(2007/08) August 2007 MTBs

Hi Babyspike,

I'm a SAHM in Woodlands. But legally I'm still a working mom cos my family owns a furniture shop and I still gave myself abit of salary to survive even though I don't go to work.

Wanted to go back to part time like 4 hours for 3 days but my parents-in-law not willing to look after her for 6 hours. Husband also say if I don't look after, what for have children. I'm lazy so I tell My dad all these as excuse not to work. But really not enough to spend leh... I like to buy things for Kai Qi

I might consider those half day classes when she turns 18mths maybe?

tiny,
Ike's been having whole hard boiled egg since 10 months old. I started him on both yolk and white since he was 7 months, only 1/4. then increased to 1/2 soon after then whole thing since 10 months..

Ike's been in the swimming pool few times in a week since hubby not travelling.. he works from home when not travelling so during his lunch break he will bring Ike to the pool when it's sunny.. so Ike's now not so pale anymore heheheh.. but most of the time they just play together.. we don't wanna push him to learn swimming just yet.. just want him to have watermanship confidence level built up.. he's a bit like me tho, not confident with floating on back although I can do, but only when am totally relaxed.. when am stress cannot float on my back.. total opposite with his Dad who loves swimming on his back..

twinkle2, 2x cuteness! how do you manage specially now they are soo active, right?

babyspike, what's the benefit of TMC junior angels club?
i also gave birth at TMC but did not sign for any.

tiny, i bought the thermal swimwear with free swim nappy from 1 of the spree (im now spree-addict)
is that enough to keep the poo if ever my son poos in the pool?

miaon, glee, my son had his first swim last weekends. and he sooo love it.
it was in our friends condo pool, there was a kiddie pool so we 'swam' there, steve has his neck float on.
he was soo happy, flaps his arms, as if he want to go for 'free-style' hahaha!
im planning to bring him to wild wild wet one of these days. hopefully the weather cooperates

IC, so thats the purpose of swimming diaper. nv cross my mind that they will poo in the pool...hahaha

i also have not bring my boy swimming, so miaon, shake hand...

Brought Mathias to Wild wild Wet yesterday and he Loved it!! Maybe u all wAnna` consider bringing your lil' ones there..They have life jackets that fit Mathias so we let him wear it for awhile...he loved lying down in the water while wearing the life jacket..will post the pics once I have time to resIze them

Re: Holding bottle
Mathias started holding bottle since 4 mths plus..I would always placed his hands in the holding position around the bottle but I will hold onto his hands so he` cant let go..and finally one day he realy held onto it himself so maybe gotta practise hodling it with them for awhile b4 they can master it...

Btw, so far what words do your babies know how to respond to?

miaon,
they sell the swim diapers at cold storage.

Talking abt milk bottle gave me a funny though.when I make mathias' milk I will make him crawl to the mattress in the living room then I will tell him to lie down and wait for him to lie down b4 passing him his milk bottle..whenever tis happens, I dunno y the tot of training a dog comes to mind..very mean hor??

Mel, when I read abt the dog part, I laughed out, cos sometimes I hv same sentiments for my boy!! When RY crawled below the dining table and his hair brushed against my leg, and when he looked up at me wanting the food I'm eating I can't help remembering my sis' dog :pP..

jessel, more info on TMC's JAC membership can be found at:
http://www.thomsonmedical.com/junior_angel.htm
I rem it gives $15 off trial class for Kindermusik, and many other discounts for enrichment classes.

twinkle2 and jenny, nice to know there are some SAHMs here too
. I'm currently on NPL, so have to return to work next Apr, but luckily timing's just right when RY turned abt 18mths so I can put him in a CC. My hb and I can't help feeling sad that we've to let someone else bathe him cos we are so used to doing it ourselves. Initially I feel so upset to 'sacrifice' my career for him, now I feel so upset to leave him for work soon.. Arghh!! What do you gals do at home, esp when your kids are asleep? Besides cleaning up, I'm always in the internet..email, play games, read forums and info on websites, check deals..like wasting too much time on it hor.. :p

I also bought the huggies swimpants from Toysrus. Kiddy Palace sells swim pants and shirts at pretty reasonable price. Think I'll bring RY to a heated pool for his first deep, esp recent weather's kind of cranky. WWW's def more exciting for kids, so will give it a try if he's ok with water

miaon,
elder one got birthmark on her hand mah!

