(2007/08) August 2007 MTBs

can some kind souls pls recommend what type of sarongs to buy? manual or automated? any recommendation? i am going to kiddy palace tonite to buy one. i am desperate liao.

Sunbloom, so sad to have a hb who doesn't contribute. But i think it's more on commmunication. I'm sure ur hb loves u and bb. For my hb, he doesn't take things the hard way, must go via soft approach. Haha sometimes, i still buay tahan n turn the house upside down. He's ALOT better liao. think every couple has our ups and downs. Juz hv to find a balance, try ok? otherwise, u alone managing everything in the house v siong. later got alot of resentment no good.

Banquez, my gal also flat headed on the left n it's permanent. no matter how i rub last time also no use. PD says it'll be permanent after 1yrs. now can still do remedy. but i forgot to ask how. :p Girls still ok but boys will be ugly coz they got to shave botak next time when go army.

Choco, yes me taking similar vitamins as Jang. Gd to take to have quality BM. so i dun feel so guilty when i take junk food. kekekee

Woof! woahahaa scissors, paper, stone! dat's our game too.

I was worried dat Nic can't adapt when i bulk over at mum's place for 4days. he was well behaved. So well dat my sis commented he v kuai, rarely heard his cries. anyone talk or call him, he will smile big big and kick his legs vigorously! my mum v happy dat he "round round", not the least concerned abt him being overweight!

baby playing(i mean,just looking and looking)on play gym now,her eyes light up with wonder,wants to see all the colours at once.so amazing!

cin

i prefer not to use sarong,but i think if u want to get one,get an electric one that can do the yao-ing for u.otherwise u'll have to yao all night,no kidding.when i was young my parents had to use their legs to yao us cos once they stop we wake up.thats why i rather go thru the (initial) frustration of sleep training.but i can totally understand how frustrated u must be when baby don't sleep!i went thru for the last 3 weeks.this week she finally got better and can sleep well again.even starting to sleep independantly!so my hard work paid off...though initially it was tough..

my advise is to first check whether he's uncomfortable,eg reflux(then they can only sleep when they're in upright position),or any kind of infection.

good luck!

sunbloom

hugs...was ur hubby a mummy's boy and everything the mum do but dad doesn't help?if so then its just habit i think.but if not really must have serious talk.take care of yourself ok!get ur mum or someone to look after the boys sometime ang get a breather,if not will break down one..

Hi sunbloom,

Calm down. I had prob with my hubby 2 days back also. After venting it out here, I was much better.

I think most guys are quite reluctant in doing baby work and house chores. Though some mummies here are very lucky to have hubby who is willing to take care of baby.

Calm down k.

Re: #2
Hubby also wants a 2nd one asap! haha.. but I am not agreeable to that lar.. told him at least 2 yrs interval. I want to have an ox baby though, coz i am ox myself

This morning got high fever 39.5C due to block ducts and also sore throat. Luckily now fever went down to 37.6C.

Going out to bugis later. Want to relax and might go for some pedicure. Now always think of baby's needs, thus not so willing to spend.

Nining,
Your frens only do parallel importing for Gucci? How about other brands like coach? I like coach lots. Saw in website, US sold it much cheaper than here. Esp like the baby bag hehehe..

Got a baby whisperer book already last Saturday. Last Sat I was enjoying my er ren shi jie with hubby
it feels good to go out like when pak tor-ing :p

As for S things, so it is the dryness that make us feel painful is it? Yup hubby used lots of gel!! hahaha.. really a lot lor...

My gynae mentioned that if i dun have my menses in this 6 weeks time, I have to go check up again ler.. As I am BF, how am I supposed to know when my menses will come rite. Dun think I would want to go ler.. so exp. scan $40, consultation $50... so expensive!!
Think he just wants to make sure I am not pregnant again hahahaha...

