(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

Min,

I bought Raphael to tiao his body cos always have swollen bumps when bitten by insect. he dun really like the powder taste of the med but have a cup of honey beside before he take the med. Can say it's quite good at least now the bumps are less seen. TCM needs longer period to be able to see the effect.
I brought him to Toa Payoh Ma Kuang.

min,
the TCM is at BLK 204, you know there is a SHell station facing Kovan Melody ? turn to the road there, and into the carpark.
think the meds are for 6days.

i saw the doc for myself too, she said my immune system weak, ask me to get enough sleep too(guilty of that)

kaexin,
yes gd slp is v impt. cher is a little piggy tat slp well so i suppose tats oso d reason why she is tougher than any1 of us at hm. i oso trying to slp more but alwy suffer fr insomia esp pms tx. i went to EYS n i find it really helps but is costly. 1 mth medication cost abt $300. tats a lot hoh.. got to find a more reasonable priced alternative :p

D, s/w
finally got the ans liao. . rmbr was telling u abt e mystery jboy's 'chant; .. 'tamy fren, ta chu qu mum mum'? today went to celebrate jboy's bday at the cc. B4 lunch, tis is wat they say ..'join me teacher, join me fren .. thank u teacher, thank u auntie .. mum mum' haha :p

Kaexin
i think i roughly know where is TCM

rina
you bought Raph there for a general check up?
what bumps he has?

sanrio
D is a light sleeper like me. nowadays his nap is so disruptive that he only sleep 1hr 30 min. or when we sleep in late at night he get woken up easily by us

Min,
i m quite blessed tat cher slp quite a lot n slp early at nite. but she wakes up early too.

CD,
a church cc? thank you for the world we live, tum tum. thank you for the food we eat, yum yum. thank you God for everything... Amen. join us teachers, join us friends, lao shi qing chi, xiao peng you qing chi.
(somthg like that, i must ask ash :p)

sanrio
the verse so funny.. must teach D tom before he eat his lunch haha..
think he will only say "thanks mum mum"

Min,

the insect bite and his calf area will get swollen very easily. Also went to ask how come he likes to sleep on the floor so much, and she says it's due to his body heatiness. Advice me to boil some Chrysanthemum tea without putting in rock sugar, just add a bit of honey to have the sweet taste.

sanrio
no, not church CC. FIL was abit surprised by the 'prayer' actually, tho' it's not really very religious lah .. they r thanking the teachers and aunties rather than GOD :p

rina
yah . i guess it's like a 'do-together' thingy. Imagine they dun do it, than all kids will own time own target grab the food and start eating.

Been very long time didn't post here.
Any kid having terrible 2? My son recently have very strong demand. Cried everyday if we don't follow his need. We have very hard time to stop his crying. It can be last long about 5-10 till we give in. Compared with my elder one, he nvr had this strong character. I spoke to his CC teacher. He is perfectly well in the school. Anyone can advise, is this normal? Is it just a passing phrase?

Esther,

Jesse has those too. Everyday. I never give in. He's just trying to push his boundaries and well, I don't let him test me. I do try to offer alternatives though...but when I start ignoring him, he seems to "recover" a lot faster. He's also getting very sensitive (emotionally) at this stage.

esther, i think all the todds around this age has that - impt thing is to stand your ground and stay firm. if its a 'no', then it shd always be a 'no'. coz once u start to give in, then they will know that that's 'the way' to get what they want.

i normally just 'ignore' mine until she stops her tantrums then i will get her to tell me what she wants. if its something i don't want her to have, i will explain to her and give her alternatives. distractions work very well too.

HTH!

D/ sandwich: rem that time u were talking about books and some authors ... just realised i have a book by one of them. anita jeram ..

i got the book cheap :p $3.90 for 2 stories "bunny love" my gal actually likes it! but we always read the first story, cuz that's the one she likes (need to find mummy) ... i tot the second story was a bit more strange, but it would be a good story to explain adopted kids :p in anycase, we love the illustration heheeh ... the other book i'm reading to her is wobble bear (dunno who) but she's not so keen in it since it's not so interactive ...

