(2007/08) August 2007 MTBs

Hi Choco & Miaon

You got PM! No deadline ..shop at your own pace but there's only 1 shipment per mth to Singapore on average, unless festive season got alot of orders. My friend only ship out to Singapore once she gathers 20kg of stuff. So you can order anything basically from TAOBAO.

Cola/Loh/ An_gal,
thank u.. now get myself busy tomorrow got drill with SCDF.. at least keep me occupied loor.. Ike has runny nose starting yesterday, duuuh.. He just got out from his stomach flu!

miaon,
yeah, u are rite..fm fuhua one is $2/pkt. i cut cost, use 2 times before discard.

nining,
hope u are better now..

choco,
yap...i agree tat for preschool, most imptly is the social skills. as stated if complusory, den parents like us will be kaisu and gancheong so start comparing to put our kids in the best sch. i guess most imptly is the teachers in the school and not the reputation of the school. afterall, itz the teachers tat influence the kids..

loh,
so 1 is for $600 and for 2 is $1k, got discount huh...not bad..
still wondering how much will my nanny charge.

an_gal

read from ur blog that u bought a pull out bed from sea horse.

how much is it?

hb is also thinking of that so he and baby ze can sleep together (although i think is very difficult)

choco,

total we spent $604.60 for the bed.. here's the breakdown..

Bed - $289.50
Melcolm's Foam Mattress (lower bed) - $44.50
High Resilience Mattress (upper bed) - $191.60
Delivery & Assembly - $79

I did not spend alot on Melcolm's mattress as am afraid that he will urine onto the mattress in future.. i paid more for upper bed mattress as most probably my mum will slp when she's helping me during confinement.

an_gal

good thought on the urine part.
will discuss with hb 1st...

gosh, i am going to be broke...am buying shelves and computer table from ikea..+the bed...

morning..

choco,
so far i find seahorse quite ok lah.. the rest like those designer bed quite ex lo.. no pt.. can i check u bought shelves frm ikea isit bookshelves? I wanted to buy a small bookshelf for Melcolm's room oso..

have #2 really broke hor.. haiz.. mus budget..

Jete,

the pre packed herb bag is working well for me, for #1 i also use similar thing and it's ok, but during my maternity maybe bcos it's too hot plus i sweat a lot, my neck there got a lot rashes, dont think it's due to the herbs as neck only.

btw, mummies who have constipation problems, can try the fiber from BP, i bought 1 box to try out, super effective for me, used to go to toilet once every 2 to 3 days then after drink it can every morning go twice, super good feel, only drink 2 days then my pants already too loose.haha, i'm so happy with it and ordered another 3 boxes.

think theres 2 BP selling all same price, the one i bought is this one.

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/cgi-bin/forumboard/show.cgi?581296/3406459

Xman,
I also ordered the fiber drinks. I found the taste very awful. hahaha... but agreed that it's really good for constipation.

Woof,
U found ur nanny? Yes, 1 kid for $600, 2 kids for $1k.

Morning mummies..

Today I brought meg to sch, my In law went to ICA.. she was a brave girl today.. she didn’t cry, happily said “bye mummy”, and carried her own bag and walked into the school :p
Haha.. so happy, she really made my day!!! :p

an_gal

i am not buying bookself but just a shelf for my 'ja ba lang' but it can also be used to put books and can choose to have it vetically or lie horizontally so i guess u can use it to put melcom's books also

cola,
I was missing a few passport photos of Ivan and mine for nearly a year at ICA. 1 yr later when i went there and surprised to see our photos were placed as the good model and bad model on 1 of the photo shop...I asked the auntie to return them to me. She returned a few inside her drawer but she didn't take down our photos. So those who visit ICA might still able to find our photos there!!!

Loh

Really? So for those who popped to ICA might see Ivan’s and Loh’s face hahaha!

Argh.. now I am contemplating to get a maid.. and need some advice here..
My boss kept asking me to stay and proposed me to work from home..
By working from home, I definitely need a maid so there is someone to do housework, and maybe keep a close eye on my wiggling boy and girl..
and if I need to go meeting or pop by office once in awhile, I shall bring my maid and my kids along and wait for me..

Anyway, I am still waiting for their proposed salary, if my salary was cut too much, I wouldn’t consider working from home already…

Actually working from home not bad hor.. one thing is I still can use my knowledge and experience and earn money (for my own spending) and at the same time can be with my kids! This is the most important part!! :p

Nining..
Need your help, my mum asked me to bring her maid here.. u have any idea of how to register and all sort of things? I doubt my mum maid is 23 ler.. she looks much younger than 23..

