(2007/05) May 2007 MTB

Sanrio/nellu,
i’m also trying strict routine on javen as in the time to sleep and eat. Agree that its not only for night time bed routine but the whole day cos I also find it that kids will be happier/satisfied if their daily routine is more of less fixed. I make sure he turn in slightly past 8 and will always fall asleep by 8.45pm. if go out, the most will sleep ard 9 plus on the way back home. But as a FTWM, during the day, I have to depends on mil. Think she try to fix the routine I told her, but there r times where my boy gets naughty, she will give in to him and let him have his way.

I find it diff to control his waking up time esp when I leave for work early in the morn. He can wake up as early as slightly past 6 at times, then the next days wake up at 7 or 7plus. If I’m ard on weekends, he will sleep slightly longer, as I will always try to make him go back sleep for an hr or so, so that he will wake up ard the same time. But if I’m not ard, his waking time is errratic. Not too sure if its good. But if he wake up early, then late morn, he will wan to nap again and the nap again in the noon.

Jeanyard,
Javen doesn’t seems to like sweet stuff. We try to let him have a try on diff drinks, he will reject. Think he prefer plain water. Haha. But he like salty food le. Not good…he loves junk food like crackers, chips. Not healthy at all.

Actually I’m alright with milk=milkbottle. But if he can drink milk from straw mug or cup, that will be even better. My PD actually told me it will be good to start training them up to drink from straw mugs instead of using bottles

cheezel, sanrio,
i'm really happy to hear that you gals believe in instilling a routine for kids. I've shared this idea with so many other mums i know and most of the time, they think it's a ridiculous idea. I don't know if it is ridiculous but it's definitely made the lives of the people in my household much better. Most importantly, i have witnessed for myself the transformation of Josh being a fussy baby to one who's happy and now very independent.

That is enough to convince me that this is the right thing to do.

cheezel, nellu

you gals are great at being so disciplined with the routine! I agree it's good coz it's simply a good habit. But as much as I try,it's tough lor. recently his nap time also has been getting later & later & at times he only naps at 2 pm! I'm beat by then!

Janet
You brought yr gal to which poly? I'm going to a poly for MMR - his first jab in poly! My hubby is bent on telling me to stick to PD but I think it's time I save some $$. I mean, thousands of babies have gone thru MMR in poly & they turned up fine right! Hope all goes well!

Worried abt the fever though. Cheezel, has Javen gone thru MMR?

I'm still at work, still got team dinner later. Argh... wish I was home, though it's rare I get some free time to myself after work like this...

smalldreams,
this routine thing really helped me when i became a SAHM. O/w my life will really be topsy turvy! That's why i encourage people to do this with their kids! I agree it's tough to instill it, esp when they are older. I started only in Jan! By then Josh is kinda old to be put on a routine. I almost gave up in the first few weeks. Actually thankfully i had no other support and did it myself so i was more determined. Better than having someone to help me alongside but that someone is not supportive..then my efforts would have failed.

Adam's napping at 2pm -- guess what? Over the weekend (fr friday thru to Monday) Josh was doing exactly the same thing! In fact on Monday he didn't even nap at all. I attributed it to the presence of daddy. Hahaha cos I noticed that everytime daddy is around somehow the routine will be screwed...daddy has a lazy influence on mummy and playful influence on Josh.. :D

MMR Jab & Fever
my hubby is insisting on going to a PD. I'm not fighting this either.

I'm also a bit worried abt the fever tho. Cos when Josh gets fever (which doesn't happen very often at all), he's quite difficult to handle.

nellu
somepple may see it as too young to instil a routine for our kiddos. They will say they r still young so let them do what they wan to do. So sometime u will see tat the bedtime is getting later and later. and it seems alright to sleep later as the kids get older.

but to me, i think having set a routine for the kiddos is easier for them and as well as for the caregiver. When its time to nap, then they should nap and rest well. When its play time, they should play it all out and have fun. Isnt it better this way, rather than when its time to have fun, they feel sleepy and groucy. Personally i feel they r happier and not so fussy.

smalldreams,
its tough. and you have to be consistent. it doesnt work overnight. as long as you are consistent with what u did, the kiddo will adapt very fast. n they're clever. as long as they sense that you get "soften", they will start to step forward and get what they wan.

thought you're working. how come noon time you still able to look after adam? hmm.....u working shift?

yes. javen taken the MMR. and PD mention normally fever will follow a week later for some kiddos. luckly javen didnt have but he gets fussy easily during tat time. I think its ok to go poly for jabs too. dun worry la.

cheezel,
you've nailed it. Consistency is KEY!

