(2007/08) August 2007 MTBs

Jete, thanks for the info. Cos i saw the 50s cheaper. i was thinking of placing orders for some items from Amazon. but have nt done the spree from Amzon before. But have done Drugstore. So is it the same hav to go thru Vpost? Any mummies?

just to show u all the bag i bought. same as leooh, but mine is in white

1045339.jpg

hi guys, my first day at work today. missed my baby a lot, kept looking at his pictures on my laptop and on my phone. hahaha but I must say it is more tiring to look after baby than to go to work. keep up the great job, mummies! salute all SAHMs!!!

chatty, you know, since you mentioned about the milk thrush thingy, I have been wondering if my baby has it. so when I visited gynae for pap smear last week, I asked her if baby has thrush as he has whitish stuff on his tongue. she didn't even look at him, and replied yes. I went home, surfed the net to read more about thrush and found out that I may have gotten thrush from my baby, on my breasts - as I have the "sharp, shooting pains" that was mentioned as one of the symptoms. So, took baby and we both went to see GP, since website all mention to seek medical help. STUPID GP kept insisting that he "doesn't think I got it from the baby", he looked shocked when I said I think I got it from baby and tried to peep into my mouth. siao one leh! think he doesn't really know what thrush on bf-ing mothers is, he kept asking me if it is engorgement that's why pain. so angry, waste my time and energy to go see him. was hoping itd be the pregnant lady doctor that we saw before previously when bb had mucus. anywayz, my question is this - would it be safe for my baby to drink the frozen ebm that I have been storing up. coz if I really have thrush, then the frozen EBM would have the germs? then if I unfreeze and let him drink next time, he would get infected again? Could you please help me check with your aunt pls?super thanks!!! also, my husband has been wondering, what is the 'bad' thing about thrush? our baby doesn't seem to be affected by it. for me, it's painful lah. but for baby, other than a 'dirty' looking tongue, will it like worsen into a fever or something?

re: fridge-to-go
the website http://www.fridge-to-go.com.sg/ lists all the places that carries their items. But some places does not have the minifridge model (aka the 6 cans model) that we would probably want. The Jelita shop only carries the one for sandwiches etc. The Guthrie House one has a few models though. MIM has the minifridge model.

jang, yes, please include me for a pack of 4 again. will transfer money to you tmr.

am using Gerber bags now, and I like them. no BP for those??? kekeke...

Hiaz, think coz of the thrush thingy, might have to throw away at least 2 weeks worth of milk to play afe... sadness... waiting to hear from chatty and aunt...

leooh,
ya lor....so tough..at the moment me lor...ML till 15th nov but hols coming so can haf longer time to look after her

ok Jang, 1 pack for me. maybe 2 pack... pending reply from my fren. let u know tmr.

just to clarify.... u said less than $10 per box of 25? or for per pac of 100?

choco, I also not sure how to differentiate. so play safe, I brought to GP to see. he see already, say "yes, it's milk thrush". My gynae never even see, also say it's milk thrush. Think its very common. Chatty was the one who first mentioned this. She says the gums will have white white also, which my isaac dun have. but still diagnosed as milk thrush. *shrug*

http://www.babycenter.com/0_thrush-in-babies_92.bc
doesn't sound harmful. but it doesn't feel good to know that baby (or me!) has some fungal infection thingy. if u know what I mean...

Just threw away 500ml (18 ounces) of EBM that I expressed in office today. HEART PAIN.

sunbloom,
poor u.. tink is time u tok 2 ur hubby seriously, don cry, hugs..

woof,
u n hubby veri funi leh, bb cry still can paper, sissors, stone :p

hi cin,
usually after the 7+/8pm feed, i will put bb back to cot n on the musical mobile. He will rest on bed then fall asleep himself. Sometimes, he don even wake up for the 12+/1am feed. Then i will wake him up to feed him so i no need wake up mid nite hehe.. last time he oso day time don 1 2 slp, now if he refuse to slp, i will put him tummy down, he will usually slp better n longer with tummy down.

