(2007/08) August 2007 MTBs

woof

i'm no expert but it helps when enci has reflux,that we drag the feed a bit from 3 to 3.5 hours,cos they'll be even more uncomfortable if we feed them when the milk has not been digested.also,try to put ur baby in upright position,elevate the mattress to 30 degrees.

but if its severe reflux(vomit many times a day,etc) must go see PD liao,they'll give medicine then..mine doesn't get reflux very often.when she fusses more than usual and also has milk curd stuff in her mouth,and if she's taking a lot lesser than before(cannot finish her usual 120ml)its usually reflux.

but don't worry too much,most baby will have it sometimes or another cos their digestive system have not matured yet.

Woof, yah me staying at Sembawang, near the wet market there.

SAL, i only know john little and the supermarket here sells leh. i think it's Jete who mentioned else where selling.

Angeline Poh
i've tried the angel wipes and find it ok. like that that it is soft and no smell but it is thinner than pigeon. hubby is not crazy about it cos the pulling out is not very smooth, some times a few come out when it's stuck and then you got to stick your hand inside to pull out the top piece again. when we have a big mess to clean up, it's annoying.

an_gal
no 10% any more on the bumbo seat at kiddy palace since it's on sale. but some places like isetan, usually card member still get the card discount even on sale items.

cin
no more, used to. parents sold the place. any way i got married and have my own place now at Punggol.

jang
thanks. i'll let my friend knows. S$95 is after the 13% discount right?

i still need to transfer $ to you, i'll have to go back a few days and look for your account info, keep forgetting to do that.

leeoh,
ok..will monitor her progress..this is nt the 1st time liao leh..haiz..maybe i shld drag her feedin time to be longer..usually is 3hrs but sometimes i drag to 4-5hrs....now i oso give her lesser...tat time i increase her intake to 110ml now back to 90ml...hope tat itz better...
maybe i still not able to differentiate her cues..

Woof,

My son oso wants to drink but while drinking, he will struggle here & there, very hard to feed! He's very strong, his struggle cost me to dislocate my shoulder ( old injury ) twice already, went to "teh da yi shen" to fix back ah!

Hehe, i oso told my mum that machiam im feeding him poison!!

20ml is too little leh, ur daughter will feel full meh?

We boought Javier to The Kids Clinic @ Rivervale Mall for his vaccine, paid $440 for 3 jabs of 6in1 & $99 for per dosage of rotavirus

pst
My noti boy refuse to take bottle. Rather go hungry. @ 6 weeks, reject bottle totally. At first i tot maybe not used to it, so try and try. Aft 12 weeks, i give up. use spoon.

Alsie, relax. Tat's why i said, I married furniture - sofa. Sit in front of TV all day. Yours Computer table... I used to get upset over OWO (one woman only) now i take it as my devotion to my sons. He told me b4, baby cry, i can tahan & go back to sleep - u can or not? so I LL, take over. Dun worry. God is watching. There will be a time i suck his blood back. I wait!
Babies v insecure. Need to chk if baby a little colic - they maybe uncomforty cos of wind and want to sleep on you for comfort. Now i managed to get baby to sleep on own bed - beside mine of course.

Choco, to stop BM, drag by time little by little. Express a little to relief, but dun empty hor! each time u pain, u express to little to relief. after 2 days, no milk liao.

Jete - thanks life too short to stay miserable. stay happy and find amusement in little things. tt how i survive. Otherwise long heart attack liao. At least u nice enf to iron. I dun bother - i tol hubby. No iron No shirt. Too bad. so he LL have to iron. Feel so shiok.

JL (Marina sq & orchard) - stock up on Angel wipes - aft discount $4.50 for 3. Waaaahhh!

For swaddle & sleeping bags - can u mummies want for my BP next week? I am trying to push prices down. Mummies look out for brand Baby Bear - that the brand i gonna start for BP.

Jete, where is the place ur fren recommended for the wipes? Been to JL a few times only saw the Carlson's brand.
And is it true tt Angel wipes dry up pretty fast? Cos heard comments tt we should stock up too much cos unlike Pigeon wipes they dun stay wet for long.

woof

last time my son will also puke out milk that i even bring him for scan to check his stomach.

now i am feeding him 90ml so far so good.
try not to overfeed cos i realised that if u overfeed once that cause bb to puke, the next few feeding he will also puke.

monitor if he has the below systom, it could be something more serious. if not it could be just the normal reflux

From Dr Sear website

PYLORIC STENOSIS
The most serious cause of vomiting in infancy is an intestinal obstruction, either partial or complete. The most common cause is pyloric stenosis, which is a blockage in the intestines that prevents milk from getting through and back up the esophagus.

