(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

Wahh....Cindy, Mrs Lai,

got $10 Promo never say!!!

SD,
I didn't even know 3 of those hotels exist!

s/w
would like to try the "scarlet" hotel... at some point. Heard Fullerton rooms are nice.

Cat,
take it easy...no need to plan birthday party one. I'm not really planning one. As in, we remember when the date is, probably have a picnic somewhere and buy a cake. That's it. Not thinking of balloons etc.

Apples are good
I eat about 2 a day...Broccoli is nice too - lots of good stuff for you and baby.

Almost there....hang in there.

Catherine: avoid sweet fruits esp like durians =)

sometimes v mao dun rt? govt promote babies, but the govt service dun promote family life/ babies. v cham.

Coold: wow! Kitaro!!!!!! i haven't heard that name in ages! I think that should be great! I think i went for his concert once but the memory is SO VAGUE i dunno if it's for real or i watch on TV.

SD: Shang ah, i did also, cuz i love their lobby. but rasa sentosa is out (the rooms v run down) so i guess i'll stick with beaufort. anyway they confirmed room for me liao =)

bunnie
i m not a fan actually. The oni song i knw is probably the one they always play during a wedding dnr fan fare. haha. Hb won 2 tix on some net contest, so we r gg.

springd,
for my naumi hotel stay, didnt bring kaizer along. think i stayed last year when he was still very young. paid less than $300 for the stay, but can't remember exactly how much. the living area's very spacious. lots of room for the toddler to run about, if you're thinking of bringing jonas along for the stay.

d,
scarlet has an opulent decor and a nice website. but the suite that i visited was so-so only cos it didnt come with a tub! had an outdoor jacuzzi that can look into the CBD area, but water was dirty. the pool is also ultra small. finger food at the cafe is nice though!

cool_d,
genting and kitaro sounds good. some more it's a free trip, woah!

d,
no lah. for boutique hotels, i only stayed in naumi, changi village and gallery hotel before. and toured my friend's scarlet room. i generally prefer boutique hotels to big chain hotels because they're newer + i don't like carpeted rooms + i don't like to wait too long to check in/check out.

s/w
oni e concert tix is free. We r driving up and bkd 1 nite stay at Genting hotel.

Since the topic is still holiday .. mummies, any comment on Novotel Hotel in BKK? I had bkd actually, juz trying to see if any1 stayed there b4.

coolD , location for novotel is ok .
close to shopping belt
but i usually stay at AMARI watergate coz near Pratunam Area

i just went for swissotel stay last wkend at 180++ with b'fast

hubby and i both love to stay swiss/fairmont bcoz of its location

D
dn know you like conrad bear, wld hv passed 1 to you.
that time we stayed and we got 4 bears!!

caicai
pratunam area is e MBK mall area ? The last time (many many yrs back) i stayed in Asia hotel and i thot it's kinda near to dat area liao. But dat hotel abit old, dun quite like.

any recommendation for 'kids to do' in BKK?

coold
Novotel is my fav hotel in BKK! i loved their b'fast buffet!
next fave is the Pathuwan princess hotel abov MBK shopping centre
btw, issit cheap now? can share the price of your air ticket and hotel stay?

halo sandwich
wah, naumi looks nice! i've only been to gallery hotel a few years back. quite nice but very tiny. majestic hotel is quite nice too - quirky rooms but have not been and it's pretty ex.

hey kate
i went to tokyo last Nov too so if you want, i can send u some notes. let me know!

eh mick
u getting cake fr ecreative? is the cake delicious? i'm going round looking for yummy cakes now. went to pine garden - the blackforest is not too bad. so may get it fr there. but m tempted to go back to room for dessert again (bot the bday cake fr there last year) coz i like their carrot cake.

coolD, nope . Pratunam area hv Platinum Mall / garment wholesale market ( quite old looking , non aircon type ) last time i alwys go there to buy clothes at a tiny little bldg near AMARI watergate hotel :p

Amari watergate is quite posh leh , not very old .

i went during my maternity leave ( so didnt bring my son then )
u bringing Jboy ?

i guess for kids , wld be those amusement park in big shopping malls , i am not sure abt it . coz it has been nearly 3 yrs since i last stepped on BKK wor ...

if all fails , u can alwys bring Jboy to the swimming pool at hotel ? :p

D , i hv 3 Conrad bears . we held our wedding there , so we got a set of wedding bears n stayed there for anniversary , so got another bear for zac .

so we had 3 bears ( 1 small family)

i rmbr ther is an article in the papers that we can bid for our hotel stay for $1 . issit at Ibis?
can we still bid or its has closed oredi?

