(2007/08) August 2007 MTBs

Shuxian
kao_welcome.gif

Bundle of Joy
i believe avent has discontinued the disposable system that was similar to the playtex drop-ins.

chatty
i was too lazy to try to make the file size small enough, so i just upload it to flickr and link it. there is no limit of file size if it's just linking to an external site. on a mac, you should be able to just drag it to the desktop and it'll be "downloaded" to your computer isn't it? i'm not so good with mac, mostly still using my laptop much to hubby's dismay.

Bundle of Joy
have you tried taking fenugreek?

ETA
just saw your later post asking about it. i've tried it and it prob helped a little bit only, i didn't notice a significant increase. the lady at the healthy food store said it'll help more if you hardly have any ss.

i feel like my nipples are getting more and more sore from pumping. is it even supposed to hurt or get sore? i think the supershields maybe too small for me. hwei told me they are coming out with new, bigger size, but dont know when.

Long time neva post! Very busy at work.. lots of meetings to attend, email to respond, bla bla..

Adeline,

Perhaps you can save my hp no, and one day we can meet up for lunch. 90292134

How many times do you pump per day?
I only pump 4 times ler.. 6.15am, 1.00m, 7pm, and 11 pm.. dunno whether my supply will maintain or not.

an_gal,
bu4 she3 de2 shave my gal, end up own self become botak.. hehee.. scary to wash hair nowsaday & worst still i 'slice' my hair thin thin 2mths back.. Arrggg..

woof,
then ur polyclinic package should be cheaper ba.. mine is pay by each visit & sorry i didn't check out the price of individual jabs. i'm taking the modified 6-in-1 which means 1 jab lesser than the usual 6-in-1. Aiyo.. complicated..

new mummies... welcome welcome...

btw, was going thru my hp contacts today & seems like didn't hear from XUE & XMAN for quite some time or did i miss their posting somewhere.. must be bz with their little ones..

rc cola,
I also intend to pump 6 hourly.. but yes somtimes ss dips quite a bit compared to 3 hourly and incidental 6 hrly..

tonight we had dinner at king satay at clarke quay, Brought Ike out and surprisingly he didnt fuss at all, he ws cheerful although he was hungry just before we went home, so we gave him his ebm and he cheerfully drank the whole bottle, and then he was all happy.. if only all outings can be like this kekeke.. I think he hates malls.. How can.. he was born in Spore, where malls are part of one's life!!

chatty ,
received your email abt smsing Meita.. Have fun with the shopping hehehe..

anyone knows which hair dresser in the west can do henna colouring? I inquired a few but none can do leeee

i bought the medela electric plus and used it today. dun like it wor. maybe i too used to PIS liao. Find tat medela electric plus is too slow and the suction not strong as compared to PIS.

Bundle of Joy:

Sorry to hear youve had so much difficulties with BF. Ive had a difficult journey too, but one thing Ive discovered is that its so much better to latch if you can, but if cannot, then pumping is essential. Ive also found that pumping is more efficient (time-wise) than latching, esp when I need to supplement with formula. Each latching session takes 1 hour, then I still need to pump for 10 mins to make sure that breasts are completely drained and to boost ss of BM, then I need to bottle feed FM = 1.5 hrs in all. Now pumping for just 15 mins with dual pump, and feeding either FM or BM for bottle for just 15 to 30 mins and washing everything twice a day, Ive got much more time, even on days when I care for my baby alone.

Ive tried Fenugreek, but it doesnt work as well as fish & papaya soup, as well as salmon (cooked / raw).

Also, when I first started pumping, my nipples were really sore and swollen, but once the sores healed and they became conditioned, pumping was a breeze. When my nipples were in a bad shape, I used Avent Soothing Nipple Cream after every pumping / latching session, and it really healed very fast.

Its great that youve persisted for so long. If you can, do continue trying, but if you really feel you cant, dont stress yourself out so much, cause if your emotional well-being is affected, then its not worth it.

Jete:

Cute Tinks Bag: Thanks! Just let me know how much I owe you, and somehow well arrange to meet, or if I cant come out, then maybe, if you dont mind, I might ask my friend who lives in Sengkang to pick up the items from you.

Diaper: Would love to try Fitti. Would you like to try Pureen? I can pass you to try. I think Pureen is cheap and reasonably good, esp. if you like to change diapers frequently. My baby is now 5.5kg or thereabouts. How big is Paige?

Ameda Backpack: Just checked WTS board as suggested. First time for me. Didnt see any Ameda Backpacks for sale. There are several Ameda Carryalls for sale in Yahoo Auctions though, but Im not keen on this.