Pyloric stenosis is the narrowing of the lower end of the stomach, which is called the pylorus. While the condition is seldom apparent in the first week or two after birth, the muscle that circles the pylorus gradually grows thicker until it squeezes the end of the stomach like a rubber band. When the pylorus is only partially obstructed, the milk trickles through, and baby appears only to spit up. But toward the end of the first month, as the opening becomes narrower, the milk backs up in the stomach and the stubborn stomach tries with great force to push the milk through the narrowed opening. Some leaks through, but most comes back up forcefully as projectile vomiting. Baby may spray the milk a distance of two feet (sixty centimeters) across your lap. Whereas the normal spitter dribbles in a burp cloth on your shoulder, the projectile vomiter spews the contents a few feet away. Picture an overfilled water balloon with a knot tied loosely at both ends. You squeeze the balloon (the stomach contracts), and you keep squeezing until a knot loosens and squish, the water shoots out. This resembles what occurs in a baby with pyloric stenosis.

HOW TO RECOGNIZE PYLORIC STENOSIS
Persistent projectile vomiting
Weight loss or failure to gain weight
Signs of dehydration: wrinkly skin, dry mouth, dry eyes, and decreasing number of wet diapers
Stomach swollen like a big, tense balloon after feeding and deflated after vomiting

Some babies may normally experience projectile vomiting once or twice a day if overfed, underburped, or jostled too much. But persistent projectile vomiting accompanied by weight loss and dehydration needs immediate medical attention.

Woof, i changed PD from Mt A-Kinderclinic to Dr Ooi's clinic at Yishun. I hv shared with Leooh before on the list dat i hv compiled for PD convenient for me around north area. If u want, PM me k.

Which mummy stay at Serangoon Ave 4? can't remember liao. u mentioned u want to share Angelwipes order? if u still want, i can let go some for u to try. $6 (3big packs+ 2smallpacks).
let me know early coz me heading there this evening liao.

hey ng,
ya i live in woodlands lor so looking for convenient one...if i rem correctly, cookie_gal shared one pd at sembawang too.can u rem? any reccommendation ard my area?

Ocean,
i m lookin for u...hehe

wohaa...
I took Ike for a quick outing just now, just to jurong point.. took a bus, then went to NTUC for simple grocery shopping, bought take aways, thenwent upstairs to kiddy palace.. he was all quiet.. then the kiddy palace staff changed the music they played and Ike screamed!! I had to run outside with my bags and him in bjorn!!

nining

wow strong character ya,strong likes and dislikes!

jete

no need to sayang the ob money..wt the salary also can buy u many bags,haha.hope ur hubby gets it!good luck!

woof

ya better not to overfeed,if baby refuses to drink then don't force.but if she takes only 20ml then maybe she's sucking for comfort?then cannot let it become a habit.

4 or 5 hours are a bit too long leh...unless if its thru the night of course..

leooh,
I am also still in shock hahah.. he has never been like that before.. he can be cranky yes, but not screaming his lung out..

Dear Mums, good noon to you all!I am new to this forum and came in to seek help, upon my friend, Sophia's suggestion. She is an avid member here and has actually help me seek successful help from here before and thus, here i am myself!

Allow me to intro abt myself..
I am Yiping, a postgraduate student in NUS..I am currently doing a research looking for a particular type of cells in breast milk.

This is my thesis for my Ph D actually and I am trying to culture cells found in breast milk and identify this group of cells. If our hypothesis is proven true, it might open a potential use of
breastmilk and its benefits for the breastfed infant might thus be more than what is already known.

With that note, I would like to seek your help to participate in this study by donating about 30 to 50ml of breastmilk (an amount that you are
comfortable with, at a frequency that you are confortable with) and I can go collect from you at your place when you are convenient. As I am using the cellular component, I would actually require fresh breastmilk (of not more than half a day old) for study and as freezing is detrimental for the cells, the milk should be kept at room temperature or at best 4deg such that they arent frozen, upon which cells that I am interested in would most likely be lysed.

Please feel free to contact me at 93826595, or email me at [email protected] if u have any queries. Hope you would be willing to help and hope to hear from
you soon. I would appreciate to start milk collection as soon as possible, with immediate effect, actually.

Hope to hear from you all soon!

P/S: i have been doing this for the last 2 years and there are promising results presented in various symposiums/ conferences and also published in a peer-reviewed journal..Study has also been approved by a local hospital's ethical review board.. So, neednt worry tt its weird study or wat, k....