Cath
Do take care of yourself during this period ya...eat healthy and think positive. A simple nice family outing is also a good way to celebrate Mal's birthday, not necessary must have parties.

Bunnie
I like Beaufort rooms...very Euro looking. Only thing is that it's away from the beach...and you dun like their swimming pool ya.. So I guess your itinerary will probably be spa massage?

Sandwich
Thanks for the info on Naumi...think the place is good for a romantic stay for anniversary too (provided if my hubby is willing :p)... There's this hotel 1929, similar to Scarlet..not sure if you have seen b4.

D
But you are the expert on Penang hotels...and I really enjoy the stay at G Hotel.

SD; not v far from the beach. i rem got this wooden stiarcase near the swimming pool can walk down to the beach one ... but i cannot rem which beach lah :p prob wan to do the usual things lor - go see underwater world etc ... but must be early else super crowded. beaufort i like cuz v quiet and spaced out so i dun feel so clausophobic (how to spell?) No spa cuz V is coming with us =) how to spa like that? but i'll prob buy 1 spa massage for hubby as a belated birthday gift. never give him anything for birthday and the card was 2 days late (no time to write inside for him) and even he complain the card like not properly written (never sign off- just customise a "poem" i found online :p)

Vodka/ D: dun wan to scare you but one of my ex boss who is super sensitive to you know what, kena experience when he stayed at one of those loft suites for his wedding. I've seen the normal rooms for fullerton and i didn't think much of it, but I got the voucher for that place in the end cuz only hotel willing to commit that price over the new year on voucher :p (give away for lucky draw for company D & D). So i doubt I will pay $$ to stay there.

BKK: i stay at the old baiyoke suites (booked the wrong hotel, how DUH can i be) and the second time in my entire life, i got spooked by the room. I normally dun get spooked even travelling on my own, but that very first nite, I dreamt of a mother and a small boy coming out of the closet and cannot exit the hotel room. and we were staying for 3 nites! That was prob the most miserable stay I ever had!

min
i got mine all on promo. Airfare on jetstar ($63 each) and i bkd novotel at abt $70 per rm per nite for 3 nites. So all in all, it's abt $400 for 3 of us

caicai
yes .. bringing jboy. But we oni gg in July la, still few mths away.

bunnie
ok, will avoid dat hotel .. hehe:p

sanrio
my airfare promo was one fine day my colleague surfing e jetstar website and saw the price. So immediately we all book. Following day, no more le, but a week later, it came back. I was joking wif my colleague e fare like stock .. up and down :p Hotel, I bkd last wk in a Accorhotels.com 3 days promo. It shld be over liao too.

But u knw wat, maybe can try and surf surf e net or paper to see see .. some x, can find good deals.

Caicai
ya .. cheap cheap. Better than Natas rite :p .haha.

Caicai...when did u get married? I also held my wedding at Conrad. Going to stay there again later this year cos my cousin is going to hold her wedding there too and Conrad gives free room for couples who recommend other couples to hold their wedding there.

Bunnie,
I think the beach near beaufort is palawan beach. enjoy your stay!!

D...didn't mention the good hotel deals cos i din know how good the hotel was. My hb booked it and he told me $10....so I thot must be some shoddy cos where got hotel pay only $10. hehehe. then after the stay, a few more days no more promo already. Next time have again let u know!

pretty_bunnie, i think there are plenty of hotels in SG that are 'unclean'... fullerton was used as a base for the japanese (or was it the british?) afterall. i am not 'sensitive' to those types of things. anyway, i've stayed before many times and (fortunately) did not come across anything scary.

for BK, i also like AMARI watergate - i booked the baiyoke sky new wing suites for my parents before and they enjoyed it too.

michelle,
thanks...but now it's for travel till 30th sept. So have to wait a while more...I'm going over Christmas

Mrs Lai,
hehe...like michele, I'm not sensitive lah.

