(2007/08) August 2007 MTBs

BB

dun bother to try borders, they are out of stock. i try to buy last thurs. then on sat i went to centrepoint times (jete tells me they have it here), and yup it is still available.

lilyn

I am gng to try the dreamfeed tonight. in fact at 12 and see if it works. my last direct fed is at 930 pm.

pumping time......i think my bb didn't wake up for his feed last nite leh? Hahaha i'm still trying to recall did i feed or did i not coz it's been a routine. cham....like dat also cannot remember. aiyo my memory is failing me. if he really didn't feed, then his last feed is at 10.30pm. Last see how it goes tonite.

Doddie, where is ur GP?

Jete, ur PD so cheap? $230 for the whole 6-in-1? Let me know which PD can? Me going to do some homework to see if i can to change PD. Cookie's gal, does ur GP do bb assessment as well or juz the jab?

My bb doesn't seem to be taking the bottle so well leh. Last nite, gave him the bottle. he was playing with the teat, and took soooo long to take 3oz. He was already taking 4oz+ at 1mth during CF days. Then half an hr later, cries for milk, then i latch.....

My bb's BCG mark on his bum seems to get swollen each day leh. The injection was given to him when he was 2 day old while still in the hospital. He is now 6 weeks. Can anyone advise me if this is normal pls. Many thanks!

lilyn

my dream feed didnt work..in fact she woke up so many times afte that.

her last fed at 930 pm, then we fed her dreamfeed at 12 am. after we put her in cot, she made so much little noise like want to wake up. then finally when she goes to sleep, she wake up at 330 am ..i did not want to give her any feed, so i gave her pacifier..she suck until 4..then she starts to cry. then i know she realli wants to eat..so i fed her via direct. then she fell asleep, then she wakes up at 5 plus again..n i just give her dummy, then at 6 plus again..i again give her dummy..n this goes on till 7 plus..then ifeed her cos it alomost time for her feed...aiyoo...then why my DF dun work le..and on the contrary it worse.

pig pig,

my PD already warned me on the first day she took BCG. she said that the BCG mark will swollen after 1 mth and keeps on swelling. this is normal wor.

Muumies help! i think my bb is rejecting the bottle. Took him almoz an hour and took only 3oz! He was crying his lungs out and kept pushing the teat out. suck awhile only when he's tired out and dozzing off. so sad! wasted the rest of the milk.

inu,
ugh..had a rough night last nite too..yiheng would only take 1oz for his drreamfeed at 10.30! and then woke up at 12, 2, 4, 5, 6!! what the?? i just gave him the pacifier at 12 which soothed him back to sleep, but fed him the other times cuz he kept sleeping after only 5 mins..dunno if he was suckling for comfort or hungry for real..?? he got out of his swaddle all those times too...have to go to PD today so am SOOOO tired rite now, and will have no chance to rest this PM..

Jete,
What size does the swaddleme go up till for the small? does it say on ur productinfo? i get different things fr different sites! and since yiheng is already 4.5kg at 5 weeks and VERY long i need to check..
planning to buy it online but i don't want to get something i'll only use for too short a time (since shipping takes about 3 wks!)

Adelynn,
do u also latch? If u do latch and someone else used to give the bottle, the lil guy is having nipple confusion, same with Ike. So now when giving bottle I ask my hubby or maid to do, while with me it's latching. that way he knows when he is with daddy or maid, he knows it's bottle and if with me it's nipple. Sometimes when i have to give him the bottle myself, I sing songs and talk to him while keeping the teat in his mouth, but not pushing it.. When he is more relaxed, then he can think and then suck the teat

hey pig pig,
tis am when i was feeding my bb, i realised there was a red swell on his right buttock...i got worried n thot i might not hv cleaned him properly...its a little red n protruding...haven seen it like tis in e past...cld tis be e bcg jab?

lilyn

you also bad night...haiz now i so tired. think i will try again tonight. actually before yday night, she has been sleeping at well but will wake up at 4am ..but this mummy greedy wants her to wake up at 6 so that i can have more sleep..maybe it's retribution ..haiz..

as for swaddleme, i bought mine at centrepoint robinson. why dun u go there and take a look rather then buy from US site whereby shipping takes 3 weeks. maybe by then he doesnt need it anymore.

settes and pig pig

yah, it like a little red bump, look like insect bite kind. mine on the left buttock cheek of jaelynn.

settes

ur PD should have told u abt it when u go foe the wk1 check up.

my bb bcg also only just pop out. he is 6wk now.

my pd say MAY have pus also.