Jessel,
no choice lah, die die also must manage with the help of my poor mum haha!

me too a spree addict after just 2 attempts. like the excitement of opening the letter box for my purchases. die lah, spending without earning.

mel,
my gals will do the relevant actions when i say for example twinkle twinkle, clap your hands,scared scared etc....

babyspike,
not much free time leh, especially worst if they sleep at different times, even got to cater our dinner, yaks?

BTW, anyone know how the childcare identify whether u r a working mum or not? if working part time how?

twinkle2, every year, the CC will need a letter from your company indicating your employment status, so that the subsidies apply. Hey, come to think of it, you are lucky! hiak hiak!!

oh ya, two is def more difficult to handle, but they are so sweet, so it's worth the efforts one shot for two. hehe..

wonder when is the next gathering..

jang,
rem tat time we discussed that when our babes know how to walk, we will do a gathering at the botanic garden? hehe

Chocomec,
I think i would give tomolo's trial a miss.
Hb coudnt join in ler..he got class in the morning.

Thanks for the info btw.

Oh yes,forgot to update u all abt the pain and bleeding I was having..my gynae said it was ian infection so those of u who also experience pain during sex, maybe u want to consider seeing your gynae..

Woof, really mah..I say lie down then he lie down and wait for his bottle with his outstretched hands..like little puppy..

babyspike,
Mathias crawls under the table too! When he does that I call him kitty cat..cos he reminds me of the cats at hawker centres..(which I totally hate)

jessel: not sure if swim nappy can hold poo anot cos' dunno how it looks like. you make me sound like am an expert in swimming, in actual fact Samuel only get to swim once thus far, haahaaa! Each time i plan to bring him swimming, either rain or he's sick, so un-timely...Argh!

Mel: whoa! so adventurous to bring Mathias to WWW...i shall try out the one at jurong east swimming complex 1 day, hee hee! Hope your infection is not serious, take care.

Maybe we can org. a swim outing 1 day, all babes in the west will gather at jurong east swimming complex and the ones in the east will gather at WWW!

tiny,
the babies in the north east can go to the new pool at anchorvale!!heheh!!Maybe I ok w bringing him to WWW cos we bring him swimming every now and then
so I knwo he loves the water and that he'll enjoy himself..he was having a whale of a time going down the slides with his daddy..kept asking for more..

Re: Pics at WWW
I realised most of it have my hubbies hairy body and flabby belly..hahahahah!! But I never upload to pc yet..was looking thru it on the camera earlier then I realised..hahah!

jessel,
i think wild wild wet will be closed next week, u might want to check it out before going.

mel,
i bought chloe to wild wild wet last week, she loved it too. BUT she enjoyed so much that she kept rubbing her legs on the rough flooring in the pool tat's why got a cut or two.
so far, chloe knows a few words like chloe, shoes, tu-tu, clap hands, bye bye, mirror, superman, milk, close, open, drink water etc.. but depends on her mood whether she wants to respond. she can recognise all my family members too, if that someone is not at home when we asked, she will go look at the photos. so cute... they are like a sponge now at this stage, hmmm... must take note of my own behaviour liao.

ytanhn,
Mathias' knees bled cos he was crawling in the waddling pool at WWW...but he was too happy to bother..me and hubs were the ones who were freaking out.. Yah, they are really learning fast..now my boy can do actions for twinkle twinkle little star and "when you're happy and u know" and he knows who is my his grandparents and aunties and uncles..he knws clap,yes,no,drink water,head, ears,mouth,nose,mum mum (food/snack), milk milk,hi,bye,flying kiss,lie dwn,then he will roar when he see picture of tiger and make a monkey face when he sees a pic of monkey..alot of things..They are very smart to copy us now..better behave in front of them..heheh!! Btw, Im curious..what does chloe do when u say superman?? But isnt it a great feeling when they suddenly do something new?? So exciting...

choco,
money not enough very touching right.. see the greatness of a mother and the selfless love of the mother to her children and she wil always stand by them no matter how they treat her. sigh.. sobs..

jang,
me busy trying to find some classes for kedric to exert his endless bout of energy .. hahha.. rhythmn in me i wonder will it be similar to kindermusik hor...

