(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

yes, prog hv planned upto 12 June...the last 2 wks still doing some search

augleo,
today's "eat with your family day". will try to get out of office at abt 5pm thereabouts (and get my husband to do the same too). surprised that JK's school is closed for the june hols. i thought the concept of school holidays start from kindergarten onwards. anyway, found a link containing maps and itineraries for daytrips in singapore (stroller-friendly) http://www.mothercare.com.sg/RC-babytrips.asp

rina,
woah, you've gotta stay till 6.50pm tonight. that's pretty late. but i guess seeing the gyn today rather than at a later date is better for you.

hi D,

After few days cried and scream. My son throat infection and now developed fever!! That's the one I hate the most. Sigh...As currently no care taker, have to take leave. Just now child care called it seems the elder one also fever. Faint.

Esther...

that's just sway!

Take care. It's "sick season" for everyone (according to my in laws - liu xing bing).

Anyway, I don't think it's related.

If it's any consolation, Jesse and I are both sick and I still have to look after him alone.

Happy Family DAY!!

Have done the scan, now bb at 6 weeks. EDD: 21 Jan 2010. Can see bb in the ultrasound n the heartbeat.

michele,

thanks for the borders info. How are u with ur maid now?

congrats rina! i'm sure u're relieved now - take good care of urself!

i'm still stuck with the useless maid... haven't found the 'right' one yet so its very frustrating... #2 will definitely be a grumpy bb coz of his 'tai jiao' now!!

Thanks michele and augleo.

Michele,

Keep ur cool. BB will feel it. Can understand ur fustration. My friend having 2 kids and is also facing maid prob. Beside maid, how abt getting part time cleaner to clean the house? Will it be better?

Rina
Sincere congrats and all the best for your second pregnancy.

Dee
Haizz...Ya know wat...my boy is down with fever and diarrhea since Sunday and still having it...I wonder if it's due to the the hot weather plus play at playground on Sat...I never bring extra change of clothings for him so after the play, he just get on the air-conditioned taxi wearing his sweaty shirt..

doreen,
didn't see jayden in school last week. is he sick? kaizer had fever over the weekend too, but since last night ok already, so i sent him to school just now.

my husband's considering getting a car. i have a few questions about car seats. they are mandatory in singapore? till the child is how many years old? which are some of the brands that i can consider?

SD,

Thanks. Has your boy fever subside? Let him drink more water or barley water ya.

s/w,
till 8 yrs old for the child to be on car seat. think 6-8yr can sit booster seat.

Sandwich: carseats are mandatory. there are 3 point and 5 point harness type, but there are mummies selling second hand also, so may be worthwhile to check those out. note also u going to have #2, so the seats cannot be too wide (my graco junior mini super wide - v difficult to sit another person in the center). unless you want to get a MPV then one of the seats can put at the back row. Please note child seat not recommended for front passenger seats.

rina,
woah, means many many more years on the car seat.

bunnie,
oh, so both the toddler and infant car seats gotta be behind then? i prob will have to be the front passenger in this case. how do you fit both car seats plus your maid behind? sounds a bit squashy. i'm a total klutz when it comes to cars. i dunno what's an MPV. i think we're getting a small-ish car though, cos the models that he's been looking at are pretty small looking. anyway i'll leave it to him to make the decision since i'm not the one driving. we're most prob getting a second hand car. i'll just fork out enough cash to help to pay for the car, since he offered to drive me to work after he's gotten the car.

sandwich,
since you will be having 2kids, don't get a too small car, coz later you will find not enough room.
get a medium size car that you guys are comfortable with.
how small a car is your hubby looking at ? i have a frend who has 2 kids, #1 2yrs #2 8mths old, they also have a maid. she is driving honda jazz now. yesterday she went car shopping, think she is considering toyota wish(MPV). diane is driving a MPV now, hers is Honda Stream.

S/W,
bunnie has a point if the 3/5 point harness too. then some carseats can only be installed front. while some can be faced backwards.

when K was a newborn, i got this 2nd hand infant carseat for her, only upgraded her to her current when she ws much older.

SD,
if it's the runs, I don't think it has to do with the weather. but that's just me...I'm not a TCM person (though my FIL is a TCM "dr". haha)

If diarrhea since Sun, that means one day only? Usually runs can last for about 3 days. Just make sure the kid has lots of fluids (juice, water, formula, fruits, soup).

