(2007/08) August 2007 MTBs

bliss,
most probably not shaving chloe botak, bu1 she3 de2 lei.. in fact i've cut her hair twice since birth, her hair grow super fast & messy.. all stand up when long, am so tempted to put hair gel for her.

woof,
both me & hb have big eyes, that explains chloe's eyes.. same same as ur carene, i think chloe look more like a boy too, esp her after her haircut... maybe she's looking more & more like her dad, that's why..

ivy,
chloe is on TFM & her mum feels hungry all the time because she's tham jia... trying very hard to control though but.. still trying..

ocean,
hopefully our gal will not be addicted to their own hands, if not it'll be harder to wean than pacifier. but like an_gal, seeing chloe so enjoy doing it, i also let it be (at least for now when she's beginning to explore herself).

jete,
wow.. the whole fist in her mouth.. cant imagine.. i think u hv a cheeky gal, u must have had lots of laughter from her actions. her sleeping pics.. realy leave a deep impression in me.. cant help laughing even when i think of it.

jete/woof,
i'm using desitin original. agree it's very thick that's why i use very little. so far so good so i think the whole tube is going to last me a very very long time.. i'm looking for the one with aloe vera, quite difficult to find though. cant find at many pharmacies..

pumping session again....

Yesterday, left bb with mum a while. Woah, he refused to drink milk and cry loud loud leh, v ker lian. finally coax him to take little by little in the car on our way hm. Last nite, hb fed him with bottle, he took leh. Cham.....think maybe he got stranger anxiety? coz he seldom sees my mum. Will be bringing him to mum's plc 2weeks before i start wk. muz do some orientation for him. otherwise he really milk strike ah.

Last nite was gd. his last feed 11pm. Juz took his milk at 5am. 6hrs stretch n he didn't really cry for milk but was v moving alot so latch him before he cries. scared he wakes my daughter up.

Inu, u asking me on the basin of water to thaw BM? Yah, juz normal tap water. U know just like wat we do when we thaw meat or other food stuff. Are u using milk bags? if u are, try to thaw the bags "sitting up" in case the tap water gets in thru the sealed area.

waaah, this thread suddenly flies! Bottle feedin is still a huge challenge. got pigeon, First years, avent, nuk teats all kena reject. So i fed up, juz shove Nuk. Till now still cry cry cry.

Since i'll be putting up my son in infant care, i started to hang out there to be familar with the environment. Noticed my older boy behave himself really well in school. Hmm! Only know how to bully mummy at home! He dun even need anyone to pat him to sleep in school.

Chatty, do incl me for the sleeping bag / dream bag updates. I am sooo tempted to buy.

mummies with maid.. can I just check with you do you all set up a routine for her when taking care of babies? I just hired a maid, but apparently she does not know how to take care of babies even though in her biodata she says she is able to. Felt rather cheated. Anyway, she does not even know how to carry baby, housework also not done very well.. Should I just send her back and send my son to infant care? I am going back to work in 3 weeks time.. sigh.. dont think i have much time to monitor her. Worst of all, when I go back to work, only she and baby will be home alone..need some advise

It's really been a long long time since I logged in. Really can't find time at all, gotta take care of my bb and the housework. How did you gals manage......??? Only find time now, cause I'm staying at mum's place for the week. Do you ladies have helpers at home??

My bb also like to suckle his hand, now he has rash on his face, so am trying to prevent the rash frm spreading by swaddling him up at night. Can I check, how much are your bbs eating now??

Yah, that's the headache part too. What about putting your new maid with someone to train her? That's what my mum does whenever a new maid come onboard, she'll leave her with my aunt to train her for a week.

Ytanhn: I like Chloes thick hairitll be a pity to shave it off.

