(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

D,

Have you seen the link? I bring Cait to the one at parkway.

The Disneyland in HK is quite small and they have so few rides! Most of the rides can be taken by little kids accompanied by the parents. Only those like space mountain then cannot. Actually I cant even recall any scary rides there! HK Disneyland is quite disappointing but for kids...they will still love it anyway!!! Caitlyn enjoyed herself lots! They are 2 and they can remember going to Disneyland. Brought her last year and she cant recall anymore. But at 2...they can! She is still telling me she took pix with Goofy, Chip n Dale, Mickey Mouse etc...

Bring J...he will enjoy!

cindy
actualy tot of going for 11am kidsloft but then D down with cold and cough betta avoid.
how come got free lesson @neuro tree? i also want!

Min...

Cos that time when she took part in the baby contest, the free classes were part of the prize.

the kidsloft trial is next thu, not this thu so he shd be ok by then!

Cindy,

went to the link but nothing much on it like price and all that. From what I gather, it's a 1 hr class. haha and it's conducted in 3 languages. Which ones? English, Mandarin and ??? Malay? Spanish? French? German? Latin? Haha. I hope he'll learn them all!

Hmm...next Thursday sounds sooo tempting. It'll probably make him go CRAZY. But soooo tempting! Must decide by when?

Must "testing" with Michele over a normal lunch hour (11:30 - 1pm) with Jesse first. haha. If it doesn't completely mess him up, can try kidsloft. heh.

Cindy,
how much was the haircut?

I can't get Jesse to cut his hair...he has tried everything - even sitting in a truck with dvd screen. But now even when I try to bring him there he says, "dun wan sit truck, dun wan watch dvd cartoon. DUN WAN!"

He used to be so easy.... *sigh*

D,

LNT -Yaps, it's a one hr class and the classes are conducted in English, Mandarin and Japanese. One language per week. Each term has 12 lessons...so effectively, there will be 4 classes of each language. It's $600 per term ie $50 per lesson. $550 for weekday classes.

Kidsloft - Lavina is still trying to get more students for the thur 11am class before starting a class. She will confirm with me on Monday if there will indeed be a class on Thur. Most likely will have. If you and Min can make it, then I think confirm can start a Thu 11am class! If you gals can, give Lavina a call or let me know...I can let her know that you gals are interested too.

Haircut - Brought cait to Kids League...$20. If he doesnt want DVD, then that one also cannot help already. But he had no issues with hair cutting before rite? But then again...they really go Bonkers when they hit 2. Cait is driving me nuts everyday.

D
i bot D to Junior League at united sq on a few occasions. paid 20 bucks too but he can sit on the chair on his own w/o fidgeting and focus on Barney vcd

otherwise he normally goes to HDB saloon for 6bucks hair cut but then its very messy coz he hv to sit on our lap then we hv to find ways to entertain him to keep him still.
so we decided that if we go HDB one then we gonna bring portable DVD player along!

cindy
if D gets well by this wk, will go for thurs 11am class nt wk!

Cait does not look like a terror ok!

D been giving me hell this 2 days.. bcoz of his cold/cough, he rejects milk then cry until very cham like I murdered him when he see me with milk.
he is a cranky boy lately.. cry non-stop
and he is still saying NO to everything incl pee-ing!

Min...

Looks can be deceptive! Cool...let me know when D is well.

D...
Oh ya...it's junior league, not kid's league. No such salon...hehehe.

Coold, Cindy, Min,

well...J has done everything before...HDB type, "jr league" type (ride & dvd) but mostly, I shaved for him. BUT...after his second birthday, he has been refusing any haircut of any type!

The last two times I tried to shave him, he cried and scream like I was abusing him and I haven't even touched him. In the past, even if I forget to charge the shaver and we have to sit in the bathroom for over an hour, I let him watch videos on my laptop and give him water to play with, he could be in there for hours!

Then my HB tried to bring him back to the jr league type place to cut and he also kept squirming, refused to sit down etc. Doesn't help that TV isn't that great a distraction for him.

Then my in laws tried to bring him to the HDB type. Lured him with driving their car, holding their car keys etc but then it came to the chair, he kicked up a fuss again. (At least now they've stopped bugging me about his hair!)

And you gals know I don't care about the crying but it's really impossible to hold him down and try to shave him at the same time any more. He's simply too big and strong... (short of sitting on him!)...and alas, he has my rage.

So I told my hb, we'll not cut his hair for a year because it's just a battle I'm not willing to fight.
But will still try my luck now and then. haha.

the weather is so nice today to be snoozing! can't remember when's the last time it rained so heavily.

i think kaizer must be the only one patronizing neighbourhood auntie salons regularly. not that i mind lah, cos $20 can get him abt 4 haircuts at his auntie salons. his sideburns grows irritatingly fast though, so i usually will have the trim the sideburns on my own at least once/twice in between our auntie salons cut.

haha... C only has her hair 'professionally' cut once... all the other times, i'm the 'hairstylist' (and i do think i do a better job than the professional @ junior's league)! her hair grows really fast too so i'm trimming her hair like every 3 weeks or so!

michele, s/w

I think we can cut alright

I gave away my scissors when we moved (really regret that), till now haven't found the time to buy a new one...my HB waiting for me to cut his hair again!

d and michele,
oh, i have horrid horrid haircutting skills, but i don't care since he's just a kid and needs to feel comfortable instead of looking perfect. my mum complains to no end after i've trimmed his hair. i use a normal stationary scissors to trim his hair, those for cutting paper. he gets to choose if he wants the blue or red one even, hahaa. opted for those instead of a sharper all-silver one (that my MIL bought specially for snipping off his first locks at 1 month old) because they're colourful and less threatening looking. plus, less liable to mishaps cos not as sharp.