Ivy,
fortunately, work is so far manageable.
luckily during my ML, nothing much to do for colleagues (5 in total!) covering me. if not, i'll feel very bad.

Surprisingly, during working hours, i dun really think abt bb. but when i knock off, i'll rush to see him at PILs' place.
right now, bb stays overnight there from Mon to Thur

lilyn,
how long do u take to put bb on a routine....i haf difficulty coz still cant get her pattern..

recently,my girl seems to be losing appetite...used to feed her 80ml but now she onli take 30-40ml den she dun wan liao...dunno wat happen..oso i realised tat after burping her (aft feed) she wud still "vomit" milk (abt 5ml-10ml bah)and dirty my hubby or me....dunno wat went wrong? *worried*
at nite, she worst, cried and wan to be cuddle...
as for pooing, it has been 4th day since the last poo but finally todae she poo liao...

Pumpin now. Abt the BCG jsb, thot it is on BB's arm? The red mark will get bigger n then will disappear by 3mths.

inu,
thanks! at least don't have to get so worry liao. am surprised that the Pd didnt warn us when we brought bb for checkup last time. now must look out for any pus liao. bringing him for 6-in-1 jab tomorrow.

settes,
at first also tot is just insect bite lor! but was wondering how came the insect choose to bite on his right bum...haha. Like you, also tot that i didnt clean that area properly.

my nipples are very sore from the frequent pumping! me pumping 7x/day and each pumping session is 30mins/session.

thinking of pumping at 4hrs interval instead of 3hrly during the day but scared supply will drop...

ivy,
wah buy so many tings ah.. no need 2 ask hubby 1 lah, they oways no comment n ok ok 1 hehe.. i don dare 2 buy liaoz, control on expenses, no $$

which part of punggol u staying? veri inside 1?

jete,
don wori, ur paige will catch up on the weight soon

woof,
don wori abt the poo, melcolm last poo on sunday until now no poo yet.. i m still waiting man.. if today no poo means he break his record, 4 days no poo

as for feeding, did u feed baby 1 shot 80ml, i feed melcolm 120ml but usually 1/2 way i will burp him n continue to feed the rest.. so far he no vomit but sometimes will "er ni" which is common for babies..

an_gal,
i m not worried abt the poo now..i worried abt the intake tat she is drinking..so little...

well, tat time 80ml into 2 halves lor...drink half way den burp her den cont. but now, she dun even wan more than 40ml.....i noe "er ni" is common but i feel tat itz not common as she vomit lor....
den todae morning, aft 930am feed of 30ml, she sleeps for 45mins den cry, carry her den she doze off again.....till now she is still sleeping..haven bathe her too..

leooh, I re-read Order of the Phoenix & Half-Blood Prince during the last weeks of my pregnancy but my Isaac is a very smiley baby! he from his first day he started smiling already, which greatly surprised us coz we didn't think that was possible!

but during my pregnancy, my mum, MIL, and even my hubby, all want me to stop seeing dvds/movies with violent themes or 'ugly' beings (like aliens or zombies) - so sianz! end up more than 90% of our dvd collection we can't see.

hey! Isaac has the little swelling on his butt too. also just noitced it about a week ago. are we supposed to used any alcohol swabs to clean it? or clean as per normal?

you know, my isaac also is the kind must carry all the time, carry walk walk walk, cannot sit and carry, put him down on the bed and he wakes up sort. my MIL is worried coz her legs no good, and she's supposed to take care of him after I go back to work. so she say want to use the sarong yao2 lan2... hiaz... seems like a lot of our babies are like that huh...

pst

My supply increases, now morning can pump about 210ml (10hour interval). Then in the day let baby latch every 2 hourly. But lately after 10 mins suckling, baby get cranky, makes so much noise, but still want to suck
stress me out.. i thought the position not right, i lie down and she lies down also.. while latching... she cries.
I carry her sitting down latching, also cries! Stress... last week she was not like that.. she will peacefully suckle for 30-40 mins.