ng,
wen ur bday? my bday in dec too hee

chatty,
can chk with ur aunt can let bb had those jar food puree/juice for 4mths?

xman,
mayb u can chk with PD c her weight is ok, if PD say ok, then no need to wori abt the amt of her milk intake. Melcolm oso veri small leh, now 3mth+ oni 5.7kg.. but he is drinking quite ok, 120ml to 150ml now

the fenugreek i taking is frm GNC, is oso stated on the bottle say 1-2 capsule per day but the sale assistant told my mil can take up to 6 capsules per day

chatty, nining, garfield,
my bb behaved v weird. hb also said is growth spurt...i scared any how feed him milk later his feeding time bcom v messy. Luckily neighbours have not report to police yet as my boi cries so hard all day long....

woof,

Im in the same situation as u.Me also gg crazy living w MIL..but what to do? In the past I got along v well w my MIL..but after she move in w us after I gave birth I cannot tahan almost every single thing she does..eg.hang clothes at the living room window to dry (damn ugly lor), rearrange the way I store my things in the kitchen,shake my boy vigourously to make him sleep (like that i might as well get yao lan)..then also talk to my son so loud n high pitch as if he's deaf..then plus we diff religion and she very religious so she early in the mrng pray and evening pray..the one I cant tahan is the evening prayer cos she does it in the living room so I have no choice but to listen to it and its like she's chanting for 15mins leh...everyday I sure have things to complain to my hb eventhough it has already been 2 mths.but luckily my hb quite understanding cos he knows what a fussy pot I am..but there were a few times when my hb and I had huge arguments cos of this also lah...in the end I realised that sometimes I dun see what she does better for me...and I also realised I complain and complain to my hb in the end he might get irritated and side his mom cos his mom looks like the victim cos she never complain abt me in the end im the B*#t%h...

Everytime I try to tell my MIL something abt how to take care of Mathias she'll say last time I take care of my children/other grandchildren also like that nothing happen...even if I say that Dr say...

like now..actually I made my son sleep already but she came to the room to "check" what he doing and in the end he woke up and now she's carrying him and say that he dun want to sleep..and she's playing w him!! Goodness me! if he not sleepy would he have slept earlier?

hi all!
wow..so many babies but all so different! i think there's no sure way to help our babies sleep through the night.. mummies whose babies do that on their own, you're so lucky!!

pigpig n ng,
jereth also sometimes can get through 5 or 6 hours but not always.. most times its 4 to 4.5 only..

angeline, jereth is also 3 months today..hee..
he's 6.3kg .. but your son's appetite is really good! maybe he's going thru a growth spurt now? jereth only takes 100-120.. he'll auto push the bottle out when he doesnt want anymore n if we put it back in, he'll suck but will give an angry cry when he realises its not his pacifier n there's still milk.. sometimes he can't even finish all ..

inu,
maybe should try putting her in a different place to sleep? jereth refuses to sleep in his cot during the day.. its as if he knows the bed is only for night! i put him in his vibrating rocker n he can drift off on his own. when he wakes he'll just look around quietly or watch tv when if its on.. but sometimes he scares himself during sleep or nightmares then he'll cry out. or he;ll cry out for attention when he's bored.

hi nining!
glad to have met you juz now!my mum n i love our new bags! very tempted to buy the britt tote too coz seems big enough to bring baby's stuff around! argh..!

loh,
babies go through different phases i think..there was a period of time jereth was very difficult to handle.. cried for no reason n very hard to pacify. coz he's slightly colicky.. so i rubbed ru yi oil on his tummy 2-3 times a day (when i chenge his diaper), and started to feed him gripe water once a day (5ml mized with 25 - 35 ml of water) .. gradually he became better. duno if its coz these two things worked or coz he just grew out of it.. we were also so worried when he started to become like that, n a few times almost brought him to see dr when he seemed inconsolable..but since everyone told us its common for babies to be like that we just decided to monitor n see how. in the end there was no need to see dr at all

an_gal,
I also took GNC fenugreek caps for 2 weeks, I took 3 caps x 3 times a day, total 9 caps,.. only sslight increase.. Took the fenugreek seed drink too, slight increase too.. drinking milk will produce more milk hahahah.. I guess diff ppl react differently to herbs..

