(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

ah...well, Now I know lor. haha.

I guess most days J doesn't wake up later than 4pm
I can still give him early nap and he'll wake up by 2pm.

If meet up time around 4:30/5pm in town, will have to face rush hour traffic going home. But generally I'm okay with it...

d,
yup, he upgraded to XL a while ago, as he doesn't like his diapers to be too tight. but so far no leakage for both huggies and mummypoko XL (huggies cut is a lot smaller though).

augleo,
yah, watch online more convenient esp since the todd's timing can't align nicely with TV timings.

s/w,
don't know why I always think of Kaizer as smaller than Jesse...so was just surprised they wear the same size (diaper-wise). Jesse can't wear huggies or pampers, it's too slim cut for his chunky thighs.

d,
oh please, he is much smaller than jesse lah. he's 10.7kg when we weighed him at the clinic last weekend. but he has sturdy thighs though, as a result of climbing the overhead bridge and stairs (my lift doesn't stop at every floor) very often. but i think these will turn fatty soon with the arrival of the car!

I need help!!

Does any of your children have night terrors? Ever since Jayden recovered from his bad cough,
this night terror thingy happened & last till now..

Im very stress out! Imagine Jayden cried & I need to comfort him (He only want me) then after that meimei
turn to cry for milk..Worst still after her milk, sometimes she doesnt want to get back to sleep. Last sat night,
I only get to sleep for 3hrs! Lucky is wkend...

dlim,
yes, kaizer gets nightmares. sometimes i hear him babbling, sometimes i hear distinctive "no, no, no" sort of things in the wee hours of the night. usually takes me 15min - 1/2 hour of patting/massaging/comforting before he goes back to lalaland. does jayden say anything or scream before he wakes up and cries? he's not teething or anything? or maybe his bites (if they're still there) are itchy and causing him discomfort)?

sidetrack a bit, did you use the ergo infant insert for carrying meimei? i haven't decided if i want to get that, so ask for feedback on the product from you first.

Dlim,

I sort of can emphatise with your lack of sleep. Haven't been sleeping much these two weeks...

To get to the point, yes, Jesse gets night terrors and nightmares even in the day (nap).

For night terrors, like Kaizer, Jesse will talk/shout in his sleep (once he even shouted "Jian Kai, come back!" haha). Usually it's just some random "Ahh" or "stop it" or something. He still sleeps in his crib and sometimes we'll even hear some "violent" banging around.

But as our habit, we usually wait and see what happens. If it's a night terror, he'll usually continue to sleep after the "event" (he is still sleeping afterall and we don't go wake him up). Some times we hear a few sobs and it stops after a while. If it's really loud and violent, we'll sneak into his room to check if he's awake or asleep...usually asleep and we sneak back out.

If it's a nightmare and he's awake and crying, either of us will go to him (we've always "taken turns" since he was born, perhaps you can try that with meimei so it's not so taxing on you in the long run). While it's advised not to carry him, we do it. I pick him up, rub his back a little, pray with him and put him back in his crib...and leave. (which is what we usually do at bedtime and naptime.) He seems okay with that so far.

I think it's important to monitor what might potentially cause it. Too much activity before bed time, the type of things he watches during the day, being overtired...

Don't know if it helps but...erm...Jayden is not alone and I hope you can find some rest. It's tough, hang in there.

i think everyone, including children, has dreams - D is prob right... he might have been 'over' stimulated during the day and that's why the 'nightmare' appears. try to help him 'unwind' before bedtime? our bedtime ritual includes a bath, some reading and some gentle songs... i play soothing music in the room when the lights go out as well.

D, i either have to get out of the house before C takes her nap (she will then nap in the stroller) or after... so 3.30 is not so good. :p

Mich,

so what's a good time for you? give some options?

Okay, I can do 9am - 12noon but most shops aren't open yet. haha. Or I can do 3:30/4pm - 6pm.

Ya, the hour before Jesse sleep or 30 minutes before his nap, we have quiet time/play. Bath, reading, playing with simple (non-stimulating) toys..we chat. He likes to chat about his day/morning and I think it helps him "process" things before he rests...knowing that we're not angry helps too. heh.

My dreams have been W.E.I.R.D of late.

*mich*
i don't mind mtg tom as p/t cleaner is here in morning.. need to get outta hse.

