(2007/08) August 2007 MTBs

garfield: juz read your post abt stayg w your in-laws...hope you are feelg better already...tink both of us are in the same boat..sometimes really very frustrated y they cant understand simple instructions, but sometimes also hv to b very grateful to them for taking care of our bbies and the housework...so no choice i guess..give n take bah..

inu,

your bb looks so cute with her pacificer!

jang,

i have the same prob as yoU!!! My left side only produces half of my right..sometimes even much lesser..so now also loopsided..so sad...tat's y when i bought the handsfree kit, i hv probs using it too...coz hwei says the theory needs equilibrium..sigh..hopefully, after i stopped bfeeding, everythin wil b back to normal...

pst,

i also store in feed size..hmmm, as for you, how heavy is your bb? Or you roughly store in 2 or 4 ounces lor..so its easier to play ard subsequently?

Woah seh. forum down for soooo long ah. Me type so many yet all cannot post! Alamak.

Leooh, the world map bumper i got last yr is from Smallsmallworld website, $100plus after BP. still affordable leh but recent ones alot all over $200. sooo ex.

Ocean, when u say 10yrs of ML, i oso wondering leh! if i ask for longer ML, think my boss will rather let me go permanently!

Pst, mostly 6oz packs and some 4oz packs. Need to leave some space for expansion. i'm not storing in feed sizes coz intend to dethaw all the needed pack at 1time and use within 24hrs. for my mum's convenience.

Nining, try to balance up if ur breast loopsided leh. my friend warned me to keep latching on the lower supply side. otherwise, 1big 1small is permanent when we stopped. she is speaking fr experience hor.

Jang, do u hv a crib mobile? my boy loves it n it can entertain him for vvv long till he ZZzZz on his own. or else, play some music?

Lilyn, hahahha same same my hb also DUNO how to iron clothes! so i envy hbs who helps out in ironing, or at least iron their own clothes. i hate to iron man coz eh, my mum does all the ironing for me most of the time.

Choco, see wat i mean? u are sooo neat as compared to me. hehe all the avent bags are in the 3bags....i still need the lowest compartment to keep some meat only for wkends though.
1033362.jpg

lena soon & redvenus,
sent

Adelynn,
yeah whenever latching, I always start with the left boobie, then if not enough go to right boobie and when finished I pump to drain.. but still like that lee...

Nining, is ur left breast bigger then? usually the side that u start to latch on will hv more milk coz bb will suckle more to satisfy his hunger. when u contd on the other side, it's to finish up the feed only. Try to start on right now?? see if it makes a diff? i oso very scared 1big 1small. btw, last time when i stopped bf, both boobies shrunk leh. haiz......the sacrifices we are making for a healthier bb.

Hi Jang

Re milk bag, i do not have to catch up with the postings, please let me know the payment and collection of the milk bags. Thanks.

Sorry to intrude, I'm from the Jan 2008 MTB thread. Can I just check with mummies here if anyone let their baby use a sleeping bag right from the start? It's suppose to be better than swaddling right since baby cannot wriggle under the blanket??

nining

lilyn

dunno if i've properly thanked u for reccomending the baby whisperer.its a life saver for me!;-)thank you so much!

nining/ng

wanted to buy the wave to sleep mobile nining reccomended,but cannot find anywhere leh.taka,kiddypalace at northpt and bishan all didn't have.now only left the rain forest...but i'm thinking of trying out a crib mobile with music,see if it works better at calming my baby down before sleep.now she gets agitated when i bring her to the room even though she's tired.then she'll wail for 5 min while i sush/pat her on my shoulder,then suddenly stop then can put her down on bed.only happy thing is she can now put herself thru all the jolts that follows..

even though i'm happy with the progress already(imagine,i had to do the shush/pat for half an hour when i first started and she always jolts awake and i had to repeat all over again)i really hope she can don't cry before sleep...

yvonne

is the sleeping bag very tight ard the arms and legs?if not,still can wriggle right?then i think its not very useful at letting the baby feel secure.

i use kiddopotamus swaddleme(http://www.kiddopotamus.com/p_swad.php)
its good at keeping baby secure and she sleeps better,helps her thru the jolts of REM sleep too.the design is good because u don't have to undo the whole thing if u need to change the diaper.hope this helps!

ng

when i saw ur photo, i 'wow' cos really messy...(no offence)...but u also got good ss.
it seems like u are running out of freezer space

those red blue cap are what bottles??

inu

its from fisherprice.

have u decided when to stop swaddling ur baby?
also does jaelynn cry before sleep too?my enci has sleep resistance,shang1 nao3 jing1!