...and also predictability in children's lives make them happier because they know what to expect and won't feel afraid. and hence won't be fussy.

Want to share this with you ladies.

saw this post on another forum, posted by a Canadian mummy. Sleep training is such a tough thing to do and she's putting this out to cheer other mummies on.

have a read. It's really hilarious!:
DD's Letter to her friends on Mommy's attempt at Sleep training

Sleep Training

OK, here's my situation. My Mommy has had me for almost 7 months. The first few months were great--I cried, she picked me up and fed me, anytime, day or night. Then something happened. Over the last few weeks, she has been trying to STTN (sleep thru the night). At first, I thought it was just a phase, but it is only getting worse. I've talked to other babies, and it seems like it's pretty common after Mommies have had us for around 6 months. Here's the thing: these Mommies don't really need to sleep. It's just a habit. Many of them have had some 30 years to sleep--they just don't need it anymore. So I am implementing a plan. I call it the Crybaby Shuffle. It goes like this: Night 1--cry every 3 hours until you get fed. I know, it's hard. It's hard to see your Mommy upset over your crying. Just keep reminding yourself, it's for her own good.

Night 2--cry every 2 hours until you get fed.

Night 3--every hour.

Most Mommies will start to respond more quickly after about 3 nights. Some Mommies are more alert, and may resist the change longer. These Mommies may stand in your doorway for hours, shhhh-ing. Don't give in. I cannot stress this enough: CONSISTENCY IS KEY!! If you let her STTN (sleep through the night), just once, she will expect it every night. I KNOW IT'S HARD! But she really does not need the sleep, she is just resisting the change. If you have an especially alert Mommy, you can stop crying for about 10 minutes, just long enough for her to go back to bed and start to fall asleep. Then cry again. It WILL eventually work. My Mommy once stayed awake for 10 hours straight, so I know she can do it.

Last night, I cried every hour. You just have to decide to stick to it and just go for it. BE CONSISTENT! I cried for any reason I could come up with.My sleep sack tickled my foot. I felt a wrinkle under the sheet. My mobile made a shadow on the wall. I burped, and it tasted like pears. I hadn't eaten pears since lunch, what's up with that? The cat said "meow". I should know. My Mommy reminds me of this about 20 times a day. LOL. Once I cried just because I liked how it sounded when it echoed on the monitor in the other room. Too hot, too cold, just right--doesn't matter! Keep crying!! It took awhile, but it worked. She fed me at 4am. Tomorrow night, my goal is 3:30am. You need to slowly shorten the interval between feedings in order to reset your Mommies' internal clocks.

P.S. Don't let those rubber things fool you, no matter how long you suck on them, no milk will come out. Trust me

Gaby

cheezel,
thanks. thought i heard wrongly when the nurse told me 7 days.

smalldream,
if this can reassure you, all my bb's jabs are from polyclinic. and i didnt even upsize for the jabs, ie. not 4+1 or 5+1. just the usual. I gather that if the government considers compulsory for only 3 kinds, I suppose it wouldnt be that bad.

BTW, my bb's jabs are done at Seng KAng Polyclinic, because i live there...hee hee

Cheezel

I'm working from home twice a week, and sometimes I am off on Mondays if I work full day on Saturdays. My workplace is rather flexible & since I have tons of paperwork to do, I can apply to telecommute... that's about one of the only reasons why im still staying put at this place... :S

Nellu

Haha! Hilarious! Here as adults we're talking abt being consistent & there they are, babies, talking abt being consistent too, keke! U noe sometimes I trick Adam - I unlatch him then quickly stuff the pacifier in his mouth. But he won't be tricked! he'd open his eyes, form a little frown, and then spit out his pacifier for another round of latching! Gah!!

Janet
Thanks for yr assurance. This time I think I shall go to a polyclinic. the nurses are equally experienced & I've got a friend who's a nurse at a poly too. Must have faith

nellu
haha .. for all u know, maybe dat's really wat our bbs are tinking :p

MMR
So all u mummies bringing bb for MMR at 15mth? i am still contemplating if I shld delay a little. Heard abt autism and MMR, and a little concern coz jboy haven really started talking.

