(2007/08) August 2007 MTBs

garfield
wow!

i like what nining said "that's a helluva stock of EBM!!!! the whole village can be well fed with that"

think you can toss out the food stuff in the freezer and just feed the family with ebm. heehee

WTG!!

jete: good work for u! your supply did increase significantly! as long as ur supply can meet ur bb's demand, then can liao. dun try to stress urself. i used to stress myself even though i can meet my bb's demand. stressed myself cos i wanted extra bm so that i can feed my elder gal and to store as back up. but now, i feel tat as long as i can meet my bb's demand can liao. so hopefully, i can bf for at least 6mths.

Inu: 12 weeks is just a guideline. Some babies develop faster than others. For most babies walk by 1.5 years, but some start walking at 10 months. So no need to worry. Faster better than none at all.

Jete,
ur ss increase is similar to mine , my 1st week supply was very sad, was only 100ml / day -10-20ml per pump session of 1 hr!! now I have 125ml x 8 / day..

chatty
very interesting for hubby to talk about organizing a wedding, since you guys just got married then. i have a pri sch fren who was interviewing with lehmann, he was flown to different countries. every senior consultant have to approve his hiring. very cool. we'll see how his interview goes tomorrow. get offer than can consider accept or not. no offer then nothing to consider. :p

i too haven't talked to hubby about the processor. will talk to him after his interview.

chatty,
BNP is 'buy now price' which should be the price u should be paying. How come she charge u more?

Garfield,
I read that you transfer the EBM in the fridge after 4 days if not consumed. I thought if wanna freeze must do it within 24hrs aft expressing? Can still freeze after so many days?

chatty
we're doing the JIT (just in time).

woof
i've never seen the discovery circle before, so cant answer your qn.

i do have the baby bjorn and baby likes it, so does hubby. when we go out, hubby will usually bjorn than pram, just easier to get around. baby also likes to look around when she's awake.

Nining: Sigh! I also need to be handcuffed. I've just BPed 2 brightpurse organisers as Christmas gifts...

Jete:

I thought it would be cheaper to fly snr consultants over here : ) But so fun to be able to go.

Pharma is generally a good industry to be in, as its relatively stable. So hopefully, your hubby gets an offer.

Talked to hubby about processor. He wants to see it first before deciding. Sigh! Don't know how that can be arranged.

S@L: Guess I didn't bargain enough. I should have offered $25, so regret a bit...

Woof: Not sure how different Discovery Circle is from all the other Playgyms in the market. Generally, the more textures, colours, sounds etc there are, the more stimulating it will be for the baby, and the more likely it would be to hold his interest for a longer period of time. I was given 3 playgyms for baby's first month, and they're all different, yet more or less the same.

woof,

i like the bjorn compared to slings. more straight forward,just put him in and we are ready to go. but 1-2 hours in the bjorn kill my back and shoulders. Its ok for short trips

Collection of milkbags:

if i arrange to collect at Cityhall, everyone ok? Jete mentioned that she can help to collect if anyone stays near her place, Punggol/Tampines.

pst,
4 boxes for u, ok? i'm staying at Redhill. convenient for u? if not, i'll post it to u. can only let u know later when i go and weigh the items.

Any mummies can confirm if my info is correct regarding trasnferring of EBM from fridge to freezer? Reading on some sources now and seem to have diff opinions. I am due in 2weeks hope to get the facts right...cos when i had my 1st born 4yrs ago, was in total blur..now also...

S@L
For me, I express then I see in fridge, if got stock for the next 4 meals, then I freeze. So there's no transfer between fridge to freezer.

hello all!
wish i had more time to come in and kaypo..!
now jereth is starting to smile n smile.. he's got a weird sense of humour loh.. that day he kept laughing when i said 'chicken!' .. coz was telling him what i had for dinner.. but after the tenth time i shrieked 'chicken!' at him, he gave me a 'when r u gonna stop' face..

talking abt hubbies, i should be thankful then coz my hubby willingly wakes up to feed jereth at night although he works 7 days a week .. am i bullying him? hee..

nining,
i emailed u abt the gucci tote, hope can reserve !

chatty,
part time at uni really pays so well? .. i was calculating how much i'd make if i charged 70 an hr for home tuition and realised if i spent 8 hrs 5 days a week, would be earning 11k a month! what are we doing in schools??!!?!

garfield! wow that;s really alot!!
do u suffer from bad engorgement?
i cut down to pumping 4 times a day now.. didnt want to freeze initially coz my friend's daughter rejected frozen milk..so tried to maintain a 3 day excess supply in the chiller compartment all along.. but ended up reducing ss coz i stopped pumping before emptying it since i didnt want too much excess..sigh... now hope to increase it again n just freeze.. but afriad that if ss increase will bad engorgement..! then very painful to carry baby eh..

garfield
looks like increase quite a bit, but over so many weeks. quite sian some time, just want to stop. can only take one day at a time, one pump at a time.

tks cola n chattypheyling.
so not irreversible...i was v worried dat it wld be...u right...i wasn't regular n consistent at all...partly not motivated cos ss low...n guess wat i've never felt engorgement one...so u can imagine my ss! just sad dat i wasn't blessed wif gd ss like tis...at least can save $$$! kekekeke!

