(2007/08) August 2007 MTBs

Ivy: yup...must be hard hearted...so S will adjust to school faster.

I just had a chat with Samuel's teacher awhile ago to fnd out abt his progress. My son still cries this morning in school but for awhile only, Teacher said normal, separation anxiety...otherwise he's alright.

I spoke to Samuel after he came back from school:

Samuel: I eat biscuit!
Me: No, you can't eat now, must eat your pasta now...after that then can eat. Who give u biscuit?
Samuel: Auntie give(bus auntie)
Me: Don't eat now ok, eat after your pasta.
Samuel: Aiya..Bye bye!!!

So rude hor...haahaa!

ivy,
sound like she's ok in school, just the school bus, which technically is not the school bus. it's just the point where she separates from you. if you send her to school yourself, it'll just change to crying at the school when you leave. in future you may be busy to send her, so if school bus is better for future arrangement then stick to school bus and bear with it for now. P still cries at drop off, and it has been 5 months, but the crying doesn't even last. hb said he still waiting for lift, she stop crying already.

have you tried following the school bus but not letting s know. then just watch from a dist when she gets off the bus. see how's her mood/behavior. my guess is she is doing well, just the sep anxiety for the moment when she goes off without you. ;)

maybe try to make the journey a quick step to a good end point. like she likes the big jiejie, tell her big jiejie is at school waiting to play with her or something. give her good enjoyable things to look forward to. the trip is short from you pl to school. shouldn't take her long to get use to it.

Jete

I saw your comment on my fb (cant assess in fb, saw it from my email notification).. so teething would have such high temp ar?
But his temp is like fluctuating ler… from 37.4 – 39.2 – 38.1 – 37.5… if tonite still no improvement, tomorrow morning will bring him c dr..

Morning all.

Aiyoh, today last day of the week, my samuel fell sick, fever! No school today. (He will miss the biscuits - snack of the day served in school)

morning all...

is friday so happy

every friday Melcolm will bring back what he had done in sch.. i cant wait to see them tonight

an_gal

no need the list bah

experience liao..

if i remember correctly :
- clothes and mitten booties for the baby when discharged
- night grown(2 sets) for Mt A cos they dun provide
- maternity pads (in case u finish the hospital one before discharged)
- clothes for u during discharged
- socks cos can be cold
- jacket
- toothpaste and brush NO need cos provided in Mt A
- ur IC, all credit cards (cos dun know which one got discount)

better dun bring too many things if not discharged got many things to bring back.
and also if missed out just ask hubby to take when visiting u the next day

i think is like that bah..hope my memory din fail me

Tiny
Hope Sam get well soon.

Loh
Hehe.. she can tell us what she wants and how she feels..

The principal just called me to update me on Megan’s behaviour in sch..

Usually she doesn’t shed any tears, if she did, only when I left, and it ended immediately.
But!!! She couldn’t sit still and do what the teacher asked her to do  she doesn’t follow the class when dancing, playing puzzles, etc but more interested in exploring all the materials there..
Arg.. I am quite worried if she is hyper active! I hope she is not coz she can quietly play puzzles, watch tv, listen to me reading her the whole books.. which means she has some attention spans rite..
Hyperactive kids do not have long attention span rite? Will tell the teacher to be very strict with her starting on Monday.. and get her do what her frens do!

I am so worry!

Choco, an_gal

These were what I brought to MtE:-

1. nursing bra x 2
2. breast pads
3. gurder (corsette) hehe
4. a set of discharge clothes
5. disposable panties
6. socks (in case cold)
7. face wash, moisturiser, etc
8. so he yuan (to get rid of winds)
9. toothbrush + toothpaste (I prefer to use my own)
10. my own pad ( I dun like the kotex pad provided)
11. small towel

The above are for my own, baby’s stuff I put in zip lock bag consist of:-
A set of mittens + socks
Cuddle clothes
A set of Top + Bottom

That’s all..

Called home again.. meg is napping already.
My MIL said teacher told fil, Meg doesnt want to do anything today, she only played with water!!!
argh.. so naughty!!

An_gal, she is one of the most fortunate girl, the last 1 to get up schoolbus and 1st 1 to get down. The whole bus journey less than 5 mins. Today i let her wear her fav minnie mouse crocs shoe, bobian.

Tiny, ya lor need to be hard hearted. I told my hb why not let her stop school, then my hb say whatever we have done will go down the drain.