For BF mummies, did your gynae ask you to come back if within 6 weeks (after the 6th week review)? I dunno what to expect ler..

hi leoh

i am now thinking twice. just spoken to a frd n she advised me not to buy. she said later if i were to go out or holiday with baby, he will not be able to sleep without his sarong. you know some babies when they go out, they r unable to sleep in their prams? hers is one of them. i am still thinking abt it,

cin: u can let ur bb sleep in the sarong during day time but at nite, let bb sleep in the cot. that is what i do for my bb. i realised if my bb rests well in the day, he will sleep will at nite too.

cin

i encourage u to find other ways...use pacifier first?sometimes they just need soothing,and sucking is their way of self-soothing...

cola

enjoy the pedicure!must still look pretty leh..haha i like er ren shi jie pak tor too..hopefully can pak tor on thur when hubby claim off;-)

Ng

ya me and hubby quite tian mi mi one..same same,i also told him even when we are old must still make effort to hug and hold hands.cannotn one walk in front and another one walk behind.

so u sponging ur hubby for the bag yet?;-)

hi garfield

will the baby have sleeping confusion? will he be able to sleep in the cot at night?is yours automated one?

last qn, how abt bringing baby out, eg to your mum's or mil's hse, will your baby sleep w/o the sarong?

pillow

dreamfeed is a feed u give when the baby is sleeping,meaning u don't wake the baby up,just wriggle the teat into his mouth and let him drink while sleeping.

eg.8pm,put baby to bed.then 11pm give him a dreamfeed,so that it'll last the baby until the next morning,usually ard 4 or 5am.

woof, thanks. I ok now. Much get off my chest. Release already - feel better.

Cin, dunno if it works for your baby. It works for mine but not my nephew. I pat baby till he calms down. Then i put him down with me beside (so he can smell tt i am still around) only when he drop off to deep sleep then i leave him alone. I also give him the bean pillow to cover his chest. For my nephew, they use the car seat rocker and rock him to sleep. Your baby not used to be alone without mummy. So must train him little by little
my goodness, so small got uti. Poor thing. Must pull the foreskin back? I didn't know. so how to wash?

Ya, i tell myself, my reward is my boys well-being. Physical, mental, emotional and spiritual.

Leeooh, Adelynn, my hubby cannot talk to. cos he rather stubbon and set in his ways. Peranakan family. DIL got no place in family. He still living in stone age. Caveman. I tried to talk to him so many times. Always end up him being defensive and telling me tt i over-fuss the baby. Shld put baby now and when baby eat well, sleep well - juz ignore him when he cries.. Result? All i take care lor.

Reflux. My son finally got over reflux. Haven't throw up in 1 week liao. I think over aleady. I feed him half-way, burp him then continue. i bf him with head slightly prop up.

Thanks alot for all the advise. How have all of u been? Hubby is out of town and mum is here to keep me company. My boy miss daddy alot. he looked sad when dad called and spoke to him. couldn't help but tear.

Nining:

Sonya just sms me to say that you're going to bring wallet to my hse tomorrow. So looks like we're finally going to meet : ). Do I get to meet Ike too?

You are looking at getting a 2nd fridge right? I just collected mine and I asked the seller whether if I bought a 2nd one, he could sell me 2 for $50, and he said ok. Hence, if I were to purchase 2nd fridge, I just need to pay him $20, as I've already paid him $30. You want? If so, we can combine and save $5 each...

hello Chatty,
yep the wallet is at hubby's office now, meita is prescribed to rest.. Where do u live? I dont drive so its possible to meet up in a mall or MRT st? I can bring Ike only if before 4pm kekeke.. after that he gotta be at home, rest , waiting for daddy..
Okie for the 2nd fridge.. I will pass u the $$ tomorrow too.. $25 right?

tulip
i bought my fridge to go at taka. fridge to go has their showroom in toa payoh, you can go there to look and buy. if not many places carry their products. you can go to their website for a list.

Banquez suez,
pls note that you have to watch your baby closely every minute if u let her sleep on her tummy before she can roll herself, lotsa SID happened when baby sleep on tummy

magical,
ur bags oso at hubby's office now.. tonight hubby said will rreach home circa 7pm, so if u gonna come my house, can come ard 8pm?

chatty
you can see my increase is very slow. every week is like less than an oz increase overall. i have also ran out of idea on how to increase, every week just pump and pump and hope for a bit more. quite sian some times.

yeah, hubby also very keen. i'm not so keen. takes 4 pgy to get one baby, every day i miss the baby girl that we lost, very emotionally draining. this pgy was difficult for me, i had very bad m/s and got through with zofran and phenegren. then had the Down/Trisomy 21 scare (1:5 chance of downs), had to do the CVS to find out, then the GD, and finally the long labor ending in C. quite scare to think of going through everything again, and so soon.