ytanhn,
ohh she can eat nonhalal de ah?? then she really spoilt hehe. i look forward to seeing you gers tomorrow.. kedric will love being around pretty gers haha

chloe takes chwee kway??? with or without the topping?

wah ur maid best!! ur fren one even better.. icecream.. hahha

wah i must also try to let kedric self feed. he self feed biscuits, fries (haha), fruits, veges...but never try using fork though..is the combi one good?

an_gal,
i cheapskate mum.. used J&J since day 1 hhaha.

can kedric have some mee sua too? yum yum
miaon,
hehe i tried letting kedric kiwi recently.. he gave me a strange look. can i ask which is full cream fresh milk?

twinkle,
me too so i am trying to go for different classes and see if he enjoys them..

wahh ur gers look so cute.. i wanna pinch pinch.. mirror image loh

happy birthday to ur gers!

tiny,
gimme gimme ur blog add..i wanna see. heh

loh/glee,
tot MMR is to be only taken when baby is 15 mths?

choco/miaon/twinkle,
you can use the huggies swim diapers.. can buy from any supermkts ah except for ntuc and ss i got mine from carrefour... yea the pools tend to bave a bit more chlorine. esp public pools so must be careful not to dunk them underwater coz will sting their eyes and become reddish.. tats what happen to kedric when i brought him to rasa pool.but wild wild wet is fun. brought kedric there before during my auntie coy family day and he lovess it

ning,
oh yes.. ike loves water yea,,hehhe i rem his picts

mel,
you sooo mean... to say mathias like tat..but hor.. i also think of kedric tat way.. ahha high five

i hope ur infection is not serious and it will go off soon..

rc_cola,
no worries.. me going to see if i can org a my gym one next week.. let you know again.

woof,
yea gathering sounds good.. i haven meet u ladies yet..but kedric cant walk yet.. sigh

miaon,

If u dont need the swim diapers urgently I can pass u one pc of Mathias' to try out..DO u live anywhere near punggol? Or work anywhere near tanjong pagar??

Re: My infection
Gynae gave me something to insert for 7 days and he told my hubby..no sex for the next one week..haha! He says if i still have cramps and feel pain after 1 week I gotta go see him again..weird thing is that its an infection but no itch or discharge

mel,
hshsh i like tat.. hubby must be hoping that u get well reslly soon. heh.
tsts weird.. no itch or dischsrge.. but gynse got say what cause the infectin mshz

hey,

anyone have any reviews on the little gym aat the forum? whats the diff between that and my gym? sigh so many options.. so little time. ahha

Chomecc: here you go, the-joshuafamily.blogspot.com .

Mel: Miaon works in Temasek Tower, next lunch date, we can jio her too. hee hee!

re: swim diapers & swimwear

i bought the huggies swim diapers at Giant and Carrefour.. Jaeden has a swimsuit and recently bought a thermal swimwear

if i'm not wrong, there is reusable swim diapers.

long time nevr write liao... can ask u all 3 qns?

1) wat types of schools/enrichment schools(good ones) shd we enrol for our little ones tis age 1 yr old..pardon me for my ignorance.. wat is GUG? JG? which schools?

2) which vcds did u all let ur babies watch now?

3) wat toys shd b suitable for them at tis age-1yr old???

i just came back from mygym.

overall experience is average. not very good but also not too bad.

he had a good time playing there.at least he got a chance to interact with other babies

chomecc, ythan
hows the busy bubby trial?

can check with those who tried trials lessons liao, after the lesson any in charge hard sell u all to sign up for the classes? want to go for trial le, but scared of these hard sell thing.

twinkle

i went to mygym, no hardselling, in fact they did not even TRY to promote!!

i still have to walk up to them and check. is it consider bad service?? hahaha

i utimately will sign up for something, its either a play gp or those gym class.

will try for the BB trial later

choco,
yeah, today is sunday.. everyone is busy with family day. i'm waiting for chloe to wake up from her nap then cheong out to somewhere. sigh... HFMD is reaching epidemic level again, think would most probably avoid places with many kids for the time being.

chomecc,
thanks for organising the trial and nice meeting u and kedric too. chloe was not behaving herself and got distracted by all the toys there. she's best behaved during free play and snack time. kekee... anyway, she hates to be restricted to do things against her wish. she's the 'own time own target' type. *headache*

So, how did u find the class? did u sign up?

choco,
personally i dun like the BB lesson. my friend also went to the trial with me, we didn't sign up and the main reason is because the lesson is conducted by philipinos (sorry if i offended anyone by saying so). anyway, we both prefer GUG.

mel,
superman? kekee... with myself lying down, i would ask chloe, "do you want to play superman?" and she would climb up to my body. I'll just use my 4s to hold her 4s and fly her in the air.

