(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

hi fen,
if i dun rem wrongly.. the one i saw was $69.90..
btw, tks for your offer on mothercare's discount.. hvn't set my eyes on their clothes yet.. kekeke..

Hi ixora
thanks... i will go and see and get one on dis weekend lor.. my colleague actuaaly told me that theirs material was very good for the baby.. for the mum i am nt so sure.. but think is abit expensive la.. like wat u mention previous dis is the x for the sales person to earn our money ma..

you can try 9mois and swell at paragon also. Both on Level 5. They have very nice jeans. Mothers en vogue's also v good. They are atdelfi orchard. but i think they have more things in their online store www.mothersenvouge.com.sg. They have XS for smaller mommies. I'm v petite. Now only 42kg, but cannot wear normal clothes liao. waist bu jian le!!!

I bought a pair of jeans from Top shop maternity also. Those of you having girls, the baby clothes from top shop are sosososososo cute. Can dress exactly like mom!

I bought 1 pair of open toe shoes from pazzion. I hope i don't bloat too much!

Happy shopping every one!

looks like some of you ladies are talking about yoga classes and swimming. Anybody has started exercising already? I wanted to start my prenatal yoga class last weekend but end up 'hibernating' for almost the full 2 days.

Re: Bottle Birdnest. I would trust Eu Yan Sang and Brand's birdnest. Afterall, they have been around for so long, so quality is there.
My mum also brought some birdnest during her recent visit to Kuching so will have home brew birdnest for this pregnancy

Hi Augelo,

Yup, I saw the link, thanks

I haven't book the CL yet though the website recommend 7 months prior to given birth.Have you done your booking?

hi ixora/fen/blueroti,

ya i know 4kg is ok for me, but hor feel a bit sad when i think of I might not be able to wear back my previous clothes after gave birth loh

told my hb he gotta give me $$ for my clothing allowance after gave birth & as usual he 'siam' the topic...

but then compared to my hb, he is worse than me cos everytime he finished those food that i cant finished :p

jmonster,
there a saying whenever wife is pregnant husband will also be pregnant = tummy grow. ... cos he tend to finish up what we cant finish... haha

jmonster dun bother too much over the weight dat u gain ok.. i have a friend dat gain abt 22kg during pregnant but she manage to lose all the gain weight plus previous weight dat she have.. if u are determainted to lose weight i am sure u can also

jmonster,

i guess every ladies are the same la..as vain as u and me.. keke.. even i tell u dis i also hope dat i can gain back to my orginal figures in abt 2 mths after birth.. before going back to work.. keke

Hi twinkle,
is not necessary lei.. i have a few colleague dat figures went back to the orginal even after 1 mths.. depend on individual de la.. i believe..
i gt a friend she exercise at home, give up all those oily food and manage to go back to shape and even slimmer by 2 or 3 mths... i think is ur DETERMAINATION la.. keke

Ladies, are you still wearing your old bras? I am still wearing them with the help of 'extensions'. But lately I feel more and more tight at my bustline (not cup... sigh) and can see 'vein marks' on my boops liao. Am wondering if its time to change bra. I've got one 'nursing bra' as a freebie when I bought a few maternity tops from PerfectMum, but the bra is not padded so makes my nipples visible... Is there such thing as 'padded nursing bra'? And where can I get them?

Hi Fen,

True for some pple, but those really slim and thin ones they tend to go back to shape very fast. If u have put on like 15kilo in total, its difficult to shed within a mth cos by rite we shld not do vigourous excercise after birth. Maybe wait 2 mths later or so cos our womb slowly going back to shape...

hi jmonster and all mummies

my boss said to lose weight after birth, we must do some exercise - the "scissors" exercise - after 1st month, coupled with wrap! she said wear the wrap to sleep - it helps! my boss is very petite n slim so guess there's some truth in what she says! she kept reminding us to maintain our looks and figure even after birth coz' it's very impt!

my colleague tried doing the wrap but gave up coz' it's too warm n itchy! my boss said must tahan then can look slim!

i've also heard some pp saying get the malay lady to do some post-natal massage for u - that helps too!

actually sounds like i'm the fattest of the lot here! hehe. everyone seems to be below 50 kg except me! oh dear...but never mind lah, will exercise n watch what i eat after birth.

hi mum-wannabe

my bras are all super tight already! i've not even use any extensions yet. think have to go buy some new bras - read somewhere that best to buy those nursing bras so that u can use it for breastfeeding after birth - so won't waste money.

fen,

At last ! Remember, a happy mom equals to a happy baby !

