(2007/08) August 2007 MTBs

Ng and Lilyn,

Thanks for the suggestion.

Went to gynae for 6 weeks check up. He did the pap smear for me and check the wound... Pap smear still ok, a bit uncomfortable, but checking wound... so painful... gynae said got excessive healing (a polyp was there) and he told me he has got rit of it... no wonder so painful..

Oops gotta go... BB awakes liao...

cin,
ur kidding! i've not even thot about this school thing! so early have to think about this??!! pardon my ignorance..do kiddies go to school at 3 years?!

Hi lilyn

i am not kidding, there r really people who really register their kids early.

3 - pre nusery
4 - nursery
5 - K1
6 - K2

Cin,
those registration required unrefundable deposit or not? kekeke me kiasu too, but dunno in the next 3 year will still be in Spore or not..

Ng/Jang

now i'm wondering if i should bring enci soon for the jab,initially hubby wanted me to wait til he's back(she'll be 2mths then).how ah...very interested in knowing what's her weight now.but she has not increased her intake.still 800-900/day.

lilyn/jete/inu

just started the E/A.S.Y routine today!much easier to start it cos morning i'm alone at mum's place.no one to gei kiang give suggestions on what to do.this morning when baby cries my parents are very excited and keep suggesting she has gas/want to sleep etc etc.in the end i brought her into a room and told them to stop talking and let me have the chance to figure out what's wrong and what she wants.turned out that she has reflux.

i like the baby whisperer book!advice given really quite sensible.esp like it that she doesn't advocate letting baby cry it out.i tried the shush/pat method last sunday and it was so effective.now i'm better at reading her cues.thinking back,we did so many things wrongly like rocking her to sleep...now must undo.heng1 she's still young.

dreamfeed:
gave enci one at 11am(120ml) last night,she still woke at 2.15am(120ml).then thought she should be able to last til 6 but no,she woke at 4.30am,then 6.30,each taking 60ml only. then i did my caluclations,turned out she didn't drink enough the day before.no wonder...

hopefully she can give me a good night tonight.(btw my sis said that she was so paranoid whenever she heard enci making any sound,she woke every hour last night!i was so tired that i couldn't hear her crying at 4.30.then told sis to settle for me and i went back to bed....so nice to be back home!;-)

nursery etc:

wow!actually maybe its because there's a baby boom this year for our little piggies la.(golden pig)i was thinking only of P1 registration.but looks like should first think of nursery and stuff.

cin,
no kidding! i was worried if my son will be able to get a good place in primary school. Forgot about the pre nursery! so should we all go register already? :x

this year seem to have LOTS of babies. when i walk on the road, in a cab or on MRT, can see pregnant women everywhere.

body aches all over:

one CL told me that this happens for all new mummies la.because we went thru delivery and are looking after our babies ma.

she told me to boil herbal tea packs(the ones we use for bathing during confinement)to place it while its warm/hot on the back to soothe the aches during shower.

and also to drink du4 zhong4 wine.that's tonic for the back and waist.

haven't tried yet though.

leooh,
why don't want to to go ahead for the jab? i brought Jaeden for the jab myself. amazingly, he didn't cry at all!

btw, something to share, i paid $90 for the 6 in 1 jab and fever meds to standby. will take the Rotavirus vaccine at 3 months, cost $90/dose(oral)

jang

hubby wanted to be involved in the experience,its a milestone thing to him(baby's first jab).but i just emailed him to ask if he minds that i do it alone...

leooh,

yeah! high five. I'm already thinking about moving house to somewhere nearer a good school. lol. heard that the baby can have priority in entering the parents' old primary school?

Hi Lilyn: Seems like its the timing of introduction of bottle and types of teats thats impt.the earlier the better. H/w, the LCs will always say that for the first 6 weeks, dont give bottle as direct latching is best for building milk supply and baby may not want to latch on once theyve used the bottle, thats why they recommend cup feeding in place of bottle. H/w, thats not been my experience so far, as my baby still happily latches on even if hes just drunk from the bottlesame with my friends

My nephew is also on TBF, and he tripled his weight in 2 months! I think its really about the quality of BM eg. how creamy it is, and perhaps genetics as well, as my cousin puts on weight easily.

Ng: Your baby is so cute!

Leooh: I couldnt figure out how to use the MIM sling just by reading the instructions, but managed to do it only with my cousins help. My baby is also buried in it, but he sleeps very soundly this way. I guess its mimics his experience in the womb, so dont worry about it. Impt thing is that his head and neck are well supported by the sling (tighten that part appropriately) and he is able to breathe.

Ytanhn & Lilyn: I ordered my dreambag yesterday because I didnt get any response here, and because I was not sure if the BP would go thru, esp since the BP info says that they need only 10 orders to get free international shipping, but the website says that you need 20 orders for the free international shipping.