hm.. for hubby woes,
perhaps guys are more relaxed than women wrt their babies.. n also since guys dont like to 'complain', they might have had a super bad day at work but unlike women who blah everything out easily, they just keep it inside and therefore seem unhelpful when they get home in the evening.. that's why women are always perceived to be naggy when actually we're not! have a calm talk preferably when both you n him are in a good n relaxed mood.. or try to get someone to take care of baby for a night, go out for dinner and try to ease this topic in..?

sometimes when there's no other good way to start, can try telling him that 'this lady in my forum..blah blah..' n tell him your story as if it happened to another person, that'll help him get a more objective view n he wont feel as if u're accusing him.. then try to understand his point of view when he gives u his comments abt 'this other lady's husband...'
sometimes i use this method.. hee.. works quite well ..

MIL problems,
sometimes i do disagree with some things.. but i just ignore la, as long as baby is not hurt or its not life-threatening.. they must have done something right that made my hubby the person he is now..
but having a supportive hubby is also v impt la.. but sometimes guys really dont know what we want them to do when we complain to them.
so what i do is, if i want him to do something abt it, i;ll start with 'can u try to tell them not to..., because if they do that then.....' give a specific action u want him to accomplish, then give the reason why. guys are info processors, they tune out everything else or get frustrated if it doesnt accomplish anything.

oh jete, missed out your post..
wow paige can sleep thru for so long! i wonder when jereth can do that too..
i hope he can start sleeping at least through 6-7 hours in the next 3 weeks..coz next 3 weeks i'm back at work so mum n MIL are taking turns to take leave.. we only take him home on weekends. hee .. if he learns to sleep through then when we take him back at the end of 3 weeks we can say goodbye to waking up at night liao! *cross fingers n hope*

Pst:

Both my aunt and the PD told me to put the thrush medicine on my breasts and in the babys mouth, as I could get it from baby and vice versa, so must treat all sources. Put it on your breasts twice a day, but wipe off before you BF. Not sure if my aunt knows this because she used to work in Pediatrics ward in hosp before deciding she didnt want to specialize, and open her own GP private practice instead. But most GPs should know this, as oral thrush is pretty common in babies and terminally ill adult patients, because immune system is either not fully developed yet or severely compromised. The medication is Daktarin Oral Gel. Its a non-prescription drug available in any pharmacy, and has been in the market since the 1970s. It comes with a spoon. Just follow instructions to dispense correct amount, but when putting it into babys mouth, I find it easier to use a plastic coffee stirrer, as its smaller. Put it under babys tongue if possible, as baby will then swirl tongue and spread it around his mouth. If you just put it on the tongue, he will swallow it really quickly, and this reduces its effectiveness. Do it for 3 days, four times a day. Usually, youll see the thrush start to disappear within the first day.

No one really knows whether oral thrush is uncomfortable for the baby, but if it spreads too far, it could go into the intestines, and baby could fall very very ill. Hence, you must arrest it at this stage.

This is what my aunt just smsed me:

Oral thrush is infectious and common in babies below a year old. Watch babys stools for diahhorea. Apply daktarin gel before next feed.

No need to discard milk. When milk is frozen, thrush dies. Feed it as soon as its warmed up, so that bacteria has no chance to grow.

Wash pumps thoroughly. For pump parts that cant be reached, soak in detergent for longer period of time You can also find more info at www.abas.org.sg

As for sharp pain in breast, I also had it last month and this month. I was quite worried something was wrong at first, but after some discussion with my aunt, concluded that it was probably pre-menstrual symptomsIf its oral thrush, I think you can usually can see something on your aerola and nipples, like redness. Best to check with your gynae for this.

