(2007/05) May 2007 MTB

Hi all mums to be,

I've just learned that i am pregnant when i did the pregnancy test myself yesterday, hehehe... we have been ttc for 3 mths... my hubby will be back from his business trip next Sunday. He is away for 3 wks liow, so i guess i might be at least wks preggie =)

I have morning sickness and feel like vomitting. Anyone has suggestion on how to overcome it?

I will see gynea to confirm when my hubby is back....

i have concern whether i should attend my frien's wedding this coming weekend coz i heard some people said better don't attend any wedding or funeral during the 1st trimester coz it's not stable yet. Is that true?

Appreciate your advice....

heelo lucky25 and eunice,

congrats to you ladies

hi eunice,

i know for funerals, better to avoid. however, weddings shd be ok as I am planning to attend my fren's wedding. Best u check with your mum?

hi Glynnis,

all the best to you for this upcoming month

can you please share how much your gynaes are charging for per consultation and scan? ie, how much do you pay when u visit them now? and also the week16 package?

many thanks in advance as i am still trying to find other gynaes with reasonable prices.

hi eunice

some say better nt attend wedding, funeral and also bb 1st month celebration.....if u pantang then dun.....else think wedding should be ok la.....u check with ur parents.

lovedogs
my gynae charge 40 for consultation and ultrascan each. not forgetting those folic acid, vit pills etc. i pay abt $100+ each visit but then i sign up the pkg during my 2nd visit. $550 all the way till delivery. this inlcude all the vit pills n med he give except for hormone pills which i need to pay separately. detail scan also not included.

when must we start applying the antistretchmark cream.....read that stretch marks are normally genetic so even if apply also no use but think prob it will help to curb the itch abit when the tummy get bigger and become itchy.

i'm fine now... now only hoping that that 'maddog' dont come and harrass me... i only want to work till i deliver, after maternity, will change job...

i went to my gynae yesterday, can only see the sac, will go back to him 2wks later.

lovedogs,
for my 1st consultation, i paid $105, which includes consultation($50), u/s scan($20), duphaston pills, 20 tablet($25), facility fee($10). my gynae package starts from 12wks($550), but for the consultation fees which i pay b4 12wks, i can offset from the $550, meaning, my gynae packages actually starts from 1st day...
every visits will includes u/s, vitamins. and NT scan also included, only the blood tests etc not includes. I find that it's cheap....

Taro,
can kindly help me change my gynae to Dr Lawrence Ang, Hospital TMC?

Eunice,
I also have a wedding to attend this wkend, somemore it's hubby niece, so no choice but have to go... anyway, i'm not so pantang lah...

Thanks all for the encouragment & concerns u've given me last weeks.

Sorry to disturb.

Wondering any mummies keen in getting home made beansprout pillow? My mum had some leftovers after making for my baby so she intend to make it and sell it off.

Interested, please kindly PM me. Thank you.

I just came back from my appointment. My gynae advises me not to take papaya
nono.gif
as it may lead to premature birth/miscarriage. Ladies, you may want to take note of that. My baby measures 16mm at 8 weeks 2 days. So happy to see him today. Next appointment will have to be 3 weeks later. As for the stretchmark cream, gynae says okie but apply a little first to test in case you are sensitive to it.

Got a jab $46 again and have to go back for it every week. Was given 3 weeks supply of duphaston $95. I was told that there is a cheaper version which is only $29 for 3 weeks supply. aiya, don't know got difference or not so no choice but to take the branded one lor. Package is $500 which I have already signed up else each consultation will be $60 and scan $50. Very siong! Not forgetting all plus 5% GST!

cheezel and jkids
so we are taking the same pills, but do u gals have yellow staining? or just brown?

Went to see Dr Yvonne Chan last week and charged approx. $200 for consultation, cleaning solution (yeast infection) and cream, folic acid plus 10 days supply of duphaston. I know her consulation is $80 for first visit. But I thinkit's still expensive as compared to other gynae....