Rina,

I go to the one at Forum. The lady there is very nice!

D,

Then if his hair grow too long in the next few weeks how? Or maybe just let it grow long..so hip! Haahahaha

Mich,

Next time I send Cait over to have her hair cut by you! Hahahahaa.

S/W...
Kaizer's so good...so cooperative! He must love to cut hair!

Anyway, I don't mind sending Cait to the more ex ones cos I won't cut her hair often in case no more curls after cutting too many times. And I also can't cut her hair myself cos I dun even know how and where to cut as her hair are not the same length...very difficult.

Min/D,

Lavina got back to me and confirmed that there will be trial class next Thu.

Cindy,

Lavina got back to me (wrote to her before you mentioned about Thurs here)...anyway, she's looking at starting at Friday 3:30pm class.

I tell you ah...as much as I'm interested to join her class, timing has always been an issue -

9:15 - 10:45: Morning Rush hour; probably have to leave hom at 8am to get there early but at least on time.

11 - 12:30: J's nap time and if he doesn't nap, he'll need to eat lunch by 11am otherwise he's hungry and cranky.

1 - 2:30: Still napping...

3:30 - 5pm: Tight but if I leave immediately, I can hopefully skip the evening rush hour but that means delaying. I sometimes go that area to visit and the rush hour is no joke - jam on PIE, CTE and TPE - takes me over an hour to get home.

That said, if I want to join, we'll just suck it up lor. haha. Think and think and think (since last year) probably 3:30 - 5pm is the best bet for us.

Mich, s/w,

The first time I cut my hb's hair I used stationery scissors as well. This very one!

2524064.jpg

It was my first time cutting any one's hair, just had to take a picture! haha.

Anyway, I agree any scissors can be used but a better pair is easier to use and more gentle on the cuttee's hair.

Instead of cutting straight across, try erm...let's see if I can describe it... you know, taking bits of it between your index and middle finger of the other hand and cut along that...but also pull/move the fingers outwards as you cut. It'll end up less "tut" / bowl like. That's for men's hair lah.

haha... D, u know i love observing my hairstylist at work and 'adapting' his methods on C! keke...

anyway, i might finally have a new maid soon! interviewed one who SOUNDS ok over the phone - at least i understand her and she understands me. with some working experience at a restaurant and also looked after children before (her own as well as for her employers)... have asked the agency to brief her on my requirements and if she is agreeable, i might have a new maid in 2 weeks' time!!

mich,

good for you!
Hopefully this one works out.

yes, hair-cutting is just one of those "good to have" skill. haha. For survival, not fashion. haha. I learnt from observing hairstylists and barbers too.

JK's block nose:
last night, hb brought (i was having headache again) JK to PD.
guess what??? the bill is S$100!!! (that's alots to me! wonder if the PD checked the records n found out JK hasn't seeing her for more than 8 months n starts sharping knife to chop the "raddish".....kekekekeke! wild guess lah!)

said allergy wor! 6 types of creams n medicine.
exaggerate hor. anyway, will use them thoro. hahaha!

NB:
from this mth to Jan 2010, almost every months there are new "arrivial" in our thread

hair cut:
hb enjoyed bringing JK to those Malay barber shop. so far, JK been good during the hair cut (twice).
might sell the Braun shaver/trimmer. don't seem fun to hb by shaving JK's hair le. kekekeke!

Leo,
did you try the GP first? J stopped going to PD since he had his last jab (package) at 18 months. But of course, I have the luxury of "private consults"... but they've never thought it necessary to bring J to Pd for what he has gotten so far.

leo,
$100 is cheap, i brot K on monday, consultation already $80 (this is nite clinic) managed to get disc somemore (cos usually nite is $100-$150)
total damage is $160

Leo,

oh well, if your HB thinks so. We can claim too but we don't like the recep at the PD here so we can't be bothered with them. Anyway, GP is good enough and we don't even care which one, always just ask for the "faster queue".

Anyway, was just wondering, does the PD know allergic to what? Or do Drs just say allergy when they can't diagnose? Heh...i've been skeptical about Drs since I was a teenager, don't mind me.

Hope the meds work

I've been stuffy/congested with a little sore throat, usually start around the same time everyday (mid morning). By evening it'll clear. I don't know why it is...think probably just the horrid weather.

Leo
got good news to share anot?

bot D to see GP. gave us 4 medicine for his cold/cough and also stock up on his paracetomal . cost me 60 bucks which is expensive.

