(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

caicai,

mich has maid but I don't think she will leave maid to stay at home alone with C. Like my SIL (now). Her kids are 4 and 5 already but they still get some other trusted adult to watch the kids if they need to go out (formal dinner sort of thing). She cooks for her family, not the maid. The maid is really just for housework. My maid was like that too...in the end, maid more free than me!

Leo/ Mich
I ever told my MIL rudely, almost shouting: "If I were your daughter, will you still say the same thing?"
She immediately shut her mouth.

caicai, yes I have a maid and D is right - i will never leave my maid alone with my child(ren). there is ALWAYS someone around to keep watch.

my maid also rarely have to do cooking - i do it most of the time. there is a reason why they are called domestic helper here and not nanny... but somehow, pple here just don't get it. of course, it is unfair to condemn all maids but why risk it?

some may say - no choice leh... have to work and no one else to look after? then i'll ask this 'have to work or want to work'? its entirely different. it is ALWAYS possible to adjust your expectations according to the situation. like D, i believe in 'why have children when you can't/won't look after them?' - its just ridiculous.

guess what? my MIL also said i cannot scold my sil's kid coz 'we have no bond' - but this kid slapped the maid and my mil didn't say anything. so who is wrong and who is right here?

neil humphrey (if you even know who this chap is) wrote this - 'if you don't even trust your maid to drive your car, why do you trust her to look after your children'?

gene
i applaud your courage to talk to your MIL. now i learn to turn a deaf ear to her esp we staying together.. then after that go back room and rant to my hubby

and this morning.. my MIL forgot to lock her toilet door then my boy went and open it!! sigh.. this happen so many times and still duno why she don't wana lock her toilet door!!!!

D
i ever scolded an ang moh boy at shokudo's play area
bcoz he was rude and kept cutting queue.. then i told him off to go and queue up!

i would still scold the kid even if the care giver is near by!! esp if i see my boy or other kid will be hurt!

min, that's funny! my maid does that too! i call her exhibitionist!

yes, like Min - if i see a child 'bullying' mine, i would first stare at the caregiver and if he/she doesn't say anything, i'd tell the kid off!

i also turn a 'deaf ear' to my MIL - just pretend that i didn't hear her and complain on my blog! hahaa...

Michele...

you have good self-control lah. ppl like me shoot off the hip!

I agree, "have to work or want to work"? (story time)

My mom was faced with this situation when we were young. When I was born, my mom could work because my grandmother (and grandfather volunteered to stay with them and look after us. But when I was four, it was time for my g.ma to go look after other g.children and she left.

Here's the thing...my mom didn't want to quit her job because she prefer to work: 1) got money, 2) got social life/lunch hour/other benefits and 3) she knew staying at home to look after us was hard work. (My dad earned enough for the family. In fact, even when my mom worked, my dad took care of ALL family expenses. My mom kept everything she earned.)

At first she did part time, packed us off to school/schoolbus and went to work, pick us up from school, bring work home (she had the luxury to use the company car lah). But finally she quit (when he boss said, "no more half day, must work full day"). I was 10. It was still a huge struggle for her to give up her job but she had to because maids were expensive and hard to come by. And we were older by then.

Looking back, she tells me (when I'm down), "you're doing a good job. I know it's hard, that's why I chose not to do it...All my grandchildren are very lucky to have mothers who willingly stay home and do so much for them."

Some times my father chimes in, "I also want to be your son leh..."

I guess what I'm saying is - I believe that it's invaluable and irrelaceable for a parent (mom or dad) to take care of the child full time (grandparents just aren't parents). Unless a double income is needed to provide for the bare necessities of living (not inclusive of spa treats, holidays, Gucci bags, excessive classes/tuition?? etc) then the family has a choice.

The family will weigh their own priorities and make a decision on how their family will be and bear the consequences (child abuse by maid) or reap the rewards accordingly (more holidays/material things or more time with child(ren)).

While I feel sorry for the children when they turn out badly or are treated badly, I can't say I feel bad for the parents who have to live with their decision. Mind you, children can turn out badly or be abused when looked after by their own parents too! So I'm not saying parents who both work and leave their children to maids/nannies are negligent. The question is, "what can I live with?" and "What do I think is more possible?"