Jobs: Hope your hubby gets through the full-day interview. This kind of situational / scenario based interviews are not unusual. My ex-organisation used to do it for scholars selection.

As for making contacts in tertiary institutions, one good way to do so would be to start by taking up Part-time teaching positions. Such positions pay quite well, avg. $150 per hour. Its also a good opportunity for both employer and employee to evaluate each others suitability for a full-time position. Thats how some of my colleagues got their jobs. If your hubby is really interested, call up the dept in the institution and just ask. Nows a good time to do so, as theyll be looking for part-timers for the Jan semester. Possible places to check: NUS, NTU, NIE and the polys.

Food processor: I called to ask for the dimensions. Its 33.5cm tall, and theyll deliver free. I wonder if the dept stores sell it though, as Id rather buy during sale. At $189 its a little pricey. My friend uses a handheld blender to make baby food. As for food trays, I did see the BP, but not sure how useful it would be for me. Afterall, one can just use any ice-tray to store frozen food.

I must check out the flickr site that you mentioned

Nining: My friend is also seriously considering one of the Gucci bags : )

Garfield: I guess its always hard to switch to a lower model. Pity you didn't have a chance to try it out before buying it. I started on the Medela Swing, which is quite similar to PIS except that its a single pump. Managed to try PIS and Avent Isis Duo at Parentcraft. Then my friend lent me her Medela Electric Mini Plus to try, and I found that there was such a huge difference between this and my Swing, esp noise and suction levels...since you just bought your Mini Electric Plus, maybe you can sell it at a good price, esp since warranty is still valid...

chatty: will not sell the mini electric plus though i dun really like it. i bought it as a spare for use at home for occasional pump as my PIS will be placed in the office for everyday use (except weekends). find it troublesome to lug my PIS to & fro office and home so i bought the mini electric plus. will use it to pump occasionally after bb latch or to up ss at home only, tat is why i bought a lower model. hehe...

i am glad i bought PIS as I really find it powerful. for those who really intend to bf for long, can invest in PIS. i can vouch for its efficiency!! hehe...

Cola,

Got yr number in my hp liao. And yeah...I pump 4 times a day similar like yr timing but the last round usually will be ard midnite to 1am, I jz overslpt jz now and pump at 2am..my boobs almost burst man...manage to drain out 320mls.

Mommies who wanna try fenugreek,
Try the real seed instead of the capsule ones, boil in water.. the malay name for fenugreek is Alba, the indian name is methi.. although local sellers in markets know it better as alba.. can buy from those spices shop in market..

I went to WTS website as suggested by Jete. Didn't find anyone selling Ameda backpack, but found someone selling Mini Fridges for $30. Brand new, no warranty but one to one exchange within a week if faulty. I've arranged to buy 1 piece, but only problem now is that I have to find a way to pick it up from Yishun...

Nining: No lah, my friend buys lots of designer bags, at least 1 or 2 pieces a month, so its only natural that I'd let her know about this offer mah... : )

Woof,
My mum sometimes bring my gal to blk 883, the Jihreh Family Clinic. Think it is a GP and thus the charges is abt $20plus.

Garfield,
Been using min electric plus since my 1st pregnancy... Hmm.. so i guess the PIS and Swing noise level is lower, unlike to mini. very noisy.

Cola,
My pumping session is still 3x a day @ 8am, 1pm and 9pm. So will had engorgement for the last pump as well as the before 8am pump.. Supply wise still ok as my bb only frink 90ml per 3-4hr feed.
Workwise, really shrag... Had a new collegue to help me, but think alot of things, she bypass me and go straight to my team leader. Think mayb cos i not ard, my TL helps plus she is new too....

Jang,
The milkbag, can i jus get pack of 2 (S$18.41) from u instd of pack of 4, in case my sis dun wan my BM cos i dun intend to freeze my BM.

chatty,
kekeke my hubby should know abt your friend's habit then he can understand me better kekeke... Meita, the gucci seller, is also crazy bout branded bags and buys designer stuffs very frequently.. her hubby also can't understand it :D

Nining: My hubby can't understand either. This time he's ok about it 'cause we're buying wallet for my mum, who has been helping us with baby...my friend is single, so no hubby to disapprove. She has a roomful of bags, no kidding.

hi nining,
thks for the info on the Fenugreek. i tried the capsule kind but no effects, will try to buy the seeds when I go market the next time..

Chatty,
I haave a friend who's married to her shoes :D she should meet your friend!!! hahaha

An_gal,
try the drink for a week or two, 1 glass x 3 times a day, it helped me.. Once your supply is in, continue to drink it for the next few weeks until the supply stabilized..

btw, I took the GNC fenugreek capsules 3 caps x 3 times a day, only gave me slight increase and bad engorgement leee

hi nining..

talk about bags, i just got mine from sonia. 3 bags in total..one each for me and 2 of my frens

thks !