An_gal: Same here, no point having 2 cot bumper and quilt sets. Ive even stopped using the bedsheet, cause I have to wash and iron it every time his diaper leaks. Now I just place a few small sized absorbent sheets on the bed and I toss it when its dirtyMy mum even managed to find yellow trimmed absorbent sheets at TTSH pharmacy which costs only $2.10 for a pack of 10

Bliss: My baby also likes to be carried around in sitting position, as he can then look around. : )

Lilyn: Sigh! iPhoto 06 doesnt seem to have quality setting lehMaybe I must buy photoshop software

Thanks Jete for all the trouble : ) Is preview the screen that displays all the photos on file? I cant find the save as function and according to iPhoto help, there is no save as function as saving is automatic

Jete: For Ameda lactaline, can u clip the engine to your belt or hang it around your neck like the medela swing?

Any one knows if PIS engine can be carried around the same way as medela swing, i.e. clipping to belt or hanging around neck?

Sunbloom: No problemso far, havent heard from anyone thoughif u want, I can still place order for u. Let me know by end of today, I want to make sure that with free shipping within UK, the goods will still make it to the destination before 27 Oct

Muddypie: So far, Ive resisted having a full-time live in maid, as Id rather not entrust my baby to the care of a stranger who may not know what shes doing, plus the last few maids my mum had were problematic (got pregnant etc)instead, Ive engaged a PT maid from Housekeepers Management and she comes in once a week for 4 hours. My baby will most probably go to infant care in Jan, when I return to work FT. In the meantime, my mum comes over to help me in the day and I cater food for lunch and dinner, so that cuts down on the housework significantly.

Muddypie: My 10 week old baby is taking between 4 to 5 ounces of BM or 3.5 to 4 ounces of FM. This is for meals that consist of 100% BM or FM.

Alsie: My CL told me how she used agent to help her get her first job many years ago, and the agent taught her to lie about her experience and gave her a crash course on the infant care and features of HDB flats (she's from JB)...guess u can't really trust agencies...if yr maid is ok in most areas, perhaps its better to just train her to care for your baby, and have someone your trust to watch over her like a hawk for the next few months...One of my friends also set up mini video cameras around the house so that she could monitor the maid via internet while at work...sometimes she didn't turn on the video camera, but it didn't matter 'cause the maid didn't know that it wasn't on.

chatty,
sorry din get bk 2 u bout dreambag...think i may give it a miss... its a bit ex acc to hubby, esp since our boy get warm v easily...looking @ alternatives fr babycentre now....
ps if u wana post photos, use flickr n set up the link here! easier tt way maybe? ;p

just finished pumping, need to go zzzz a bit more.

chatty
the preview is not in iphoto, it's a sep thing/software. you go to <finder> (that face symbol at the left most of the menu bar) <applications> <preview>. open your exported pix file in <preview>, you'll be able to "save as" there and change quality before you save. lmk if you still can't find it. i'll take screen shots for you.

i think only swing is light enough to carry around the neck. ameda lactaline may be light enough but i think it will be a bit awkward during the pumping process. don't think there are any clipping to belt.

as for the PIS, i think it's may be too bulky (or heavy?) for hanging anywhere.

loh,
realli, dono y my bb prefer left side.. slp left side, suck his left hand.. he oways slp on his left side until his head bcom sharp like "yam" liaoz..

wah, two days not online, and the tread is moving so fast...i've started work already...so challenging to find time to pump during wkg hrs...plus my office has no place to pump so usually hv to walk to seiyu nursery to pump..tinkin of stopping at times...sigh...
yesterday bb began to b cranky since afternoon..refused to zzz in e afternoon, makes my MIL so busy...then at nite refused to zz too...so grouchy..let her latch at 10pm, then bottle feed again at 1030,then stil cryg...then 1130 fed another 2 ounces..then latch again...only zzz at abt 1am..then 430am woke up again..dunno if i overfed her last nite..but i juz hope that she's feelg better today..took time off today coz too tired last nite..so far she's zzzing..so hopefully it's a gd sign...

ya, chatty, i hv the PIS. It cant b clipped on a belt ah..but it can b batt operated...