Nining, sorry to hear that Ike got the stomach flu. I just brought Samuel to PD last night, after 5days of fever, he is down with flu and cough. PD told me there is a stomach flu virus on-going out there now so take extra precautions. Am keeping Sam at home this whole week till he gets better, don't want recovering from tail end of this viral infection and kenna another strain of virus, will be very torturous for both parents and him! Chinese new year coming soon...pray for good health for all.

Cola,
her passport must indicate her birthday so that her age is > 23 yo if you know what I mean ;)

First you take employer orientation course and must pass it , register via MOM online but course conducted by Poly online also. Then u can file application to MOM online (get insurance and the bond / waiver ready - can get from ntuc).

After you receive in principal approval, your maid candidate can come, take the exam and course (run by MOM) and also take medical test. If she doesnt pass MOM exam, she can retake within 3 days only. Medical test must be taken within 14 days of arrival. if she fails any one of them , she will be sent back to indonesia immediately, ICA will not allow her to stay more than 3 days from the moment she enters Spore, unless she has the pass cert of Safety course and no more than 14 days unless she pass both exam and medical test, which means her work permit will be approved. During waiting for these two to pass, she can stay with u n start work, but once she fails you must make sure she is sent back to Indo if not your bonds will be forfeited.
You can find out all info in MOM website here http://www.mom.gov.sg/publish/momportal/en/communities/work_pass/foreign_domestic_workers.html

Note that under any circumstances, she should never come to Spore while in principal approval not granted yet. She cannot enter Spore under visitor pass then change later into work permit as that will be entry with false pretense and you will get fined.

Once she has work permit, go to Indonesian embassy, make sure she got in her passport your SIN home address, so when you go back to Indo and take her, or she goes balik kampung, she won't need to pay for fiscal tax.

Tiny,
Ike had it from phuket trip, but now he's healed.. he's now having common cold, cough n runny nose, plus teething!

Cola, btw u must get her get passport first before u can apply online hoor.. cos need to indicate her passport # n bday date..

Thanks Nining.. we wil consider one, i must urge my boss to give me the confirmed salary amount..

Wah we have to take online course.. and i am doubtful if the maid can pass the course hahaha..

Yes, i get what u mean by more than 23 yo :p

An_gal & Woof
much better today, although this morning I stoopid open facebook then open the link of pictures of the funeral.. then cried again looor..I think I can only see once I can deal with the loss..

Mommies
btw yesterday I brought Ike to my GP, but specify to him that I want to get some singulair the chewable ones, he gave leeh.. he gave 14 dosage but the pharmacist only issued 7 pcs (maybe due to insurance limit - I dunno that pharmacist can have higher decision than the doctor..)
still cheaper than going PD.. singulair at PD is S$5 / pce leeh.. GP is company sponsored..

Cola,
the employer course n exam is easy.. the maid one is pretty easy if she speaks simple english. but if not then impossible to pass looor.. give a call to MOM ask them if they can exempt her from the exam since she will work with u directly n speak same lingo..
btw u should read www.detik.com :D anything can happen in our beloved country, including a prisoner having a facial treatment in her cell hahahahaahahaha...

Loh

Still on initial stage of nego, lots to consider as well if it is approved, get a maid? (will tis work?), then I have to use my home resources to work, etc etc etc.. so I shall see their final offer, if it is really a not worthwhile option, then I will drop it and concentrate on my 2 wiggling worms :p

Nining
Thanks, I shall KIV all your advice. Thanks so much dear. U know, indo maid doesn’t noe English (not even simple one). Hm.. maybe I should call MOM and check first.
She was with my mom for the past 2 years (and finishes her contract), and she is keen to continue working (now without contract) and my mum is paying her more salaries coz she is pretty good and nice.
My mum was telling me, if I really want a maid, take her coz she is good (proven)..

Oops, please dun go and c the facebook for the timebeing, it will make u feel sad again (which I guess it is pretty normal for almost everyone).. Cheer up girl!!

What is singulair??

coolzy,

haha,ya,the taste not so good, after a while it looks like jelly, and when i drink it i almost puke, but pobian,my constipation very serious, other things not working for me, so tried this and so glad it works like magic.

cola,

working from home and earn similar or maybe 80% of yr original salary will be super good things.but agree sure u need helper else can't concentrate on work.

zz,

didnt recieve yr friend's email/pm yet.

an_gal,
yeah..expensive hor..i oso add on to the furniture..
bot a divan $150 and seahorse single mattress $236 i think.
as for the charges for nanny, i tink she very "shui bian".
bookshelf? why not u try carefour or giant..sometimes they have cheap one.

coolzy,
gng back to the same nanny. was thinking can be cheaper than $1k...keke

nining,
the singulair tat PD prescribed to carene before is in sachet form..din know tat it comes in chewable one. the powdery form, so difficult to feed carene.

