(2007/08) August 2007 MTBs

alsie,
for a total new maid, it's best u have someone to monitor her rather than leaving ur bb alone with her. u dun know her well enough & some things are better to be safe than to be sorry and in this case we are talking about our bb who is still so vulnerable now (unlike toddlers who might know how to 'complain' or 'tong1 feng1 bao4 xing4' to us).

my helper has been with me only 3mths, previously she used to work for my friend & take care of her bb from day 1 to 6yrs old, then she went back to phil and come back to work for me. initately i thought i can leave everything to her but end up it's far from my expectation. when my helper was with my friend, my friend basically leave EVERYTHING to her (she's those bo-chap type), but now she's here, there is my mum & myself (sometimes) to supervise her.. and imagine all these 'terrors'.. when my bb was 1mth old, i caught my helper using the basin which i used to soak the milk bottles/teats/pacifer to soak her own clothings (and i was so sad for my gal for few day)..... she bathe only once a day in the afternoon and still carry my gal after cooking, cleaning the greasy kitchen without bathing again..... she carry my gal with her still damp & cold hands (or just pat dry on her buttocks)..... use the same hanky that we used to wipe my gal's mouth after feeding to wipe my gal's buttock..... bengz.. so now, housework wise i can 'close one eye open one eye' but i've taken over majority of the duties of taking care of my gal or at least open my eyes big big when she handle my gal's thing.

I'm back to work, tired lor...less thn 5hrs sleep. Zombie all the time in office. Sian...

Ng : I'm a working mother. Yesterday jz start work, my older boy cry for 1hr...tell me dont go to work, so sad lor...

Jang,

The hygiene kit consist of the bottles, the tubes, the white caps, the membranes, the valves and the funnels, come in a set. If you need to rotate to steralize thn u might wnt to have this set. I am using 2 pairs now...but up to individual. I have a new set..if U are interested to get the set let me know.

Garfield,

I still dont like the idea of freezing my milk. Now I'm in need of bottles to store, anyone have spare one to gv me?

an_gal/ocean/loh,
ooppss.. chloe likes both her hands.. think it's because she is "tham jia" like her mummy...hahaa... when i was pregnant, i LOVE ladyfingers which i hated for my past 30years, so maybe she's now trying to taste her own ladyfingers liao..

ocean,
that's a good one.. make bb dream in a bag. dream bag is like a blanket which is worn over our bb's shoulders. it is to prevent them from kicking away the blanket.
btw, we can keep inu's gal's pic & blackmail her if she become a star when she grow up.

jete,
i heard it from my friend re: desitin with aloe vera. still looking out for it, let u know if i manage to get it. btw, what is facebook?

ytanhn, wow thats real bad.. but I have no choice leh, there are nobody to help look after the maid. Ever since my MIL has high blood pressure, she quite bo chap already becos she says her health more important. Of cos I cannot expect her to travel here and there and I did not want to put both the maid and my boy to her house because she stay very far from us and I have to wake up very early in the morning just to bring them there. Now I also dunno what to do. sigh

Alsie, y not consider infantcare? Where do you stay? Mayb that this time to go look look c c the centres? Coz i have a few frens also put infant cares and they highly recommend lehz...i'm also tinkin of putting mine in infant care if one day my MIL cant handle bb anymore

ytanhn, a facebook is a book with a face? Hahaha....
Hmm.... so the dreambag is to prevent bb from kicking off blanket... i c... such a pretty name for the item.

Hey, i like the idea of keeping inu's gal's pic & blackmail her if she become a star when she grow up. No need star, any impt person, such as super rich or govt body or wat also can use! Hahhaa...

Pst, i noe wat u meant abt writing... used to do tat... but now, no time... with BB n toddler n pumping taking up my time.... By the time i ready to type, they cry.. n the thread move on again....

Destinin with aloe vera, thot tat is the creamy type. Last time it is the creamy type, but after they changed packaging, seem to take away the aloe vera too... Din notice it until now u all talking abt it.

Jete, think if we mixed abit of my hubby's bo chap abt the nappy cream and urs very "on" on nappy cream, it wld be perfect whereby our nappy cream are used adequately. Hehhee... My hubby always say powder is the best. The reason i think is cos powder wun make his hand sticky and he said easy to wash off too.

Menses - mine still not here yet. Last time mine only came ard 5mths plus whereby i only pump and latch at night. Hope this time also the same. Can save money for diaper instd of pad. Hahhaa...

alsie
i would sent her back to the agency and ask for another maid. if you're leaving the baby alone at home with the maid then the maid better be experienced in taking care of baby, else you'll just be worrying all the time when you're at work.

my friend asked the agency for a maid that speaks english, she got a maid that not only didn't speak english, didn't even understand a word of it. terrible.

muddypie
yeah, got helped... hubby lor.
given up on doing all the housework, cannot manage to keep up previous std, must discount, else will go nuts.

Thanks Jete: I found preview application, but when I click on it, the program doesnt launchwonder why?

