(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

Sandwich,
I will b travelling to taiwan with my frds as for korea, we shall see how.
Hahaha...seems no difference with or without car.. Ok, I will try to find the photo from your blog.

Springdance,
Thanks...Hopefully I can have my 2 trips this year as Korea still not confirm yet. U planning any this year?

read someone's (was it D?) post that car seats are mandatory - What happens if you gv your fren's kid a ride n your fren's kid is not in a carseat? Will you get summoned if the TP sees u ? is it only the cabs(pub transpt) that don't need carseats for the kids? Anyone cn help?

mindy / cindy

if u guys refer each other at LNT, i thik u get a discount of term fees (nt sure if this promo is still ongoing). LNT had a business thread on the forum n i think they were also giving out free trial lessons abt 3 mths ago.

Leo

all the best for ur #2

gk,

are you moxi?

Anyway, ya...carseats are mandatory but the TP will act reasonably. E.g. if you're giving some other mom and her kid a ride it's okay. Or if someone is giving you and your kid a ride that's fine too.

TP will ascertain if that's your child's primary mode of transport before giving out demerit points and fines. So I guess bottomline is your child needs a carseat in your car.

For more info: http://driving-in-singapore.spf.gov.sg/services/Driving_in_Singapore/Faq/seatbeltfaq.htm

yup...was supposed to meet them in KL last month but couldn't make it. So going to meet them in Penang. They're coming end-jul also but Jesse has been asking for them everyday since his birthday in March! (the last time he saw them)

halo mummies!
long time no write! i juz came back fr HK last Fri. nite! anyway bought some ELC toys (www.elc.sg) from there wh r much cheaper than S'pore's! and they were not even on sale! eg. finger paints - i paid $11.50 and it's retailing at $23 in s'pore! dog and cat wooden puzze for $20 instead of $29. wooden cut and play food for $36.5 instead of $53! too bad it's heavy or i would have bought more!
juz let me know if anyone wants to know where is the shop.

hey springdance
good to know jonas is coping well in the CC!

halo D
It's in this shop called Bumps to Babes in the
Pedder Building Branch. It's this small building next to Shanghai Tang at Central MTR station (take exit D1 when you are at the MTR station and just turn right and you'll see shanghai tang). here's the address:
5th Floor Pedder Building
12 Pedder Street
Central

best to chk out the S'pore prices by going to the website before going to the shop so that you can compare prices but think if i'm not wrong, most of the stuff are cheaper there.

halo caicai
nope, didn't bring her to HK and she didn't miss us at all! =op we called her like thrice a day and she would speak to us for like 3 seconds before running off to watch tv, play with her toys or eat her food! we didn't bring her coz' we were meeting up with some frens and it's supposed to be an eating and shopping trip! plus HK is pretty polluted so...

blueroti , much as i guessed
difficult to do constructive shopping wif a toddler around . my son is a terror when it comes to shopping .

halo caicai
yeah, when i went to tokyo last Nov, we didn't shop much. we went to the parks or juz did window shopping. i couldn't do much shopping too coz' she wants me to carry her all the time.

DLim
Well..we went for a trip to Aussie during end March with Jonas...guess might not go anywhere else this year coz hubby say he broke wor...since your Taiwan trip is with frds, I guess you not bringing your boys? What abt Korea then?

Blueroti
Wow...you went HK huh... no wonder quite sometime never hear from you...how long you went? That time when I went HK and Macau (last year) also never bring Jonas...coz itinerary is like eat, shop, eat, shop...very hectic and not quite suitable for baby. :p

halo SD!
i was away for only abt 5 days but was very bzy with work before that and planning for the trip.
we kinda decided to go almost 1.5 weeks before that coz' of the swine flu thingy. and yeah would say that HK is not the place for kids. the roads are narrow and polluted. the weather was pretty warm with occasional showers. wanted to go macau and stanley market but no time.
my fren told me can get nice baby clothes fr stanley market. a pity i didn't manage to go!
anyway, i came back with a bag of toys and another bag of clothes for her, so pretty pleased with myself.

Springdance,
I would like to bring my son to Aussie too but we shall wait for meimei so that all can go together.
I think the best age for meimei shld b 3 years old...Wow.. what a long long way to go!! Hahaa...

I dont intend to bring my boy to taiwan..Korea we will decide again..mayb we will bring.

Blueroti,

thank you for the directions!

Sounds like you had a wonderful time in HK.

Caicai,
err..thanks. but I stay with my parents when I'm there. IT's really the best deal ever. As my HB puts it, "we get two bedrooms, wonderful living room with a view, separate dining, fully equip kitchen and complimentary babysitting service with 24 hrs notice." oh...and free use of car. hahah. Also have swimming pool and the rest of it. No wonder we always go there!