Oh, but to share a good news. Jboy said 'bye bye' yday. Usually he juz wave but yday, he said bye bye. After dat we try a few times, he really says it.

cool_daughter,
i feel that my bb talks because i am very talkative...i will talk to her on things that i am working on, etc...so the words now that she is able to say all those that i said quite alot...

maybe you can try to talk to Jboy more, reading also help. Or maybe Jboy is those quiet type. I know alot of quiet men too, maybe Jboy will grow up to be very quiet.

coolD, Janet,
me am so sad. Josh is still crawling and quite silent..can only go "moo" (cow) and "mmrf mmrf" (dog), imitating sounds of animals...

i talk so much, read so much still like that...not sure if he's absorbing or not..

smalldreams,
if you are really sick and tired of the comfort sucking, you may wanna read the Elizabeth Pantley book. She has a method to teach you how to gently correct this problem. I've used it on Josh before and it works. I'm intending to use this again to wean him off his pacifier..when I've mustered enough courage that is...

janet
jboy is definitely not e quiet kind. In fact, he does makes alot of noise but it's all 'ah' 'pa' mainly. Recently, he added 'Ber' for bear, ball, bird etc and yday 'bye bye'. I know some bbs oredi goes mama, papa, auntie, jie jie, kor kor, dog, cat, apple, orange, ball, bird n many more.

nellu
no need be sad la . I know eventually they will tok, but juz a matter of time. I also tok alot to jboy .. haha. I m juz concern if MMR will have any effect anot.

COOL-daughter, nellu,
now that we shared the type of vocab that our bb have. It seems that my girl is not talking a lot...but it is ok lah...as long as you understand your bb's needs and bb understand you when you give instructions, that is good enough already lah.

my girl also made a lot of animal sound, not the actual words. example, moo, woof, queck

nellu

where can get the Elizabeth pantley book?

beginning to feel the load in my tummy. was preparing javen for his bedtime and really feel uncomforable now with the tummy. have to half lie on the bed while javen toss n turn to sleep. now counting down....abt 8 more weeks to go....

cheezel,

last lap already huh? ready or not?

abt the book, you can try to see if you can borrow a copy from the library. If not can try Borders. I got my copy there. Actually i chanced upon it, not someone recommended to me. I just bought blind and read. then found that it was really quite good. Later on went to google abt the book and author and found that internationally she has gotten really good reviews... Worth a read and worth a try.

cool daughter
I bought my boy for his MMR b4 he hit 15 mth...he also not talking..but he does understand what I am telling him

Nellu

OK thanks I'll google & when I can find time, perhaps swing by the library. Adam is more dependent on comfort suckling than the pacifier. He can go for a whole night without it, but sometimes when he whines a lot in the day or in the car, I stuff it into his mouth..heheheee

zhuzhu

You took him to a PD is it? My PD also previously scheduled his MMR at 14 mths plus but since I've decided on taking him to a poly, my friends who are nurses all told me that poly will only carry out the jab if baby is 15 mths.
Don't worry too much abt kid not talking yet lah. Only 15 mths...what do we expect? hehe..as long as they can babble, make baby talk, socialise, should be OK...

I was also rather concerned abt the autism & MMR link, but then again, I think it's better to get the kids protected from Mumps, Measles & Rubella.. coz they have even more dangerous after-effects in kids.

A colleague of mine just got chicken pox... phew, glad I vaccined Adam liao...if not I don't think i can sleep in peace

Talk about chickenpox...I'm so so done with it...keke...some of the marks are still on the kids but think they're slowly fading off...I hope!

Just bought 9 Winnie the Pooh magazines from Suntec Carrefour yday...clearance sale in the atrium. The freebies are cute...

jUST CHecking the number of people coming, as I will be buying stuff from old chang kee.

Please inform if not coming.
1. SpringDance
2. Cool_Daughter
3. Janet
4. Nellu
5. Pisces Gal
6. Mum@Work
7. CHeezel

smalldream,
true oso hor. Maybe i will juz go ahead wif MMR when jboy hits 15mths.

Btw, chic pox vacc is not 100% fullproof. Still hv a tinnie winnie bit chance of getting. You know?

Janet & Mummies going for the picnic this Sunday,

I assume all the hubbies and babies are coming ya
!

Most of u will reach there at about 4pm, right? If that is the case, I will also be there at about 4pm!

I will be bringing roasted chicken wings (homemade) with me on that day.