hmm.... when i was checking out the PIS in mums and babes, the price was lower than that. was in the low $600. maybe no promotion is better? since we get FBI discount. i think the normal price with 10% FBI discount is a better deal than the promo price.

not sure about the isetan card. my fren told me about it, i dont have one. she said she got 10% on the duo. she actually bought the PIS but changed her mind and went back to exchange it for the duo.

sunbloom,
sorry for the sofa aka hubby.. sometimes men really get to our nerves ya with the bo chap ness..

magical
paige is sleeping through the night, started to do that around 7w. she fall asleep from 11pm-1am and wakes up 9-11 hrs later.

Angeline Poh: Try increasing daytime feeds by 10 ml each, and see whether he sleeps longer at night.

Make sure that you dont stimulate baby at night before bedtime by playing or talking to him.

Garfield: The Mums & Babes lady told me that tubing cannot get wet or else engine will get wet and spoil. Ive had this problem, esp when I dont attach tube properly. I try to shake milk out of tubing, but I dont run water through coz it wont dry otherwise. I also realized that the milk usually would not run all the way to the other end of tube into engine if left alone. However, its not hygienic to have left over milk in the tube either as bacteria can grow and get into new milk in bottle. Hence, Ive just bought a new tubevery expensive at $15.

Angeline: My aunt (the one whos a doctor) told me not to give rice cereal to baby until 6 months of age. A lot of people like to add cereal into milk so that baby sleeps through the night, but medical professionals strongly discourage this practice as it stresses the babys intestines and other organs, which arent ready to handle solids.

Sunbloom: Sorry to hear that youre having such a hard time with the sofa. I think its really brave of you to be able to cope on your own for so long. Just wondering if theres something going on with your hubby, eg. Stress over finances etc. thats making him behave this wayI notice that my hubby tends to nag a lot when hes stressed over money matterswhat would happen if you sat down and really had a good talk with him when both of you are feeling calm, and not distracted by ILs or the kids? Just hang in there okay? Its good to ventilate

Choco: Supplements are not necessary, but research has shown that its good for you and baby, esp. calcium for your bones and DHA / EPA for preventing PND, rheumatic arthritis etc, and promoting babys brain development.

Cin: I was told during pre-natal class, and have read about the disadvantages of using Sarong: (1) Dont shake too hard or you risk giving baby Shaken Baby Syndrome which could be fatal. (2) When baby can turn, he can fall out of Sarong and hurt himself. These are the reasons why I decided not to use the Sarong, though a friend was going to give me his, stand and all. If youre really going to use Sarong, then make sure that youre watching baby while he sleeps in it, just for safetys sake. I think there are people giving away Sarong stand on the WTG board

Thank goodness your baby boy is fine now.

Sunbloom: The TMC childcare books and prenatal class said not to pull back foreskin on baby boys penises, as its still attached. Babys penis is not like adults penis, if you pull foreskin back, youre actually hurting him.

Clean boys from front to back without pulling back the foreskin of the penis as this can damage the delicate tissue there. The foreskin will retract on its own over the next few years. Thomson Medical Centre

You can only do it when hes much older in a few years. To prevent UTI, when cleaning him, just make sure that no fecal matter touches the tip of his penis.

My baby also like yours quiet when car is moving, screams when car stops.

Rc cola, i went back to gynae twice after giving birth. once is to chk the wound healing n ultra sound to see the womb is clean. 2nd time is pap smear. if u having menses, can't do pap smear. U can call n chk wat's the visit on. if pap smear, can do at normal GP if u want to cut costs.

chatty, so gd to hv a GP auntie leh. good for us too. hahah we can learn from ur free consultation.

Leooh, i joking only lah. never charge to hb's a/c before though he gave me a sub card. duno if i stupid or wat, feel v sim tia when he spends on me, maybe coz he quite thrifty, never slurges on himself leh. more at ease if it's my own money. maybe i can hint hint? kekek christmas coming. my b'day in Dec oso. 2occasions to 1gucci? woahahaha

Hi Nining: I live in Upp Bt Timah, opposite Beauty Rd, off Chun Tin Rd. Where do you live? I smsed Sonya my address already, if you pm me, I can give it to you. I dont mind meeting at an MRT stn, just that I cant leave the house tomorrow coz my mum is going to tutor my cousin for his O Levels and my hubby doesnt like me to bring baby out in a cab cause theres no car seat. Do you live near Novena? Ill be bringing baby to PD at United Square for his Pneumococal jab tonight.

