(2007/08) August 2007 MTBs

eee.. i dont like frozen milk too. my frozen stash is for emergency use. eventually will end up in the trash if didn't use. fresh BM is the most nutritious!

Jete, Loh, rainy5,

i've already placed orders with Amazon. will be traveling to a wulu place with bad internet connections tomorrow, back on wed. update you all on the progress again!

Morning.. need to pump milk liao..

Abt Milk intake, read the estimate on the milk formula wld alw give me a fright cos my bb will alw be underfeed. Last time, my elder gal, worst, she drank only 50-60ml milk till almost 4mths old and takes 1.5hr to finish. At least now the 2nd one drinks abt 60-90ml every 3-4hrs is still better. So guess no need to worry much as lon as they poo, su su n grow, think is ok lah.

But at times really worry when learnt that some BB drinks much more...

Ng, i be going back to work liao. My bb is almost on tbf except if we go out, eg, injection, we wld feed her on FM. So currently, other than the 1st 3 days when my milk ss had not established, she was almost tbf unless we go out. Think up to now, she drank less than 10 feeds of FM.

I dun think i'll give my gal frozen BM. Tried once when my elder gal stay at my mum home. Goosh, had a hard time to thraw the BM... So, think i'll maintain daily ss, jus like my elder one last time. If have, give, if dun hv... drink FM and will try to last as long as possible..

i'm back at home liao.really bad night last night,baby fussed constantly from 8pm to 12midnight AGAIN!cried,then demand milk,drink a bit then fall asleep,then 20 min later up crying again.

at 11 something i can't tahan anymore,i put baby on the bed to fuss,called my hubby (in philipines)and cried.cried a few min and baby started crying again.still had to go settle her while crying.then finally she fell asleep at midnight.and i continued crying,sigh..

today my eyes are so swollen!

anyway i concluded that baby is insecure because i shuttled from home to parents' place,then home again.so cruel to a 6weeks old baby,so she was suckling for comfort.

so have decided to stay home liao,and just try to tahan til my hubby come back.lonely also bo bian la.at least my baby can sleep better.

praying hard that baby will give me a good night tonight!wish me luck!

leooh,
sorry to hear bout your baby's fussing.. Try to keep smiling even when you're frustated and wanna cry.. I had v terrible baby blues and a full house for 1st month, and I cried at a drop of a hat, and Ike followed me crying too.. My dad and mom asked me to try not to show baby we're upset, somehow baby knows when the mother is upset and will get insecure even worse.. So now even when I have tears in my eyes (am still a bag of emotional hormones!!) I try to smile and talk to Ike.. it helps both of me and him I think, cos then he won't fuss and I get less frustated..

Leooh, hope u feeling better! Hang in there.
2day my hb working whole day till tml, i already feel v lonely, can imagine how bad it will be for u. Prob bb can felt it too. take care ok. think ur hb sure v heartpainz ah.

Tdy's thread sooooo quiet. it's a boring weekend for me manz..luckily Nic is a gd boy today. maybe weather is cooling, whole day, he's basically up for feeds only, otherwise he's zZZZzz.....me soo free!

me back from my mom's pl today...getg more reliant on her...cos she helped me wif feeds n baths..!

i thot of putting baby on schedule..but gave up cos thot let him wake up for his feeds easier...guess e only thing dat remains fixed is his bathing time in e am..there was a night he slept from 1 am to 8 am..i was so surprised n even placed my finger near his nose! siao liao.

leooh,
*hugs* understand how u feel if baby keeps fussing..after confinement, i returned from mom mom's place n my baby oso cried incessantly..my hb happened to go da bao dinner n i was home alone...felt really helpless n broke down too...so don worry, things will get beta...

tried to post this morning but failed to...

RE: mense
for those who have their menses oreadi, wan to check whether the flow is normal like before? mine 1st dae was bright red but 2nd dae oreadi not bright red...itz seems like day4 flow like tat..izzit normal?

hi ladies, for those who breastfeed when u go out hor..how long is the bF process?
at home, i can take 1hr leh.
that day went out with hubby.he waitiong 1 hr for me. cos BB drink n poo..he was so angry

nining,settes,ng

Thanks!hugs back...MIL helped me take care of baby the whole day.

but i feel very giddy now,think coming down with flu or something...will go sleep now,while baby is sleeping.have a good night everyone!

woof
My 'menses' was bright red in colour on the 1st day and on the 2nd day, the colour then not so bright liao, like brown colour. It last for 2-3 days and stop. A few days later, it come back again. That's why also dont know whether is it menses or not.
My 'normal' menses usually last about 4-6 days.

woof,
the flow of my first menses which came 4weeks after delivery was quite little & lasted around 3-4 days only. however, my 2nd menses was extremely heavy (no joke) & lasted 8-9 days!

