drool.gif
Dun like tat leh.. been trying not to buy and u r keep posting those nice nice BRANDED BAGS!! Hehhee...

K, better go now for milking session...

magical,
Where to buy the gripe water? My bb is TBF, can feed so much water to him?

pst, chatty,
I have sharp pain on the aerola and nipple area since early stage aft delivery, esp during hot bathe or whne i see my bb is sucking the milk bottle. I tot the pain is something that stimulate the milk production....

pst: Aiyoh! 500ml lost so heartpain...nevermind lah, at least the rest are still there. PD suggest wiping off before latching baby on. My aunt did mention it too. I think its to ensure that you don't overdoze baby with meds 'cause you don't know how much you've put on your nipples right?

I think you better go to gynae and have your nipples checked if it doesn't get better after 3 days.

Hee! Hee! Next time you can visit me when you visit your parents. Maybe our babies can also be in same playgroup : ).

Sounds like the FTG Mini-fridge model really much better than the lousy Pigeon FTG...cheaper somemore. Hiaz! I really regret buying it man...

Lena: My aunt says that as long as you're using bottles and nipples to feed, should sterilize. Once you change to cups, no need to sterilize. Reason for this is because bottles and nipples are much harder to wash and keep clean, while cups are easy to wash, and not so many inaccessible parts. Most of my friends stop sterilizing after 6 months, so far, their babies are ok.

Loh: Last time I bought gripe water from the chinese herbal shops or provision shops. LC & gynae also told me that sharp pain sometimes due to milk production.

Mesh: No idea leh. Never seen lasinoh bags coz I don't have enough milk to freeze. If you want, I can mail to you a few pieces of the playtex soft disposables and you can try before buying. Otherwise if you don't like it, really waste of money. You just pm me your address.

mesh

the lansinoh has 2 zip lock on the opening.

i have freeze 260ml, so far so good, no breakage, but normally is abt 100-200ml.

Loh,
gripe water can be bought at guardian..
THat pain that you described, sounds like a let down to me.. my letdown is a bit pain too if it happens when am not pumping/latching..

angelie,nining,chatty,
thx for telling me where to get gripe water. magical said hav to mix wif water b4 feed baby, but i am tbf, can my bb drink so much water?

nining,
wat do u mean 'let down'?

pst,
my breast itchy too, but not the nipple or the aerola area. is somewhere near the aerola. hard to sleep when itchy

Loh,
Let down is when your boobies is ready to dispense BM.. if u dont express/latch immediately, usually it will leak out..

hi all, me pumping again..

i am attuned to my Medela Electric Plus and PIS liao. Now I use any 1 of the pump will be able to get the max yield....hehe..
Heng ah! Iniially dun like the feel of Electric Plus but not used to it liao.

i also pumping now. cos i want to "season" my boobs for work in 2 weeks time. i didnt direct just now, and it is since 11 am. i only pump 60 ML...like that how to feed her when i go back to work. and i hv always latch her on and she on TBM..how can i only pump 60 ML?? now i really worried abt gng back to work and the ss like u all say will decrease...wat am i gng to feed her?

inu: ur breasts take time to get used to the pump so keep on pumping but pump according to your office schedule. slowly, ur breasts will be attuned to the pump and your schedule and you will def pump more.

i used to pump 3hrly and will get 6oz. When I started pumping 4hrly interval to adjust to my office schedule, i get only 6oz...after abt 3-4 days, my breasts attuned to my office schedule so now can pump 7-8oz liao using PIS.

then i bought a new Medela Electric Plus and i only get 5-6oz. After using for 2 days, i can get 7-8oz too.

So continue to pump u will def adjust.

Jang,

I want the milk bag too. Can you please confirm with me by smsing me?
I dun log in everyday. Thank you very much..

I dun think I need 4 boxes ler..
Any one want to share with me? 2 boxes each? Can sms me if anyone is interested.

My no. 90292134

Loh: No need to mix gripe water with water, but best not to give full dosage as stated on box. Just give like half the recommended dosage. That's what I was taught, and so far it works.

I had that itchiness too when I first started producing milk. If you're really worried, then better see the doctor. Otherwise, your constant worrying could affect your BM supply, so might as well get some peace of mind.