H/w, if you want, Ill just order for you and get them to deliver to my cousin-in-laws home in London and my hubby can pick it up when he visits on 27 Oct 07. Hell only return to Singapore on 2 Nov 07. If you can wait that long, I can either arrange to post it to you or pass it to you directly the following week. Free 2nd class shipping within UK takes about 5 days (not counting the current postal service strike which ends today) and 1st class shipping costs 1 pound (approx S$3.10). So let me know fast (within the next 2 days).

http://www.thedreambag.co.uk/

So anyone interested, let me know within the next 2 days

Jete: Your girl looks lovely! I bought the Bumper Playmat during the Jul BP. Very worth it as I saved $30.

BB: I was advised not to buy the cotton MIM sling as its really warm for the baby. My cotton sateen one is good but I regret not getting the silk as its cool and easier to adjustplus its really beautiful under the lights.

wow this registering for school thingy is scary! and yes I agree! so many babies born this year! you know, my department (at work) alone has 5 pregnant mummies this year! and in the company have more than 20 mummies pregnant this year! hiaz! this this is worse than the last Year of the Dragon.

re: nipple confusion

there's this period where i fed jaeden with so many bottles that he kind of rejected latching on. always latch for 5-10mins den dun wan already. Anyway, i persisted. latch him for 5-10mins as often as possible and only one bottle a day.

Now he still latches, but still not for very long, he also take the bottles. He is using the NUK latex teats.

hey mummies who cut botak for your baby... did you guys bring the bb to the hairdressers to cut? or you cut the hair yourself? also, did the hairdresser (or you) use the shaver (like to cut men's hair kind of shaver)and the result is like 1mm long hair remaining or issit use a blade to shave the bb's head then result in like smooth and shiny head?

just started a new thread at the other forum, asking about bumwear. those mummies who are using, would appreciate your response there

jang, think your jaeden using bumwear right? saw his pix on the bumwear website - so cute! hahaha...

ng, your baby looks cute!!! and he looks a little like my bb! hahaha... will try to post pix... can't remember how to already... will post when I figure it out...

pst,

ur office so many pregnant ladies! know what? i'm stay on the 24th floor, there are 6 units here. There are 3 babies (including mine) on this floor. scary hor..

pst,

no lei, he never use bumwear. the initial investment quite high, can't bear to buy. wear diapers, spend the money bit by bit, wouldn't heartache. hehe..

pst: my elder gal used to wear bumwear too. i find it not bad.

me intend to shave bb's head botak when he is 4mths old and used the hair to make it into a scholar hair brush.
the person from the company who is doing the hair brush will come personally to my house to shave my bb's head and to collect the hair for making the scholar hair brush

lilyn,
haha no need to envy me leh.. he can slp so long at nite cos day time he super cranky n seldom slp, so com nite time he no strength liaoz n guai guai slp haha..

melcolm is mostly on fm cos my supply is low.. mayb tats y he can slp longer at nite.. but day time cant stretch, 2.5 to 3hrs he mus drink.. now his feeding time almost the same everyday liaoz.. i try 2 maintain everything on schedule, eg, bath, wipes, etc etc..

cin, so fast can register nursery? hw u do it?

jang,
ya, i heard tat too if u keep ur old report bk.. jus present it to the school.. most pro my bb will go back daddy's primary sch hee..

pst/lilyn,
ya man....seems like they dun sleep alot now....tink my bb is a light sleeper like his papa...hope it will not happen tonite as she sleeps more todae...

jang,
where did u go for the 6-in-1 jab? so cheap, onli $90? i thot it shld haf cost at least $200....

woof,
90 is for the first jab + fever meds. 3 doses will be abt 270.. so far, this is the cheapest i've enquired

lilyn

jaelynn is 8 weeks now. i direct latch her except the last feed at 12 plus is always eBM fed by my hubby. cos he wants to feed her. the prob is that she sleeps at 730 to 8 pm and wake up at 12 am. then sometimes will wake up at 3 plus, sometime 4 plus sometimes 5 plus. depend on her mood.

today is SUPER hot!, jaelynn is so cranky as she cant sleep well in hot weathers. whole day she only sleep 30 mins naps. tonight i will suffer.

yup i realised that for my bb too, she must have a good nap then at night she wont be cranky.

leeoh

ya for me, when i fed her dream feed same thing lor, she will sure wake up at 330 am without fail, then at 530 am. duno why.

so scary...talk abt sch already. nursery is at where? the child care kind?

Yap, the 6-1 in polyclinic is abt $200to $300 plus. Cant remember the exact price. Will opt for 6-in-1 since the price compared with 5-in-1 was abt $30 plus. Not much diff since can cut down one trip.

Last time my elder gal, we din pay anything cos we volunteer for the rotavirus jab b4 they implement. Din realised i had save so much plus free vaccine n check-up... Now dun have liao.

Sometime wonder y govt give free 4-in-1, and not 5-in-1. At the end, most of us parent will opt for the 5-in-1 or 6-in-1.

Sigh.. my elder gal dun wanna sleep now. My bb on my arm.. put her down, she cries...

Ng,

you gave away ur EBM already? hv they contacted u? was thinking of giving mine away also.

Or anyone here interested in some frozen EBM can get from me..