Really hope to hear from you especially if you are able to express more than your baby's demand!! And u aint committed obliged to help me for very long... that is to say, you can stop anytime you want.. If you have questions, please drop a line too! I will try my best to help!

leooh,
I can't remember what song was that made him scream, he was fine with twinkle twinkle little star cos I sang along for him.. I guess I was too panic hahaha

leooh,
ya i m worried too...the last feed is 11.30am at 90ml..juz now ard 3.30pm (4hrs) she cried after waking up den i tried to feed her but she oso suckle for 20ml den she doesnt wan..brought her to poo coz she looks like she wanted too..indeed she poos wif much effort..the 1st bowel was pretty dry and solid following which is quite ok....
wat shld i do?

woof
u got bring her go see PD??

cos my son a lot of wind so i feed him colic drop then he fart alot, sometimes together with the shit.

get advise from ur PD

Woof,

So far any weight loss for your daughter? 20ml is indeed too little & the interval is 4hrs, pretty long! Suggest u bring her go see doctor.

Hey Choco, it's you ah!
I never receive ur PM leh. lately, the PM all very slow. u e-mail me? [email protected]

Nic screamed his lungs out when i try bottle for him. half an hr later, slowly slowly took it while falling asleep. cham.....

Nining: Thanks! I also use Ameda, so now I know that the two bottles with funnels attached can fit in the mini-fridge perfectly. Im seriously considering buying it : )

Lilyn: Ya lor! What to do! It was like living with Princess and the Pea

Mic: It depends on the type of dandruff, i.e., dry white flakes or cradle cap, i.e., the waxy sort that sticks to the scalp. My baby had dandruff (dry white flakes) on his scalp, and its a precursor to cradle cap. Doctor advised me to change the shampoo as it was probably an allergic reaction to the existing one (Johnson Top to Toe). Ive been using Cetaphil (as recommended by both GP and Dermatologist) for his hair since, and the dandruff has disappeared. I still use Johnson Top to Toe for his body, as he has no reaction there. For Cradle Cap, follow Garfields instructions on what to do, olive oil ect, and change the shampoo used.

Jete: Poor u! Hope your eye is better now. Do you know the cause of the infection and how you can prevent it in future? Its really exhausting to cope with baby in your conditionu take care alright?

The bag is sooo cute! May I know where you purchased it and do they have other designs too. For Ameda, do you use rechargeable batteries or the normal ones? I realize that the regular batteries will only last 2 or 3 pumping sessions at most, and most nursing rooms do have powerpoints to plug it in.

Good luck for your hubbys interview. Is he going for a tertiary institution or pte company? Its really brave of him to come home without a job, esp with a baby on the way.

Warming drop-ins: Yup! No need to hold it, just dump it in, cap up (when storing in fridge, its cap down).

Tollyjoy warmer: I find it too warm too, and end up having to cool the bottle down. Ive found that the best solution is to take bottle out while red light is still onbut honestly, using a cup of hot or room temp water is still the most efficient way of warming or cooling milk down. The electric warmer takes too much time...

Milk ss: It must have cost a bomb to rent the Medela Lactina. Im also not sure if increased ss is due to nature or pump quality. Maybe a bit of both. However, after using the much stronger Ameda pump, I find the Medela Swing most unsatisfactory.

Ameda bag: Youre referring to Robinsons Centerpoint or Raffles City? Thanks.

Fridge-to-go: Not sure. Probably will get a mini-fridge for office (if hubby is okay with it). Hubby already not so happy with the fact that the Fridge-to-go doesnt work so well, so it will be hard to convince him of the utility of getting another one. Incidently, Playtex also has a 2 bottle Fridge-to-go bag, which is half the price of the Pigeon one.

Riversidetree: Welcome back! Thanks for your offer to lend me your pants. Unfortunately, Im a lot bigger than an M size: ( sigh!

Inu: Tollyjoy warmer can hold the avent bottle. Its $33 per piece at JL, not $30 for 2.

Cin: Ahhh! Thats the sling I ordered from Myfirstclosets BP, but the BP was cancelled, so ended up with MIM slingdidnt know they sell it in Singapore. Where is the shop and how much did you pay for it? Thanks.

Woof: Carene is very cute : ). May I know where you purchased your bouncer chair? Mine is very warm as its solid material

Hi, a quick popby to say hello.

Sorry, really bz these few days...
Btw, my dept meeting aka nursing will be blocked to be used by external auditors for almost a mth.... So, i need to find another place. Dun feel like going HR one cos will waste more time on travelling...

Woof,
u looking for me? Y? Got gd lobang in woodland? Hehhee

leooh,
as wat angeline said..will observe her till tml and if the same thing happens den i will bring her to see the dr...

angeline,
yup will do...

chatty,
this bouncer is generation passed down..but i know lots of places do sell tis type of bouncer...i saw it at sheng siong..kiddy palace shld haf..