(2007/07) July 2007 MTBs

cheok...haha...veve is super way off her triple birthweight target of 10.575...she's only 8.3kg now! try giving him many small meals a day instead of forcing down 2 or 3 solids meals squarely. i find that when veve seems to lose interest in what i'm feeding her, i switch to something else and then return to her main course.

erm...when i complain to hubs veve isn't eating...he questions the tastiness of her meals :|

and on water...veve's not keen on other liquids too and i'm not sure if her love for water features/fountains has led her to spray her water out just like them...i get so annoyed when she does that...that's why i seldom let her have water when we're out- need to change clothes...WE ALL need to change clothes...that notti merlion!

nor...thanks for the reminder. i've got an aprica that can recline along with a buzz le. now collection seems lacking in a stroller that cannot recline :p no la...thot this is a cheap and simple stroller for short walks when she wun need to nap. anyway, veve doesn't nap at all these days! HELP!

wah...wairah so pandai (correct spelling?) ok i gonna teach veve to spin oso...these days this shopping queen wannabe will load her arms with rings and bags and dart around the room as if there's a mega sale going on...aargh can't seem to upload the vid to youtube else you can see her in action...hilarious!

jacob ballas garden is nice i heard. but a couple of us are headed for GUG trial this sunday...gotta give this a miss.

oh someone mentioned abt her babe having rash immediately after taking milk. your babe is having an allergic reaction and if it's rather immediate i believe it is on moderate to serious scale. veve developed angry red rash around her mouth that stretched to near her eyes when she had fish. she kept rubbing her mouth area including chin. hers also manifested in itch ard the wrists. you may wanna try a little of the milk again to confirm. but in the case of severe allergy, it may be better to visit a specialist for advice. veve goes to dr dawn lim at kinder clinic. hth

Tinsel
I just emailed the lady for shipping charges. Haaa..
This is too nice to miss! Thanks for sharing.

I cannot post on overseas sprees yet so joining such sprees are more troublesome.

I was actually aiming this another playset for the beach too.
Includes pail/shover etc.. was waiting for sale then buy. Lol.

Bedebe: Aiya, now with ur talk abt having a stroller for short walks, I oso feel tempted to get a Volo 'coz cheap, cheap!! Of cos, my hubby will think otherwise.

Water: Krissa loves water more than milk!! Even after her milk feed (sometimes with leftover of approx 30ml), she will still drink water!!! However, she doesn't take to the sippy cup too well. She still prefers milk bottle type. At the bash, some mummies shared they have started their bubs on straw coz their bubs dun take to the sippy cups well...think I will oso monkey see, monkey do..hahhaha!!

Eliz: Me oso cannot post on overseas spree yet, so often PM organisers...so far, so good. Wat's the link to the beach playset? Can share?

Tinsel
That set can be bought from Taka Sanrio.
No pic ah.. Its the HK Mermaid Series.
I email u
1616634.gif

I just made the order. Haaa.. Crossing my fingers the shipping charges won't scare me!

Tinsel_elf
a lot of us here are afraid to go out alone with the bubs.. but you just need to give it a shot! maybe try super short outing (half hour) to central of even the nearby park. then you'll get the hang of it.
i rarely drive when i take the 2 out, and cab drivers are just a shout away to help you load the strollers, bags etc.

Good News
Just got a call from hospital, my dad will be discharged this afternoon!

Jacob Ballas Children's Gdn
I plan to go around 3pm or even later so that its not too hot. Will play by ear.. to be confirmed

nor: great that you dad gonna be discharged this afternoon! happy for you =)

i love the children's garden!! but most likely can't make it this sun as we will be going taiwan for a church mission trip the next day. shd be busy packing stuff....

we bought the volo coz we wanted a lightweight stroller that isn't too hot for Jan to sit on and still able to bring her around when we are too tired to carry her. no joke carrying a 9.6kg monkey around....

uhuahuahauha.. nobody can top Kaelyn;s weight!!!

should be at least 11kg!!!!!

and if u ladies notice.. She is Bigger than most of the boys that day at the gathering!!!

bedebe ya lor, these fews days im feeding him many small meals. but he takes 2 bites of everything and THAT's IT!
Are you feeding veve breastmilk direct? Im not sure if this is the reason why shayne refuses water,perhaps he prefers bm? PD said breastmilk is a good subsitute for water too.

irene i wonder what sort of a funny photo we can take if we put shayne and k together...muahahahah

Nor, good to know that you dad is ok. I was the one asking about tummy fats. Tamarind + turmeric + rock sugar conconction work? Will give it a try... tks!