Dlim
my D has night mare too esp when he had cough/cold last wk.
and he keep crying "Mummy zz" (means to hug him).. then i hug him oredi and he still rant and cry "mummy zz" non-stop with his eye close

so i carry him out of the room and went to the kitchen , open the fridge and let him hold a medicine bottle.
it somehow works as he sorta wake up and then went back to sleep again

D,

In the east today till dunno when. Depends on when HB says back to the west!

What time does breakfast end at ikea? i prefer the earlier timing...330-4pm a bit late...

let's do morning then?

ikea has pancakes for bf... and i dunno what else! :p

if we go TM, let's go to cafe cartel?

min, ikea tampines too far for u or not?

Sandwich
Jayden doesnt say anything but he will cried & shout for "Mama". At first he will make some noise
by calling me. My hubby will attend to him but he will cried even louder & walked to my room
& look for me. Worst still he will wake up meimei...

I have not buy the ergo infant insert yet..i read that even with the ergo insert, its best to use
when bb is abt 4mths old. Still 1 more mth to go...most likely I will go & buy..

D,
Jesse will shout for "Jian Kai" name? Hahaa... he's so cute. I think he miss him alot ya...

Jayden will woke up from his cried & its quite hard for him to get back to sleep. Sometimes we
have no choose but to make some milk to calm him down. Sometimes milk does help but not always.

Most of the time, he will want me to carry & go out of the room by crying & pointing "There".
I have no choice but to carry him to living room. Sometimes he will point kitchen. Imagine Im carrying
him & walked ard the hse..sometimes it really make me boil! This thing will last for 30mins & I have
to sleep beside to calm him down. I can see he really scare cox he need to hold my hand in order
to get back to sleep.

Daytime he is in childcare so I think there shouldnt b too much activity for him. Kaizer doesnt
has any problem like Jay at all... I am monitoring him..sometimes the old folks said they play
too much in the day time.

I think u r right cox since young, im the one who will attend to him when he's awake & cry. I shld
ask hubby to take turns with meimei now.. thanks for the advise..

Michele,
I do some reading with him before bedtime but after awhile he will start to climb up & down, jump
from his bed etc.. How I wish he can b like claire...

Min,
Jay will also cried with his eyes closed.. the only way to calm him down is to carry & walk
ard the hse as his wish. Normally I will on the light but it doesnt help.. Hmm.. maybe next time
I can try out yr method. Thanks..

Sure, ECP is fine. I'll send my HB to work first.
Jesse has been wanting to play sand.

So, tmr Macs ECP at 10am?

Dlim,
yes, definitely let your HB take care of meimei at night! haha. Unless his job is a "life or death" kind like pilot...then boh pian, he needs to sleep.

Honestly, after Jesse started sleeping through the night and only woke up occasionally in the middle of the night (like when he's sick), my HB is the one who tends to him.

Actually, Jesse does ask to go "out" (living room, kitchen, anywhwere) as well. But I tell him "No, now is orh orh time". And I just don't do it. But I never did so there's no "change" to make. I just carry him for a minute or so and put him back in. If he cries, I'll let him cry for a while...usually he'll just go back to sleep. He knows me lah...the more hard-hearted kind. I'm like that even when he's sick cos I've been warned that it's when they're sick the bad habits will form due to the "poor baby" syndrome. haha.

augleo
u knw, i went compass pt watson, and it does not show the promo. But i went to ask the staff, who is unsure, but scan the bar code for me and told me, YES, it's 2 for $41. I wipe out all 6 packs of XL size .. hahha :p

DLim
My boy also wakes in the middle of sleep (especially day naps or occasionally in the middle of the night)..he will demand to be carried and walk around the house..if we try to pat him on the bed or sit down with him, he will cry terribly...it's really tiring when this happens...luckily, his dad got fleshy shoulders and Jonas will go back to sleep after 20mins of carrying or so...when I try to do it, he still can't go back to deep sleep (which means he still demands to be carried & walk around) even after 45mins and my arms feel like breaking!

Leo
I still watching Ch55 lei... no doubt online dramas are newer but I prefer to watch the bigger TV in the living room and I can still hear the TV even if I walk to the kitchen. :p

Cool_D
My boy poos standing up and no one is allowed to look at him when he do "business"...least Jordan can squat to poo which is very good to me liao coz I think easier will be toilet train in that case.

springD
but toilet train need to be able to sit down n 'do biz' leh :p

lucky thing abt jboy is he neva used to being carried or pat to sleep. so usually we lie together on bed, he will juz drift to lala land

D, i will definitely be early too coz i'm hitching a ride from mr T to parkway to do some banking... i'll be there by 8.30am so give me a call after u drop off SM.

