(2007/08) August 2007 MTBs

morning everyone..

garfield, hope u hv a good time in sentosa

i know wat you mean about the leh chehness of pumping. my bro got married last fri, so we all have to go his plc for tea ceremony. i also hv to bring the pumps there to pump out. i also bring the pumps to hotel that night in case i need to pump, cos i cant latch on with the clothes i wear..heee..so funny. will show u all pics of jaelynn in her first wedding dinner clothes..haaa

but i realised that ss getting lesser n lesser, becos my bb now only latch on 10 mins 1 side every 3 hrs. meaning that the other side, cld be 6 hrs before she get latched on. die next mth gng back to work..n i force her to take more from the other side, she just refused..does it mean i hv to start pumping every 3 hrs?

i wanted to try angels wipe before ordering in bulk so i asked my fren to buy a bag (3 80s packs) for me. i tried it and like it. no smell and quite soft. just thinner than pigeon. fit into the pigeon container with no problem. wanted to order from the contact ng listed but my fren said she got it for me cheaper from JL since JL having sale. went down yesterday but it was all sold out. overall at JL's sale, a bag of 3 packs will only be around $3.50.
should have gone down earlier! sale ended yest,

however, when i was at JL, i bought A LOT of diapers. 15% off diapers and get a 30% voucher of the total on the receipt. i bought 2 bottle warmers to put at our families since we're there once or twice a week, plus lot of diapers so end up JL will deliver everything for free. save us the trouble of lugging everything to the car then from the car to our appt. bought fitti since that's our pref brand now, will work out to about 16 cent a piece. compare to the 45cent a piece pampers, this is super cheap.

chatty
you went to JL on Sat? did you manage to grab some angel wipes at the low price?

been checking out the cooler bags, cant decide whether to get the fridge-to-go (the 6 can size) or the pigeon one. have you bought one?

jang
thanks for ordering. lmk the $ and i'll either pay you for my friend first or have my friend transfer money to you directly.

leooh
hang in there. maybe baby is fussing about something else at your parents. diff temp or something. i get upset too when baby fuss and fuss, some time will just carry her without saying anything or put her in the crib to calm myself down before dealing with her. when i'm very frustrated with her crying and crying, i just cant deal with her calmly.

settes
when my baby started sleeping through the night, i checked her breathing too. was paranoid since it is a long time to sleep without complaining for such a young age.

xinyao
your hubby shouldn't be angry. baby takes time to get ready to go out. let him get the baby ready to go out and see how long he'll take.

loh
i dont know if i'll go back to the same clinic again after the incident you encountered.

i dont think we're supposed to steam frozen ebm?

garfield
so nice to be able to get away for the weekend to celebrate dd's birthday. we are thinking of going for our anniversary, but not sure how fun it'll be to have a baby with us.

i agree with you, pumping is quite troublesome. we always plan to go out in time for us to come home for the next pump.

jete

i also looking at which fridge to go to buy. starting work next mth, tot of getting one so that i can put the EBM in and bring home at the end of the day. there are so many varieties.

muddypie
you and hubby so young, only 24yo? there is a punggol nasi lemak, i didnt know that, is it supposed to be good and famous?

sunbloom
oh dear, still?? *sigh* i dont even have any more suggestions for you, you must be so frustrated. *hug*

an_gal
cos usually baby will poop every day once or twice. i know when she's pooping cos she'll push very hard and her face will turn red. when she has constipation, she'll do that and cannot go, then she'll cry in frustration and it'll happen a few times a day. i notice it happens when i give her more FM. it helps to give her a bit of prune juice. i buy the baby juice and dilute it a lot with water and feed to her.

how do u all remove the nose dirt from ur bb nose?

i got buy the nose pump from tollyjoy, but no use lei.

then i try cotton bud but he keep moving. i scared i hurt him.

his nose is full of the dirt that he has difficulty breathing.

Hi Leooh: Sounds like ure having a tough time coping with baby aloneBut at least you have figured out whats going on with your baby, and thats a huge first step to helping both of you to cope. I think ure right about baby being insecure in unfamiliar environmentsI noticed that my baby tends to get upset when he has to feed in strange places, esp. when hes both tired and hungry. U take care okay? Try to get some rest when babys sleeping. Can you ask your mum or someone to come over to help with the baby, at least in the day, so you can get some rest?