I just have my lst appointment with gynae this morning. Now, I am around 5 wks+. My bb is still small and could not hear the heartbeat yet. Gynae says there is nothing to worry about as it is still early. It is a confirmed pregnancy and the sac is on the right position. My next appointment will be in 2 wks time.

I pay $105 in total which includes my gynae consultation of $62, and 2 wks supply of folic acid, Vit B6 and Progesteron.

Very happy to see the sac today, I finally feel I am pregnant. As compared with you gals, I do not have any signs at all, except feeling very sleepy (but i always like to sleep even before I am pregnant....kekekeek).

Hope all of us here will have a smooth & blissful pregnancy ahead.

Hi lovedogs & cheezel,

thanks a lot for the advice.

My gynea is located at Mt E. Thinking of whether should go for him or change gynea. Coz this is my 1st pregnancy and dunno whether he is really good.... my colleague used to tell me that Mt E is more expensive in terms of consultation fees and the whole package(incl labor)Is that true? my hubby and me have no idea ler......In fact, we dont mind if the difference is not significant.

Any recommendation?

Hi all mommies to be,
thanks for your well-wishes.

gal,
my EDD is 13-May as per my scan slip, we got the same EDD
i believe this may change as my baby developes.

Congrats: lucky25 & eunice.

Taro,
Kindly update for me pls.
EDD: 13 May 07
Baby# 1
Gynae: Dr Adrian Woodworth
Hospital: TMC

Hello Karen, Cheezel, dec-gal, blue blue and taro,

thanks for sharing your gynae charges. in this case, i seriously have to find another gynae as mine seems to be very expensive then.

1 visit cost $220. Only consultation and scan leh...no folic acid etc... His consultation alone is $84-$126. Scan is another $100~ 126. His package only starts from week 16 and it costs $770. Normal Delivery charges is $1000. Gleneagles single bedder starts from $2188. This is excluding the bb's hospital stay... i m already having headache....

How you ladies find your gynaes, can please recommend? I am hoping to go TMC for delivery as I heard the price is reasonable.

Hello eunice, i was recommended by a gp to go Mt E as well. But that gynae's charges are even more expensive then my current gynae. But this gynae is supposedly very good and a snr Prof from NUH last time..But the single bedder hospital charges in MT E and Gleneagles are the same.

I have done some comparison, Mt Alvernia is the cheapest for Hospital charges. next will be TMC. Hence, I am hoping to find a good gynae in TMC and hope can get some contacts from the MTBs here...

Many thanks ladies

blueblue: mine was light brown stain(spotting), but so far no yellow discharge yet.

anyone feels hungry easily? i am hungry all the time and it is affecting my life! I dun have good appetite though no morning sickness yet. no matter how i eat, it is forever hungry....

how did u curb the hungryness? did it go away when u eat?

jkids,
I'm hungry every 1-2 hr. Not appetite too. I'll have milo as breakfast in the morning only. At times can still manage a slice of bread. Like yesterday morning, I can splilt a packet of bee hoon into 3 portions and have it every hourly. I realised I can't eat much now but must be small portions and prob 7-8 times a day. I'm hungry now as I'm typing away too
Though my weight has not increased these few weeks, there is already a big tyre on my tummy. Last night, I was putting on a T-shirt and exclaimed to my hubby how come my T-shirt has turned into a mini

blueblue,
i have light brown to brown discharge as well as yellow discharge too.

lovedogs,
i used to stay in SK b4 i get married and always past by my gynae clinic when i go home. when i get preggie, i check if he has other clinic elsewhere and also go into diff gynae's forum b4 settlng for him.

taro,
the jabs and hormone pills did really cost alot but we have no choice right.....for the sake of bb lo. today i have slight spotting again. i wonder how come the spotting come on and off.....haiz....

dun worry.....i cant wear my jeans and some of the mini t shirt already. even those that can wear also looks like tight fitting also....n my tummy looks bulging out even when i standing up and look at myself in the mirror.