End of the day, my mom was a FTWM and then a PTWM during my formative years. Perhaps I could've been better but I can't say I'm bad. So...only time will tell for the children of our children's generation.

mich,
but you don't complain much leh...

Min, Mich,

I'm an exhibitionist! Can't help it lah...it's been J and I for so long...he just wants to see me all the time (esp when he was a baby - 6 months).

Just the other day, my mom walked into my room (door was closed but not locked; I even close bathroom door). I had just taken a shower with J and walked out to get my clothes...she walked in. I shouted in shock and she walked away quickly...laughing, she said, "I didn't know. Thought only J taking shower...but nevermind your figure still good" *rollseye*

D
hehe, luckily it's juz ur mum whom probably seen ur body a thousand times liao. Imagine if it's ur MIL, or FIL .. oops, keke:p

Btw, my MIL knws i m e direct sort of person, so even tho' some x she gets angry wif my comments or my behavior, and wud even complain to my hubby, but i tink she knws dat's juz me. aiya, kinda difficult for quick tempered pple like us to control leh :p

coold

haha *high5*

Ya lor! Actually all my in-laws know I have a temper and I can't (at least sometimes) control my evil tongue. But I'll say lah, most of the time they treat me "like" their daughter (they have two). whatever they say to me, they'll also say to their daughters. And thankfully, i'm more "kuai" than my sils. hehehe...

D, my mom worked FT too and so she cannot understand why i would not just leave the child(ren) to the maid - like she did. :p

i was never 'abused' as a child by the maids - only 'made use of' quite frequently - like doing their work for them!

you are right - 'priorities' the key word here!

i'm a strict believer in 'children only grow up once' so you are either there or you are not! while i do desire material goods at times, i know that i can always get them later (note: i didn't say NOT get them! :p)

actually my in-laws also know that i have a temper (while my hb is really very mild *most of the time*) so they know that if they cross the line, i won't hesitate to make my pt across so i suppose my MIL is also quite careful with what she says to me. more than once, i've walked off from her/her house/dinner with them when they say/do inappropriate things (in my opinion lah) - i can be damn sacarstic but i try to hold my tongue around my in-laws - don't want them to say that i have bad upbringing!

actually ILs, even SIL or BIL are also our families. so i m sure we all knw each other's character and pattern. The key is acceptance i feel, juz like how we accept we hv a stern/ rebellious/ crazy/ unreasonable bro or sis and cont to live with them for many years before.

mich,

haha...my in laws know I have very strict upbringing (which is why I can't understand how J isn't always well behaved. hahahhaha)

My MIL was a SAHM so she knows "what children need most, when they are young, is their mother". Though she can't/doesn't convince her own daughter of the same thing, she "approves" of what I'm doing.

My mom struggled with me not using my "talents" for materialistic gains (ie. a salary) but she now accepts it and is supportive.

As for desiring material goods...I've been fortunate to have "no desire" for things costing less than $50K (arbitrary number). hahah. And since I/we can't afford to splurge on things I really want, my mind logically just shuts it out. Like you, maybe I'll get them only when Jesse grows up. Wait for him to buy for me...but then his wife jealous how? haha. :p

coold,

ya, "acceptance" is the key
My mil told me she accepted me as her daughter the first day after we got married (that time staying with them).

min,
you can get from cindy ? thk she got a few more tubes of toothpaste left since she bought back fm US.
K is using earth best strawberry n banana flavor, juz ordered 22 tubes from vitacost

cai2,
no lah, some of the other mummies wanted to order, so helped to order 2gether + soem vits as well.
we also order together save shipping costs as well mah

seems like there r a few toothpaste brand hor .. I am using first teeth now. Is Earth best better? I am also seeing spree on oralgel and some Tom and xx brand. so many choices !!

coolD,
i have used oralgel, 1st teeth and earthbest only. so far, i prefer earthbest. K prefers Earth Best most to the extend she wants to brush herself. :p
all are fluoride free, so i guess its juz down to purchaser's preference.