Finally brought RY for his swim yday
. He enjoyed it alot, patting the water in his float..waddled his arms and kicked around when I held him submerged in water. Think I'm the one tired out more cos I was 'desperately' bobbing up and down to work out my fat thighs, then by end of day, they begin to hurt :p. And ooohh.. the bathing part, it was the first time he had shower from head to toes so was a little afraid, and I've to shampoo and bathe him asap. His face had a bit of outbreak in the evening as his skin is very sensitive, more prob becos we didn't use the sunblock cos thot it's only his face that's exposed :p. But it has subsided after applying his creams.

twinkle, so far I only went to GUG and PlayDays trial and they didn't hardsell. GUG frontdesk is known for not bothering to market..if you read some forums here, some mummies are not pleased at this aspect of their service.. keke.. just tell them you'll consider if anyone really bug you.

choco, ordering thru abbott website is still cheaper - $26.34 for 900g GainIQ, plus hv rewards pts that can be used to exchange for small tin. They also sell 1.8kg tin. See:
http://www.abbott.com.sg/es/main/www.abbott/main_recat6.aspx

Hiya Babyspike,
I've tried that link.. the price is all without the GST, after with GST same with shop price I think heheh... but yeah rewards point are useful..

wish to share this..

i have heard of 'night terror' from my ex-boss but did not do research of it. today it happen on my boy..

my boy was sleeping on my bed(abt 2hrs already) while i surf net then he started to be restless, figeting then cry.
so i went over to pet him, no use. i can see that he try to flip over but could not do so.
then i carry him up and try to put the pacifier into his mouth(which normally will work) but he just keep cyring and the pacifer drop out.

after a while then he settle down and fall back to sleep.

a search on the net shows this as night terror
http://www.babycenter.com/0_night-terrors_142.bc

chomecc,
J&J not cheapskate lah.. i oso use J&J products :p my mee sua so so oni leh.. not as nice as wat u tink leh.. scarly kedric don like..

chomecc
i was refering to the fresh milk that we buy from supermarkets like marigold. read somewhere to intro after 1 yr?

mel / tiny
yapz. lemee know when u next gather for lunch...haha.

i remember that 1 mummy bought the mambo float and teh swimming "tank" issit? was it bliss? i interested to get one leh. but dunno where to get. can advice? how much huh?

chomecc,
I placed the pills in the toilet and yesterdat my hubby saw still have 4 then when he came out of the toilet he complained "wah! we cannot do anything for another 4 days????" hahah!

Re: GAIN IQ
Anyone managed to find any lobang? I bought 6 cans got 1 can free from Guardian cos got the voucher from abbott and got another tin with $3 discount so still not too bad but once this supply finish then need to start sourcing for cheaper alternative already.. cos now that he no longer has FBM to drink he can finish 1 tin in 1 week!!! OMG!!!!

mel
if got lobang let me know oso. my boy drinks Gain IQ too.. =) btw, 1 tin in 1 wk? u bought the 900g tin issit? the 1.8kg tin slightly cheaper leh.

oh ya, I forgot abt the GST too. paiseh.. miaon, my boy also takes abt 1 tin per wk, so to save the trouble of carrying, I'll order directly from abbott's website (8 tins each time, i.e. above $200 for free delivery). Yep, 1.8kg tin is cheaper, but depends how fast your kid finishes it, and your preference of how fresh you want the powder to stay. Considering the rewards pts, I opted for 900g tin even though it's still a few dollars more.. oh ya, if your PD's clinic has small sample tins in stock, can get one also, since guess most of our kids are due for their jabs? muahaha.. Jialet, I've became real cheapo and auntie now after having a kid :p.

Mel, your hb's really funny..haha..

choco, can I have the link to your blog? I've not attended mygym and interested to see how it is like. Thks!