Morning mummies here....

Guess what, I slept through the weekend. Friday nite all the way to this morning. Dunnoe why but I was super tired this weekend. The only time I woke up was to have some food. But the moment I finished my food, I vomit them out anyway. I'm into my 9th week now. Wonder anybody like me?

Hi lovedogs,
I think I have decided to just stay with Dr Chan. No energy to look for another gynae now. Jus stick with him. Anyway I have some ex collg who was with him and they all have very good comments on him.

Hi Taro,

Is it true abt the papaya thing? Cos I like to eat papaya. Anyway, I think I will avoid the fruit for the time being.

Hi IceQueen,
I am only in the 7th week and MS is almost killing me. I am like half alive now. Eat whatever food also vomit. No eat then vomit fluid. So you are not alone and I think I am so much worse comparing to you.

I would like all to advise. Did any of you take heaps of leave? If Yes, how did you tell your manager?

i went to chinese physician yesterday, she told me that if your right hand pulse is stronger, then baby will be a girl, else will be a boy. you can try it by holding your middle finger of both sides, and see which pulse is stronger.... if you believe, of course.

hi cheezel, jkids,
the hormone pills i am taking is progesterone. I think the 2 types of pill have the same function, to create progesterone which is is responsible for the development of a healthy womb lining. My pill is 100mg/pill. Used to be taking 3 times (1 pill/time) a day during Wk 5, then now reduce to 2 (1 pill/time) for 3 weeks and will be cut down again after my next visit. I guess it might be due to your spotting you are taking huge quantity of the pills. Must really rest well!

Cheezel,
Oh ya, you are right, we shared the same EDD! the date might change as our pregnancies progress but let's keep each other update! My baby is 7W6D today. I have started applying stretch mark cream, coz just like taro, my tyre seem to be getting bigger! I bought the Pureen brand. Heard from my friend that you could buy pure cocoa butter from Bodyshop but i dunno how much it costs. The 1 i bought contains cocoa butter too and it only costs $10.90.

blueblue,
As long as your dischage doesnt have a foul smell then it might be just spotting. dun worry too much.

I am having thick white discharge since yesterday, any1 experiencing the same? Previous few weeks was not so thick.

Taro,
Thanks for updating the chart! oh dear... about the papaya thgy, i just took 1 slice on friday! Do you think it is ok?

Taro, jkids,
I tend to be hungry just every 1-2 hours like Taro, even though i ate a full meal i will still be hungry the next hour or 2. Usually i will drink some milo or eat biscuits. Like taro, i split my meals into smaller portion at time too. because if i am too full, i tend to puke too.

Eunice & dec_gal,
Congras! Do take care of yourself and rest more!

Morning all mtbs,
how are you all feeling? im feeling giddy,tire/sleepy.i wish im lying on my bed now.

i need stretch cream too, i have spare tyre on my tummy, which brand is good?

MummyYoko,IceQueen
I think a little is okie. I took some too when I was just pregnant. I just try to avoid from now.

gal,
so far, i haven't took any leaves yet... but planning to take one on friday. just tell the manager that you're sick...when is your next appointment with gynae?

jkids,
may be you can get some tibits beside you, so you can eat continuosly...
actually, i feel hungry around 2-3 hrs after each meal...but i try to control myself not to eat excessively.

mummyyoko,
we can apply the strech mark cream so soon?

precious moments,
i heard clarins oil is good, it is designed for pregnant women.

Hi gal,

Sama sama. Lets pray our MS and vomitting gets better real soon. I think my problem was aggravated by my coughing. I had this stubborn cough since 3 weeks ago. Everytime I cough badly I also vomit....sigh. I took half a day leave last fri and my boss din seems happy about it. I think I have to try to not take leave anymore. Though I wish I can sleep on my bad now.