Re: Hair cut
My boy is one who has mega phobia for haircuts...we tried DIY, HDB salons, Junior League etc. and each time he will cry murder...tears and "pi ti" flowing all over the face and you can hear his cries a hundred miles away... I just dun understand what went wrong...haizzz.

Leo
I've been having frequent headaches too for the past month and giddy spells occasionally...guess it's really not enuf sleep & rest..plus I've got low blood count.

D,
i asked the same question to hb, JK allergic to what? i hv no answer to it.

min,
my #2 EDD Dec

SD,
u too? oh, crazy weather make my headache more frequent. Yes, not enuff sleep too.
i can't take 2 panadol at one go, my eyes will swell

take care

leo
Congrats.. act i oredi suspected when i last saw you!!haha

no news fm me too. anyway..it took me so long to have D so i'm not surprised if it took me long to get no.2

i think D is starting to show signs of serious T2.

not sure if its due to his cold/cough (which almost recovered).. he was extreme whiney, clingy and cranky.
when you carry him upon his request he still cry and cry.

and when we bring him down to playgrd and he refuse to leave.. he start to cry and roll on the floor. make us very pek chek..

at times want to give him a good smack but then don hv heart to do it since he is sick.

Hi Min,
just wondering-- do you use the cane on him?

I've just started using the cane.. just a light smack on his buttock. But most times, the cane is used as a threat.

oh yes, and I've started using my voice.. alot of yelling.. until my hubby says I'm shouting too much.. so now, I've toned down.. I think

Mrs Chia,

can't imagine! haha. now I just use my eyes
This evening he kept saying, "dun wan mama do that. dun wan mama eye like dat, dun wan see like dat."

Think I posted previously about getting Jesse to "come here" for his bath. Finally, he's coming. It's been what...two weeks? And now, before I can even go back to him and say, "stand on the mat please" he's shouting out, "are you ready?". When I respond and walk back to him and say, "are you ready to stand on the mat?" He stands on it before I can finish my sentence. This outlasting thing is quite something. It's from here: http://www.raisinggodlytomatoes.com/ under "The Book" section on the left.

mrs chia
i startin to use cane but use it to hit sofa to scare him. nvr hit his bare skin yet which i'm tempted to do so. but stayin with MIL so impossible to hit him

i also been yellin and fierce to him . no choice coz love education don't work on D

Leo: congrats!!! happy for you!!! hope J gets better soon.

MrsChia: wish you all the best =)

D: my family thinks i abuse V hahahaha

today V's new bed came and I set it up with the maid (hubby kiam never pay for installation) - V came back immediately lie on the plastic sheet covering the mattress (didn't have time to put on the bedsheet and la da before we left the house to pick up V from CC) but she refuse to sleep on the bed, and is now sleeping next to me (in the centre of the bed!). I just hope she doesn;t roll off her new bed - it has a bed rail but v short one :p

Hi mummies, long time no post...

Leo: Read about your gd news. CONGRATS! Take care n rest as much as u can squeeze time to ah

Haircut: Lele used to have ultraphobia of haircut also but the last haircut he had was absolutely smooth. It was a $7 haircut at SK interchange, with the telly in front of him showing Tom&Jerry.

BUT the tellie did not work its magic. Blueberry gummy did. Actually, we had not planned the haircut trip. We were in the train on our way home when i commented that his hair was too long and asked if he wanted a haircut. He said yes. So I said, "Let's go." Before the cut, we went to the "mama" shop n I let him choose a pac of gummy for himself to enjoy during his haircut.

Just as the barber was about to put the apron on him, he started to fuss and struggle. I popped a gummy into his mouth but it din work. He was in distress, trying to remove his hands from the apron. I realised what his fear was (being covered up in apron) so I quickly found his hands under the apron and put 2 gummy into his hands (1 in each). I uncover the apron just enough to reveal one hand and told him to pop the gummy into his mouth.

While he was happily chewing, I told him to let me know when he has finished so that I can reveal the other hand for him to pop the other gummi. When both hands were rid of their gummies, I placed another 2 into them.

This worked!

Throughout the cut, my boy was busy chewing the gummi as fast as he could so that he could eat as many gummies during haircut. The barber used scissors n shaver (which he was afraid of) but he was totally calm!

Just tot I would share this trick c whether it works for your child...

For Lele, he was simply afraid of the apron and hated being covered up (he hates being covered with blanket and towel too, actually). When that fear was allayed, he accpepted haircut too. Furthermore, he loves sweets but I never buy any for him (he only get when people give him). I made it clear that haircut is the only ocassion when we can buy gummi and eat it. So now he looks forward to the next haircut.

Of course, prior to this success, we also countlessly brought him to look at people cutting hair. Whenever anybody in the family has haircut we will highlight how good he or she looks now, with the haircut and he will agree. We also brought toy scissors (actually they were part of the doctor's tools) which he loves to use to play barber. He will also use the microscope as the "hair blower" (as he calls it). Maybe the playpretending allayed his fears too.

Sorrie for long post:p

leo,
congrats!!!!

rina and leo,
both of you due in december?

kate,
oh, i love gummies, esp those from meiji, hahaa.

mrs chia,
hi! haven't seen you around for a long time.