Leooh, hope u r feeling better! It is normal for BB to fuss ard after a change of enviornment. I remember when i first bring my bb home, she din sleep from morning till evening... I really cant cope managing her alone! Luckily that time my elder gal was with my mum... imagine i din eat anything from morning till evening when my hubby back as the moment i put her down, she cries...
Hugz..
Jia you, u sure can make it! Take care too.

Haiz, me down with flu too. And worst, my bb also gonna cough n flu... so poor thing... no medicine for her...

leooh,
keep it up, hope u feel better aft distress in the forum.

jang, ng, garfield,
my friend told me to steam the ebm b4 freeze it. the smelly emb is due to some enzyme reaction. By steaming can inactive the enzyme wor.
u gals think who shall we consult? gynae, PD or LC?

Went clinic for 6-in-1, the doc took a wrong box of vaccine, she go ask nurse which box is the correct one 4 the jab...in the end she not dare to inject my bb due to jaundice case...scary.

loh: how to steam the ebm? steam is high heat (temp is more than 100 deg celcius, so the steam will destroy the antibodies in the ebm). so i dun think shld steam the milk.

ng or mommies who bought the angels wet wipes:

what is the current offer on the wipes if purchase from steve? i remember it's buying the big packs and getting the smaller size packs free?

morning all, i am up pumping now.how is everyone's weekend. Today, 14th oct is my elder gal'a 2yr old birthday so my hubby and I brought her to Sentosa for a 2D1N stay. So now I pumping at Sentosa haha....

actually, find breastfeeding troublesome in this situation. have to bring the pump along to the hotel as bb is not with us. then have to plan my outing schedule so as not to disturb the pumping schedule. *SIGH*

Hi mummies, it's 5:40am, just finishing pumping, so thought I log on to catch up a little, otherwise no chance at all.

An_gal, yes, I'm a SAHM, actually hve quit my job since 3yrs ago to join my hub in Europe, no chance to look for job, cause found out was pregnant when back last year.

PiggB, Serangoon Gdn is pretty near to me, I'm at Upper Serangoon whr Punggol Nasi Lemak is.

Jete, my hub do travel to Ireland pretty often, but not anymore, the last one which is last week will be his last trip, as he's joining a new company in Dec. But must say that the children clothes are pretty cheap during the summer sales. He just bought a really pretty purple dress for a friend's bb.

Halloween costume, will go look ard for it then. Pumpkin is pretty cute too, but thought since all 3 of us are born in the year of Pig, that's why thinking of the piglet costume for him. Maybe, by the next Halloween, we can all meet up and hve a little party for our bbs. Think by then, everyone will be ready to bring their little ones out.

Someone mentioned abt Robinsons sales, is it on already. Tried going to Taka yesterday morning, but gave up cause of the major jam into the carpark.

leooh, so sorry to learn that your bb is fussing. Can understand the frustration, maybe it'll take a while for your bb to adjust. One period my bb was fussing in the day, couldn't get things done, but guess he was trying to get used to our routine, now he's better.

Okay, going back to bed now. Chat again.

hellooo pumping now. baby still refuse bottle how? change teats, bottles, spoon, getting others to feed. tried all, only drink 10ml from nuk teats. then scream.

jete,
hw do u know ur bb had constipation? nowadays my bb seldom pass motion, last poo on monday n today finally poo again after so many days.. making mi worried..y they can so many days don poo somemore he mostly on fm..

garfield,
is normal, tat time my hotel stay oso bring pump along, realli veri troublesome.. somemore u with ur kid lagi worse lol..

muddypie,
so u gona look for job again?

yest went mil place for dinner, she ask me my milk ss isit still the same.. i told her drop liaoz and she "har" ... sians...

morning ladies!

Me pumping now...feel so tired to pump so many times a day.

Re: Infantcare
The childcare I am placing my gal is called Bishan-Toa Payoh North CCC Childcare Centre. It's located at toa Payoh north blk 200. (Next to Beatty Sec) So far the infantcare has 5 babies including my gal lah.

an_gal: Wat I understand is that bb on FM muz drink water everyday. Is Melcolm drinking water everyday? If realli bad can let him drink gripe water. If not can let him eat jing feng san.

Aiyoh, ur MIL veri bad leh..she tink we dun wanna give BM meh. So insensitive

garfield,
Yalor, i also dunno ler, tt's y asking who shd consult, PD or LC?