Hi D & Michele, Thanks for the advise. Need to clarify, your mean your never give in even though the kid cry for >10 mins? Yesterday, the cycle starts again after bath. He wans to play water. After a while, i switched off the main water. He cried about 15-20mins. I try talk nicely to him till used the can. After calm him down, he still pointing the water telling me wan to play. Faintz... I bo bian give in. Tell him a while only then start the cycle again. I brought him to bedroom and let him cry again and he jump here and there. Till I can't stand anymore and shout at him then he quiet. Within 5 mins he dozed off. So he skip his dinner and drink milk only.

We also wonder is it because he wans the maid as all along she is the one handle him. We just send him to child care last mth in half day and full day in this month. His behave getting worst especially after maid leave.

esther: I was in the same situation ... my maid left not too long ago and she was the main person handling her. she also started CC recently (in march). in the beginning, we took 20 minutes to persuade her to come out of the bathtub after bom bom. in the end, we figured, the best person so get her out was the hubby, so i'll put her in, hubby get her out. atfer the drying part, comes the prob with the diapers, we literally have to play around with the diapers until she is happy. we figured out in the end, no choices, only 1 type of diaper and tt's it. then comes the school uniform, wants to button herself, so that one i didn't see the point in fighting with her, only can wait until she's tired of trying to button herself and then she ask me for help ... took us about 3 weeks to settle her into a routine without the maid.

initially i think she wasn't used to not having the maid around, but i explain to her, the maid is out, go gai gai. she's ok. then never ask for a long time, then out of the blue, in the 4th week, asked wehre's the maid and started crying. so i told her the truth, that she's not coming back, go home already. then she seems to understand and never asked again.

for me, the difficulty is in getting her to get used to the new routine and she took some time to get used to it. she was a lot more attention seeking, i guess cuz no security, that suddenly the main caregiver disappear, so that has to be slowly be reassured ... now my gal is OK sleeping with us (she refused to sleep in our bedroom initially) and she's also OK with the new maid, just that wake up, must look for me first, then i must hold the milk bottle for her to drink, and today she was ok with the hubby bringing her to the tiolet to do her morning routine (normally will cry buckets and I have to be the one bringing her out of the bedroom) ... it's coming to 2 months since the maid left, so ya, she's still adapting.

Esther,

to answer directly - yes, if it's a tantrum, I let him cry for as long as he wants even if it's > 10 mins or 30mins or whatever. It's a tantrum, I do not gratify tantrums.

Specifically, Jesse loves playing in his tub after his bath too. Or if I give him a shower in the morning, he'll do the shower (isn't keen on that) but will ask for "the bowl". I used to give him the shower to play with but it's a waste of water.

With a bowl, I can limit the amount of water wasted and I tell him when it's empty he won't have anymore to play with. So it's up to him what he does (it's not a big bowl). He'll always beg for "one more" but even now he has gotten over it because I don't give it to him.

He was getting harder and harder to get out of the tub. It's quite a big boy and I started having problems just getting carrying him off. So finally (in the last week or so) I started to train him to get out of the tub and walk to the mat for me to dry him.

On the first day, after a reasonable amount of time playing in the tub, I told him to get out of the tub and stand on the (floor)mat (please). He didn't do it, I walked to him, picked him up and put him on the mat and he walked back. Then I asked again and the whole process repeated. The whole time, I kept my voice soft but firm (don't get angry). After a few times, he walked to the mat.

The second day, the same thing. Told him that he has some time to play but he'll need to dry when I get back. Asked him to stand on the mat please, he didn't. I picked him up and put him on mat and repeat. After two times he responded to what I said.

It's still an ongoing process of training but it's getting better. Now, either I or my Hb just says it one time and he responds.

The idea is to "reprogram" how we engage with him. If he only does something when I'm angry then he'll wait till I'm angry before he'll do something. Anyway, we have a lot of things/situations to train and it's not easy but I'm sure it's worth it in the long run.

In your case, you said you managed to calm him down after talking to him nicely. Once you get there, don't take three steps back by giving in! Tell him he "can play again tomorrow" and move on to drying him and the rest of it. Seize the opportunity to move on. If you take three steps back, you'll confuse him. Either he'll think he shouldn't take your words seriously or he'll think if he whines enough, you'll give in so he'll just have to keep whining (because it works).

I understand that your situation is different from mine, being that I'm Jesse's primary caregiver and I've worked at discipline since he was born (he has always had to wait for me (for milk, for me to wash up, etc because I'm alone).