If he's still as active as he was on Sat then I think he'll be okay in a few days
Don't worry. Children...they touch touch touch everything and then put their hands in their mouths. I think if they put their hands in our mouths we'll also kenna!

s/w,

Oooh...CARS! One of my pet topics. ;)

Can see you're not asking about cars but carseat so I'll just answer to the point. Yes, carseats are mandatory though I'll say that it's not really enforced (like the whole rear passenger seatbelt thing).

Still we use one because I'm usually driving alone with Jesse.

Carseats can be in front as long as you're able to "turn off" the front airbags. The only reason it's not supposed to be in front is cos of the airbags - when inflated would suffocate your kid or hurt the child on impact. It is however recommended that carseats should be at the second row. I don't care for Jesse sitting next to me and when my hb drives I sit in front, so for us Jesse's seat is behind the front pax seat (left side). Safest spot though is behind the driver.

I'm happy with the Maxi-Cosi Priori XP (http://www.maxi-cosi.com/maxicosi/productdetail.aspx?id=12&tn=2_) that Jesse uses (sold at most places). I believe we bought it at around $400+ in 2007. It's a bucket type that'll last Jesse until he outgrows it (in height or weight). When he outgrows this one, he'll move on to a booster seat which is just a little platform to make him "higher" while sitting in the car (restraint using normal seatbelt).

Many people seem to like the "Britax" brand.

There are also convertable carseats where the child. It's a booster seat with a "back". So it still has all the straps/harnesses to secure the child and when you take away the "back", it's a booster seat.

Good and bad lah. It's up to you. E.g. since you'll have two children, you can buy the bucket type and then pass it on to the younger child when Kaizer moves on to a booster. Or you can buy two convertible.

Rear facing seats are recommended for newborns and infants (up to 9 months or when the child outgrows it). It's one of those things that are necessary but won't be used for more than a year. I'm sure if you ask around, there might be someone who can lend it out.
Our's is currently with a friend...when you need one (when you have your child and car) you can ask me again...I don't know when we'll get it back but I can always ask.

Usually, ppl with two carseats would move on to the MPV (looks like a van - like mine). OR you could consider the Honda Edix. haha. I've never test driven it but it has always interest me.

If you're thinking small car like Swift, Picanto, etc the person sitting in between the carseat has to be really tiny and nimble. Definitely not I! Don't go too small...you'll probably regret it...not just space concerns but the whole "getting child in carseat" is easier with a bigger/higher car esp when they struggle.

Guess that's all about carseats I know (I pretty much bought mine because a friend with a child around J's age got that one).

Rear-facing infant carseat - up to 1 years old
Child seat - up to four years old (depends on size of child)
Booster seat - until child is 1.5m or 8 years old.

http://www.kkh.com.sg/ChildSafety/CarSafety/
http://infant-toddler-health.suite101.com/article.cfm/child_restraint_law_ignored_in_singapore

any remedies or recommendation for me?
JK has nose block for past 3 days.
No runny nose, just nose block.
He sleeps w/lots of noise.
Hv tried Sterimar but doesn't seems work.
Other than nose block, he is oki.

rina,
1 of my frend driving the Freed :p.
but you preggy with #2 now right, i think a bit small leh, coz you wld need to put on 2 carseats.

Rina,

err...Freed not in my radar, so I can't comment.
Why do are you interested in the Freed?

My HB is the one who is more interested in cars (in general), I'm the vain one...only like the "cute" cars and I get to decide on colour. haha.

Anyway, our last "research" was on MPVs so I can only answer questions where that is concerned.

We had a very old salon (5-seater, normal car) but we were always thinking about a bigger car especially if our family expands (in numbers *ahem*). When prices were low, end of last year, we bought a Mazda 5. I can tell you why we chose that over the Wish, Stream and etc but it'll be too long.

For a smaller car, my hb did think the Honda Jazz was a good deal last year...but the market has changed so...actually, Mazda 3 and vios was very cheap last year too.

Usually if people ask us what car to buy, we'll first ask them, "what's your budget" and then "who's going to be in it usually".

Oh, my hb did mention that a good place to start looking for cars is online - sgcarmart.com

Anyway, cars are expensive now...can wait, wait. The bigger cars might be cheaper if you can wait...how long? err...6 months to a year? Who can tell! I'm just a housewife, what do I know. Haha.

All I "feel" is, on the demand side, people still haven't felt the recession, pple still feeling positive about the stock market, it's mid-year so ppl getting bonuses...and on the supply side, if you're looking at Jap cars, the sellers are still talking about how the Yen was up when they brought in the cars, COE has gone up and sellers have cashed in on that...

Even if I were still stuck with my 17 year old (car) now, I wouldn't change car now.

But of course, if you need one now or "economist" friend/relative says now's a good time and etc...so do what you will.