Received this from a close friend who lost her mom to breast cancer few years back:

* WHY I LOVE MUM *

Mum and Dad were watching TV when Mum said, "I'm tired, and it's getting
late. I think I'll go to bed"

She went to the kitchen to make sandwiches for the next day's lunches.
Rinsed out the popcorn bowls, took meat out of the freezer for dinner the
following evening, checked the cereal box levels, filled the sugar
container and put spoons and bowls on the table.
She then put some wet clothes in the dryer, put a load of clothes into the
washer, ironed a shirt and secured a loose button

She picked up the game pieces left on the table, put the phone back on the
charger and put the telephone book into the drawer.

She watered the plants, emptied a rubbish bin and hung up a towel to dry.

She yawned and stretched and headed for the bedroom. She stopped by the
desk and wrote a note to the teacher, counted out some cash for an
excursion, and pulled a text book out from hiding under the chair.

She signed a birthday card for a friend, addressed and stamped the envelope
and wrote a quick note for the grocery store. She put both near her purse.

Mum then washed her face with 3 in 1 cleanser, put on her Night solution &
age fighting moisturiser, brushed and flossed her teeth and filed her
nails.

Dad called out, "I thought you were going to bed."
"I'm on my way," she said.

She put some water into the dog's dish and put the cat outside, then made
sure the doors were locked.

She looked in on each of the kids and turned out their bedside lamps and
TV's, hung up a shirt, threw some dirty socks into the basket, and had a
brief conversation with the one up still doing homework.

In her own room, she set the alarm; laid out clothing for the next day,
straightened up the shoe rack. She added three things to her 6 most
important things to do list. She said her prayers, and visualised the
accomplishment of her goals.

About that time, Dad turned off the TV and announced to no one in
particular. "I'm going to bed."

And he did...without another thought.

Anything extraordinary here? Wonder why women live longer...?

CAUSE WE ARE MADE FOR THE LONG HAUL...... (and we can't die sooner, we
still have things to do!!!!)

Send this to five phenomenal women today...they'll love you for it!
I just did.

THEN, GO TO BED

nining..

after reading the story, really think mothers are so wonderful...i was just nagging at my hubby to hv more initiative and help me out in the house haaa

me and my fren got the britt white bag..the other one get the pink one with the butterfly charm.

Inu,
I like the design for pink one, but am not very feminine so won't look nice with pink bag kekeek.. but it's sure is nice design!

would u like me to send u updated catalogue everytime meita sends to me? dont wanna spam u for no reason kekeke

nining

yes!pls send the updated catalogue to me!(oops musn't let hubby know i said this!)

brought Enci to her first immunisation jab today,she only cried once during the injection,then only whine/cooed to us like she's trying to sa3 jiao1.but while we're waiting for the medicine she starting crying...once on cab she slept though.

turned out she had ear infection,no wonder she was quite fussy and cranky these few days.somehow milk got into her ears and then mild infection on the right,more serious on the left.so mummies look out,if there're more than usual ear wax and waxy stuff on the outer parts of the ear,and its smelly,it might be infection.better bring to the PD for medication.

most importantly check that the milk when they er4 ni1 don't get into the ears...so heart pain and guilty that we didn't discover it earlier!only when i saw yellow stain on the pillow(we put her to sleep sideways)then i asked the doctor would it be ear infection.sigh...

inu

i liked the pink one with charms too!but decided that its too "flowery" for work..;-)

chatty

woah!ur friend is so rich ah?can buy one or two designer bags each mth?

Inu,
after I gave birth to Ike, I literally kneel down to my mom and asked for forgiveness, I was a difficult child till teenage years.. must've been hell for her!! I didnt realize it was so hard to be a mom.. now also I still think the same, specially when having to loose sleep, tired etc..

Hi Mommies

Been following the thread v closely during my pumping sessions bt dun hv hands to post my messages.

Nining, can I ask u... how long can I take the fernugreek pills fr GNC. I've been takg it for 4 wks. I do see some slight increase though. Wonder must we continue to take it to maintain the supply? If stop taking, will the supply drop? btw... hw do u prepare the fernugreek drink fr seeds?

Can u share the gucci catalogue wif mi oso? thks

nining

pls send updated to me thks

leooh

ya the pink one is nice..i hv someting similar...so tot will get another one. i tot of using the britt as diaper bag heee..then my hubby say..why use such an expensive bag as diaper bag...siao haaa

new mummies

welcome welcome!!!our thread is getting more and more popular!;-)

and nining

the gucci catalogue is getting more and more popular too!hahaha

inu

haha me also wanted to use as diaper bag!but then i thought,better use another bag which i don't mind getting dirty as diaper bag.the britt use for work lah...