My baby always sleeps at 12 am sharp!!! Then in the day, seldom sleeps.. I am so tired coz have to entertain her
I thought new born always sleep through day and nite..

So far, my baby never cries frantically, only shout and the shouting will get louder and louder if we ignore her... hehe.. naughty girl..

cola
maybe since your supply goes up, the milk spray stronger into her mouth? I took the advice given to me , put baby on top of me, gravity helps..

yesterday was a torture day.
Brought bb to polyclinic for jaundice checkup on Monday. Nurse said my bb 1 month and 1 day, no more special Q. Waited 2.5hr to see the doctor, did blood test, blood must send to hospital. Results back yesterday. Waited 1hr+ to see the doctor again although got appointment. Doctor said jaundice 330+, must go hospital for further investigation. Gave refferal letter to NUH children emergency. Reached NUH, did urine test and blood test again. My bb lost so much blood these few days...so heart pain. Urine sample was contaminated wif poo; when chenage his diaper, he pee so much on the bed until the doctor went to get a 'NUH bb cloth' for us. Have to wait bb urine again. Went for lunch at 3pm. Urine sample was collected again at 4pm. Blood test results out. Lots of 'good jaundice' instead of the bad one. Doctor said jaundice might be due to bm coz bb can't digest something inside the bm. Was refer to PD in NUH and ask to go back to hospital tomorrow for review. Now still waiting for the urine results. Aft hospital tour, went to MIL place, drag until 8pm...totally a zombie aft reached home last nite. So tiring!!!!

garfield,
latch as per normal, then slowly lean your back against your sofa, lower than usual.. I used to latch with my back slightly leaning to the sofa (as if sitting properly) and the spray will annoy Ike. So I think it was Zhuzhu or Lilyn who told me to let the baby's mouth at higher position than nipple, that way the spray will be reduced

RE bb can't sleep well,
Heard sarong is very good if bb can't sleep long.

NUH doctor said must not let bb sleep more than 5hrs. Must wake up the bb if over 5hrs, coz the sugar leve will be low and bb tends to be more sleepy.

nining: thanks, i will try your method.

by the way, for those who are pumping bm exclusively, how long is your pumping session?

bb, cola,
seems like we are in the same boat, my situ is exactly like yours. esp the sleeping pattern.I'm also trying to read up on new born and tried serval ways to deal with her.

garfield,
no probs.. I pump most of the time, latch abt 2-3 times per day.. I pump every 3 hrs, but at night I sleep after my last pump (midnight) to 6 am, then pump at 6am, will give me yield same as if I pump 2 x 3hrs

But if I do 6 hrs during daytime, I would get less than 2 x 3hrs yield.

Pumping seassion is 30 min max (sometimes 20-25 min) using dual pump.

snnowy,
Haha,,,really diff bb got diff pattern.

My col worse case.
Her son will only take the milk if only they are driving...must drive on expressway with no jam, no traffic light. Once the car stop, the boi will cry and no taking any more milk....so scary.

Loh, what a long day for u yesterday. Such a long wait. Rightfully for BB less than 6mths, there shld b some priority... not sure y they din give unless there is a change of system.

Garfield, is it? BCG on buttok? Then the jab on the arm is wat jab huh? Thot it is BCG as i noe BB will have 2 jabs upon birth, BCG and Hep B. Think mus look at my bb health book.

Loh, can imagine how frustrating it is to be waiting and waiting esp in the hot and stuffy polyclinics lor. Dun worry k. Bm jaundice takes a while to go away but it's quite harmless. Lately not rainy, try to give morning sun tan to ur baby.

Ocean, yah BCG is on the buttock and only BCG will swell and got mark. the rest of the jabs shouldn't.

Calling Leooh!! hey, i m busying calling some PDs around north area to chk on their 5-in-1 jabs......after comparing, KinderClinic really charging ALOT more leh. so I will change PD liao. where u stay hah? If u also north area, i can e-mail u my excel file....still collating rates now.