Leooh, PiggyB: I know how annoying it is to have people asking you about BF. A few weeks ago in church, a perfect stranger (mother with 3 kids) approached me and lectured me on how giving FM will reduce my BM supply (she had seen my FM equipment when I took my BF shawl out of bag to BF my baby)I was really upset, as it was my first time BFing in public, and it was difficult enough doing so with people looking on, not to mention having a lecture about what I should or should not do. I sometimes think theres so much social pressure to TBF, that people start to think that youre bad if you dontthey somehow dont realize that it is sometimes not possible to TBFlike u said, no point feeling guilty. As long as youve tried your best, thats all u can do.

Woof: Re: Mense. I have the same experience as you, and very little came out even on first day, so not sure if it was really my mensestotally forgot to check with my doctor.

Xinyao: It takes me an hour to BF at home. Outside, I try to cut it down to 30 mins (just enough to satisfy the baby temporarily, then rush home, but its very difficult. Nowadays, I dont BF outside. Instead I bring EBM and FM in cooler bag, warm it up and feed to baby. I also pump out milk in car or nursing rm. Usually my hubby bottle feeds baby while I pump. Saves a lot of time.

Loh: Consult either LC or PD. If your gynae is female with kids of her own, you could ask her

Jete: Went to Mothercare, Robinsons and JL sales on Sat. Very good buys for NUK pdts at Robinsons. JL sale more worth it as they were giving 30% discount on all purchases in the form of vouchers. Bought Ameda Lactaline at 20% discount from Mothercaredecided not to wait for PIS Advance as it was out of stock everywhereI also bought the Pigeon Fridge-to-go from Isetan, as it can hold 2 breastpumps, and I wont need to keep washing and sterilizing the breastpumps so many times a day. Isetan and Tangs are having 20% off all Pigeon pdts now.

Sunbloom: Sorry to hear of your continuing difficulties with bottle feeding baby, must be really frustrating and worrying for you. Just curious though, how have you been feeding EBM to your baby all this while?

PiggyB: From what I understand, no need to give water even if baby is on FM, as the FM nowadays is not as thick as when we were babies. Plus if u give baby water, hell drink less milk, and water has no nutrients.

yest went buffet lunch with hubby, baby, 1 of the jul thread mummy n her hubby n baby.. after lunch went vivo walk walk n reach hm abt 8pm then had dinner with them till 10+.. after they left, i m super duper tired liaoz.. 1st time i bring bb out so long, 1st time feed n change diapers in public.. it was an enjoyable trip but bb will fuss sometimes too.. after yest, can bring bb out more often liaoz hehe..

piggyB,
tried to feed Melcolm water but he oways reject, he oni like his fm haiz.. jialet man.. my mil had oways wanted mi to bf but too bad my ss super low.. wat to do..

jete,
so fast can let bb drink juice ah... haiz.. mus monitor his poo poo pattern again.. now will giv him gripe water daily n c the situation improves.. hope he don reject the gripe water tis time

choco,
i use cotten bud to remove the nose dirt.. mus b fast n quick wen u do it cos bb will move..

Ocean, garfield,
I pump 3 times a day only. When pumping, 2 breasts feel like stones.

Working next month...sian. Am thinking to get a second hand Avent manual pump and bring to work. Anyone wanna sell? PM me.

choco,
can tear a small piece of tissue and make bb sneeze. If not ok, bring bb to clinic?

Jete,
Will check wif PD this thursday on how to treat frozen ebm.

chatty,
Think my memsus reporting yesterday. Bright red, a bit tummy cramps, and the flow is not heavy, just like 3rd day of memsus.
If we are TBF, we might only get 1 memsus and it will stop for a few months then comes back again.

hiya mummies!
i'm in KL now with my folks...visiting w the bb for next 2 weeks..so relieved that he's adapted well so far..he was SO well behaved during the car ride down..slept most of the time and just woke up briefly for a feed then zonked out again..
its nice being here cuz mum can help me with taking care of him..SO many visitors who want to check him out..its been fun but tiring for the little fella..but the annoying thing is that they always go on and on about how his eyes are so wide awake and open but i know he's tired already cuz his little head is resting on my shoulder or he's starting to fuss..they think i'm a bit crazy for wanting to put him to sleep when they see him so "awake"! ...

jete, chatty,
how long is the sale going on for @ JL n robinsons? was thinking of buying diapers here in KL cuz there's a GIANT close by, but hubby went to check it out n it's more expensive than singapore for the good brands of diapers..