DW,

Now then ur waist bu jian le. Fyi, my waist chao ju bu jian le heng jiu leh. Sob sob ......

Btw, how much does top shop maternity jeans cost ? Saw a pair from the latest Female magazine, very nice cut but price unknown leh. May I know which branch carries maternity stuff ?

Hey, I'm also wearing a pair of pazzion low heel to work daily. Will switch to slip on when reach office. Hopefully, my feet don't swell so much too.

mum wannabe,

For me, I'll wear nursing bras only after I deliver. Felt uncomfortable without the underwired support le. U either add an/r bra extension o get a new bra.

blueroti,

Me also not on the 50 & below scale. Be4 preggie, I'm 52kg. Now I'm probably ballooned to 55kg o so liao.

last time i saw Jazreel low on tv , she said for her confinement food , she only drank the soups . so i guess that is her secret to staying slim . i think we shd think +ve . now , if baby wants food , just eat . once it is out , den we think of losing weight. underweight babies is a "No-No"
coz the nurses and doc will make the baby stay in the hosp till it reaches the ideal weight.

hi blueroti,

though concern abt the weight but FOOD is still my best friend... hee.... later then think of how to loose weight..

as for the Malay massage lady, i already hv 2 lobangs... kekeke...

btw, mummies, heard it's no good if exercise immediately after the confinement. 1 colleague told me her MIL's womb dropped (physically out) when she was jogging 1mth she gave birth. then she gotta go thru another Ops to put it in.

then my hb told me the other day we gotta be careful after gave birth, no big movement or bend down in a wrong way cos his colleague's womb also dropped... scary sia...

anyway, just be careful... dun be frighten off by what i said hor..

My weight was about 54kg for my first pregnancy leh. SO i also not vey small sized, then 1st tri lost weight til 47kg until almost went on drip. But in the end managed to put on til 63kg. Then after birth i weighed myself is about 56kg.. at the hospital I rememebr feeling very sad. Cos my tummy skin so saggy. But after birth I bf so lost a lot of weight. So bf it is the fastest way no need to diet also.

hi wenthena

good to know BF helps to lose weight too! =O)

hi mama22, mumwannabe
thanks for sharing! think i was probably 51/52kg before i got pregnant! i really wonder why some people still look so slim when pregnant! they look like only their tummies are growing bigger. their arms remain slim slim! face also no change.
my arms are flabby now (not that it wasn't before but it wasn't this obvious) - can't even wear my blouses coz' the sleeves are too tight!

and wah jmonster, your stories really scary man! ok, ok - i won't exercise till 2 months later! =OP

ma22

the topshop jeans cost around $106 but i was lucky coz' i bumped into my fren at topshop n she was buying some stuff n her fren's sister who works there helped her get 30% staff discount so i "tonbang"! if not, dun think i'll pay more than $100 for my jeans. have to say the cut is quite nice n slim. i bot the rubberised waist 1. there're 2 others that's only rubberised at the pockets. i saw another pair of jeans at bliss but forgot to look at the price. it's more baggy but think the topshop jeans nicer.

btw ma22

forgot to add that think only the topshop in wisma carries maternity wear, but m not too sure. i went to the branch in lido - they don't have it. but didn't chk out the other topshops tho.

Hi Mum Wannabe, Perfect Mum oso gave me a nursing bra but like u, I oso think too visible, so dare not wear it out & I have oso gotten 3 underwire nursing bras from there, which oso quite visible lor. Still deciding whether to get those normal padded bra, wifout wire.

Btw, I have not put on any weight, cos MS still quite badzzz. In fact I used to be abt 41kg but the last time I weighed at my gynae's side, only 39kg. Luckily bb seems to be growing fine.

As for birdnest, my hubby has been buying from Chinese Medicine Shop & 'tun' himself, cos he doesn't believe in those bottled ones but I think shld be okie oso but buy the low sugar content ones better lah.

I have discount for Perfect Mum, so any1 need, just let me know, think 15%. I find their work wear very nice, so have bought a few pieces from there.

Hi Blueroti, does topshop has got smaller sizes for maternity wear? I like their designs too but always dun have sizes, so sadzzz. But 30% is a gd bargain. Their discount card only entitles one to 10% discount.

blueroti,

confirm Wisma's Topshop got maternity wear but very limited..

but i think nvm cos the clothes are normally Europe size, so just buy a few size bigger loh

snowflakes,

their normal wear already so big, i think for maternity wear lagi worse.

but if i really like, i dun mind buying and get it altered later.