Blueroti
Well...temperature May & June in HK are one of the hottest... nice weather will be in October I think..but then will miss the Summer sale!

I think clothes for our kiddos are somehow easier to get than for ourselves...LOLzzz...esp gals' clothes...so many patterns and all are pretty & sweet.

DLim
3yrs later not sooo long lar...kekeke...will fly past faster than you realise it.

I think you'll definitely enjoy the Taiwan trip with your galfriends...shopping...eating...

Cool_D
Talking about skiing...got mummies already brought the kiddo all the way to Switzerland liao... seems so luxurious to me...recall my 1st overseas trip was to Genting when I was primary 3. :p

SpringD,

I Have never been to Switzerland myself!! haha. But I skiied in Melbourne. hehe. Before I bring J skiing, will definitely let him go for some rollerblading lessons first. Not that it's the same thing but just to get him used to the idea of "a different surface" to move on. Aiyoh...I can wait long long lah...my boy still not jumping. haha. But I checked, rollerblading class only starts at 4yo...so he has two years to get there.

The one time I went to HK, I didn't like the place. I would go again but probably confine myself to disneyland and the cleaner parts of town. Don't like night markets.

Hi SD, D
yeah, the last time I went to HK it was in Oct and it was nice and cooling, but no sales.
The trip was ok but hubby n i are not avid shoppers so we found the trip pretty tiring - what with the weather and all that walking. we r lousy shoppers. but yeah, the clothes (swimming costume included) my fren bot for her girl are all so cute! so i really regret not going to stanley market!

is super exhausting to b with d 2 kiddos full tx as now is school holidays. they are so active. cher is so much into jumping n running these days as she imitates her bro in evytg. just w'in a week, she had 3 falls at the same spot on her high forehead n there's was a big blue black.
ash is at a very stubborn age n many tx made me so angry n 'kek sim'. they fight evy moment too. next moment wld b so loving hugging each other. i almost peng san when ash 1st fell sick w a high fever n a week later, cher n me both sick. the kids are still active when sick but d poor mummy felt so weak w terrible headache. so when they nap, i quickly nap too. tdy i m finally feeling better n i hope school holidays quickly over :p
during times like these, i alwy tell hb, i hv sahm phobia :p

blueroti: elc having sale now!!! up to 70% i just went to whack some stuff for baby and V ... it's not a long cheaper but ok lah ... at least i am not paying original price :pP and if p[ay with DBS card, got additional 5% discount ... i was at paeagon on tue to see doc, then soon bian see the sale and then went to get some stuff for V and valentino ...

gacc
do take care.. i realise being a SAHM, our health is v. impt. once i feel slight unwell, i will pop medicine oredi unlike the past.. i try to tahan.
coz hoping not to spread virus to D

i went down to TMC earlier wanting to visit my gf whom just popped.

but bcoz of the stupid flu.. they really limit to 2 person /ward.
so must wait for a pass if there is someone in her ward.

in the end hv to make a wasted trip coz her relatives refuse to leave.

so with the high alert.. try not to hospital unless necc!

and mummies whom are abt to pop.. shd also sms friends/relatives to forewarn them abt the limitation of the visitors which my fren nvr did!

min,
i think the rule is great for me personally. cos i don't welcome any visitors. i had side effects from the epidural after my delivery, and just wanted to rest/breastfeed well in the hospital. last thing i want to do is to entertain guests. half of my closer relatives came even though i told them not too. also smsed all my friends not to come, but a handful came anyway.

sandwich: the last thing I wanted to do is to entertain my mum's friends or relatives which I hadn't seen in YEARS ... i was like ... er ... they can see me later, dun see me for a few years, what's a few years more ... but i make exception for the older relatives cuz I never know when they will return their IC :p the worst are the ones I never even heard before :p

D
Hmm...skiing with Melbourne..that's something more 'rare' ...ya know Singaporeans always associate skiing with Korea or Swiss...heheeheh.

I myself dun know roller-blading...Oppss... but it seems to me ice-skate is easier... :p

Blueroti
Few times I went to HK...I think I didn't go Stanley market...it's good for swimwear?

Sanrio
I can imagine you must be tired out this period! Hopefully when Cher goes to childcare next year... June will not be such a "scary" period for you since she got no school holidays. :p

Cool_D,
Yah..i agreed, 4-5 years old shld be the ideal age for them to enjoy skiing. At least they can experience the fun of it..

Springdance,
Hopefully cox I have waiting to bring Jay to Gold Coast for so long but now we have to wait again..hahaa
Im really looking forward to this taiwan trip..i need a break!