Choco. hahahaha no offence lah. i told u mine v messy liao lor. dat why when i c ur pic, i oso go "woah" so neat. but no choice leh, cannot squeeze anymore space. oh, those are glass bottles fr hospi, in 3 or 4oz. now, me using Garfield's method to freeze milk flat flat, then clearing my Aug frozen milk for my gal.

chatty
i ordered a box of the one step storage kit. friend ordering from drugstore so i lompang her, $1 more exp more than playtex store but sep shipping is prob more than that.

i find the medela swing collect milk at the valve part, when it leaks alot, it leaks from there. so every now and then during pumping, have to release suction and when done pumping must scrap the side of the valve to the side of the bottle to release everything. if not if i tilt the pump, it'll leak out.

nining
i went through the catty, thank goodness only 1 of 2 interest me and not the whole catty. haahaa
hubby's phd is in cancer/molecular biology.

i wanted to have kids earlier but hubby didn't cos he was still in school. i did get quite frustrated cos his graduation date kept getting push back and i feel like my fertility is not flexible like his grad date. also he didn't expect ttc to be a problem, he thought when we want to have baby, we'll try and get pg quickly. think it was a bit awakening after we lost the first set of twins.

Good morning all,

This is my second day at work. Miss my gal badly, she awoke before I went out to work just now.
Dun feel like separating from her even for awhile lerK

Nining,

Thanks for the catalogue.

So many postings, difficult to keep up as I am in office and very very very busy!!! Need to finish work faster so can go home on time and see my girl

Ocean,

Happy working!

An_gal,

Dun take into heart regarding par-in-law. Just close one eye lor.. U dun meet them that often rite?
Old people are like that lar.. cheer up k! My MIL also not happy with my hubby yesterdayK hehe she went into her room before hubby came back from work.. I dun care lar.. that is son and mum prob, so long as not with me.. son and mum, even if they argue, they will be nice to each other again after sometimes. As for daug-in-law.. I think better not to have any argument otherwise difficult to be nice again the future. Just dun talk back lorK

chatty
hmm.... must find another vet here. still haven't found a new vet since we move home. mt pleasant vet, is that near stevens road? i know there are 2 vets side by side there.

how do you warm up the milk in the drop-ins? can it be warmed up in the electric bottle warmer?

yeah ameda has a backpack. it's available in robinsons. at least i've seen it there.

quite difficult to adjust to life here. everywhere it is sooo crowded. i dont even want to go out on weekends. the weather is also very different, soooo hot, which explains the very scary power bill every month. *sigh*

i took pix of the bag i bought already, will try to upload it later.

chatty
yesterday i pump at my mom's and put the bottle into the fridge to go. at that point, the fridge to go have been out of the freezer for 3 hours. when i got home another 3 hours later, the milk was chilled, as cold as if i've put it in the home fridge.

jang
i got my bumper mat last week and i thought it was pretty good. i can imagine it'll be nice for baby to crawl on it when she's older. my recommendation would be to get the thicker ones. personally i feel the thickerness is more impt than the size of the mat though bigger means more room for baby to play on.

Thanks for all your suggestions!

Actually, i've stopped swaddling Jaeden from week 2. He managed to struggle out of it since then.

I wanted to try the BW EASY, but that crazy hubby of mine say cannot swaddle, say BB needs to move his hands and feets. i was like
why would BB needs to move his hands and feet when he is sleeping?? i also have the yao lan ready but the crazy hubby says too young, cannot! i was like

he doesn't know how it feels like to be stuck with a BB who only want to sleep on your body the whole day. haiz..

Sorry to intrude mummies but need advice on jabs for baby. Any comments on wheteher to go for 5in1 or 6in1?