I think I need to start getting some stretch mark cream too....any recommend?

bridget,
thanks for sharing, hope it's not so ex.

mummyyoko,
same thots as bridget, can we apply the cream so soon? im only 6 weeks into my pregency.

i ate non-stop the whole morning, to prevent neauseaous.

Hi bridget,
i guess when you start to realise that you are starting to put on weight, you could start apply to moisturise the skin so that stretch marks won't appear as the stretching progress with our babies' growth. I bought the Pureen stretch mark cream and it stated that we could start applying as early as the 1st or 2nd mth because you never know when your skin will start stretching. :p

Taro,
Thanks for the information! i will eat other fruits then.

gal,
if you are really tired, try seeing a doc to get a mc. dun stretch yourself too hard, you need enough rest for the 1st trimester. If you do not want to see a doc, take a day leave, just tell ur boss you are not feeling well, he/she should understand!!!

gal,
I know it might sound abit KS to start applying stretch mark cream now but your skin will need to prepare for the many mths of stretching ahead. For mummies who havent put on much weight or w/o a spared tyre yet, maybe you can start in the 3rd month.

Hi Taro, Ice, MommyYoko,
I already took like 2 days last week and now planning to take like one week off a day until MS stops(pending decision). Don't know if my manager would jump or not. My MS is accompanied with head spinning. If MS stops, head spinning also stop.

As for tiredness, I feel sleepy but it is still endurable. I do have body aching as well. Anyone have tiredness like this?

I started applying my cream on legs, buttocks and tummy (On and Off) not hardworking enough yet. I am using clarins body oil.

my appetite is not really good also. tend to yearn for italian food. chinese food puts me off. haiz. too much also puke, too lil get hungry easily.

I hv been so busy lately and too sick to on my pc during the weekends so hv not been posting for a long time.

Gal, I hv bad MS too...i feel sick most of the time and can hardly manage to eat anything. Even drinking water is such a chore.. I also feel like taking a week leave but I know I can't cos now is the peak period for my co. I'm thinking of taking maybe 1 or 2 days per week off instead but I am also scared tt my boss may not like it...sigh

I'm now 7W4D and I really yearn for the 1st trimester to be over soon but it seems like a long long time more to go. But luckily my husband has been very caring and supportive so i guess tt makes things better

Hope all mummies and their babies are doing fine!

Hi Tami, Ice
Did any of you lost weight instead of putting on weight? I did lose 2KG and it is rather worrying cause don't know bb got enough nutrients or not.

Hi gal,

I think I lost a kg over the past 1 week also. Difficult not to lost since I puke everything I eat anyway. I think 1st trimster lose weight still ok. Cos what you are eating now is to nourish the mother anyway. From the 2nd trim onward, whatever the mummy eat, the bb will absorb too. So I think nothing much to worry now. But still I hate the part about eating and puke. Now it seems to put me off eating. Sometimes I thought if I am gng to puke later, I might as well not eat. At least if puke, also puke the water out. Not so disgusting mah. But if I don't eat, I get hungry though....wat a dilemna.

Hi Ice,
Sometimes I feel nasuea then I start to wonder if I am hungry . Hungry can cause this sort of feeling I read. Then eat and end up in toilet. When you want to vomit, do you feel the food is like stuck midway and couldn't digest then u vomit or what's your feeling before vomit?

hi gal...
for my 1st pregnancy, i was losing weight all the way till 2nd trimester, the 1st 2 trimester, i lose total 5kg. i managed to gain the 5kg in 3rd trimester, plus another 4kg, so my total weight gain for the pregnancy is only 4kg.
my son was born @2.685kg, low birth weight, but a very healthy baby!

Gal,

Yah, me like you also. hungry, eat and vomit. After I eat, the food like stuck in the throat and cldn't digest. After awhile it gets so bothersome that I need to vomit. When I vomit, most of the things comes out, but sometimes some got stuck at the throat again and swallows back. Guess it sound disgusting. Thats why I am starting to have the phobia of vomiting...and thus the phobia of eating.