Your child first has to deal with the change in environment because your maid has left. They take time to adapt to change especially over someone they've depended on. He's confused and anxious and probably feeling insecure. (Giving in to him, I suspect, won't help because he needs to know you're in charge or at least you know what you're doing...) I give Jesse leeway for somethings but I also tell him some things are not negotiable.

Secondly, I don't know if your maid "disciplines" him. I don't expect she would have as it's not part of her job. But there'll be methods that she uses to "control" him be it through utter spoiling or otherwise. If you don't want to use those methods than you'll face the challange of first "un-training" him and then "re-training" him. Discipline is a life-long lesson so...it's not like we're any better off lah (Jesse is no angel).

Hang in there and give yourselves time. Discuss with your hb how you want to handle your child in each situation and follow through with it. If it's just a tantrum, he'll get over it eventually. And I still believe no child has ever died from crying.

s/w,

Haha...cute.
I still haven't given Jesse any sweets but biscuits or xiao man tou would be a good substitute for him! Honestly though, I don't think he's ready for it. He displays self-control in many other situations but to toy with his tummy now will just be mean of me. Wait till I feel cheeky.

Think our little princes n princesses are @ this age whereby they are stretching our limits...agreed with D.. have to be firm but not angry...have to explain to our kids afterwards

good morning mummies

din know coming Thursday is DUAN WU JIE le.
so fast....
enjoy ur all sorts of yummy dumplings

crazy weather, all must get more fluids n take care.

Yes yes agree with augleo. The weather is getting hot nowadays, really must drink plenty of water to stay hydrated.

Happy Dumpling festival!!

Fun with Baking
----- for those with restricted diets in the 21st Century.
Time: 1 to 5 pm
Venue: S3-06, Food Science and Techology Programme, NUS
Target: Minimum 12 years. Younger participants must be accompanied by a parent.
Fees: $10 per person; $15 for parent/child pair
This series consist of 3 workshops targeting the young and old with restricted diet either due to medical condition or just general health reasons. The workshop aims to:

Teach basic baking techniques;

Explain the basic chemistry involved in baking of bread and cake especially the roles of different ingredients and chemical reactions during different stages;

Explain how the knowledge on food chemistry can help create new recipes which may be beneficial to health or suitable for people with special health conditions.
As places are very limited, the public is encouraged to sign up for one of the three activities only. If one is interested to attend more than one activity, please indicate interest and we will inform you if there are vacancies nearer the time. For more information, contact Ms Jiang Xiaohui at 65168990 or email [email protected], or fax 67757895.
Please complete the registration form and return it via email.
(1) Eggless Vegan cake (banana/carrot cake)
Date: 02 June 2009
Egg is one of the basic ingredients in most cake recipes which not only gives cakes it flavour and colour but also help in the aeration and overall structure of the cake. Normal chicken egg is a nutritious food and is rich in protein, fat soluble vitamins, and also has trace of minerals. However, egg yolk which contains almost all the fat of an egg has a high level of cholesterol which can contribute to cardiovascular disease. Researches show that a high intake of egg increases cardiovascular risk especially in diabetic patients. Therefore people with conditions like diabetes, hypertension or heart disease are encouraged to cut down in their egg consumption. As the functions of eggs are so important in cake making, the removal of eggs must be replaced with alternative food ingredients. In this workshop we will explain the functions of these alternative ingredients which have allowed those with restricted diet to continue enjoying some common foods. Join us to try out this delicious eggless cake recipe which is also suitable for those who are allergic to eggs or have chosen a lacto vegetarian diet.
(2) Sugar-free cake (apple cinnamon)
Date: 04 June 2009
It is very common today to hear of people having to control their sugar intake. Mainly this is due to health reasons, for example diabetes and reactive hypoglycemia. Diabetic patients have difficulty regulating their blood sugar levels. While individuals with reactive hypoglycemia produce an excess of insulin leading to quick absorption of glucose from the bloodstream into the cells which cause their blood glucose levels to fall below the amount needed for proper metabolic and brain function. There are also people choose to limit their
food energy intake from sugar to assist in weight loss. For many of these people, the use of artificial sweeteners allowed them to enjoy a varied diet. Moreover, a sugarless diet is tooth-friendly and would not contribute to tooth decay due to the microflora present in plague.
In cakes, besides providing the sweetness, sugar plays a significant role in batter aeration and structure formation. Sugar solution formed in cake batter increases the gelatinization temperature of the starch which allows the batter longer time of expansion before it sets. It also influences the flavor and color development through Maillard reaction and caramelization. A combination of artificial sweetener and food gum will be introduced and used in this session to produce cakes with the taste and textural profiles similar to those of normal cakes.
(3) Gluten-free Bread (plain/spiced)
Date: 09 June 2009
Bread is one of the most consumed food products known to humans, and for some people, it is the principal source of nutrition. Wheat flour is the main ingredient in most formulations. The gluten network formed during the dough kneading and the starch gelatinization during baking are responsible for the structure of bread. However, wheat flour is also a common source of food allergens. It contains a range of allergens including prolamins which are responsible for food-dependent anaphylaxis and atopic dermatitis. Coeliac disease which is caused by the reaction to gluten also prevents the use of wheat in food for affected individuals. So for these people wheat ingredients must be eliminated from their diet. Rice flour is the most common substitution for wheat flour. Without gluten to form the protein network, rice flour cannot support the bread structure that would be resulted from wheat flour. In this rice flour bread recipe an alternative ingreadient would be used to give dough a stickiness that would otherwise be achieved with gluten.<center><table border=1><tr><td>
mime_pdf.gif