ya, you hiring maid services. How much does it cost ah? Tinkin of engaging one to relieve my MIL load...

i dun have maid but my mil is helping out as i am staying with my in-laws. though staying with in-laws can be stressful at times, but having in-laws to help out with taking care of my bb and elder gal really lightens my load. i really pei fu my mil for being able to tahan 3 kids at home....

has anyone's menses return? i gave birth on 15th aug 07 and u have red discharges yesterday. not sure if it is menses or due to me carrying my elder gal for too long tat causes me to bleed? so worried now. i am on tbf leh....so tot menses shld not be back so soon. i pump abt 99% though. last time when i tbf my gal, my menses returned 9 mths after i delivered her.

garfield, i agree completely w you...hehe...juz yesterday morning, after my MIL fed my bb at 8am (coz i was pumpg and hubby was zzing), she juz put her on the changing mat and insisted tat she shit...arrgh...but poor bb, juz wanna zzz...in e end, i told her to juz let her zzz but by then, was too late liaoz...bb cant zzz and the whole schedule of the day sort of got messed up...so angry w her!!!! Coz usually the 8am feed is considered the 2nd feed of the feed whereby bb wil zzz through til juz before 3rd feed, then i let her bathe her...arrgh..so angry..now to tink of it, stil abit agitated...then tis mornin, same at 8am, kept askg mi wanna bathe her..if she's awake...asked mi 3 times in a span of 5mins..going crazy liaoz...told her no...bb wil zz til 10plus, then stil ask..in e end, i juz close door and zzz...arrgh...

now going pumpg liaoz....

lena: haha..i understand wat u mean abt ur mil. cos my mil also like tat! my mil saw me warming up the ebm and asked me "bb wants to drink milk huh?" i said yes and in less than 5mins, she asked the same question again! i very pek chek but of course din show her my black face. i think old pple has bad memory. i try to brush it off though i get irritated at times!

ytanhn,
me too...alot of pple say she looks like her dad lor....one look can tell tat she takes after her dad not me..
ya, i feel tat the original is very thick n there's a smell which i dun like..still prefer J&J...tat time i go guardian and unity, they onli sell original but not creamy one...so i got the original one as as rash...

an_gal,
melcom looks like boy leh...maybe the nex one will be a boy...anyway itz a myth lah.....i tink scientifically still haf to see which sperm reaches the egg first...when are u planning for the next one?

garfield,
i tink my mense is here..this morning has crampy feeling and then when i go toilet got red discharge...tink is mense..my gynae told me tat mense will return after 1mth when i stop BF but itz onli 2wks fm the dae i stop BF...if BF shldnt return so fast mah..

Alsie,
i still think it is not safe to leave ur maid and bb at home alone...biodata is not 100% accurate..some how or rather shld go to agency which is trustworthy...my maid was recommended by someone who i noe so i tink the agent dares not to anyhow introduce to me..get someone to watch over her if not take no paid leave....u wont feel easy if u return to work and leave them at home alone....

An_gal, my gal prefer her right as compared to yours.

Loh, initially i also think of left-handed and right-handed. Then, come to think abt it, how abt BB who such all 10 fingers
Think is ytanhn's bb must be very smart loh!
An_gal, we better train our BB to suck both hands!
Hahahaa....

inu,
nono.gif
how can say no show.Still a dot mah. Pple also can reveal the 3dots, so from young mus train not to anyhow reveal, not even a single dot lah! Hehehe..

Btw, what is dream bag used for? Din read the details but to make bb dream in a bag? Kekee..