As for mini-fridge, let me arrange with the guy and see how. Maybe I can ask him to deliver directly to you, as he lives in Yishuncan pm me your address? If cannot deliver directly to you, then maybe you hold on to wallet until I get it, then I can pass you mini-fridge at the same time?

hello chatty,
arrangement along with the mini fridge is fine, I can't go out after 6pm, baby fusses when not seeing mommy at that hr, it's his latch time..

I live on Boon Lay drive, pls sms me at 92392726 so I can have ur HP#..If the fridge guy can deliver, then you can trasnfer me or meita or sonya the $$ and I can arrange for courier to u.. how bout that?

Nining: The guy just smsed me. His stock of mini-fridges will be coming in over the next 2 days. Guess he must be running a bz...see if he can deliver directly to you.

I can't wait to see wallet : )...

chatty
very true about what the book says. i notice with paige around 8pm she starts cluster feeding herself. every 1-1/2hr she wants to eat. hubby and i joke that she's a bear, preparing for winter.
during the day her feeding is also very frequent. the first feed in the morning is a lot too, quite scary at times, she has drank 6-7oz before within a short time.

Nining: So you live near my workplace! Let's see how. My hubby works in Pioneer Road, maybe he can pick up wallet and pass you fridge on the way home one of these days, or if I have time, I will meet you at Boon Lay MRT during the day...in fact I was just there this pm as I had to return to office for phototaking session...

inu
dont know leh, my ob said 6 months can but best to wait 1 year. i think after seeing our history and age, she said 6 months ok. :p

Ng: No problem. If you have questions I can ask my aunt. I see her every week 'coz up till Dec, she's helping to babysit on Friday afternoons...

Jete: Maybe its developmental : )

Mummies, thanks for all your hugs and concerns. Nice to "hear" some warm voices once in a while. I'm not really upset - juz disappointed & a little sad. B4 married, he used to heart-pain when he see me work so hard. even clean my room for me.

I take it in stride cos my 2 boys are v healthy and developing well. Life cannot be all perfect. Lose some win some

Chatty,
that's great!! U teach at NTU? I also work in the area, but industrial area kekeke

Hubby has prob in not talking to Ike during feeding!! He will ask, u wanna eat? u wanna play, even at 3am!! no wonder the boy can;t learn to sleep through..

sunbloom
*hugs* i think some times men just have no idea how hard or tiring it is to take care of our baby. i am one for leaving the baby at home alone with the hubby and just let him find out exactly what it takes. that day i told hubby baby wasn't bathe properly, he said then i take over next time, so i told him ok, he takes over pumping and bf-ing then.

choco
i'm still taking the same prenatal vits i was taking but not taking the extra dose of calcium any more.

Today on MC. Doc say my pressure low and ask me to take more healthy food. No wonder I felt giddy this morning! Sign... quite bad, jus resume work for a week and on MC..
Btw, so many posting to read till i lost liao. Think my memory is bad, maybe i shld buy those DHA to eat again!

Ytanhn / Chatty/Nining/Mesh/ Jete
For collection of the gel, i also forgot how many we order
and so jus browse thur the archive to see the records. Hehhee..

<font color="0000ff">Total 11 tubes
1) Ytanhn - 2
2) Ocean - 5
3) Chatty - 1
4) Nining - 1
5) Mesh - 1
6) Jete - 1</font>

I will collect all 11 tomorrow. As <font color="ff0000">for collection, i can meet u gals at any MRT statn in the evening from Raffles to Woodlands MRT.</font> If for postage, i think is S$0.80 per tube base on wat the BP stated. Let me know how u wanna collect it.

Jang,

For the milk bags, if there is no collection at CityHall, can go by postages? Let me noe how much to pay u for the 2 boxes of 25. If u hv post the amt b4, pls let me noe again cos i think i had missed it... pai sei...
However, if choco wana have a box, am ok to spare 1 to her cos mine was from ur "extra" too. Hehhee...

Nining: Yes. I teach in NIE, which is part of NTU. Which industrial area do you work in? Tuas? I only return to work in 2 weeks time, now clearing leave.