Hi Jmonster, :p I guess when my tummy big big oreadi, hopefully I can fit into their smallest size. Just like u, sometimes when I really like something, I will buy 1st, then see how, kekeke.

lolz... i think all ladies are like that. kekeke... but i now i think more b4 i buy things liao, if continue to be like that my wardrobe will be BURST.

hi snowflakes

they've smaller sizes but mayb not XS sizes. it's true their maternity wear is pretty limited. i saw a black dress there which is quite nice $99 but decided it was too ex. they've this golden coloured top wh i find quite nice too - can wear with black skirt for formal occasion. but didn't buy in the end coz' i dun have that many formal occasions to attend. actually if u want to get tees, can get their normal tees. they've those that are extremely long but slim cut. most are made of lycra i think so stretchable. but different designs, different cut.

and yeah 30% discount very worth it that's why i even bot a working bag and a pair of ear-rings! =O)

Anyone has go for NT scan yet? I went for the test and result shows 1:600. I'm not sure if i should go for OSCAR test. Can share your idea? Thks.

Hi JollySheep,
What did ur gynae advise u base on ur results? Did he recommend u to go for OSCAR?
i went for NT scan 3wks ago, 1:1500, but by personal choice, also did my triple blood test yesterday.

Hi Jollysheep,

Yes, I have been to the NT Scan. Mine was 1:15XXX. I think yours should be fine as my gynae say the cut off is 1:250

What did your gynae say abt ur result?

hi JollySheep,
Me gone for NT too.. 1:6004, my gynae oso said the cut off is 1:250.. yup, did he recommend u to do OSCAR?

Hi All MTBs,

I just went for my OSCAR on Monday. The clinic nurse called me yesterday and gave me 2 sets of numbers. One set is 1:4000+, then another set is 1:20000+. Anyone knows why have 2 sets of numbers?

hi violetmum,

i thought only 1 set of figure. i remember KKH called me to inform me my test result was 1:14XXX. later, she just congratulated me that my result was good and put down the phone... maybe u shld call back to check with the gynae.

Blueroti,

Thanks for the info. Wow, u so lucky, 30% is quite alot leh. Anyway, I'll drop by during lunch later.

Snowflakes,

Aiyah, i just bought 2 dresses (same design in diff color) from perfect mun wifout any disc ah. Sob sob .... Shd hv known u earlier.

Anyway, i hv 15% disc at modern maternity. Let me noe, if any1 needs it.

Hi Stileto

yep, the jeans i bot from topshop is maternity wear. the waist is all rubberised. but they'e 2 other designs that are only rubberised at the pockets. if u go to the topshop in wisma, u'll see a few racks with the sign "maternity". the section is kinda facing the escalator in the shop itself.

hi violetmum and all mummies

pls request for your test report and speak to your gynae to get a better idea. i did my test n saw my gynae on the same day so that he could explain the results to me. think that helps coz' looking at the report, i've more questions than answers. alternatively, u can give your gynae a call to clarify.

i can only share with you what i know based on the report of my OSCAR scan. if i'm not wrong, 1 figure is the estimated risk for trisomy 21 and the other is for trisomy 13/18. my gynae said trisomy is a kind of chromosome commonly found in down syndrome babies.

but for each figure given for the estimated risk for trisomy, they also gave me the average ratio so that i can compare my ratio to that.

hi jollysheep

best u consult your gynae. get him to explain to u what it means coz' u only did the NT scan which is different from oscar. call him asap to have peace of mind.

hi mama22

btw, the maternity counter is pretty small but happy shopping anyway!

and thanks for the modern maternity offer! think i'll do more shopping mayb in a month or 2!

hello everyone! Wa you all post so fast, cannot catch up liao!

bluetroti: how are you feeling? all ok already? i was on bedrest for a few weeks due to spotting also. now no more, but still v scared --- go toilet still keep checking. hiaz.

i also bought the regular long stretchy tops from topshop. i tried to put a pillow underneathe to see. can stretch a lot leh! anc quite cheap i think $16 only. Quiite a good deal. i bought in 3 colours....