Janet & Mummies going for the picnic this Sunday,

Not sure what time i will be reaching also le. I dunno what to buy le. How abt cakes? u guys want?

cheezel & other going for picnic,

we'll make some simple sandwiches for all...safe for kiddos as well... Cakes! :p dun worry abt me and Josh...sure will eat..hahaha my hubby call us the junk brigade!

smalldreams,
why does Adam whine? I actually don't like to use the pacifier but because last time while i was at work, my Mil kept using it, until Josh is a bit like addicted to it kind...see must suck..*roll eyes* since i took over fully, pacifier use is only restricted to sleeping time. or unless I'm driving with him alone in the car and he's going nuts behind, i may just give to him, but this is very seldom. I try to distract him with other things to get him to calm down. Hard work but i think in the long run it works better. He had done well so far and can calm down quite quickly.

nellu,
i only allow pacifier during sleeping time. other than tat, i wont give it to Javen. And sometime when he use the pacifier when not sleepiong, i will told him no sleep sleep no pacifier. and say shame shame. then he will give me back the pacifier. though at times he can go without it at night while sleeping, he tneds to wake up looking for it.

my boy don't even wan pacifier..he prefers his salty thumb...duno how to get him to wean off that..my FIL rub garlic on his thumb..but he still continues to suck

Cheezel,
talking abt sleep..Last nite was BAD for us...whole night Josh kept waking up..dunno why...in the end i slept in his room first half, 2nd half my hubby until 630am this morning. The boy, not enough sleep still wake up early! 630AM!!! and he was throwing his pacifier all over the place last nite too... now me am tired, esp aft the 'workout' at RIM class this morning...

Hey Mummies
Talking about MMR ....it's really potent! Jonas got his on last Friday...and the "virus" in the vaccine took effect on Wed nite...and he was down with fever last nite, high at 39.3 degrees! We were so worried quickly brot him to GP...was prescribed the pink & orange fever med...lucky works fast... Fever subsided this morning and he seems back to normal....appetite not so good though...anyway. am on leave today taking care of him...he napping now.

So mummies be mentally prepared if you bring your kiddo for MMR jab. :p

zhuzhu
maybe ur boy likes garlic

SpringD
sounds scary hor. Actually sometime i wonder y vaccine will cause fever ..

Oh mummies,
Jus to share .. especially wif those on mamil gold. I bot the 'honey' flavoured mamil 3 for jboy to try. Last nite after a whole bottle, rashes developed ard his mouth. Tho' not serious, but it's really red patches, but tis morning disappear le. Now i tinking wanna continue anot. ..

Zhuzhu,
my cousin actually also has such habit and cant kick off until she is 7 yrs old. And if u look at her thumb that she likes to suckle, its actually smaller than the other thumb. my aunt try everything, but still cant get her to kick off the habit. Its tougher than pacifier cos its part of the kiddo’s body. Cant possible throw away like pacifier. She stopped at age of 7 and we suspect could be due to peer pressure where her classmate didn’t suck thumb like her and one fine day she just stop. hehe

cd
Javen is still on mamil step 2. i didnt wanna change to step 3 yet. Didnt let javen try on honey too. cos i know honey can cause allergy reaction to some kids esp the younger ones. I think u better stop with the honey flavoured one.

springdance,
hope jonas is better. Javen's appetite also not so good after MMR jab. actually its chic pox n MMR vaccin. hehe....n he gets all fussy easily even though no fever.

springdance,
hope jonas gets well soon, really hope to see your family this sunday.
cross my fingers that bb doesnt develop fever by then, cos she also just took her MMR

mummies, finnally had time to come in here. can't wait for my wk ends off.

pacifier:
i agreed with it's better than sucking thumb. my ky sees pacifier like 'opium'! he will hee hee hee and wants it if he sees it. so i always keep out of sight unless sleeping time n when he fuss a lot while outside.

MMR:
huh develop fever! i just started a new job can't take leave so must calculate porperly b4 i bring him for jab.

RE: MMR
Fever is for sure hor? or is it not?? If so, we have to postpone Josh's jab liao, cos hubby and I will be going to Beijing soon and his jab is supposed to be a week before we go off...better that we are around to handle this than leave to my mum.

btw, only live virus vaccines will cause fever. The fever is a sign that the body is fighting the virus and in the process is building up the antibodies.

RE: Mamil Gold
Thanks CoolD for the info. Josh is on Mamil 3 but on the normal flavour.

springD,
sorry got no time or rather no chance to reply your sms. cos when Josh is awake, i cannot take out my phone at all. Once he sees it he wants to play with it NON STOP! Anyway got your msg. hopefully can see you on Sunday with Jonas!

zhuzhu
Wad my fren did was bandaged her son's finger till it cant fit into his mouth!!! hahaha... sounds funni but it works.