Woof: Luckily shes not living with youif its the hygiene issue, Id either (1) pick up after her, eg. Throw dirty diaper into bin, or (2) Explain nicely to her or your hubby why you want things done in a certain way.

One thing I discovered with my own mum is that shes generally a very clean person. In fact, her house is much cleaner than mine. However, as she grows older, her memory is also deteriorating a little, and sometimes she forgets to throw away the soiled diaper as well. This is not due to lack of hygiene or knowledge, just age and forgetfulness. Im just wondering if that might be the case with your MIL as well?

The other thing that my mum told me years ago is to be really careful about what I say about my hubbys relatives in front of him, cause even if a husband complains non-stop about his relatives, he usually becomes very defensive when others, including his wife, complains about themIve found this to be very trueso your hubbys reaction doesnt surprise me, cause mine would probably react in the same way, out of anger and frustration and helplessness, cause he cant ctrl mum, and doesn't want you to be unhappy, so ask her to leave lor...this way can minimise conflict.

I think its important to explain to your hubby nicely why you want things done in a certain way, and ask him for his opinion on how to communicate this to his mum. Tell him that you do appreciate his mums help, but want to find a way that works for both you and her, so that baby can get the best possible care

Men like to be asked for advice, but they can't stand complaints or whining or crying. When they encounter the latter, they usually take the easiest way out...

That's just my opinion based on my observations lor...

An_gal: Ill check with her on Friday when I see her. Now too late to ask her. What shes told me many times is to give food other than milk only at 6 months when digestive system is ready to accept it. Also, she does not believe in the jars of food sold in the shops, as they contain preservatives. She told me on Friday to buy organic food for baby and cook it myself. Best food to start with are those least likely to cause allergies such as rice (as opposed to wheat or other grains), apples, pears (avoid oranges for the moment), carrots, peascant remember the rest.

chatty
ok, i'll email you the info. should we wait and see if i can collect the gel from ocean? i'm going to see if my sis can collect from her at raffles pl, if not i think i'll ask her to mail it to me.

chattypheyling

pumping har? me too....nowadays i slept at 11 to 2 am..so lazy ..i last time will wait till 12 am then pump and go sleep. cannot tahan these days...once 11..i will want to sleep liao..aiyoo..then i realised when i pump at 4 hrs interval and i pump 6 hrs interval, the yield is the same?? why har?

hee i like my bag too...but now thinking that it is too big..not sure what i will use it for le..

hearing all ur woes on MIL, now i am quite glad that MIL rejected to look after my bb...so my mum will be helping me instead when i go back to work in 2 weeks time. cos i can imagine i got alot of complains to do to my hub tooo..

mel
the Fenugreek Seeds in Sheng Shiong, does it come pre-packed? as in commerically packed already like sugar. :D

not sure but dont think so on the hydrotherapy thingy at Punggol plaza. i got their brochure stuffed under our door a couple of weeks ago and hubby thought the brochure was very badly done. didn't give us confident on how the place is operated. if i go over to plaza, i may pop by to see what it's like. in the pix, the tub they were using were lined with plastic bags, easy to clean for them, but i dont feel very safe about it. must see first then decide i think.

pst

for the fridge to go..if u want the 6 cans..i saw it at the Diy shop at vivo city. it is opp giant. the DIY shop carry alot of fridge to go modes. can u go there n hv a look. i was told that pl is a showroom for fridge to go

jete

i was reading the link that u posted for the mini fridge. it can only hv cooling for 4 hrs...not the one that can last ten over hrs?

xman
the fenugreek i bought was also from nature's farm. the lady told me can take up to 6 a day. but she said it's most useful if you have nothing vs if you're trying to improve.

inu
i'm being good, just borrowing a bib from paige for the drool and not asking nining to order anything!!

at least i'm trying.............

the bag is very stylish in both colors. i like how it's roomy, can put a lot of things. i have too much junk to carry all the time.