<font color="ff0088">faints
My dad told me Tricia called the teacher "auntie" today!
she also refused to talk properly.. talking gibberish</font>

Cola,
My maid speaks pretty decent english now but when she started she super blurr in english, lucky she started work also with indonesian so easier.. She said in Jakarta got a maid camp that drill them how to answer the exam, you can do this yourself by downloading the examples from MOM sample questions online. I think can do if she pass SMP, she passed SMP, right? SMP is the minimum requirement.
Singulair is the meds to open airways and to make the throat less irritated for babies / toddler. When babies usually the sachet powder one given, only take before bedtime mix with milk.

Woof,
Since 2nd year Ike has been taking the chewable ones when he needs to, we told him its candy hahaha.. so he chew happily.. We also had problem with the powder one cos if mixed with milk, then it gave no effect yet when we tried feeding him milk then of course puke and gotta restart.. Now chewable one I give abt 1 hr before bedtime so by the time he's taking his last milk of the day his throat can take it..

ZZ,
hahahahaha Auntie Teacher!! Usually when too tired or sleepy cos wakes up too early in morning, Ike also will give the teacher all sort of nonsense too..

tiny
mumtobe2006 is ivy, our shopping queen. the stomach flu going around is very bad, pd said if the person vomit and you are in the room, can get it as well. p was down with it ny eve until the following wed.

nining
time helps though it doesn't heal. hugs.

xman
does it work if you take 1 or must take regularly. cos my mom some time constipated, wondering if this helps during the time.

zz
now call teacher auntie not so bad. last time in P5, my classmate, a guy who is our monitor, went up to the teacher and called "mommy". the whole class laughed till fell off the chair. teacher laughed till tears came out. he poor thing stood there all red.

zz,
haha they really hav alot of pattern when go sch hor so funny leh...

woof,
i seldom c furniture at carefour &amp; giant.. cheap? I thought Ikea sometimes cheap oso hehe.. the bookshelf is pending.. not that urgent, will buy if i c.. mus settle the bed 1st cos 1 2 kick Melcolm out frm his cot for #2 soon hehe..

the child care need to do retification work, have to wait till feb then can confirm when is school opening...so baby ze is spared for now

Jete,

I just started drink 2 days, so far so good, every morning go toilet twice, just now heard from a colleague that she has drink it for quite some time and she only drink like 2 sachet per week,and it works well for her too, if yr mum condition not as serious as mine then may just drink it when needed. i will slowly cut down to every 2 days take 1 to see if still can go toliet everyday.hehe.

Xman

Long time no see! How are both girls? :p

Re: work from home
Stil on KIV mode.. :p I don’t put high hope.. more looking forward to sending meg to and fro sch haha

Nining
SMP.. hm.. I am not sure, but she definitely can read and write coz she everyday reads newspaper one hehe.. my mom’s house, nothing much to do, except a bit of housework here and there.. no kids to take care, so she is very free, even can nap haha.. my mom wouldn’t mind as long as she does her work..

Ivy
I am gonna be one.. meaning I will have very little time to go online also :p lots of my colleagues told me “u will be bored” “ are you sure you want to give up “ “it’s losing touch with the world”
Lots of discouraging words..

nining,
i thot singulair is to clear the phelgm. prescribed tog with cough med.

an_gal,
can try see look, see look at giant and carefour.

choco,
me too..awaiting for the cc to open. expected to open in mar...

An gal

Melcom is so cute. Food makes him go crazy.
The snack is prepare by u or school? Maybe can ask the school to give him more

Woof,
not clearing pleghm but to make the throat less irritable.. in part indirectly remove pleghm after taken to make sleeping easier but not for curing pleghm loor.. yes prescribed along with cough meds.. but hoor I found 2 of Ike's prescribed meds can buy from guardian one: bambec the slow release one and zyrtec for the respiratory allergy.. maybe I should ask if the singulair also can buy off shelves hahahaha..def cheaper than PD!

Cola,
yep must pass SMP or madrasah equivalent to SMP (Tsanawiyah if am not wrong), MOM's minimum requirement.