xinyao,
it takes me about 30 mins to BF my 6 1/2 wk old boy..he's got a strong suckle tho, and also what i do is breast compression whislt he's eating(.i went to this site that tells u about it, even has a video that shows u how! http://www.drjacknewman.com/ )..and talk to him, massage his thighs, so he doesn't fall asleep..otherwise he'll sit there and just enjoy suckling and taking his time....his lil chin will move but no swallowing so i know he isn't eating for real..so i guess he's bene well trained to eat properly when its eating time..
...but i do give him pacifier for sucking only when he need comforting...

chatty,
there's always so MANY ppl giving unsolicited advice when u have a bub, i swear! one ear in, one ear out..so long as u know what ur doing is working for u and ur little one, that's the most important thing!

Loh,
so scary that the dr made that kinda mistake! good thing the nurse was more careful...jeez!

leooh,
take care of urself ok? its good u have someone who wants to help..sometimes its ok to let the old folks take care for a little while i think..they like to feel helpful too, and its only once in a while, not all the time rite? don't feel paiseh dear..remember that must take care of urself, otherwise how to take care of ur bub?

Woah nice rainy weather to nap man. but the thunder so loud wor. luckily, bb doesn't seem to be too affected. Waiting for him to wake up for his feed, then i can Zzzz a while with him.

Loh, which GP did u go to?

am feeling so much better today,good sleep really does help!must thank my baby for sleeping more last night,fed her at 11.30pm,then 3am,then 6.30am,so i slept more.hopefully she'll gradually go without the 2/3am feed...

btw i'm going to rebond my hair this thursday!looking forward to it,hopefully i won't look so frumpy anymore.don't dare to check my weight,but face still as round as ever.considered perming my hair this time round,but decided against it cos i look very mature already as it is.at least rebonded hair will be neater.dunno if my baby will still recognise me haha.

ng

ya lor.so last night i didn't teh hubby,so enci did not teh me..haha

sunbloom

haha if he's not sweet i wouldn't have married him!but probably also because we have only been married for a year la.maybe lao fu lao qi liao won't be like this..hopefully not!

ocean/chatty

read in a book that breastfeeding is one issue everyone will have strong opinions about.sigh...i'll just try to smile politely if i'm in a good mood,or ignore and start to coo at my baby if pp continue to "lecture".usually pp will get the message and stop talking.if not,i can't be bothered anyway.its my baby leh...

chatty

can imagine how upsetting that is for you.sigh...i think if the mother wants to encourage BF she should concentrate on praising you for trying to BF in public.they should all go NIE and learn about positive reinforcement man!haha

jete

ya lor,must be calm before we can deal with the crying.but crying gets on my nerves!maybe i'm too perfectionist i can't stand it when i can't seem to soothe her.must learn to accept that sometimes we can succeed in everything.

can check a 2mth old shd roughy drink how much milk? mine already drinking 150ml, isit too much????

also, which brand of milk powder is the best??
is it similac, enfalec? cos' heard some will cause constipation???

choco/an_gal

i use damp cotton wool to roll into thin strips to swivel into baby's nostrils.it'll sometimes get the dirt out,or at least make her sneeze.the nurse at the hospital taught us to do this.safer than cotton bud cos the stick might accidentally get poked into the nose if baby fidgets.

enci hates it and will cry til so ke lian,sometimes will cry and look at me with pleading eyes, but bo bian,at least she'll breathe better after it.i'll stop and cuddle her tight when she cries,then start doing it again,until she screams..

sometimes i use the sea water nasal spray too if the cotton strip don't work.use various ways la.the nose pump was useless for me too.

does any of ur baby has diffculty in sleeping? so will "frustrated" cant auto fall asleep n cry alot???? mine is like tat, duno how to pacify??

lilyn

must feel good to be back home!

haha i feel that kind of pressure form relatives too.worse still when she is tired but relatives kept talking loudly to her when they see her big big eyes.i was pai sei to get the baby away to put her to sleep cos impolite to elders ma.then she'll get overstimulated and it's pay back time to me after the visit.

bo-bian...cannot keep her at home always right?

sausagemuffin

mine is ard 7weeks and drinks ard 100ml-120ml each feed.but its more accurate to monitor the daily consumption instead.if your baby drinks 150ml but lasts longer than before,then it should be ok.my baby drinks ard 850ml daily.