Anyone want to take over my HT cookies? I gave my boy the cookies from Irene's Goodie Bag, but my boy keep throwing it on the floor. I guess he doesn't like it. I have 1 pkt of Honey Graham Hugga Bear Cookies & Cinnamon Hugga Bear Cookies, brand new, unopened going for $6.00. Let me know if anyone is interested, I don't want to waste the food.

Jowen weighs 11.2kg 2 mths ago, he should be 12kg by now, so heavier then Kaelyn. But he looks smaller compared to Kaelyn leh. My boy can eat a big bowl of porrdige and then cry for more. He never wasted a single drop of milk since birth. But I have to control his diet. Last time, I gave 5oz of milk, he cry.. I increase to 6oz, cry also, 7oz & 8oz also cry for more. I gave up and stick to 7oz now....

Tigress
Megan loves the cookies! Maybe becoz 1st time she get to eat choco favour.. Haaa..
Too bad i cannot buy from you coz expiry date too near. Sorry.

My boy don't like any of the HT cookies, not even the chocolate ones. Sianz... expiry date so near.. if my boy don't want to eat, may have to dump it.. so wasteful....

Nor: Glad that ur dad's fine now. Jacob Ballas Children's Garden: Hubby said got other programs lined up liao, so cannot go
When I get my BEE, I'm sure to bring Krissa out alone, perhaps to the nearby NTUC for a start.

Eliz: Thanx for ur email. They're lovely!!! Heng, me not HK fanatic, otherwise sure broke

Tigress: What abt ur elder boy? He dun like too? Maybe can post on the "Want to Sell" thread or "Overseas Spree" thread. I've always seen mummies selling their stuff there claiming its extras from their previous spree.

TIGRESS!!! Paisei...I mixed up ur identity with Angeline's!!! She's got 2 boys.....sorry
What abt Jowen's cousin or any neighbours' kids?

Tinsel
Finally found time to come in and saw my name so big in front of my eyes?! Ayee..... what's up with my 2 boys? He he he.....

Nor
Just read about your dad. Hope he's fine now.

Wah... another gathering this Sunday! Envy envy... I have some work to do. Or else would love to join!

Borrowed this book from the library for Krissa, and thot the contents & layout is pretty cute and sweet. It has flaps and a mirror on the last page of the book.

Title of Book: Cutie Pie!
Author: Matthew J. Kempler
Pg.1: "You're the apple of my eye. Are you an apple pie?"
Pg. 2: "No, sweetie! You're not an apple pie."

Angeline: Dunno y...while I was replying to Tigress post on Jowen not eating the HT biscuits, I thot of u and asked Tigress to give biscuits to elder son when she had only 1 boi!!! Malu...malu...paisei

hi ladies..its been some time since i read the posts here..wah need to find time to read all..

Anyway to keep u ladies updated..
i have safely delivered a healthy baby boy (Md Dani Sufyan) weighing 3.78kg via emergency c-sect after an unsuccessful try at VBAC n had a ruptured womb.

as wat the gynae said..im lucky tat my boy is still alive..n i thank god for that..

Jacob Ballas Children's Garden
Sorry ladies, we have to postpone this trip cos I realised last night that i have to get a few things for my trip to Germany next sat.

Nor
Me me!! Haa.. Taking Monday off instead for the National day holiday

Hopefully today will be a quiet day and i can surf all day.. Haaa...

Congrats ju! That's a big boy, 3.78kg, my boy's birth weight is only 3.09kg.