PS: just took a quick look at the Freed specs - are you looking at the 5 or 7 seater? Anyway, if it's a 1.5l for the 7 seater, I think it's underpowered (unless you don't mind) and I don't generally like CVT (transmission). That's just an off-the-cuff comment. I've never tried the car.

augleo
D is down with running nose and cough due to cold. weather haywired oredi
sleep also very noisy. get worse if both daddy and son snore together!!

Leo,
I'd say "drink lots of water" but then JK already drinks more than I do! haha.

If it's just generally blocked and nothing else, it's probably the weather (I was like that end of last week also). What happens if he sleeps in air-con room? Drip?

You probably just want to try to make him feel better but if he's behaving normally otherwise, I guess let it be lor. At least we know with children that age, he wouldn't pretend to be okay just to make you feel better! haha.

leo,

can try rub some vaporub on his chest and back?

min,

symphony for u then?

Hope your kids get well soon. Weather is really horrible, me too having ulcer liao.

Augleo: J needs a decongestant. You should see a doctor for it. Normally for blocked nose my PD will prescribe sinupret (fpr children) available at pharmacy and combined with a antihistamine (like dimetapp) but i not sure if dimetapp is available off the shelf like sinupret.

sandwich: just to add on to D, most car seats can be both rear and front facing, so u dun end up buying 2 car seats (dun have to buy 1 just for up to 1 year old).

i'm using a Britax (made in australia version) and my reason - they are the only ones in the (SG) market tested for side impact accidents, other than the usual crash test done.

i recall doing a lot of research on car seats before buying but all forgotten oredi... since its more than 2 years ago but if you do a search on the internet, you shd be able to find plenty of information! :p

thanks for the recommendations, all. i'll do a good read again when i go down to get the car seat after husband has confirmed the car. hopefully there'll be loads of discounts at the GSS for car seats

d,
woah, you really know a lot abt cars. i think it's quite expensive to get a car now too, but it's about the right time for us, cos husband just got his first paycheck in apr/may + the car will be in time for my third trimester.

s/w

if you need one, you need one

hehe...enjoy the research. I'm not interested in carseats (bad mother) I just go with what others have already decided...since they already did their research.

disclaimer: I didn't research to buy Jesse's carseat, I just copy what I saw on another friend's blog! haha. and it was moderately priced.

thks for all info

Rina,
tried le, doesn't seems work.

Michk, min...
JK doesn't have runny nose so no mucus.

Mrs Lai,
hb will bring him to consult PD later, it has been few days as it doesn't bother him except during meals n sleep....so we didn't bring him to see pd yet. now his dry cough (only during sleep) seems bad.

CoolD n D,
nose drop, hmmm....shld hv. later will try before his nap

Rina & Dee
Jonas fever seems to have subsided with medicine but he still got "Lao Sai"...think I must really always wash his hands...dunnoe what so delicious about his fingers that he like to stick in his mouth. Duhzzzz!

Augleo
Hope the PD can prescribe some fast & effective medicine for JK... block nose is really uncomfortable...I know that feeling coz I have sinus since I was a kid....and I still having this problem.

SD,

Do check on nails as well. Ya agree hand hygiene is very impt now esp during this critical period with the flu season.
Never cut Raphael nails for only few days and he suffer from a cut on his left side eyebrow from his long nails, very deep somemore. See liao heartpain.
I think maybe their molars are going to grow out soon so sometimes they start to put fingers into their mouth. Raphael has been doing so this few days.

Leo,
did you try a/c? haha.
If he's coughing, put a bowl of water in the room (if the a/c is on). :p

Interestingly, Jesse coughed about two nights last week (when he was sleeping) and it just went away.

SD,
ya, washing hands is very important but sometimes, esp when we're out very difficult to do it. Ironically, it's needed most when we're out!

Seems like so many kids are down with flu. Hope everyone gets well soon!

D, Min,

I will be bringing Cait for the trial class at Kidsloft on Thu, 11am session. Are you gals keen?

Any of your kids enrolled in the Little Neuro Tree? I am going to enrol Caitlyn. We went for 3 free lessons and she seems to be enjoying the lessons.

cindy,

where's little neuro tree any website?

hmmm...11am is when J naps! *sigh*

just saw your photos of disneyland. I'm guessing it's a good place even for 2 yos? were you "barred" from many rides?

anyone interested to buy premier league jerseys and stuff? quite a lot of items on sale now... e.g. GBP13.04 (S$30+) each for liverpool training jersey/training shorts (before shipping) - much lesser than what you would pay here!