Hi mummies, anyone interested in the Babyrock slings? i held a BP last week but response not so good. But i managed to persuade the supplier to reduce the min. Qty to 6pcs! therefore the waiting period is nt so long ( if i were to collate 15orders initially).

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/990848.html?1191572065

I want to get one for myself too. Anyone keen, pls let me know ASAP (email or PM me). S$102 for each sling (retail at $120 )

woof,

u got a maid already? indo or filipino? later when my king not so grouchy, i PM the schedule to u..

chattypheyling

ya lor..so ex..that's why got to think twice. but look really cooling compared to the MIM sling le.

CHATTY,
if i do want to order the dreambag, do u have any idea what the exchange rate is like? just wondering, if some of the mummies here order together and combine it with what u;ve already ordered, will they still provide the 15% discount?

sorry to be a bother..just that i'm tossing up btwn ordering with the spree, or here..not sure which is cheaper really..

jete,
that's such a cute picture of ur gal!! i'm tempted to get a similar one online fr the babycenter site..its going for $13.99..
my little one's arms can come out of the swddleme! he's such a wiggly thing! grrr....

settes,
if u r getting the 5-in-1, then ur fist visit to the GP is when ur bb is 4weeks old for the 2nd dose of Hep B. for 6-in-1, go back in the 6th week.

jete,
i like ur sleeping bag..!!! makes me so tempted to check it out. btw, do u find the sleep positioner useful (is this what it's called)? thinking of getting one too but think can use til 6mths only am i right? I just ordered the bumper mat from BP, waiting for its delivery. Heart pain pain get it after hearing so many good reviews on it..

gosh.. my hb is going to chop my hands off if he knows i hv been spending money on BPs.

chatty,
thank you for the offer. i think i will check out the dreambag jete recommended, if not i'll simply get it from the BP.

pst,
i did my tai1 mao2 bi3 at JB.. they send back to spore to get it done, that's why i need to wait 2mths for it. it's so much cheaper (RM160 & less than RM100 for the box). I checked out the counter at TMC, i think it's the same as the one i did in msia but the price is so much different & they don't charge me extra for the engraving of parents' & bb names and bb date of birth on the brush.. imagine, TMC counter wanted to charge me $10 for each character on the box & brush!!! Aiyo...

hi an gal,
wat is dream feed?
n how to make BB only wake once in the middle of the nite or sleep thru till morning?
anyone can advise me?

BB, the cotton material is thick, gd for air-conditioned area but i suggest u buy either sateen or silk. Cotton very difficult to adjust the cloth leh.

Choco, ur wrist oso pain? the sinseh says it's v common nowadays, he has treated couples too, husband n wife both kena wrist pain fr carrying bb. Esp the first few mths where their neck is not strong n we have to support the weight on our wrist loh......haiz.

Jang, how come ur bb not overweight, mine is hah? hm.......but PD says if on tbm, she's not too worried. nic's birth weight was 3.32kg, urs leh?

Lilyn, fyi. i found this out coz me planning to send my 19mth gal to childcare:
Playgrp: 18-30mths
Nursery One: 30-48mths
Nursery Two: 4-4+ yrs
K1-5-5+yrs
K2-6-6+yrs

Leooh, no hurry on the vacin lah. For both my kids, hb and myself will be there to "support". Best to wait for ur hb.
If u want to chk bb's weight, carry ur bb and stand on the weighing machine lah, then u agar agar will know liao.

Tdy my elder gal took 2jabs, MMR and 18mth. poor gal crying her lungs out. phew! all over for her till another one next yr. Have to go thru the heartpainz again for Nic. aiyooo....

Pst, yh our bb quite similar leh. hahah same "mi mi yen" and pouting lips. kekekke cute leh!

Jang, me waiting for the person to collect my ebm leh. msg me once for my address, then no news liao. maybe the bb ok liao?

Mummies, dun over-indulge in those slings hor. juz get one enough liao coz if bb grows, even if they like to be in the sling, our shoulder n back v v siong one! esp for big babies and petite mummies.
might as well get a good stroller.

hi all, my bm supply is dropping!! think cos i seldome eat fish liao...so sad, all my hard work in the past has gone to waste!!!

Some of the clothes cutting too small and make my bb looks like Shrek....hahah, found too cute and ignored him crying when taking this picture...bad mummy.
1010746.jpg

Re vacination,
Asked Healthway clinic, they charged 6-in-1 for $306 (b4 gst), but no MMR and 5-in-1 booster when bb is 18mth.

garfield,
my supply also drop, think due to i stop pump at 3hr interval liao...to lazy and tired

xinyao,
i dono wat is dreamfeed leh.. for my bb, day time he seldom slp or slp veri little, so after the 7+ or 8+ feed, he will slp all the way till 12+ or 1+ then wake up.. then i will feed him n he will wake up again btw 5+ to 7am. i will make sure i last fed him at 12+ or 1+ so i can slp through the nite for more hrs. even if he still slping at 12+ or 1+, i will wake him up for his milk..

loh,
i laugh imm i saw ur "shrek" foto.. so cute...