Btw, I dun find it rare to ski in melbourne cox my skiing trip was there too! hahaa..

Sanrio,
Understand its not easy to look after 2 kids alone. Why not leaving cher & Ash with yr mom
while u take a break with your frds for some shopping?

SpringD,
maybe because it's mot "slippery" haha.

I would like to try snowboarding next time....but have to train up the core muscles first.

Aiyah, dreaming about all these things is fun but first have to get through a few more years of "babyhood". Motivation to have second child is less and less!

halo diane!
was wondering if you've popped coz didn't see your posts in the last few days! anyway, i share the same sentiments as you and sandwich abt the preference not to have guests during the stay in the hospital. i told everyone not to visit so only a small grp of close frens came. but a not so close fren insisted on coming coz her office was nearby so i was pretty exasperated. i was so tired and wanted to rest and learn how to BF so it was pretty disruptive.
and thanks! will chk out ELC! hopefully i can buy the other stuff that i didn't manage to get in HK! hehehehe

hey springd
i'm not sure if stanley mkt has alot of swim wear or not, will chk with my fren in HK and let u know. but she has bot quite alot of nice clothes and swimming costume for her girl fr there. but stanley mkt is pretty far, abt 1 hr bus ride fr the admiralty mtr station.

hey sanrio
u take care! taking care of 1 kid is pretty tiring so i can imagine having to manage 2 kids
will be super tiring!

anyone have contact for good neck massage?

Woke up with stiff neck yesterday morning...this morning it's worse. Took panadol but no help. Hurts when I turn my head to the right.

Appreciate if you can recommend someone to help me straighten out this kink. Thanks!

sanrio,

i think i can understand... me with 1 Jo alrdy very tired.. this morning i was bz with chores and this jo poured water all over the flr.. i was so mad that i scolded and smacked her hand, told her she was giving me more work to do, as if i din hv enough alrdy.. and the weather is so hot, juz made everything worse.. but i felt bad after that cos she cried bitterly.. gave her a hug, and she was back to her active, up-to-mischief mode again, junping ard on my bed.. now she is napping then I can breathe alittle..
anyway, u take care k...

Min is right, if we'r down.. it's v tough looking after them..

ixora
reminded me of an incident..

i soclded D for not informing he wanna poo coz he drop a pc of poo on the floor.

he look sad and gave me a hug.. me being guilty i say "Mummy is sorry and I love you ok"

then he immed revert back to his cheeky face and say "scared scared" and ran away.. and i realised i had been fooled!

blueroti,

thanks for the site...

Jesse locked my bedroom door, went out of the room and closed the door. I was in the kitchen. You can imagine that I shouted at him. He ran into the kitchen and stayed there until I went to get him an hour later, after I broke into my own room.

Keys to all doors in my home are now at an accessible place. Note to all. haha.

D,
you are lucky Jesse din locked himself in your room. for my rooms the keys are all outside. anyway, lesson learned

btw, he can stay in your kitchen for the whole hour ?? pretty good leh!

eh D
my fren in the US was locked in the play room by her 2yr old boy and the boy was outside the room! she had to scream for help (she didn't have her phone with her) and finally after an hr, her neighbour heard her and called her hubby so that he could rush home to unlock the door for her.
funnily, her boy juz sat at the dining table and cried the whole time!

the weather is indeed terrible - i find myself so grumpy so have to leave the aircon switched on the whole day! hopefully by Aug when I deliver, the temperature would have tapered off!

michelle,

if he's in the room lagi good...he knows how to unlock. He's done that plenty.

Well, he knows I was in no mood to attend to anyone except my door. He knows how to steer clear.

blueroti,

I made an appt with the one at club st. hopefully it'll solve it.

halo D
hopefully the therapist will be able to "un-knot" your neck problem. actually is it also the way u slept the last 2 days? sometimes it affects as well.

wah...no joke. It HURTS. hahah.

I'm just glad Jesse was able to sit there and wait for me for 30 minutes...with a bit of snacks in hand. I think he felt my pain, he started tearing and nose started running when I was tearing as well. heh.

D; i think J is very well behaved kid, even though he may be michievous at times.

Kudos to SAHm cuz I can't do it alone, I def need a maid!

Sanrio: hope ur kids and u feel better soon. If u wana someone to look after cher, you can drop by my place and leave her with me? I am "redoing" my play area for V, so hopefully it will be less cluttered and more kid friendly. my hubby didn;t know i secretly went shopping at Ikea, so today they came and fix up some of the stuff. We also moved a lot of the existing furniture around, so it's more spacious and neat now. After this is done, then we will set up the cot for #2 and get ready for him. hopefully we can pull it off before he arrives.