Nor, I'm working today... off-in-lieu next Mon. What's nice at Jacob Ballas Children's Garden? Any other interesting places for young children? I run of places to bring my boy.

Tinsel, I don't have anyone to share the cookies with. My boy's only cousin who is 1 year old cannot eat cookies, he has some health problem, he is still drinking milk through tube. I'll let my boy try a few more cookies, maybe he'll like it eventually.

Mummies here, anyone can comment on Kinderland and School house by the Garden near Yio Chu Kang Road? I intend to send my boy to half day playgroup Jan '09, now doing the short-listing. Any good suggestions for playgroup in North-east area (i.e.Seng Kang, Yio Chu Kang, Hougang, Serangoon etc)?

congrats ju! glad that dani and you are well

tigress...you may wish to try giving jowen the bix again after initial refusal cos veve refused to eat it at first but now this is her preferred cookie le :p

tinsel...hubs say no to volo
haha think i'd jus have to wait for him to go US to get the zapp (w travel bag) btw, once you start bringing krissa out alone, you'll get addicted to it :p i usually bring veve out at least once a week, usu i take a lift from my dad else i'll cab down. the easy part is not bringing the stroller cos if i go to suntec where hubs works i just need to go to the car to get the buzz. if i really need the stroller i use my aprica which can be opened/closed/carried with one hand with veve in the other. just yest we went for my pap smear, trawled bugis and the library :p

cheok...veve's drinking direct so i've no idea how much/little she downs....been a mystery since day 1 :p have you tried varying shayne's food? or the place he eats? now veve eats in the high chair 5x a day so i try to make it different everytime- sometimes in front of telly (not proud of it but she eats a lot more with DIBO on :p), in the kitchen where i dun mind her self-feeding (the floor i.e.), in front of the balcony where she can do bird-watching, at the table when i'm eating. meanwhile, let him recover before you start him on a food binge ya? let him have his milk till he's better. oh i remember reading that sometimes too many milk feeds can drown their appetites so try to minimise feeds (i realised that veve ate more in japan cos i had less time to BF her)

bedebe know what you mean. Im also clueless on the amt shayne drinks. BUt im more and more convinced that he prefers breastmilk to any kind of liquids and solids. Im trying to solve this problem. Yep, i varied the meals, texture as well as the venue. Anything i do seem to be fultile lei. He is just not interested in food. My MIL said he is a perculiar one as most children are curious about food. I even let shayne crawl on the floor during his meals cos he used to eat better and alot more than sitting on the chair. I rather he eats and crawl than sit and not eat all. But now this also dont work. Last time tv works fine too but now NO.
Oh ya milk feeds. I know it will hinder the meals. So i tried not giving and subsituting solids instead when he wants bm but he just wails and wails. Abit of a vicious cycle cos if i dont cave in my poor monkey will be hungry..but if i give him i will dampen his meal time. arrrgg... My hub suggest that we stop solids for a few days and resume again. So right now, to make sure he has his nutrients im giving him pediasure formula milk to supplement. Walao feeding him 100ml of milk takes FOREVER!! One hour also cannot finish!!

cheok...i feel your pain. *HUGS*

why dun you try feeding him with other kids around eating? a lot of kids learn by imitation. e.g. my parents brought veve out during lunch. at first she refused to eat. then they moved to a table where there's a similar aged toddler eating. veve ate up everything!

bedebe: Me oso not getting the Volo la....2 strollers are enuff. Check with u: What do mummies mean by 1 hand close system? U mean can close the stroller with juz one hand while u carry bb? Some mummies said Bee can be closed with 1 hand, but when I tried at Mothercare, I need to pull and release the catch at both handles (left hand & right hand ) & I can only release the right ctach after I release the left...or izzit because I dun have enuff strength to pull? If I can manage to close stroller with juz 1 hand, it will definitely boost my confidence level to bring bb out alone.

tinsel...when i say i can close my aprica with one hand, it's cos the stroller folds inwards while standing with the mechanism at the top of the stroller bar. so you can imagine. (typical jap stroller)

i've not tried the bee yet. but from your description, it sounds like the buzz where you need to hold off one side and push the other side therefore there's no way you can do it with one hand. maybe you can check with other bee mummies :p or the sales staff at mothercare?

but as the bee does not fold to standing position, you will have to bend down with krissa to pick up/put down the bee, so it's not as breezy as say a maclaren/jap strollers that folds standing up. hee but you can train krissa to stand still while mummy un/packs the bee.