ANy difference between polyclinic or pte?

Much thanks.

jang
i met my neighbor just the other day and he said his baby girl (just full month) is like that too. i told him our baby went through the phase as well. i've seen so many mommies complain about that. baby wants to be carry and sleep, the moment tush touch the bed, cry. we did the pickup/putdown technique from the baby whisperer book. but we only use that for bedtime. in the day we let the baby sleep as much or as little as she wants though we encourage naps. cos she sleeps for 8-10 hours at night, some times it's just hard to get her to nap. in the day now, it's easier to get her to nap in the combi chair.

morning all..so many post since yesterday.

lena: i store my frozen ebm in a normal freezer (freezer that comes attached with fridge). It used to contain meat, fish & etc. but eversine I occupied the whole freezer with my frozen ebm ,my MIL can no longer buy meat or fish to store. So now, the freezer only store my frozen ebm but occasionally, it will also store a small amount of frozen french fries, meat or fish. So for hygiene purpose, I keep my frozen ebm in tupperware boxes and ziplock bags (cos dun have tupperware boxes liao). Now the freezer full liao, so me offload abit in my mum's place.
intend to buy a huge fridge with a huge freezer to store my frozen and fresh ebm for my new house. i have about 24 bottles & bags of fresh ebm in the fridge too.

jete: me able to pump out 8-11oz of ebm for 4hrly interval pumping. so to me, it is good enough. i try not to be stress....as long as I can total bf I happy. Hopefully, can tbf for 1yr.

pst: i store 3-6oz of ebm in the milk bag. according to recommendation, we shld store according to bb's feeding amount which shld be aroun 305oz. I try to store 3-6oz only though my milk bag can store 8oz cos i using avent milk bag, it is filmsy and so to avoid leakage, i store smaller amount. but my fren who also use avent milk bag store 8oz/bag without any problem.

nining
that was how paige used to sleep, on hubby's chest. it's the only place she'll quiet down and fall asleep. he'll be too tired by the time she's asleep that he'll just put her down next to him (in between us) and that's how we ended up cosleeping when we didn't intend to. she slept in our bed for 7-8 weeks, she slept better we slept better so we just gave in. back then she slept ok in the day, night was the problem.

leooh
i'm also guilty of asking my mom to sew buttons for me.
when i was in the US, hubby sew for me. haahaa

Jete,

Regarding the carry to sleep
When my MIL was not around few weeks ago, I managed to let my bb sleep on her own at nite.
After feeding her with milk in her dim lighted room, cuddle her for 5 mins then put her in her cot, she will sleep by herself.

But now MIL always carry her till she falls asleep
Last nite, I used back my old method, cant work liao.. put down awhile, she cried!
Then MIL carried her again til sleep. I was thinking, if MIL not around, I die, baby always wanna carry til sleep how? But I didnt say anything to MIL lor.. later on she gets angry..

Haiyah.. old people always like to carry baby til sleep. I also dunno why ler

pst
i used to freeze ebm at 3oz cos that's what was recommended on the sites and books i read. after 2 weeks i gave up cos it was such a storage problem in the freezer and started storing in ard 6oz (the limit of the bag). personally i dont like going over the capacity meant for the bag by too much. the bags i have is for 6oz, i usually freeze anywhere from 6-8oz. now my freezer is becoming a mess with 6oz filled bags, so now i'm slowly giving the ebm to my baby and replacing it with fresher ebm, freeze flat this time!

i bought the fridge to go in taka. it has a shelf in the kitchen stuff section. not sure if it's permanent but there is a fridge to go rep there when i bought the bag.

unfortunately i dont think there is signature on this forum.
i like it that with the other format mommies can put ticker so i can remember when i read a post how old the baby is.

lena
which part of malaysia did you go? my baby loves the sleep bags she has. she started sleeping a lot better when we put her in the sleep bag at night.

ng
my freezer is worse, just have this milk bags standing around. haahaa need to go buy some containers to put them in.

leooh

i think i will sawddle her as long as she let me to. cos she cannot sleep without swaddling. she will be very frustrated n keep on fussing.