registration form.pdf (20.4 k)</td></tr></table></center>

Mrs Lai,
The baking class sounds interesting

Augleo,
This reminds me that GSS is here!

Check out the free Breakfast Treat from Intercontinental Hotel

2502278.jpg

A croissant and a cup of coffee for breakfast or tea break would infuse relaxation to any office worker out there. The best part of it is, it will be at no cost at all. Simply print out the flyer and present it at the entrance of Olive Tree Restaurant between 7a.m to 10p.m. daily to enjoy the special treat.

Just for the month of May and limited to one redemption per person. (Intercontinental Hotel is just beside Bugis Junction)

rina,
i only know barney from the lot of characters on the poster. but definately won't be going cos i'm not a barney fan!

how's your pregnancy progressing? have you decided which hospital to go to for your visits?

s/w:
Will be seeing dr hc han at kkh since i'm working here. easier no need to do the travelling.
Have a lot of burping, tiredness.
Went to see Dr on last fri but cannot see the sac so ask me to see him again on this fri to rule out ectopic pregnancy. Did the HcG blood test and it shows positive. The nurse ask me to look out for any bleeding, cramps or pain. Luckily so far am ok. Hope everything will turn out well on this fri. Pray hard!!

All Mummies,
Happy Dumpling Festival today.

Rina,
hope to hear good news from u tomr.

take care

taro,
u start ur shopping spree?
or always, hahahaha!
rmbr my dream.....keeps shopping

d,
the trip was good, cos we lazed around a lot! also helped that it was 3D2N instead of 2D1N, so it wasn't that rushed. other than the breakfast that was available at the resort, the experience was on the whole definitely better than our shangri-la stay. might stay there again if i run out of hotels to stay for my staycations! oh, i also think that $300+ is pretty value for money cos i doubt i'll be able to get a room with an outdoor jacuzzi for that price in singapore.

min , can check wif u , where u brot d for eye check-up ? my son has this irritating habit of blinking his eyes lately, dunno issi cheekiness or something wrong wif eyes

cai
i rmbr you also say zac keep rubbing his eyes?
i bot him to KKH eye centre. call their central appt line to get appointment date lor

but if you call then considered private patient unless u go poly clinic get referal

min and cai,
not to scare you, but just wanted to share a colleague's story. his girl started out having one lazy eye, diagnosed when she was 1.5 years old. didn't respond to treatment well and by 6 years old (which was last year), retina tore. she went for 5 ops at KKH last year, and had to skip 1/2 year of her kindergarten for the ops. 7 years old and in primary one now, is getting some extra help in school (slightly more time for exams, sit in front of the class, handouts come in bigger fonts)

this year hv 2 DUAN WU JIE???
2 lunar 5th month in yr 2009.

Rina,
there are lots of reasons for JK stays put in edufarm for another yr

1 more yr of pg for him.
yr 2011 will b N2.

augleo,

Yes yes two Duan Wu Jie this yr.

Me too also gonna let him stay put in edufarm as he everyday are so enthusiatic looking forward to go sch. Think my father is going to go crazy during the sch holiday.Haha.