Jete, today she gave us lotsa excuses even before she sees the schoolbus. Say she needs to drink water, stomach pain, she wants to sleep etc etc. We followed her schoolbus for the 1st and 2nd day.

cola,

dun worry, meg is not hyper-active. Clara when she was transferred from senior infant to PG that time, she also cannot sit still..at most 2-3 mins...but the teachers train her to sit properly and now, she does not walk around in class anymore....I guess meg is just not use to classroom environment...

mummiess

hpw do u lable ur kids stuffs?

u handwritten then use stoch tape or buy those cute cute big stickers to sitck like on the milk bottle, water bottle?

hmmm..do i need to lable pacificier?

Wise

Thanks for your assurance.. ya, we guess she just find the new environment very exciting, and thus cant be bothered with the teachers and frens..
Hb told me not to worry, just ask the teacher to be strict with her, and she will listen.. coz at home, if we say nicely she doesn’t want to listen, we will use strict method to force her to do what we want her to do..

Anyway, I will tell teachers her character, if we follow her way, she will climb on us.. so just be strict to her..

Clara must be a very obedient girl now
so long never see her!

Jang
Now I know why meg doesn’t bring home any drawings.. arg!

choco,
haha.. i think last time i brought alot of things, this time round i 1 2 get ready early cos I scared #2 like kor kor give me surprise..

cola,
don worry, i suppose is a new environment and Meg jus curious and wants to explore..

ivy,
don give up.. shld continue let her take sch bus.. u shld b able to c improvements soon.

choco,
i'm using those cute cute stickers customised with Melcolm's name for his bottle, snack box, file etc.. bag oso customised with his name cos last time bought from BP.. nw finally can use haha

choco,
I used marker to write Ivan's name on the water bottle. hahahah

Cola,
Hb got the same worry as urs. Ivan also can't have long attention. Today I was peeping him doing handcraft, once the teacher was away, he will immediately go off fr his chair. Teacher got to bring him back 3 times to finish the pasting.

an_gal,
ur edd is in march rite? Anyway, time to pack ur hospital bag liao...kekeke, so excited for u.

For those who is going to bf the new born, do wear nursing bra coz it can help in let-down, according to the parental craft in TMC. During the hospital stay, the staff was asking where is my bra, in bra shop arh?

loh,
ya my edd is 31st march.. but i csec in mid march pa.. i hope to csec in wk38 or wk39.. hope #2 don so gan cheong 1 2 com out.

choco
i ordered name labels from bp last time, used for anything it will stick on. waterproof too, so after washing water bottle for so many months, still ok. then for cloth stuff and clothes, iron on labels. also ordered from bp. if i don't label anything properly, the teachers will marker the items, i hate that!

tiny
hope sam recovers quickly.

ivy
just hang in there. if you take her out now, in future she also got to go to school and go through this phase and adjustment.

an_gal
you start with a basic list applicable to you now, then every time you think of something, add on to it. before you actually pack the bag, you have your own list.

we're same dr, same hospital, same c sec...... heehee
* binder you still have from mel's time? dr j will ask you to bring and they will leave in op for you. then can immediately wear for you. i had to buy a new one cos i went up one size in binder, so old one like new but can't use.
* pads. this time didn't buy exp maternity pad, just buy those super long night pads, much more comfy. but first 1-2 days, too painful to care, just let the nurse put on whatever on me.
* shampoo etc they give (crabtree & evelyn one!), nicer than the "hotel loot" we brought, so we freely used theirs. haahaa

i have to say the 2nd time in tmc was much more pleasant in the stay (worse for the actual delivery). nurses are nicer, more helpful. first time with p they were all not nice, very rough. esp the nursery staff. quite annoyed to think we spent 7k out of pocket and got crap service. this time the nurses that took care of me brought L in and out of nursery, not the nursery staff. a bit diff. last time the nursery staff are the ones that took P to us and came to take her back.

jete,
yeah, i'm gathering inputs from your to compile my own hosp bag list. I still have my binder with me but oso dono can wear or not.. anyway jus bring to hosp 1st.. i cant leave w/o tat after csec during Melcolm's time. I don intend to use maternity pad this time round oso.. imagine last time I bought 1 pack, i use only 1 piece i tink and the rest all normal night pads.. wow, shampoo is crabtree & evelyn?? so gd ah.. or mayb u stay 1 bedder tats y everything better, service better oso.. i am opting for 4 bedder leh :p hope to get auto upgrade to 2 bedder..

an_gal
yeah, the binder is good. you pack in your bag and bring with you to the hospital. you check into the room then when the nurse come and bring you to op, will take the binder tog to op, then after c sec, immediately they put it on for you. i told dr j too small then she arrange for me for a new one to be waiting for me and charged to the room.

last time i think i bought mothercare maternity pad, quite exp. and maternity pad i don't find comfy. since this time repeat c, def know wont be sore down south, just went ahead and bought normal long pads.