Tigress: Ya, u should let Jowen try the biscuits again, maybe he'll develop a liking for it this time round. Good luck!!
Me no idea on playgroup, but heard that Julia Gabriel's Playnest is quite good...if u dun mind the distance.

bedebe: No problem abt the bending down part to get stroller...its the releasing catch part which I'm more concerned, think I need to practise more more at home before handling on my own. Also, going up the escalator with stroller is fine but i dunno how to go down using escalator. So far, its my hubby who does it. Me afraid bb will fall...see??? Me really an idiot when comes to stroller and have to depend on hubby. Must practise & practise..hahaha!!!

tinsel...i still have phobia doing the escalator sometimes...especially when wearing heels :p so i rather be on safe side and use the lift wherever possible.

abt GUG...mummies who've attended the class, can advice if the art and craft session is messy? should they not wear pretty clothes in case they get paint etc all over it? i understand that craft apron is provided.

Hi bedebe, r u referrring the GUG trial this weekend? Im going for the sunday slot. Have no clue too what to expect over there..

Tinsel/Bedebe,

Yes.. the arts & craft is messy! They gave my boy a piece of paper and made him put his hands in the watercolors and then put the handprint on paper! My boy is not interested to put his handprint on the paper, he is only interested to put his hands inside the water color. Even though apron was given, my boy still stained his clothes, his face, my clothes, my face!!! I find such art's & craft session more suitable for older kids.

Overall, the class is just ok. Maybe not suitable for my boy as he is too active. My boy couldn't sit throughout the session, he gets cranky after 45mins or so. My boy is the noisest in the class, keeps wandering around, I have to go after him and I was completed exhausted after the trial class. And take note, I paid $50 for the trial class even though it was confirmed to be $40.

Shym's girl (Celeste) was also in the trial class, she can give you all some reviews too. Her Celeste very "guai", can sit through the class without getting cranky. Shym already signed her up for the GUG class.

Tigress, your hubby din go with u or only one parent is allowed in the class?

Oh mine, was told that the trial cost only $45 leh. how come they made u pay $50 instead?

bedebe:
The lift sometimes takes too long and crowded at times, thus taking the escalator seems to be a faster but risky option. GUG - Better bring extra set of clothes for veve.

Tigress:
Thanx for ur feedback. Ya, understand that Shymz has already signed Celeste up for GUG. Perhaps, I should also attend the trial to find out if my girl is ready...me quite concerned abt the 1.5hrs...dunno if she can sit still for so long.

Tinsel
HK BP? Where where? I no time go through the list!! Haa..

RE: GUG
Hey, you gona send your babe to GUG for trial?
When when? I'm interested too.. lets go together lar..

Think the trial has increased to $50 liao. Heard from someone somewhere.
Memory failure, cannot remember. OOps!

hey would like to check if anyone here fly with KLM before? comments/ reviews?
i'm mentally preparing for my 13-hour flight..

thanks tigress for the info. i called them up and they couldn't tell for sure what's the activity for art and craft gonna be.

btw is there break? can we switch parents at half-time or something?

dorami...i think not only the babes have to dress down...we may wanna wear something that's ok to be stained :p hmmm...black maybe?

tinsel...i always tell myself...better not risk it :p anyway i'm usu out with her when it's not crowded...hubs prefer escalators anytime so i also leave it to him when we're on the moving stairs :p

My mom just called me! My dad got chicken pox!!!

Now its to late to segregate the girls from my dad

Don't think its wise for us to meet up with the rest of you soon too.. just in case..