RE: MMR
I guess it all depends on individual bbs. bbK ddnt develop any fever. For mummies whose bbs gg for MMR, fever will develop a wk later (if any). Hope this helps.

Mummies going for the picnic this Sunday
Don mind me updating...
1. SpringDance
2. Cool_Daughter
3. Janet OLD CHANG KEE
4. Nellu SANDWICHES
5. Pisces Gal ROASTED CHIX WINGS
6. Mum@Work (most likely to bring) AGAR AGAR
7. CHeezel CAKES

So I'll oso prepare for all hubbies too ya.

hb feels dat e rashes is probably oni coz jboy's body first time in ctc wif honey and anyway, it does not seems serious. So we give him honey flavoured again today .. so far so gd, and he had fell asleep. M gg to monitor and see how. Maybe 2 regular milk, 1 honeyed milk per day .. hope it adds variety oso . haha.

M@W
finally 1 bb who din develop fever. jboy so far ok wif his other vacc, but e way i hear things, e MMR seems very potent so i m kinda worried. bbK took e MMR at 15mths too rite?

Picnic
I'll probably bring some pastries or puffs too.

Nellu

Adam whines in the car coz he sometimes gets sick of sitting in the seat and wants out! So to distract him, lazy me just stuffs the pacifier in. makes him rather "high" too..apart from that, pacifier strictly for bed when necessary. But then again Adam can go for a night without it (coz he comfort latches, bah!)

Springdance
Gosh, quite potent huh the jab? Then tomorrow how? Will Jonas be there? Adam's turn next Thursday...

In fact today my mom said he was rather warm... not sure why. He fell yesterday on his head! But still active as ever. Think his fever is probably due to teething... I myself don't have a fever but dont feel quite good. I sure hope I haven't caught the neverending office flu bug

If his fever gets bad,then guess I have to give tomorrow a miss. I don't think I'll be preparing anything for the picnic if I do come..probably buy some pandan cake? hehe... safe food for babies & mummies

I only have Pisces_gal's no..so I guess you're the only one I'll contact should I be coming tomorrow
If I do, look out for a shortie in tudung, with a mischievious toddler along with her!

smalldreams
hmmmm....the pinic is sun rite? not tmr.....

CoolD
Read u bought bbJ his Jordan toothbrush rite? Does he like it? I bought for bbK, she uses it 2x den don wan liao.... wonder how to get her to like brushing her teeth lei cos she got 12teeth liao...I brushed my own teeth n let her see but she'll juz show me her set of teeth, smile den run away.....

m@w
yes yes .. I m not really insisting his brushing, but every nite bath, will give him his toothbrush n some x he will pretend to brush. Some x, he even brush for his starfish (squeeky bath toy). His top right molar is juz out, + his front, he has 10 teeth now

smalldreams
ky n adam can shake *hands*, ky also fell n got a baluku on his forehead yesterday. today he a bit warm n refused milk.

m@w

Hey thanks for pointng that out~ if not I'll be so blur on Saturday afternoon... it also looks like its gonna rain now...

m@ & CD
Wow yr boys got so many teeth! mine only has 8. no molars yet. Still chewing on his gums...

sgn
Oh dear... boys will be boys. Just gotta monitor lor...

Just now I experimented with ABC pasta & put some cheese ..he ate quite a bit. 5 teaspoons..which is a lot for adam's standards...hehe

smalldreams,
you take Adam on very long drives is it? Do you give him toys and stuff to fiddle around in the car?

Quite frankly, a lot of people marvel at how well behaved Josh is in the car and all and ask how I did it. hahah well, i dunno...he only became so good after we changed his car seat from the rear-facing infant type to the front facing toddler type. Perhaps he's just busybody lah..likes to look outside the window...hehehe

CoolD, M@W,
i also have problems getting Josh to brush his 12 teeth. He's happy to brush his molars but not his front teeth. I tried all sorts of things but just doesn't work. He used to like it but dunno why now it's no longer interesting for him...sigh..i'm worried leh...

nellu
jboy oso become more well behave after i changed his car seat. In fact, if i drive wif u alone behind, he will really be good. But some x when there r ah gong ah ma behind wif him, he may want them to carry.

smalldreams
jboy oso stuck wif 8 teeth for a long time .. recently than his molar and another top front teeth sprout.