Jete,
$2 per pack of 80s, buy 3packs ($6) get 2x30s for free...so $6, u can get 300s. Over $40 for free delivery.

BTW,
I hav 15bags of lactation caffeine free herbal tea from the hamper. Is organic. I dun need the tea as my supply is ok. Was thinking to give them out for those need it. PM me if u wannt try it out. check out at www.TraditionalMedicinals.com

Loh, this is wat i found fr the website. very mafan to do so leh, anyway, i will juz feed bb as long as it's not soured.

http://www.breastfeed-essentials.com/storagehandling.html

WHAT ABOUT SOURED or "OFF" MILK?
Milk is not spoiled unless it has a sour odor or tastes bad. Some moms find that their milk seems to spoil rather quickly despite careful attention to proper storage and handling. This is thought to be a result of the milk having an excess of lipase, an enzyme which helps break down the fats in human milk. One way to keep milk from spoiling so quickly is to halt the breakdown of fats by scalding the milk just prior to storing it. This is done as soon after expression as possible and over a stove eye. Scalding the milk involves allowing small bubbles to appear on its surface but removing it from the heat before an actual boil occurs. The milk should then be stored immediately either in the refrigerator or freezer.

Other mothers have reported a soapy smell to their frozen milk after it is thawed. This change in smell has been attributed to changes in the milk fats related to storage in self-defrosting refrigerator-freezers. It has not been found to be harmful to the baby.

Sometimes odors from the refrigerator or freezer can enter stored breastmilk. To avoid this, be careful about your choice of storage containers (review the information above), consider adding a box of baking soda to the unit, throw out old leftovers and make sure any newer food is covered or wrapped tightly, and check that the temperature of your refrigerator or freezer is set low enough. .

Last nite very tiring, Nic fed at 11pm, 12pm, 1am, 3am, 6am, 7am......aiyooo.....like dat every nite, i become panda liao.

Xinyao, i normally latch abt 10-20mins. Ur hb angry ah? tell him cannot let bb go hungry or dirty mah. Hungry must feed, poo poo must change lor. it's like dat one when bringing bb out.

Garfield, u so ON ah, at sentosa also log-in. enjoy the day out! so envy!
Last time, i go biz trip while still bf-ing, u can imagine how mafan it is for me. the worse is must discard all the milk lor.....

Sunbloom, my bb also rejecting bottles. so, every evening, 1feed by hb using bottles. if we feed him when he's really hungry, he will take though not as much as when i latch him. u try to stretch his feeding time then feed him, c if it works?

Loh, the organix milk tea bags u might wanna keep it for ur future use when u go back to work, unless u r a SAHM. Thot by the time we go back work, the ss would drop, at least this is for me cos my work very hectic and stressful...
But if u do have spare, maybe can give me a few teabags to standby.
However, i do think u shld keep if u r going back to work soon to standby.

Xinyao, i usually bring EBM out and put it inside a warmer plus a cup. If within 1-2hrs bb wanna drink and the EBM, i will ask pple ard to spare some hot water so that i can warm the milk. Otherwise, if too long, I'll give formula.I dun latch on in daytime, so even if i do, my gal only suck for 5-15mins...
Maybe u can try using those sling as understd there r mummies who hide BB inside for feeding and still can move ard.

Garfield, enjoy ur day!

Ng, wat a tiring nite u have. I can fully understd how u feel. My BB usu doze off ard 1-2am. Then woke up ard 4/5am, followed by 6am, 7am and 8am... Gosh.. like u can only sleep 3 hrs only... the worst in the morning part, so tiring... hope ur bb and mine can sleep longer..

ocean,muddypie,loh

thanks;-)she's much better these 2 days at out own place.think my baby is sensitive to change in environment la.now its easier to put her to sleep too cos its her own cot,i think she recognises it already..

xinyao

your hubby should be more appreciative of you breastfeeding!why not you pump out and get him to feed?his baby too ma,let him take care too..

Ng/Ocean

wow...really tiring!i'll break down already.is it because baby is latching on and having a growth spurt?

today i slept quite a lot but still a bit giddy.am in long pajamas and still cold.so think i caught a cold already.

Breastfeeding:

yesterday saw some celebrity mummies on "Nv Ren Wo Zui Da"who commented that if hubbies want to understand exactly how painful massaging to get rid of blocked milk ducts/breastfeeding when you have blocked milk ducts are,tell them its like stilletos kicking their private parts,but multiply by 1000 times.

this will at least make them more appreciative..

now i still shudder when i recall my breastfeeding/pumping experience.but everytime still have people asking me why i don't BF la(but i've quit feeling guilty about it.dunno why some pp are so nosy.even a part-time cleaner i don't know tries to psycho me abt the benefits of Bf.thuh...as if i don't know!)

so i salute all mummies who are still BF/pumping.!!!