frustration and cannot sleep can be due to a lot of factors.have you tried swaddling the baby?swaddling works for my baby..you can also try a sleep routine.have a transition activity to calm the baby down,and also shush/pat the baby to soothe her,and get her to get used to sleeping in the crib.

or maybe because she's overstimulated--must read the cues of her being tired(like yawning even when she has eyes wide open,and starting to fuss when she's been awake for more than 1 hour) and try to get her to sleep already,miss the cue and it'll take twice the time to put her to sleep.you can refer to this website for more information:
http://www.babywhisperer.com/babywhisperer.html

good luck!

choco,an gal

for me i use the baby tweezers and it always manage to take the dirt out.. But maybe do it when she is sleeping, it will make the digging easier..of course be carefel as usual cause she will move forward if she find it uncomfortable.

i wana ask,..any baby bottom born is already black in color till now? I ask my MIL she says its due to beating when she is born but cant be tat long to let it go bac to natural skin color...Was really wondering is this normal for all babies or jus my baby...

After my 2-3am pump tis morning, now then got time to pump. Usually pump at 10/11am, 5-6pm and 11pm-12am. And latch on my bb at nite ard 2-3am and 5,6 & 7am.

So now trying to adjust to working hrs... think shld be 12pm/1pm (lunch time), 7/8pm and still thinking about wat time shld be the last pumping time...

Loh, wat time do u normally pump? Understd abt the stone breast, me also like tat, but not everytime stone, usually is sore nipple and at times blocked ducts.

Sausagemuffin, wow, ur bb drink alots compared to mine 60-90ml!
But different bb had diff appetite, some small eater, some big eater. Wat did the nurse or doc say when u went for the 1mth jab? If they say is ok, then nothing of a concern.

Leeoh, not everyone in favour of bf. Like my hubby, think he'll prefer me to stop bf cos he find it troublesome but he respect my decision. To him FM is as gd as BM. And also to warm EBM takes sometimes, n bb constant crying...He felt FM better cos immediately BB can drink... But it is true tat S'pore, more pple r in favor of bf due to public awareness. So dun b bother by wat pple say as long as u already did ur best.

Garfield, think u shld start to try to increase at least one pump to 4hrs interval and slowly move on. Cos by the time u go back to work, ur pumping timing wld be more or less adjusted, if not, ur first day would be very "stone" (as hard as rock breast).

O, check with u all. Do u hv problem cleaning bb tongue? My bb tongue is white due to milk n find it hard to clean. Been using cloth but cant clean completely... Anyone can suggest how to clear those white thingy?

sausage: how long does the 150ml ebm last ur bb? my bb is 2mths old today..am thinkg of increasing his feed from 120ml to 150ml.120ml used to last him 3hrs..but nowadays, he will cry for milk after 2.5hrs.
am thinkg shld i increase the feed to 150ml/4hrs.

inu: u may want to tandem pump while latching ur bb. since ur bb only feed 1 side, u can pump at the same time on the other breasts so as to keep the ebm as extra stock and to maintain ur ss too.
I was tired from the Sentosa trip ah! cos have to always rush back to hotel to pump my milk and hor, my dd is now 2yrs old...she is in the "terrible 2" stage. had a hard time coaxing her etc....

jete: i pump frequently cos i wan to have more milk to store in my freezer and fridge so tat my bb can fall back on the freezer stock in case my ss drop after i go back to work. i have a very stressful work environment and i know my ss will be affected once i return to work so i pump every 3hrs and 1x in the wee hrs. i can now pump out 40-44oz/24hrs.

ocean: i agree with u. i have started to increase my pumping interval to 4hrly from today onwards. Hopefully, the longer pumping interval will not affect my ss.

an_gal, about looking for job, no plans yet. Just too busy with bb, and to think that I hve to put him with someone else to take care, well, I rather take care of him myself.

Ocean, I've heard different thing about having 3 pigs in the family. Some says that it's good, but there are some who said that it's no good.

jete, me and hub not young, we're in our 30s alrdy.

ok, gotta go now, bb crying

Muddypie, so far wat i heard is good things abt having 3 same zodic in a family (mus b staying together) as it is very hard to have such. O, so u r born in the real Golden Pig year loh?! Tat's wat my mum says as my sis was also born in the year of pig.
Anyway, we jus listen to the good things loh, like the tv ad, only hear the good stuff.

