(2007/06) June 2007 MTB

vic_ma, I read its not a good idea to microwave baby food as microwaved food is unevenly heated and some parts may be too hot and some too cold... so baby may accidentally get burnt

hi ladies, no time to read all the post. Just recover from stomach flu... still haven eat anything yet since sunday... just keep on drinking fluid... geez... now no need to lose weight already, lose weight unintentionally...

hui, i vote for jovial already...

vic_ma, I read its not a good idea to microwave baby food as microwaved food is unevenly heated and some parts may be too hot and some too cold... so baby may accidentally get burnt

just flip thru my book
and saw some recipes for 4-8mths old
it includes:
-orange juice
-grape juice
-peach puree
-apple puree
-papaya puree
-cabbage soup
-carrot soup
-egg yolk and potato
-egg yolk and carrot
-white fish paste

caitlyn, now we kno tha u really "seldom" cook...kekkekeke :p

re: steamer
my mum have one tefal one...those tiered one...think can use tha...

lizardess, pls only cook the soup on weekends hor...if not cannot sleep again....ekkeke :p

Caitlyn
Think if u cook porridge for a long long time...also no need to blend la....will become ultra fine
My mum usually use the double boiled method...

Sporty
Dun laff la...
I know of someone who really blend the cooked porridge....

Caitlyn,
Actuali is correct lah..if the food not soft engh that's the way! haha

Vic ma,
that Pureen within 48hr not finish muz throw liao.

Dryper,
Thank u

egg

i suggest not to intro eggs till after 12 mths old - especially if the parents have any known allergies.

My BIL turns blue & will get an acute asthma attack when he eats eggs - he allergic to eggs - both his children after 12 mths old then intro to eggs - heng they can eat.

Yet BIL's parents might not have such allergies wor - which is very weird lor - his case of asthma very power one - needs steriods.

oh hui -i better take note.

Apple sauce, skin apples & decore or just cut like we eat it wo the core, boil, puree & freeze in feed portions. my SIL share with me one.

alternatively like what mich recommended you can also steam say until the colour changes (5mins?) i cook sometimes i dont time one -unless its cake - i use visual more.

i cook ely's porridge in a mini slow cooker.. turn out to be very mashed.. whenever ely cant finish, i'll finish it for her.. dun noe why but i like bb's porridge.. if it's mashed fish porridge with spinach and add alittle marmite to it.. superb taste

vic ma
can intro egg yolk 1st but not egg white.. egg yolk just give little bit 1st.. then when bb can eat whole egg yolk w/o any allergy then slowly intro egg white.. and if egg yolk and white ok.. then intro whole egg.. must prepare bb for the 15th mth MMR jab

sweet, i use the small avent milk bottles

me not workin today..
feelin giddy and nausea.. start to throw up.. think i've reach the peak of 1st trim.. read that MS get worse in week 9 to week 10.. i'm turning week 9 in another 2 days.. now feel so sianz.. got blocked nose somemore

sweet ar, i ahve the pigeon one -it has a hard plastic container with cover - suppose that the cube can go in there? wash with hot water 1st?

Pigeon figure of 8 bowl

I like this bowl been looking at my friend using it outside - quite easy to use it seems cos got cover & an area for u to scoup the main bulk of say porridge, then a rougher smaller side u scoup out a few mouthful there to press into finer bits before feeding (just in case got some lumps in the food or u want to mix in hot water as porridge/food sometimes could hv dried abit in the food warmer when u bring outside.)

I been eyeing that for so long then my HB dont let me buy - he said "u wont use it one" i %^&(%^&(%( so angree with him! i said u dont know what u are talking about. he feels those bowls we got free better I retorted - those bowls are for home use lah!!!!!!

hi all!!
A busy morning cos on leave yest. just cleared my emails before I have time to pop in.

Sporty, think difficult to stop the BM by just stop pumping for 2 days. For me who was only partial breastfeeding then, I took the medication from my gynae. After that still need to put the cold cabbage. Took me almost a week b4 it stops. So for you ladies who have been bfing exclusively, it might take longer.

cary, got my books yest too. But no time to read yet. Have asked my maid to read too since she will be cooking for the bb. Some of the recipes quite good for young children too. Can give to my elder one.

pooh heng u tell me about separating egg yolk & whites i also dunno.

but what's the relation with MMR? prepare?

now that u mentioned MS - i think its the only thing is quite irritating about pregnancy - but now i mastered vomit on demand.

sweet
i'm hangin by a thread.. haha.. feel so tired but when i go to bed.. i cant sleep

vic ma
MMR jab had some egg contents in it.. if ur child is allergic to egg, then he/she cant go for MMR
wat u mean by vomit on demand?

vic_ma, mmr jab contains egg white so tt is why you need to intro egg white when bb is 1 year old onwards because mmr jab on 15 mths. egg yolk u can intro 8 months onwards.