Heh...just read this.

Great. Will call you when I drop SM off. Hope for good weather tmr.

Cindy,

I left Jesse's room at 7:22pm!

Dlim,
Btw my HB told me that Jesse cried last night and he went to him. Wanted to sit on the daybed where he has his milk so my HB carried him there and he promptly fell asleep. Oh well, I didn't even know he cried...but I woke up at 2+. Have been doing that for over 10 days now...

D,
Thats the problem.. u are firm enough & the most important is u never did it so it will
never happen. Lessons learnt..

U r so fortunate that Jesse went to look for your hubby. At least u can have enough sleep
in the nite. Y did u wake up at 2+?

Yesterday nite I juz mentioned to hubby abt your situation & told him that he shld attend
to meimei more & he told me he will try... My hubby is not like yous so hopefully he can
put in more effort.

Springdance,
Jonas behaved exactly like Jayden.. I dont want the same thing to happen on meimei again..
Its really very tiring but most of the time im very soft hearted... Shld learn more from D!
Haaa...

coolD,
great! u get the offer

this morning meet up @ECP:
ha! jus login now, hope all hv enjoyed b.fast in grp.

mayb next time we can do picnic again in the morning :p

SD,
hardly on the TV now

now only pay the basic grp.....might consider to terminate the cableTV since OKto has some kid's prog for JK

Leo,
hee hee

Re: sleep
Agree that D is more firm..
Jo needs me to lie with her at bedtime... and she wakes up in the middle of the night, comes over to sleep with us... i oso 'softhearted', nvr insist she stays in her room...

ixora
nvm la .. 1 day they grow up le, sure will want their own rm, own privacy. By than, mummies wanna go into the rm maybe they oso dun allow liao :p

ixora,

yup, girls from 10 yrs old, boys maybe 14, they'll close their doors and shout at us for not knocking before we open it. hahahah :p

For me, boh pian lah...all my life (like very long like that) I believe in xian ku hou tian (tough start, enjoy later) so even for Jesse, I'm hoping that by being firmer now, he'll be better next time (then can be more relaxed...slowly).

wah...so nice can relax...
chat w me lor...

Dlim,

good that you can use my HB as case study. haha. I think a lot of "HBs" "hate him" cos he's so "perfect". haha. Even my dad once said to him, "eh you trying to make my wife jealous issit, dun spoil market" (he'll shell crabs and prawns for me - cos he doesn't eat them.)

But ya, if we have #2, I have to step it up. He max out liao. Which is why I a little scared to have #2 lor. Very lazy...

I should mention though, in the middle of the night, I really don't hear him cry (the monitor is next to my hb) so I sleep through. As for why I wake up at 2+, I also don't know. But I didn't do it last night!! I woke up at 5+ this morning. Yay! I'm starting to sleep through the night.

ECP
I had a great time at ECP this morning. One of our (Jesse and my) longest playdates. hehe. Jesse had a wonderful time too. In fact, when we left, he kept asking for Auntie Michele...hehe. "Where? Where A. Mich? Where?"

so long nvr logon here...

ixora
same...i oways give in..she still sleeps wif us...

dlim..
chloe oso having nightmares leh these few days...cos she is sick and having rashes ..she is super whiney...

D...
It's one of your longest playdates cos i was late! ahhaaha! Sorrry! Next time must give morning call already cos I'm so not a morning person!

Cait had fun too..now she's deep in zzz already!

Min, Ixora and Leo...
Hope to see you gals another time!

haha...you put her to bed just as I went to wake Jesse up! He was soooo tired but boh pian. I don't want to be dealing with him after 8pm.

I'll give you a morning call next time :p anyway, you weren't very late lah...we were just early.

yeah, D's husband spoil the market lah - i doubt many of our husbands are like him! still treat her to luxurious stay @ raffles hotel & flowers after being married for so many years and having a kid - mine wish me 'happy wedding anniversary' already very gd! dun even think about present... maybe dinner still can but usually eats what he wants!

and if C ever wakes up, he'll kick me and ask me to get up to see why she's crying lor. haha... but never mind lah, i already know he is like that... but nowadays i slowly 'force' him to take over more 'parenting' task like carrying C, giving her food and playing with her with pregnancy as a very gd excuse! :p

D,

Its really hard to find someone like yr hubby.. u really very fortunate! Yr hubby still willing to go over & take a look at Jesse.
I doubt my hubby will cox he will sleep so deeply that he cant even hear Jay cry! Normally im the one cox im a light sleeper!