Ng

forgot to reply your last entry.ya my hubby also very heartpain,he misses us a lot.not easy for him to leave baby when she's still so young too.and me torturing him by crying into the phone.i think he cried a bit too...we're both cry babies haha.

btw the next night i cried again on the phone to him because i feel sick and giddy but still have to feed baby at night.(MIL offered to do the night feeds by sleeping on the sofa(to watch over baby in the living room's playpen).but i said no need la,i pai sei to let her sleep on sofa!

Ocean,
Can, let me know ur add. May be can put inside envelope and mail to you.
Duno how long can sustain in breast feeding. No more braless nite, sore nipple, sleepless nite, and 2 papaya hanging there all the time. Body really out of shape. But can bf is a gift from GOD la, can really feel proud and happy when see bb enjoying the milk. Some more can save lots of $$$

Leooh, not too sure if it is growing spurt, but i doubt so.. mine jus like to suckle for 5 to 12mins and fuss ard b4 she fall asleep. The worst is usually the morning part. Waking up every hr... Real tiring as also scared bb wake up my elder gal

Leooh, sanyang,
kao_kiss.gif
dun cry so much k. Must take care of urself. Think abt it, at least u r not all alone plus ur MIL is still helping.

Abt pple asking y stop bf, think i also one of those culprits who will ask my collegues y stop.
It is jus tat the qn would naturally pop up to ask and usually i wld tell them FM is as gd nowsaday and at least they did bf for the first few weeks. So not to worry, but do take care of urself first, k.

Loh, would pm u my address. Can let me know what is the postage so that i can pay u. Just put the tea bag inside can liao.
kao_love.gif
Oh, please give me maybe 3 to 5 tea bags, i gather if my ss drop, i'll take for 3 to 5 days... if still cant increase... an excuse to stop bf..

I also hate sore nipple and the engorgement feel especially i only pump 3 times a day... sometimes really dun feel like carry my 2 gals when the breast is so pain. I also miss my braless nite...

Btw, anyone keen to get the Bioglo BodyLite Thermo-Active Gel which burn the fat away jus by apply on the body from the BP?

i also hate sore nipples. i always kenna sore nipples from pumping cos i pump at least 7x/24hrs.sometimes i latch bb and afterwards will pump again, so is 1-3x latching/24hrs + 7x pumping/24hrs.
so sore...

Ocean, i oso think mine is not growth spurt leh. It's juz sometimes he's too tired to take a full feed, then fell asleep after latching a while. Tdy's better. Last feed at 10pm, then 2am, hope the next feed can drag longer.

Leooh, haha u "teh" ur hb, so ur bb "teh" u loh.
Drink more water n try to get more rest ah. if u fall sick, will feel worse man. but think ur hb is the key to all ur discomfort man.

Loh, ur description makes me laugh ah. hahaha 2papayas...keke but i missed braless days man. now breastpads consumption really hi! me using Pigeon ones. juz tried tollyjoy brand, not bad leh. maybe will switch to dat coz it's a cheaper alternative.

Garfield, i am now freezing my ebm using ur method, very good leh! can save alot of space.
kum sia.

Morning, am pumping now. Supposed to pump at 11pm/12am, but doze off till now when my bb woke up from sleep.

Ng, think my bb self-reduce her feed. She shld drink at 11pm/12am, but din.. Last feed at ard 8plus.. From 8pm till 2am is 6hrs interval... So long..

Ng, hope ur bb wun wake up so fast n let u hv a gd nite sleep!

Wow Garfield, ur breast really work very hard leh!
So u pump every 3hrs interval?I admire u.. 3 times a day for me to pump already makes me so tired.. Nxt week going back to work... Think need to shift my pumping timing to adjust to my working hrs.. sianz..

leeooh, yur hb v sweet. *envy* mine ah... cannot wait to escape & travel overseas for work. So happy to leave me with baby & toddler. Stupid man!

Ng, my this boy super stubborn. rather go hungry than take bottle. I tried cold turkey - he can go 6-7 hrs without milk. I gave in.... he wins.

ocean: yah lor...tat is why my breasts always v sore. i pump 3hrly unless i go out and can't make it home in time. the max is 5hrly interval.me going back to work on 7th nov. plan to increase the pumping interval to adjust to my working hrs too....hehe