Ill try one of the websites u mentioned

Lena & Muddypie: I pay Housekeepers Mgmt $248 for 4 sessions of 4 hours each. A bit more expensive than other places but my friend gave such good reviews I decided to use them, and so far, Im quite happy. The housekeepers are employees of the company. During the first session, Seow Ling, the manager, will come along and ensure that the housekeeper understands what needs to be done. The contract is for a min of 6 months, and includes a guarantee that the company will compensate for any items destroyed in the cleaning process and workmens compensation for any injury sustained by housekeeper. Contact Number for Seow Ling: 96556336

Garfield: My lochia finished about 3 weeks after I delivered, but about 2 weeks afterward I had some spotting. I thought it was my menses too, but turns out it was probably left over lochia.

Woof: I think when your menses returns depends on genetics as well. My friend told me that both she and her mum had their menses return after 4 months. This was despite the fact that she breastfed for 6 months. Ive got quite a lot of friends whose siblings are only 11 months younger than they arenot sure if they were breastfed or not, but this means that their mums menses must have returned about 1 month after they were born

Ocean: Dreambag is a sleeping bag, like the Glo Bag sold in Mothercare. Its supposed to be safer than using blankets, but I cant remember whyprobably because you wont run the risk of baby suffocating in the blanket, esp when baby starts to turn.

Pst: Yup, had the same problem of trying to remember who to reply to. So what Im doing now is typing your replies on Winword, and switching windows to read the thread. Afterward, I just cut and paste the whole lot on to this forum. Saves a lot of time not having to scroll up and down.

Agree with Jete. Once there's a kid around, must learn to live with a bit of dirt. Maid coming in only once a week can only do so much. How I wish I had a robot that could do all the housework all the time...

Well, Facebook is like friendster but more fun..I was hooked on it when my CL was around but nowadays cant even find time to switch on the p.c liao

Im also using Desitin for Mathias..the creamy one..Its really super thick but it seems to work well leh..buyt washing it off not easy..

I still dunno how to use my sling to carry Mathias leh...any website teach or not?

Btw, its been 7weeks. went to see Gynae yesterday.he say my uterus back to normal..then y my tummy still so big leh?? then he say I can exercise liao..I thought must wait few months? and he also say can have sex liao *faintz* I thk if my hubby touch me I'll run away! hahaha!!! Damn scared my stitches will tear..

Jete! Sms me when u want to go garden...i meet u..my hp no. is 92997823!

jete, same here, my hubby is helping and we're getting tingkat for dinner as currently hubby's working hour is frm 4pm to 1pm, so cannot go out for dinner. Hey, about the baby bjorn carrier, where can I get it, and how much is it. Saw on their website that they hve a few different types, which one is better, any advise?? Thought of getting one too, cause don't think my boy will be too happy with the sling, as he prefers to be carried in an upright position too.

Btw,anyone wants Friso? I got it for free then my boy drink abt 3 times only then my hubby say after we chg milk he like keep crying so my hubby ask me to chg back to S26...anyone wants I'll give u all...dun want to throw away..so wasted...

re: maid

b4 delivery, hubby and 1 agreed that the maid will take care of jaeden while we go back to work. After seeing the cute little face, we decided that we can trust no one. so, i'm declared SAHM!

Alsie,
since u have no time for maid training already, guess you shld look into the option of infantcare. better to leave to the professionals than to leave the precious to an inexperienced maid.

Muddypie,

Not sure which baby bjorn is better. but i got the one with the mesh material, supposedly to be less hot. One thing to take note though, if if baby is heavy, it really strains the shoulders and back. Unless hubby is the one carrying.

This morning brought my little SUMO to Taka in the bjorn, my shoulders nearly broke. He weighs 6.4kg.

Oh! Just to share..dun drink water standing up..my massage lady says it'll cause water retention and it will make us put on weight so must sit and drink.

And do u all know what food to avoid so that our milk supply dun stop? My cl told me b4 that cannot eat liver..so I never eat liver since I gave birth..

Re: maid
my maid has 2 daughters of her own...however, i tink still nid to train her to suit ur style...training centre in indo taught them the basic using dolls but when comes to real bb, really haf to look out...
i let her experience bathing my bb twice...not up to expectation so i decide to bathe the bb on my own.
was telling jang tat basically we wan the maid to be full time cleaning the house, cooking, do the laundry etc...but as for handling the bb onli feeding and coaxing her to sleep when i feel tat i nid a break...rite now, in the nite, the bb still sleep wif me n i do nite feed or my hubby will do it...

oh ya, when comes to housework, there's a lot of things nid to teach and show her coz they are trained in different style..will change her to suit my style...

chatty,
izzit? 1 mth after delivery(end of last mth),there's red discharge for abt 3daes n i suspect is mense...den it bcome brown discharge..it cleared up n today i haf crampy feeling in the morning and i went toilet and realised tat itz mense(i tink)...
my mum told me before tat her mense rtn after 28daes...

ytanhn,
todae i was very firm and harsh wif my maid....i let her bathe my bb...she still used her own style and actually raise my voice a bit, i watched the whole process...she apologise and said tat she will try again tml and promise to be better...den i told her straight and said tat i will let her try when the bb grow bigger..i haf no confidence in her as she has watched my style of bathing the bb y'day and she still practise her old style..