mel
my dad does that. he'll go talk to the the baby when she's asleep, which will wake her up, then he'll carry her out of the cot and said baby woke up by herself so now can play with her already. later on i'll have to deal with a cranky and fussy baby cos she didn't get enough sleep. *argh*

magical
she started doing 5-6 hour stretch quite early on and then suddenly she was sleeping through completely. hubby thinks it also has to do with diaper. we changed from pampers to fitti ard that time. with pampers she'll wake up when she has a heavy pee or when the diaper is full to the point that she cannot stand it any more, so by 5-6 hours, it's the limit of the diaper she can tahan. in the day she wont even tahan 1 pee, pee already must change. with fitti in the day she'll cry a bit when she pees, but if i can calm her down, she'll accept the "wet" diaper. so hubby thinks fitti absorb the pee faster. at night once she's deep into her sleep, she don't feel the wet diaper any more. morning the fitti is super heavy.

An gal, my bday is on the 19th. Urs leh?

Magical, my boi is also 6.3kg but that was when he's only 6wks plus! now i duno how much he weigh but v v siong to carry him!

Haiz up pumping coz Nic is up for feed.
Last feed only 11+ leh......hoping he can be more consistent with sleeping thru.

Abit stressed these few days. Starting work on Mon, elder gal starting her childcare this Thu, i need to do my hair/get new clothes but no time. made appt with salon tdy 3-4pm. initially hb says ok but then say he might be bk later......haiz. no use getting upset coz it's work.

MIL/Mum:
Sometimes i wished my MIL is the person taking care of bb coz she's a super clean freak n i like it! sad to say i'm not too pleased with my mum's hygiene. bottles not cleaned properly n always misplacing things. she is 60 liao so quite forgetful. wat to do? juz keep quiet loh, if i'm there, i'll help to clean up. i v pek chek coz i see little ants around even in Nic's playpan!
n my gal walks around the house with food in her hand. haiz........how to stop her, it's gd dat she's learning self feeding at this stage. but if she at my house, i will follow her around with a wet hanky to clean her loh.

Magical,
glad u both like the bags
I personally prefer the princyy boston compared to the bauletto..

Jete,
yep , it was the princy boston bag..

I have sharp pain too last night, but I think its cos I didnt latch the whole day...

Jete,
ur dad is cute hahaha.. my dad and my mom when my sis' boy was born, they argued with each other, who should carry the baby more , even in hospital hahaha

pst: Just a cautionary note, if you're getting Daktarin for your baby, make sure you get the Oral Gel and NOT the Cream. Both are for fungal infections, but only the Oral Gel can be eaten. The Cream is poisonous and meant to be applied to skin only.

Jete: Thanks. If yr sis really cannot collect gel from Ocean, then Ill ask if my friend who works in Raffles Place vicinity can collect for us or not. You let me know by smsing me ok?

How I wish there was a machine that I can put baby into, that will change diaper for him at a touch of a button : )

If you want super roomy bag, get the LV Neverfull bagcan put tons and tons of stuff, really unbelievablejust saw it yesterday when I went to officenow really salivating. No wonder its sold out in the shops.

Inu: Yup! I was pumping last night, now pumping and on-line againI also noticed that regardless of whether I pump two hourly or three hourly, daily yield also the same, plus minus 1 ounce. Dont know why leh

My friend of the many designer bags fame, just purchased the LV Never Full Bag, largest size. Its gigantic with super thin shoulder straps, yet supposed to be able to carry 120kg ?!? But very nicesigh! Wish I could buy one too as not that expensive at $1050, but now every luxury cent goes to baby, not me

Chatty/Jete,
can I tumpang you to collect from ocean or jete? Then later can collect from Chatty kekeke..

S@L.

i'm shipping via Vpost. don't think they ship direct. Like what Jete mentioned, the one i'm getting is the 4 boxes (25 pieces) in a pack.
the 50 in a box that u mentioned, do not have free local shipping.