Tulip,
u need to take it until the supply stabilized.. so if u see increase , keep taking it till 2 weeks after the increase, if it's continue to increase, keep taking it but reduce the qty. Once it's stabilized ie. in 2 weeks no increase, u can stop. Fenugreek works differently for different ppl though, but it's natural product so u dont need to worry.
If from seed, take one table spoon, boil it with 1 litre of water till the water becomes like tea.. throa away the seed after that..

re-catalogue, pls gimme ur email addy

Inu,
waaa so ex diaper bag hahaha.. I thot my allerhand oredi expensive but hubby likes it so I bot.. Wanna just buy cheaper diaper bag..

inu

oh ya,the two nights i tried using pacifier hor,she spent even longer eriod of time to get to sleep cos she'll continue to suck during the REM sleep period,and if it drops she'll be awake(she's getting better at grasping the pacifier though...err dunno whether i should be happy abt her new-found skill..haha).

so i think letting her cry and fuss for 5-10min then put her down drowsy is less time consuming for me,cos usually she'll be able to get thru REM sleep mode's jolts herself if there's no pacifier..

that said,really hope once her ear infection's cleared she'll be easier to pacify to sleep..doc also gave me RIDWIND cos he said she might be a little colicky..hope it works!

inu,
I went for hair cut few days back. The hair stylist asked me how long didn't cut hair lioa and hint me must take care and cannot use baby as an excuse to bohcap, later hb run away wif other woman...faint!!!

I used 300+ml of EBM to soap my hands last nite...ppl said hands will be smooth smooth and nice nice...hahaha

Re baby cranky and didn't sleep long on bed

I am at my mum's place in M'sia these few days.

Last nite my mum's friend visited me and the baby and saw my bb cranky and cried. She knew my bb didn't sleep long on his own and always want to sleep on my chest. Then she went home and told her mother abt these.

This morning, her mum came purposely to help me rub my baby. This method taught by her MIL long long time ago. She is now 60+ yeard old and wif lots of experience in baby sitting. She used warm water and rub (in circular motion) my baby's back, shoulder, butt, thigh...all the back areas. There were some black things (not the dirt or dead skin) coming out immediately. The black things are quite rough. According to her, these black things make baby feel uncomfortable when sleeping. Very amazing when she shown us this traditional method. She scared we dun believe and purposely came down to help.

Tt's y baby refused to sleep on his back, or only nap 10-30min then wake up and cry. Since 2 weeks ago, i have to let him sleep in flying position or on my chest then he can sleep well.

leooh,

These few days my mum keeps 'teaching'my boi licking his tumb...she said tumb better than use pacifier....haizzz
Then my boi likes his tasty hands so much last nite. sucks until got sounds come out, but still dunno how to put his tumb into the mouth yet, he was trying to putthe whole hand in....

loh

so ur baby slept better after the rub?if its effective u must learn and teach us ok?anything to make babies sleep better...

haha i also think that thumb is better than pacifier.at least they can put it back themself if it drops out haha(and in my extended family,thumb-sucking babies all did very well in school!haha).my gal also cannot find the thumb yet,even when we help her(haha!crazt parents too!)she ended up licking the side of the hands only and become frustrated...hope hands coordination will develop soon!

dear ladies

thanks for the advice on diaper change. what i normally do is to change my baby first before feeding him in the middle of the night. it used to be ok n he is able to fall back to sleep after that. but now he seems to change. after changing n feeding him, he got so stimulated that he cant fall back to sleep unless we pat him for abt 30 to 60 mins. horror!!! but i have no choice but to change him becos when he was 4th week old, he contracted urinary tract infection so i am really paranoid n particular abt his changes now.

do u all realise as they grow bigger each week, they change alot in the behaviour? eg in the 1st mth, my baby has difficulty in sleeping but can drink well.then in the beginning of the second mth, he can still drink well n sleep better but coliky. and now he cant sleep long in the day n doesnt drink at much. they keep changing in the behaviour. but its the sleeping part which is the most tiring.

does your baby drink alot nowadays? mine fusses alot n doesnt drink alot, only one breast.

hey somebody asked abt fengreek tablets? personally i find that that doesnt help. maybe i took the tablet form from gnc. basically for bm supply to go up, its the discipline n mindset plus a healthy diet n not forgetting PATIENCE. must really let the baby suck frequently, only then the supply will go up. i still have a bottle of unopen bottle. if anyone of u r interested, let me know n i can give it to you. its unopen.

hi nining
u have latest catalogue? can send to me at [email protected]? thanks.