Jang: Same here. James has really long lashes, and we're waiting for his double eyelids to appear. Right now, we see it only sometimes. Both hubby and I have double eyelids, in fact no one in either of our families have single eyelids, so it'll be weird if James is the odd one out... : )

nining
now can get about 100ml per pump but i usually only get in 5-6 pumps a day cos i need my sleep at night. :p

magical,
replied to u

settes,
my ss is also up and down, no need to worry, it's demand and supply rule, so if you pump/ latch less it will reduce.. also when u're stress..

magical: Actually, the teaching service pays much better than the universities, unless you're the equivalent of a superscaler. The regular teacher gets a higher income than a mere university lecturer. Its just that we can do external consultancy work, some of which is organised by the university, like special training etc, then we can charge $150 or more per hour. Some of the Assoc Professors charge double this hourly rate for consultancy and training. As for Part-time work, unless you can get so many classes to teach simultaneously, you're unlikely to earn all that much.

Settes, Except for the first day that my milk came in, I've never experienced engorgement, blocked ducts etc...my ss just not high enough, and now I try to pump 2 or 3 hourly, also not that much milk.

Jete: Yup! JIT. But at least you still have enough to freeze. I only meet 50% of baby's needs, so can forget about freezing.

Wonder if we can arrange to view the processor?

S@L
i do the same as nining. if i have enough feed in the fridge then i'll freeze what i pump for the next 1-2 pump. i do not transfer from fridge to freezer.

jang
if i cannot make it to meet at the time you're meeting in city hall then i'll arrange with you to collect from your home (redhill?)

chatty
paige is drinking more than i am able to pump, so by right i dont have extra to freeze. when we're out, i just feed her formula, so that's why the extra comes from.

chatty
JIT mah, so if i continue to pump, i can sort of keep up with her.
no lah, we did night feed fm and going out fm for a long time, if i feed her fm at night, she was able to last longer in between feeding. eventually i have some extra ebm. might as well freeze and keep for rainy day when i'm not able to get to my pump.

recently she started having problems pooping with fm and also sleeping through the night, i've been trying to give her all ebm, then less or nothing to freeze.

i actually asked hubby, i pump she drink? how come we have extra ebm to freeze? i cant work out the math! haahaa

leooh, woof, hahaha my hubby always say we're ready for war since we stock so much milk kekeke.

cola, woof, jete, we haven't resume the s-thing yet. my gynae says will be painful coz we're breastfeeding, so down there more dry... call us to use gel...

woof, my hubby also want next year! he wants a rat baby coz he and his dad are rats too hahaha. but I also dun want too soon. so am thinking of trying for a late Rat, early 2009 baby... told my hubby to go check and see when is CNY in 2009 kekeke...

jete, yeah! that time one mummy (can't recall who) also mentioned that some babies might reject frozen EBM, then I quickly defrost one and let Isaac try - luckily he takes it leh. Well, me gg back to work tomorrow *SIANZ* so he'd start to drink the beginning of the frozen stock from tomorrow. but think I wun freeze tonight's EBM, standby for tmr just in case he dun drink the frozen ones.

garfield! think u win hands down for EBM stock! were u the one who uses scotch tape to tape the avent milkbags. dun mind, can tell us the method u use again?

jang, 4 boxes ok thanks! by post good. thanks for taking the trouble to accommodate me!

hey mummies, you know, I have a friend who actually also built up a whole freezerful of frozen EBM, then she decided she wanted her daughter to only drink fresh EBM, so in the end, she threw all her frozen EBM away!!! wah!!! I hear her story also I heart pain!!!

Jete

I also can't work out your math...

I pump when he has his feed, so in a day, I pump at least as many times as he feeds or more. I keep whatever I pump for next day to feed. Usually first 3 feeds of the day consist of EBM. Then FM rest of the day. Works well for him as it coincides with his nap and bed times.

As for pooping frequency, I also notice the same pattern for my baby over the past week. He didn't poo for 2.5 days, then suddenly pooed a lot yesterday, when his daddy was looking after him alone. This was after he had 4 meals of EBM instead of the usual 2 or 3. Also, I realise that when he hasn't pooed for a day or two, he would tend to be drowsy throughout the day. After pooing, he would become more alert. Do you have that experience?

pst: Your hubby is like my hubby, also wants another baby next year, coz we're not getting any younger... But I'm really hesitant 'cause I still have to study, work and be a mummy to one...plus up to now haven't recovered physically from birth yet, how to think of having no. 2?

Hi Jete

Thanks so much for offering to collect from Jang. If i can't self-collect from Jang, can i ton-pang you? I am also staying at Punggol.

haiz, just read your ladies info about avent pump no discount, I went to robinson raffals city branch after lunch, the sales man told me no discount for avent electrical pump, and worst thing is even I want to buy at orignal price they have no stock. checked with kiddy palace and mother care all no stock, at last called robinson center point branch, lucky they have, will go there tomorrow to buy as have to go back work on next wed.
Jete,
your ss increased slowly,that's great, my daily yield is at 300ml in my first month( I pump 8 to 10 times per day), then after that baby accept my nipple so no more pump as my medela mini really give me painful nipple and low yield..baby has to be given FM everyday taht's why I know my ss still very low, hope by invest in the AVENT ISIS DUO can give me mroe ss..
Jang/woof,
I read the book that mentioned only 10% baby have double eyelid when birth, but by primary schook it's 30%, then by uni it's 50%, that means a lot ppl only have double eyelid after some time..my gal another eyelid sometimes became double too when she open her eye not so wide at night, so those baby who have hided double eyelid still have high chance change to double eyelid later.

talk about S thing, we totally forgot it since I pregnant..only resume recently and only did once as take care baby really so tired and no mood..
Re:#2
for those mum who had C section on baby #1, is your gynae pro VBAC?My gynae not pro VBAC at all, kept persuade me to go elective C for next baby, but I want to try nature birth.she told me can try baby #2 after 6 months, but I feel it's so short, heard from my friend if want to try VBAC must wait for at least 2 years. Anyone has more experience to share with me?thanks.