Feeling hungry now.. gotta go n feed my bb who had been grumbling but been rocked by me inside the BB carrier to doze off.. (bad mummy) n also to buy food for my toddler who tell me she wanna milk milk....

garfield,

aiya, my menses came even much much earlier liaoz lor...came back almost immediately after bb's full mth...bb mostly on BM, except the last feed at nite...like u, i also express mostly..

jete, thanks for the link

ng, Isaac also moves a lot a night when he sleeps. dunno if he feels uncomfortable, but I feel uncomfortable seeing him fidget all night. when I can't take it anymore, and it is near his feeding time, I will feed him as well before he cries. Find that actually like that quite good, coz then he is calm while drinking and won't choke. and after drinking he goes off to sleep easier. the only thing is I scared this might hinder him tahaning longer without milk? mummies what do u all think?

do u gals find that sometimes the thread moves so fast that you want to take notes so that you remember who to reply to, and what about? hahaha...

ng, and other mummies using milk bags - which brands you guys using? and where to get them and how much do they cost? not easy to find them, yah?

ya I am also quite worried about leaving the maid and my boy at home alone. But somehow could not find anyone to help. My MIL help me for 4 weeks than her blood pressure goes up so high. Doc advise her to stay home rest, thus I don't dare to stress her to oversee my boy. As for work wise, quite difficult to get no paid leave now leh as they are short of manpower. My company already waiting for me to return to work by Nov. I dunno should I just send her back and put my baby in infant care. Infant care also not cheap right? I think upfront must pay 2K plus?

lena: aiyo...then tat means i maybe having menses liao ah?! aiyo...why so fast. i am hoping menses will return at a later date. sigh

chatty, I'm actually thinking of getting a domestic helper to just help me out with the housework, I'll still take care of the bb myself. Like you mention, won't trust them to handle my bb. Even now when I'm staying at my mum's, I still take care of the bb myself when everyone is out in the day even there's a maid here. But must say it really ease off the load of doing the laundry and cleaning with the maid around. So, I merely concentrate on taking care of the bb that's all.

Hey, about menses, thought mine came few weeks ago, but it was only for a couple of days, not sure if that's menses or what.

garfield, at least yours came after 2 mths mah...hehe...tat means you can get ready and try planning for no.3? My hubby hinted tat he wanna start planning for our no.2..almost kanna close by him..haha..then woke up my idea la...wait til my bb is a little big older first bah..hehe...

Alsie
I'm in the same situation too. Dont know whether to send bb to infant care or to take a maid to look after him. Currently we are staying with my FIL but he's always not at home and there's already a maid in his house and if we take another one to look after our son, also scared the two maids become fren fren and dont know if anything will happen or not. If we move back to our own house, our son will be left alone with the maid when i go back to work and I'm not comfortable to do so.

garfield
My menses came exactly 1 month after i delivered even though i'm still doing the pumping actively. Told gynae but he said it could be spotting which i dont think so cos the colour was very bright and i also have symptoms like headache and cramp which i would normally experience when my menses come.

riversidetree
i dont think there is any std when the baby should sleep through the night right? prob dep on each individual baby.

my friend tried to get me to sign up for facebook, when i went to sign up, the system told me my name invalid. so silly.

ocean
my hubby opposite of yours. he's the one that finish up the cream the fastest when he's changing baby.

ytanhn
no lah, not the whole fist, that will be scary. even so just part of the fist is enough to make her gag and almost try up. haahaa, yeah we think her character will be very naughty and cheeky.

i didn't know there is a desitin with aloe vera. is that original or creamy, the one with aloe vera. how does the box look like?

ng
i think baby beginning to recognize mommy and daddy already. i left him with my bro and aunt and they said she refused to nap in the afternoon and don't eat well. but with us around, she'll nap with no problem and finish her bottle in 10 mins.

sinbloom
are you trying different shaped teats too or just same thing different brand? i've been buying a few diff kind too, cos my girl keep leaking half to the bib. now finally found one that is better and she is ok with.

pig pig, what I did was I have installed webcams in my house and I informed the maid that there are webcams around. Will only activate when I am out, but than this maid of mine, dunno how to take care of babies, I have to train her whereby me myself also karang kapo at times..thats why Im thinking whether to just send my boy to infant care, at least they are professionals

jete

ya lor..now she got used to bath..haaa..

FB is fun... already hv riverside tree in my friends list heee