Coold,
hehe, actually the 1st shipment on the way, 2nd order just placed yest. if you want, can pass you first mine. i orderd extra for spare mah.
if you are keen, u let me know bah. last round it was ard 9+

michk
okok, i go back n cmf my 'stock' 1st .. juz to make sure i dun hv anymore 1st teeth in my cabinet :p brushing is oso not a daily activity for jboy yet, but i m trying to improve tis lah.

Hi Min...
If you want, I may have an extra tube or 2 to let go. Let me try n upload the pix. It's $12. Let me know.
2316550.jpg

cindy
i don't mind but how do i get it from you? do you do postage?
wanna get 1 only.. coz the brush looks interesing! and i oredi got 2 first teeth on stand by

Cindy,

remember to save one for me!!

The toothbrush will attract Jesse!

But I'll say, he has "regressed" now he only wants the finger brush...but we'll get back to toothbrush one day...especially if it's cute!

coold,
K brushed her teeth twice a day, if n wkend will be 3x :p
that's why we use up quite fast.

min/cindy,
great you get from Cindy, i remb she has spares

i have my first taste as a "SAHM" 1) maid left on tue nite still ok 2) wed morning V lao sai ok so we observe 4) V lao sai again and when i was bathing her, she stuck out her tongue and i saw a blister on it, plus she was running a mild fever 3) zoomed off to the PD, PD says suspected HFMD cuz all the symptoms mah, so thur afternoon and friday till late afternoon I have to care for her on my own, hubby had meetings he can't cancel. I can't bring her to my mum's house cuz got 2 other kids there ... so poor V couped out in the house ... and my temper just flew ... i smacked her hands twice cuz she spilt milk powder doing what she is not supposed to do. but ok lah, she was still quite good, will listen but when she is sleepy, she refuses to sleep end up hubby has to carry her off screaming, she calms down and then she promptly falls asleep. We realise if I am i around she will struggle to keep awake so we have to let her cry it out lor.

i feel so isolated for the past few days, cannot do this cannot do that, cannot log on cannot go out!

thankfully went back for review today and it's confirmed not HFMD, although she is still running a slight fever. The outing out today plus she slept only less than 10 hours, she's sleeping over 2 hours for her afternoon nap so we had to miss the kids loft class. took the opp to cut her finger nails and I think i did a horrible job cutting her hair. Next time will cut only when she is awake.

ok my launry is done, i go and hang up the clothes liao.

bunniette,
woah, taking care of a suspected HFMD toddler when you are in your third trimester is on joke. maybe you can leave the laundry to your husband? luckily, V's not infected. i have a preg colleague who was infected with HFMD during the pregnancy (during the office outbreak). she's also due in sept like me.

dlim,
just sent you some pics of jayden from yesterday's party via your gmail acct. the rest, i've updated them on my blog already.

kaizer's b-day party was quite fun ... but after party i went to attend a company dinner (didn't even change, went in my jeans), was so tired thereafter that i slept till 12 midnight till 12noon today!

kris,

hey diane
no wonder you guys didn't come for class. hope baby V is better. my fren's whole family of 4 (2 kids) is also down with HFMD. u must b tired out! take care n have a good rest!
btw, baby V's hair looks fine to me, really. i thot she looks cuter, more baby-ish ; o )

Kris
Gongxi! Gongxi! = o )

min,
D enjoyed his b.day celebration @GUG?

Gene,
my MIL ever said something tactless/harmful to me during my super gloomy days.
forgive? i don't know coz i doubts she rmbrs how she has hurt me.
forget? hardly!!!
i will wonder how can an adult utter such remarks.
good that ur MIL stop the craps.

10th April:
anymore mummies joining?
s/w, will u be getting a complimentary parking @Rasa? if yes, can pass to those going but din book the room.
ppl like me.....kekekekeke!

Mrs Lai,
when will ur helper coming back?

Birthday parties wknd:
April's kids having parties today?
enjoy

Michele,
spotted Claire on Playhouse Disney's Birthday album