Hi Karen,

Your weight gain of 4kgs is soo little.... my gynae told me I should only gain 10kgs. Anything after that is weight gain by the mummy.

My weight is still constant for now. As for swimming, I did ask my gynae if I can go swimming and bowling.. Yes. I do mean bowling. My gynae looked at me in disbelief. Ha ha ha
He said for your case... NO!

Hi Ice,
Yeah... Dreadful and I fully understand. Mine is stuck in the gastric area instead of the throat and have to force it out to relieve it.

10KG is a lot.

Hi Taro,
I thought exercise like swimming, bowling should all be 2nd trimester exercise not first ?

hi Icy_queen...
yaloh.. i know it sooo little... cant help leh.. the 1st 2 trimester MS is so bad... no appetite at all. all the dinner i took, will vomit out...
maybe bcos i'm overweight... hence my son when born, is still in the normal weight range...

for this 2nd pregnancy, this morning started to feel nasuea, no appetite... this morning only manage to swallow 2 slice of bread, and i took 30mins to do so.... now... lunch time already.... still dont feel like eating, everything puts me off...

mummyyoko,
oh.. then i guess i have to start applying the strechmark stuffs....

gal,
probably u can tell your boss about your pregnancy so that he can understand. if not, he'll probably think that you went somewhere to interview.

taro,
my weight is quite constant also, may be slightly increase 0.5kg. as i am not vomitting, just purely nausea and keep eating.

Congrats on your pregnancies! I would like to join the thread...

Just tested on Sat at home and results seem to be positive. However, I've not visited the gynae..will do so only in mid-oct to confirm. So far no symptoms yet, but if all goes well, bb will be due sometime in late May 07.

This is a little unexpected as I was busy the past month moving house. I had my 1st child in Nov 05 and she's coming to 11 months, so didn't expect to be preggy again so soon. Anyway, if you gals have any questions re: pregnancy, I'll be happy to answer them anytime.

Hi Lovedogs,
As one of my friend is working in healthcare sector before and her hubby is also a doctor, they have strong recommendation on KKH. I have therefore long ago been pursuaded to give birth in KKH than in pte hospital. I have chosen Dr Benjamin Tham is because I only wish to visit a gynae on a Sat and he is one of few recommendeed gynae in the forum, who have consultation on a Sat. After my 1st appointment with him, I find him very friendly & assuring & likely confirm him as my gynae. Thus, I could not give you any recommendation unless you wish to give birth in KKH. Other MTBs maybe can give you some recommendations.

Hi gal,

The 10kg is including the placenta weight and all the water retention and the baby's weight. So I think still reasonable. But anything more than 10kgs is mummy's fat liao. Actually quite true, cos my friend gained 20kgs that time and after birth, she has excess 10kgs. So the calculation is correct lor.

Hi karen,

Me on the plump side too. Dunnoe if I will be like you...kekeke....

Hope those who have MS, will recover real soon. Do take care.

Hi Mummyyoko,
Is your gynae also Dr Benjamin Tham from KKH?.. After visiting Dr Tham for the 1st time last Sat, I find him very friendly and assuring. The queuing time at KKH Women's clinic at AMK is also very good, thus I likely confirm him as my gynae .

Any mommies got cravings now?

I suddenly got craving for popcorn - caramel popcorn. looks like i got to hug a GV popcorn back home tonight.

hi dec_gal,
Yap! Mine is Dr Ben Tham from KKH. My hubby is a regular so i have to settle myself in govt hosp, but he is really quite good giving lots of advices and as my previous posts, I have PCOS and he has been very encouraging in our planning. He put me on Clomid after some thorough checkups and a minor surgery. Me and hubby feel very comfortable with him. I went to AMK KKH too. I used to visit him on Sat but just changes to Monday nites checkup. Might wanna change back to Sat is possible.

When is your EDD?