Garfield, really salute to u. As i dont keep stock, i dun pump so many times. Sometimes wish my breast is like tap like tat... jus press the button and immediately the milk emptied at once.. no need to pump. Hahaa...
I also have a 2yrs old gal who said she wanna drink my milk. So currently, i will mix with her FM for her.

Ytanhn, u ordering the body shaping gel from the BP? Am getting 6, so wanna tongpang on my order to get 10% discount? Btw, Js Mummy also agreed to have one collection at either tanjong pagar or raffles place mrt. Anyone wanna tongpang on my order?

Ocean, i'm giving my milk to my 19mth daughter too. She's ok taking it. I guess if my bb can't finish the fbm, i'll give it to my daughter then, no wastage. hehe

Puppygal, u mean ur bb's buttock got the "blue black" thingie issit? My boi doesn't hv it on his butt but he got it on his right feet, whole feet leh. we checked with PD, he says some of these marks will fade off on it's own, till 6yrs old. after dat, if doesn't fade, then it prob will stay permanently as a birthmark.

Lylin,
Enjoy ur trip and do tones of good food there...hahah

Ng,
I went to neighbourhood clinic for 6-in-1. The doctor on duty tt day was not perm doctor there. But she still play safe and go ask ppl when she is not sure. Luckily!!!

Ocean,
I normally pump at 8+, 3+ and 10pm. Will get abt 280ml per session. At nite will latch on. If 4hrs interval, can get abt 160ml. Will empty the breast for every pumping session.

Wah garfield, u good supply ya!!!

Loh

don't think i commented on your baby's shrek photo yet.but haha it reminded me of the time your hubby do the alien sound to ask your baby to come out,haha..

So long neva log in... too busy, MIL went over to her sister place and stayed there for 5 nites.. so I was in charge of my girl for those days! luckily today she came back hehe..

An-gal, my MIL still commented about bringing baby back to indo. I just ignored her lar.. wont let my baby go with her..
While she was not around, I really can feel the enjoyment of taking care of baby myself.

Think it is because my baby quite a good gal hehe..
She has been sleeping around 10 pm or so every nite. No need to pat or carry to sleep, just feed her in her room with dim light, and swaddle her. After finishing her milk, I will put her into her cot and walk out. ARound 10-20mins come in and check on her, she is asleep already hahaha..

Then she will sleep straight til 5 am or 6 am or 7 am, for another feed. After that continue sleep till 8 plus or 9 plus... Feed.. sleep again till 10 plus or 11 plus.

This has been going on for around 1 week. Think she has got into her routine...

And my supply increases! hahaha.. this is another joyful thing.

Phew--- first day without maid and hubby, taking care of Ike.. Ike was testing me really tough today.. first he rejected his milk.. then he cried so bad cos he was hungry.. then he took his milk with big gulp.. then he puked all over himself and me, gave him bath again (hubby gave him bath before went to work).. then he all smiled after did the merlion gig.. then he slept in the bouncing chair.. one hour later he woke up crying for milk. maybe cos he puked most of them, he got hungryy again early.. I latched him on, then he fidgeted like mad.. then pooed so big time, it leaked all over his romper.. so I gave him a 2nd emergency bath.. then he all smiled again, wanna have his milk again.. Then slept again.. 1 hr later woke up smiling and playing, then sleep again then woke up again for his milk.. he kept grabing my boobies so I reckoned he wanna latch so I did latch him on.. then he burped on my boobie with a little of reflux.. I gottta change my bra and clothes again.. sigh..I didnt even have time to pump or eat proper meal.. Now hubby is home, so I handed over Ike to him kekekeke...

nining

woah,sounds bad!is it the first time he puke so many times a day?maybe its reflux...don't worry all babies hav reflux some time or another.have a good rest now your hubby take over okie.

oh ya btw did i tell you i've officially grown 2 sizes bigger?that day i went shopping and really could only wear shirts from dorothy perkins.sigh....dunno when i can go back to buying clothes from normal stores again.anyway spent a bomb at dorothy perkins,in preparation for work.sure get a lot of comments from colleagues about my size when i go back!

sausagemuffin,
i cant comment which brand of FM is the best as different bbs react to different FM. my gal is on mamex gold (TFM), so far she has nice & not too hard poo poo although she dun drink alot of plain water except when it's mixed with gripe water.

sometimes when chloe gets too fussy & cant get to sleep, i'll either pop in the pacifier or let her sleep side-way.

Ocean,
yap, i'm getting the body shaping gel but i've already made payment for it, can still combine? I dun mind though if it's allowed.