Muddypie: Baby Bjorn carrier is sold in John Little, I think. Can try Tangs, Robinson and Isetan also. What I usually do is to call the store and ask for the Nursery dept. Can ask them. For Robinsons, can also ask them to reserve a piece for you.

Mel: I was told not to eat liver too!

Woof: Same here. I thot it was lochia as too little to be mensesmust check with doctor

muddypie,
last night i went to mothercare at causeway pt & saw that the baby bjorn carriers are on 20% discount.. but i don't know when the promotion is ending or whether other outlets are having the discount. i have the original but feel it's kinda warm. the salesperson recommended the active but its support seems not as good as the original, there's another one (cant rmb the name) which is the same as the original except it has extra support on the back rather than straining on the shoulders ($200+)...

jang,
me & my hb too planned to have the maid to take care of chloe(with my mum around) while i continue to go back to work in msia but turn out a different story when chloe's out. i'm still "partially" declared SAHM, no choice as it's a family business & i hope my dad can officially declared me as a SAHM.

garfield
5 weeks after delivery, i got some bleeding but it wasn't very heavy. not sure if that was the first pp period or not. asked ob, ob also not sure. since then not have another.

zhuzhu
my baby sucks her hands like that too, in a fist with her fingers curled in. once or twice she even offers her hand to me to share the sucking. lol

pst
yeah, i find this forum's format very hard to keep up. that's why i set up the other one to use on the side.

i'm using lansinoh milk bags. love them. can get them at mothercare.

alsie
can you bring your baby over to MIL's place with the maid? she'll just have to jaga, dont have to do too much.

ETA
just saw your other reply. i guess then it may be better to put the baby in infant care.

xiaoyao
you need to register to be able to see the threads in the forum. any way the forum is more for discussions. if you're interested, maybe you can buy the book and see if it'll help put your baby in a schedule. it's supposed to make our lives easier.

woof,
ya.. my maid now is total concentration on housework while i take care of chloe myself, day & night. only when i needed a break or tired, i'll get my mum to help in feeding or carrying. if she's unavailable, then my maid. my proudest "accomplishment" is to bath chloe myself as i totally have no experience in handling bb before & in fact i feel i'm doing a much much better job than my maid.... chloe's p part thoroughly cleaned with no nappy cream residue..... chloe's hair became softer just after 2 washes from me..... chloe's hair no longer smells..... her ears cleaned daily..... i washed her back & buttock by flipping her over which my maid nvr did..... and most importantly i differentiate the hanky used for bathing, washing hair, wiping face & mouth. For her, mouth & buttock can use the same pc!!! One of my friends' maid even used her gal's underwear (clean one though) to wipe her face. lucky her gal is old enough to tell her mama that & my friend was fuming..

haaa ocean...u keep lor....next time if she realy become famous...i will let u know...20 yrs later..maybe tis forum is still on haaa

alsie, if you want infant care, must chop chop find liao.

My bb born in Sep, i sending him to infant care in Jan 08 (my HB 100% dont trust maid so no choice gotto settle alternative fast) and i already booked my space liao. i tot i was KS until the guy told me that some pple have even booked for Mar enrolment!!

I think they have very limited infant care space.. that's why slots are abit hot.

My older kid also went to infant care... now in child care cos he is 3 liao. Only disadvantage is that when he's sick, one of us must take leave cos the infant care dont admit sick bbs.

jete & mel, I'm staying at upper serangoon, near to kovan. Am hoping to look for kaki to meet up for babies to interact. Still not confident to bring bb out on my own, cause he'll scream if I leave him alone in the carseat without sitting by his side. Headache.

maids
I'm considering a part-time one first. If still can't cope, will probably get a live-in maid, as my hubby will be starting a new job with the normal working hours, which means, in future no one will be home with me to help out.

I'm going home tomorrow, which means, no more free time like now to surf the net. Sigh.......will be missing out alot again....

muddypie

me stay serangoon ave 4
me to, also looking for kaki to interact but now still no confident to bring bb out.
i think i will wait till 4-5 mths then got confident. when he can hold his head.

choco, whr is ave 4, near whr?? Actually, me not so familiar with this area, grow up ard clementi area, never know serangoon & hougang area. But hub bought this apartment at serangoon, so, hve to move here.

oh, the stadium. My place is just outside florence road, right next to punggol nasi lemak.

chatty, yah, serangoon is pretty near to upper serangoon.

last sun is the 1st time i bring my bb out to MS shopping. not a pleasure experience cos he need to drink milk every 2hrs. i leave my house at 6+, reach home at 9+. hence i eat, went to kiddy palace then go home liao.but still happy can go out.

my bb wearing his nice nice clothes given by his godparents. see his single eyelid. cos both me and hb also single eyelid. he can be the future RAIN or Jay Chou...yeh...

1014392.jpg