she dun usually cry before sleep. she only does that wheni miss her cue and she become overtired . then she will cry. and i will hv to carry her, pat her n shhh her till she calm down or half asleep.

lilyn
i'm the one who has problem with ironing, not hubby. long ago hubby asked me to iron a shirt for him that he needed that evening. when he took out the shirt to wear, he asked me "i thought i asked you to help me iron". i told him "i did!". since then he has never asked me to iron anything for him.

yvonne
i started with swaddleme for a while (think about 2-3w) then stopped cos baby didn't like it. moved to sleep bags and she loves it, been sleeping in sleep bags ever since.

jang
maybe worth buying a dream bag or sleep bag to try? cos it'll allow the baby to move his hands and legs. my girl didn't like to be swaddled cos she likes to move her hands and kick her legs. she can do that in the sleep bag, so she's happy.

wah very fast moving thread!!!

Jete,
my hubby always does that despite I tell him to make sure he's still aware when put in bed.. I am gonna be in trouble if he's travelling..
heheh good that u dont like all them bags!!
your hubby can go for research job I think that will give him more time? I heard teaching job is scary too, cos have to do tons of admin works after the teaching sessions..

Adelynn,
left is smaller, but it's been slightly smaller since pregnancy.. I've done latching on left most of time and still left smaller and produce less

Leooh,
I bought the wave to sleep in Jurong point's kiddypalace.. I also have the fisher price jungle but Ike hates it..

cola
i do that. at night when it's bedtime, i dim the light, on soft music and put baby to cot to sleep. some times she wont want to sleep and that means a slightly longer night for us to put her to sleep. other night when she's tired, one or two pickup/putdown and she's knocked out.

Trish & Gold Piggy,
sent

Jang,
opposite with u, I wanna Ike to learn settle down without swaddle, but hubby wants him swaddled.. this 6am at feeding time, Ike was very fidgetty and it's hubby's tiem to feed, so he swaddled him and told him if he can finish 1/2 bottle he will set Ike free hahaahah...

Jete,
I just booked flights for my jakarta trip, apparently in SQ, infant is not FOC leee although no seat.. Ike is charged $190 whereas adult is S$350 for SIN-jakarta-SIN in xmas week.. Lufthansa doesnt charge for infant, only tax which is $16 only.. Duh, spent like S$1200 just for tix to jakarta.. Hubby said no need to fret bout it cos spent oredi.. next time ask SQ first abt how much the infant charge before making online booking..

scared the charge for SIN-EWR-SIN oso will be scary.. United only charge 75% if booking seat for infant.. if not, just pay tax, like lufthansa

Thousand Hands Mum @ work
Monday 22/10
10.00pm Baby finally sleeps for the nite
1.30am Wakes for feed
4.30am Feed
6.30am Feed & Pump out rest Breast like rock already.
9.00am Boss welcome open arms and unload tons of mess. This is why I work. Haiz~
12.30pm pump both sides out
6.45pm fetch both sons. Baby happily drink during car journey
8.00pm Baby drink some more. Dunno why? Miss mummy???
9.30pm Baby drink again (????) this time sleep for the nite
Tues 23/10
1.30am Feed
4.30am Feed & pump out
7.00am Feed
8.30am Feed in car

= 1 heck of sleepy mum

Try not to feed baby with leftover milk once it touches baby saliva, it changes & fermentation starts.

Nining
[email protected] share with me for the gucci catelog?

breast lopsided
Ooo rats! My baby prefers my right side breast die

sunbloom

ever thought of feeding fm at night??
i have start doing that. can last longer.

if nt my son also like urs, but i still need to warm the ebm so takes abt 4-5mins and he already start to wail. fm only 30secs...

hey jang,
me too..struggling wif bb not sleeping in the day....always eyes open..the most she would nap is onli 30mins...i hardly do anything on my own..if she doesnt want to sleep and be quiet, i dun mind but she wans ATTENTION!..haiz...but most nites, she quite ok.....but in the dae, i really haf no time for myself..as said, when she was suckling her pacifier wif her eyes closed (i guess semi-asleep) i go and take a shower oso worried tat she would wail for me again..
todae i try the yaolan..see whether it would work or not..