Ma22: the jeans at bliss v expensive leh! but the cut is really very very very nice. I have a pair which i bought when i was pregnant with my DS. i really love it. that time GSS, so i got 30% off, if not its $299! but now come to think of it, quite worth it, cos can wear for this pregnancy too!

jmonster: i also heard that the malay massage is v good. my best friend used it and she said even if cannot lose weight, it's a god way to relax. i didn't have it after i delivered DS, but maybe this time i want to try...

Re to breastfeeding:

I strongly encourage all of you to breastfeed. Like i told my MIL 'your grandson is a little human boy ok, not a baby cow, baby cows drink cow's milk, baby boys drink human milk!!' my son hardly falls ill and is very healthy. I breastfed my son for 1 year. menses only came back when DS was 13 months old. v good contraception! Not only that, my little monster gobbled all my fats! And my tummy shrank within 3 weeks. Not only that, I was lighter than before i got pregnant! But i think depends on your individual body type and metabolism also. but downside for me is htat my boobs totally deflated. I was A cup before than AA! My hubby was so upset. V funny. Thank goodness now getting bigger again!

Have a great day everyone!

opps forgot to add

OSCAR is a combination of 3 tests and mom's age

1)NT measurement -- get a ratio
2)free beta hcg in mom's blood -- get a ratio
3)plasma protein A in mom's blood -- get a ratio
4)mom's age -- get a ratio

jolly sheep: All our ratios of 1:40XXX, 1:15XXX etc is a combination of the 4, that's why so low. But just for NT itself, it's better if you check with your doc. Hope this helps!

Hi DW

thanks! yep, feeling better altho had abit of stained discharge y'day. n like u, i keep chking every time i go toilet! hope u're feeling better too!

and the topshop tees u bot are pretty cheap! i didn't come across any that is so cheap tho. will go chk it out again. thks for the tip!

anyone of you not doing any oscar or nt scan? my gynae refuse to do of the 2 for me. He just schedule me for triple blood test next week. Keeping finger crossed everything will be alright.

Re: breastfeeding. Sorry DW but I'm having different view from you. I agree that mummies who can breastfeed should do so as long as they could. If cannot, they should never force themselves till both themselves and their babies get stressed.

Speaking from my own experience. My boy was born 1.5 months pre-mature. He was generally healthy but his jaw wasn't strong enough to make suckling movement. We have no choice but let the nursery nurses to train him on bottle. After he got the hang on the suckling, he refused to latch on directly. I tried expressing out the milk every 3 hrs but the supply kept diminishing. Every feeding session was like a war between me and my very frustrated hungry newborn. It was so exhausting and I felt so useless for not able to do what we were told in prenatal class "a natural ability all mothers have". It doesn't help when relatives gave nasty comments such as "your boobs are so big, how come you don't have milk?".
Well, I gave up after trying for 2 months. My boy was on full formula milk, except for a few fever incident from immunisation, he is very healthy. And he has not turn into a cow despite not drinking human milk.

hi page up , dun worry too much abt the NT test or oscar test. yesterday when i was at Thomson Hosp , i asked the radiologist what is more accurate ? NT or blood test . She said NT is more accurate , if abnormal then will hv another blood test ,( NT + Blood test = OSCAR test)
my frens who delivered last yr also did not do any of the NT or OSCAR test, they only did the blood test . Maybe ur age belongs to low risk that is why dr think it is not necessary. dun worry too much

Hi DW,

you mean your menses came back when your BB 13mth old? correct me if i m wrong cos' dun quite understand leh. hee..

page up,
i think it's depends on individual mothers and babies. like my SIL, she gave up breastfeeding after the confinement. she gave her gal formula milk. she cant really stand it cos her breasts were bloated and no choice hv to take the pills plus her gal cried non-stop (almost 24hrs).

i think those lucky ones can continue while they can.

dun take it too hard about your relatives' comments & dun feel useless... all mums are great!

btw, my hb's colleague told him I better not to take any pills if my breasts were swollen cos it'll reduce the sizes. Before pregnant, my hb's colleague was an A cos she resisted frm taking the pills and now her sizes are 1 size up & maintain until now.

and the other lady who cannot stand the pain & took the pills, now hers are even more saggy than before plus smaller

that's y we shld ask our hubbies to massage us.

hi caicai,

thanks. i'm not sure if i still belong to low risk group since i'm in my 30s already (not 35 yet though). i don't think it is difficult for my gynae to do a quick measure of the nuchal fold since he did for me when i had my boy. Maybe there were too many patients during my last visit so he just want to have the consultation session done quickly.
Ok.. will remind myself not to worry so much