Sweet
Think she is refering to this feeding bowl...
That had a separation in the middle... One side is rough for u to mash ur food before feeding, the other half to contain the food... so u scoop a bit from the bulk, place it onto the rough surface, mash then feed...

caitlyn,

When do you wanna swing by my area? Nowadays Mon, Wed and Fri I will not be home till late. If not I can just drop by after or before my class on Sunday or something. heehee. The sooner I give you back the sooner Isaiah can enjoy mah. Think he's at the age to enjoy the rocker now.

sweet - how much i owe u in all?? ur bank details pls?? hee.. i prob arrange to pick up e stuff from u this weekend k?

hi lizardess...
my PD also ask me to start solids after 6mths cos i got ezecma...so if intro food too early might trigger the allergy...

hi KC.. wat books are u reading? i m reading super foods for baby... very thick book leh.. dun noe when dan can finish it!!

hi vic ma,
have got the pigeon figure 8 bowl,looks like not bad... anyway, i am a pigeon fan when it comes into bb stuff

ken ma
i also have eczema.
does kendrick have?
jerald does...

that day my MIL said to jerald "funny... my 3 kids dun have eczema, how come you have har?"
then turned to me "i think he got it from you."
so? *roll eyes*

Question:
1. anybody bought bb overseas before?got a lot of things to lug about?any special things that need to bring along?
2. ANybody using ntuc diapers? Any feedback on the quality etc?

hi lizardess...
i also got eczema..
so far kendrick still ok,but have to keep his skin hydrated cos once it becomes dry,his skin starts to become flakey...
There was a period of time when kendrick was around 2 wks to 6wks where he had a lot of pimple like spots on his face(dr say its eczema lah..) dan my MIl also commented dat must be mummy's breastmilk too heaty that is causing it... haiz.. everything also our fault lor...

dryper, hope u get well soon...no wonder didnt see u ard...

glayz, will arrange with u again...maybe weekday nites if u dun mind... but blend porridge very odd leh...the end result maybe will looked like "puked out" porridge...hahhaa...

caitlyn, ur fren came into the thread and laugh at u liao...whahhaha :p

pooh, think its very tough on u to be preggy now esp with 2 sick gals...*sayang sayang*

ken ma, caitlyn tha time recommended me to try ntuc diapers on my boy...so far so good la...,my mum used it in the day for him...where u plan to bring kendrick to?

Char
My ger skin also not good....
Dun think is eczema... but her skin is sensitive..so will have this red patch on face...esp if she decide to wipe with her saliva...

Then MIL was like..Aiyo why her face like that...
I was like: "sensitive skin"
"aiyo so poor thing... mummy didnt give u eat pearl powder..."
"aiyo...u should giver her drink xxx(some herb or whatever) " HB aunt chip in...

And this goes on EVERY week lor...

Sporty
Ya if u put in veg..the whole prrigde is GREEN...

Weekdays nite can la... But must sms me in advance...

ken ma
i bought NTUC diapers to try on my boy.
after using one, i sold the balance pack off.
cos i find it very stiff, so may not be comfy for him.
perhaps i'm too used to using Pampers for him.

sporty
not going out for lunch yet?

Dryper,
aiya!! saw sporty post then remember i wan ask u how's ur stomach flu? got better? avoid milk stuff.

SPorty,
ur desciption so funi, puke out porridge..make my hair stand! haha

hi sporty...
bring kendrick back to my mother's hometown in KL for a short trip in early nov...so need to find out if have to prepare any special stuff for the trip...

Re: NTUC diaper...
THought of trying cos my nepia M size running out... missed the nepia offer at NTUC recently leh...

hi glayz...
aiyah.. is like dat one lor.. machim all the bad genes all get fr mummy dan their son has all the good genes lor... i already used to it liao.. cos my MIL is Mdm Why... everything also y like this ,y like dat... boring!!

btw, i remember we can use medisave for ante-natal checkups right?

now 3rd kids, i must bear the full cost, only hospitalization.. coy will help me pay part of it

hello all....

hui, i voted for jovial. very cute!

sporty, haha ur mr. sporty still give u status update via the forum...so nice.

re:baby poo
i think my hubby quite good at handling the poo department, nvrmind the loose,crooked diaper and the slightly poo- stained butt. i'm just glad he took up the post in the poo department without a complain.

ros, i just put isaac in a sleep suit then no need to worry about covering them with blanket.

powerpuffs, its probably one of those days where they drive us crazy trying to find a way to calm them down to drink their milk, sleep or whatever. may be the reason why ur MIL did that. hopefully it'll be a short passing stint, just like ur midnite feed. congratulations can get more rest!

lizardess re: stop pumping.
y don't u try to drop feeds/pumps gradually? i read somewhere that the milk will accumulate in your breasts if u stop too suddenly it may leave some milk lumps that stay there for years. it's like blocked ducts, so damn hard to clear.

kenma, i bringing my girl to batam tomorrow for 4d3n!! kinda scared i miss out stuff.. but think most impt to bring meds (get from PD to standby - mainly panadol, diarrhea/flu med).

pooh, NUH doesnt cover ur antenatal costs from 3rd child onwards?? how come? so giam one! and govt trying to encourage us to haev more kids somemore! doesnt make sense!

sporty - AH BISH U!

ken-ma - i use NTUC.. find it's not bad.. i ever use whole nite before.. can absorb leh.. hee..