For those mummies who latch on their babies :
I've a4 week old gal and she's been on TBF latch on since birth. During day time, she's fed about 2 hourly (from end of last feed to start of next feed). However, for the past week during night time, after feeding her (usually takes about an hour latch on) and put her to sleep, she will only sleep for 30-45 mins and then cry/fuss. Not sure if she's really hungry though coz sometimes she can calm down after carrying her. But once put down in her cot, she will wake up again. Sometimes she would be rooting to my breast as if she's hungry and i have no choice but to feed her again. The whole cycle then repeats. Hence i could be getting up like 5 times in 3 hours trying to rock her/feed her and cannot get enough sleep. Any mums facing this?
If you are feeding on demand, do your babies demand to be fed so often? How do you get enough sleep?
Strangely this only happens during night time. My guess is during day time, my maid will pat/carry her when she fuss, so she kind of last 2 hours before feeding again. Any advise?

ng
i'm also surprise so reasonable. i thought PD will charge much more than GP? as far as i know, we did the 6 in 1 and 6w assessment at the visit to her PD.

--------------------

Paige got her shot at the Child & Allergy Clinic at Mt E. We did the 6 in 1 jab.

Consultation: $80
Injection: $223
Medicine: $6 (stand by just in case of fever)

lilyn
i saw swaddleme at isetan scotts and tangs today, both places selling at $29.50. isetan having 15% off for all the products by kiddopotamus, not sure when the sale will end. also at isetan, there is another brand of swaddle cloth, think the brand is first year?? price is around $23.

i will go check if i still have the packaging to tell you the size.

woof
maybe try burping before the feed, read in the book that that may help. and during feed, stop halfway to burp then continue to feed? my bb used to poop every day 2x, this past week she's pooping once every other day.

Jete, MT E should be even more ex wor. Since i hv the Yellow Pages in front of me, i called them to check. For 5-in-1 jab, $88 per dose(total 4 doses to take). $123 per dose for 6-in-1. They don't have any package rate. Consultation $150 for 1st visit, subsequent $80. I'm not sure why is ur's $223 leh.

garfield
you're so hardworking, i'm only pumping 4-6x a day. no wonder your ss increase so well.

Pumping again... lucky, my mum today is here so i can log on more!

Fishy, i only latch my gal at nite. Usually she will wakes up at ard 3am/4am and 6am/7am after the EBM feed at 11pm/12am. So, it is still every 3hrs feed. But my gal will hv the 30 to 45mins pattern like urs at ard 6am/7am. She will wake up every hr crying.. Sometimes really dun noe wat she wan cos per latch on at most is ard 5mins to 12mins...

Abt the jab, so is any bb's arm got swelling cos of the jab? Thot it is BCG jab. My elder gal n myself got tat marking on the arm too. K, better chk wat jab is tat.

loh
oh dear, sorry yesterday was such a stressful day for you and bb. hopefully the PD will be able to help to resolve the jaundice issue soon. *hug*

my girl's pd said it's ok to let bb sleep until she gets up.

Ng,
the GP i go to is in Bukit Panjang (Senja). it's called My Family Clinic under the Alliance Medical Group. yhink you can check their website to see whether is there any branch near ur place

Ocean
If i remember correctly, for my bb, was told that the Hep B jab was given on the thigh (forgotten which side).

ng
dont know leh. that's what was on the invoice. so weird. unless they charged me even more, $223 per dose!!!

lilyn

based on ur routine, how long bb sleeps for each nap? did you have a time (eg, nap is only 1. hrs) anytime beyond you will wake her up so that she can have EASY again?

for my routine, she varies, sometimes can sleep 1 hr, sometimes as long as 3 hrs. dun think if i should wake her up if beyond 2 hrs. plus i worried that she sleeps so much in th day then she doesnt want to sleep at night. like yday. cos yday was the first time i put her on routine, she did better in the day but not so good at night.

jete, yes i will try again tonight. but i will try cluster feeding at 6 n 8 pm before i put her to sleep at 9 30 pm. then dreamfeed at 1130, see if it works ..

Hi All Mummies,

Can I check with u all. Do u all still do sterilising for ur babies milk bottles? Will be sending to my MIL house soon and be a weekend mum liao after my ML. However, MIL doesnt have the practice to sterilise bottles? My SIL help me surf the net and found out that actually not necessary to sterilise as last time water condition is not good thats why people sterilise now we have to practice hygiene and ensure the bottles are washed clean can liao. Is she right?