duno standard or not, got one nice blue crabtree & evelyn box in the bathroom. i was so surprised. :p if your hb wont be staying in the hospital with you, then not single never mind. for me not only hb stayed, p also stayed the whole time. silly girl even like the hospital food. dr j was so surprise she came to check on me, see hb sit up on the sofa then up pop p from behind him. lol

loh,
are ur boys in the care of ur bbsitter? how much does she charge u?

all talking abt sch...have not enroll carene in sch yet. Still awaiting for the cc near my place to open. Whenever i ask c whether she wants to go sch, she would ans 'bu yao'. haiz!

jete,
haa i tink the crabtree & evelyn is for single bedder since u hav your own personal bathrm. hav spoken to dr j, if my condition is ok.. she will let me discharge after 3 days although csec usually need to stay in hosp for 4 days 3 nights.. super boring in hosp ah.. only the fd are nice haha..

Mummies, am ordering name stickers and iron on name stickers from taobao.com thru a friend. If u keen, can tag along mine but will only receive early feb. Order need to be submitted by Monday latest to receive by early feb. PM me if keen & I will send u the URL to see.

Cola: Meg not the only one got needles in the butt! Sam also can't sit still, I empathised with the teachers must always pull him back, haahaa. I think new environment might also be the cause why Meg is curious & want to explore. If ur Meg can sit still at home do things, definitely not hyperactive.

an_gal,
U will be staying in TMC? Do bring biscuits or snacks coz i found tt their meals portion had shrank compared to yr2007!
Ya, the nurses were much nicer. The one who was quite rude and rough during Ivan's time had changed her attitude too. Gotten the same midwife and can still remembered a few faces in TMC aft 2yrs later...kekeke. Last day b4 discharge, a few staffs visited me for nursing purposes because patient got to fill up a questionaire b4 leaving, thus they are much nicer now.

woof,
Ya, same anny taking care of my 2 kids. $1000 for her each month.

loh,
har... so disappointed to hear that.. i'm really looking 4ward to the confinement food leh.. wah.. u still can rem the nurses ah.. i don tink
i hav mega memory like u :p btw, u stay at which lvl ward? last time i stay lvl 3 i tink..

tofu spoilt.. u got reject?? ask them changed..

an_gal
i went for tmc hospital tour last wk, the guide said evelyn crabtree toiletries only for suites with alacarte pricing so maybe now change again?
i stayed in single bedder last time with #1 and i alwys rem tht e bathroom was not even cleaned or cleared out when we "checked in" after i gave birth! with used toiletries empty bottles still ard .. i was too concerned with nursing my wounds then to care but it was stg i just could not believe nor forget

loh
i recalled food was good at TMC during 2007. was actually looking forward to food part of the hospital stay but it sounds like std has dropped - u shld feedback to them that its not acceptable

on the nursing staff i also agree there were a few real bad eggs. i met 2 when i had #1 but other than that the rest were ok & quite nice

tek_koh,
wow, u still went for the hosp tour.. toiletries not so impt to me.. most impt is the staff mus b gd and nice.. as for food, i will know in a few mths time hehe..

Jete: am ordering from www.winnyx.taobao.com

Iron on stickers is 20+RMB while name stickers is 5-10RMB depend on size/design. PM me and I share more with u re: shipping charges and my friend tax 10% commission. She does this as home biz svc, help buyers & sellers to coordinate. Can order anything in fact from taobao!

saw from 2010 thread...

any mummies here boil ginger & lemongrass to bath during confinement instead of buying those chinese herbs?

re : TMc Food
i rem the fish soup smells fishy.

loh,
the price sounds reasonable. when ur nanny takes care of one leh? do u take ur boys home everyday?

an_gal,
for #1 i stayed in lvl3. #2 oso in lvl3. could it be for the convenient of our gynae?

tiny
the link didn't work for me.

an_gal
dr j was persuading me to stay longer!! she said stay and recover, like no need $ to stay there. :p

tek_koh
is your kiddo in nanyang kindy? i remember you said you went to st james, not happy with their attitude and registered in nanyang instead. with P i was in a single room that wasn't renovated. the room was so dated that it looked dirty, though it was clean. this time we took the balmoral suite, so maybe that's why they provided the crabtree and evelyn stuff.

woof
i was also on 3rd floor with P. this time on 6th floor.

re TMC food
i thought back then and now about the same leh. every day also have soup, food portion quite a lot. i heard of all the hospital tmc food considered good. my sis's fren delivered in another hospital, every day made the hb go to tmc and ta bao the food. apparently there is some kind of service where you can order their hospital food. never heard of that before.