Milo,
Kids tend to hv nitemares more often when they are sick. How is chloe now?

Michele,
I agreed now is a very gd excuse. Hopefully he's willing to help out more after #2 is born.

D: how lucky ... i used to be the heavy sleeper and hubby the light sleeper, now it's completely opp. Everytime my gal snores or turns i wake up ... he's sleeping so heavily, that even the 14 kg of her clambers over him to come to me he also dunno ... i was like ... she was pressing down on ur tummy, u didn't feel anything? he went no ...

then he always complain i come forum etc etc ... ten gal gal playing on bed with him he was surfing the web. i kpo i ask him wat u doing ... u not doing work wat ... he say surfing review. so i ask impt or not, he say no, then i say then why u not playing with her ... then he got all defensive and say u also surf the forum wat ... i said yes i do, but with her SLEEPING next to me,.. only occasionally if he's playing with her then i will do my own things (i went into the bedroom to check on them, she was playing puzzle on her own and the daddy surfing) ... so i told him ... u dun complain when she says she dun want you lah, u also never make much effort rt? then i stalk off ... cuz he always get so defensive and say i go forum ... duh ...

mich, Dlim, Mrs Lai,

Yes, I'm spoilt. haha. You see ah, in the beginning, it was really tough being alone, no experience with a newborn, so I think he pity me lor. Plus that time need to wake up and feed J etc. He couldn't do it because he still hadn't recovered from surgery (10 days before J was born). Anyway, the least he could do then was carry J a little bit while I did other things. I had to put J in his arms and take J off because Hb's arm couldn't move.

Of course, I got extremely cranky lah with fatigue, no food, etc. And then we relised that if I wake up at night, it's very hard for me to get back to sleep again. Whereas he can wake up and go back to sleep at the drop of a hat. Plus he has lunch time and all the other "perks" of working and getting away... I think he saw I was really miserable and slipping into depression when J had colic. So he helped out at night.

Looking back, I thank God for the colic. It's probably one of the contributing factors to J sleeping through the night early (cry until tired). And sleeping through the night early helped us because on occasion when he does cry at night, Hb can attend to him and I got used to sleeping through it all...until now.

Oh, that was also why I didn't breastfeed, cos I wanted HB to help. I don't think I could have dealt with the responsibility of producing MacMilk.

But I tell you ah...even now, on weekends when my HB is around in the day, he wants me to be around all the time. If Jesse wants to play, I have to be there, if Jesse is eating, i have to cook and feed and etc. I don't get any "time off" even when I'm sick. So he's wonderful but not perfect. haha.

mich,
actually we don't celebrate our anniversary also. the first few years of our marriage, we kind of just say, "happy anniversary" or "happy birthday" and that was it. I'm not into spending money so I am fine with not celebrating. Plus, when it gets expensive, I can't enjoy and he knows it. Only recently, I'm more relaxed about it (maybe here things cheaper lah or maybe I'm just too tired to bother), I give him the green light then he goes wild with the spending. haha.

*mich*
my hubby also bo sim type lah.. and he not been buying pressie for me for past few yrs.. though his reason is scared i don't like what he chose

and if i wanna eat a lil' expensive or go hotel/holiday .. his first qn is "Who pay?" "you pay .. ok i go"

to summarise..unromantic man whom rather spend his time at home on his stupid computer games.. but can't complaint much as it much betta than a man whom spend time outside with his frens.

thankfully.. he do help out with D when he cries at nite.. but D 90% prefer me at night.

and he can tell me 8-9pm is his war game.. cannot disturb. sigh!

Min,

my HB bought a PSP (is that what it's called?) yesterday so he can play games on his way to work. haha. He isn't home much, so no chance here. Plus we don't have desktop...I think laptop is not the same (or I think that's what he said).

Well, open a joint a/c! Haha. Call it your "slush fund" or whatever and use that money to pay for the fun stuff.

When we got married, we opened a joint a/c. His salary goes in there (I haven't been working for that long!). He doesn't call it "his" money and doesn't like it when I do. He wants to call it "our" money. So do a family budget, see how much many you can "siphon" (haha) off into the "slush fund" and next time you want to go on a trip/hotel stay and he says, "who pay?" Say, "slush fund pay" It's not personal, it's business. hehe.