I've always wanted to go BKK but till now...no chance. But it's not somewhere I want to bring Jesse when he's so little too. Must wait for him to eat chilli first. haha.

dlim,
are you online nowadays? saw davin in school this morning, but didn't see you around in school recently. wondering if you've given birth already.

bunniette,
did you get caught in the horrible NUS traffic jam just now? i was stuck for almost 20min from YIH to science!

blueroti,
i had my wedding at gallery hotel. only had 70 family guests, pretty intimate affair, so we fitted nicely into the zenden restaurant.

d,
i've never tried the places that the other april mummies tried. those that i've stayed at before are first house, the davis, bangkok marriott resort and spa, trinity silom, and a service apartment whose name i've forgotten. but all of them are NOT child-friendly. i don't think i can keep kaizer sufficiently entertained in bangkok, with the hot weather, savoury food and all. if you're planning a couple trip, i think your husband will like the marriott resort and spa. very inaccessible (need a boat to get there), but very serene and nice.

d,
that's a very clever post! the pictures are cool. i think there is a revival of interest in lincoln in the states now because obama talks a lot abt him (and tries to emulate him too).

wow, cindy , i forgotten abt the recommendation thingy
thanks ! but most of my frens are already married ...

kekeke we married Oct 2005 .

Michele , it is definitely good for u that u are not sensitive to such things ...
sometimes over imagining things , also not good .
i am those paranoid sort , who will actually knock on the hotel doors b4 i enter . and i leave my lights in the room ON .

min - juz keep waiting , sure hv such deals wan . coz tourism sector is badly hit , tey wan to fill the rooms , u know

D, i agree that bk is just one of those places that are not suitable for children! i used to go there at least once a year (coz i love thai food and its a easy weekend trip) but now with the political situation, don't think its a good idea to go. haha... dun want to be stuck in the airport if there's a riot!

caicai, i tend to be the positive type so usually don't think of negative things like that. anyway, my wedding was also at fullerton so i believe the good vibes already chased away anything 'evil'.

actually someone told me that you'll only see "it" when your spirits/ "qi"
is low. in a way, that's true for me coz' i had an experience in a bangkok hotel - and i happened to be stressed and unhappy at that time. my fren who was in the same room didn't experience "it".

Hi Sandwich,

Im still here! Gonna due anytime soon. I seldom follow Jayden to school now so is my hubby who send him everyday.
The last time I saw yr hubby was when u juz returned from yr malacca trip. I didnt see u but only yr hubby & kaizer.

Wow..everyone is talking abt holidays. I want to travel too but most likely will be during my Maternity Leave.
Im thinking of travelling to Taiwan...

min
it was a 3 days promo last wk .. but u knw, i tink wif e economy now, there will be more promo coming up

Juz to share. My nearest spooky encounter was in TPE. Middle of the nite the bed shake so vigorously and the wardrobe doors open n shut .. really like a typical scene from exotist. 1st thing i did was to ask hb on the lights coz 'they' usually scare of brightness 1 rite .. But in e end, we on the TV and realised it was actually tremor caused by an earthquake .. haha :p

Bunnie
My hubby is the super practical guy...He'll tell me to give him the $$ instead of spa massage...belated also never mind. LoLzzz...very unromantic and 'Duhz' rite?

Hope you & family have a good & relaxing stay at Sentosa.

Me also love to go BKK...used to go there twice a year...find that it's ok to bring bb but food-wise and moving bb rather difficult.

BKK quite dusty & lotsa traffic so bringing bb quite troublesome lor. I went there Dec 07 & Jun 08 with Mal. Dec 07 with another 2 other fanilies with bb same age as Mal. So far so good. If u worried abt food, can book serviced apartment then got kitchen to cook. Else most food court or restaurants in BKK serve plain rice with food...so should be ok.

I stayed in Asia Hotel every time I go BKK b4 I given birth. So far so good lor....partly also cos I'm out most of the day & once reached hotel, KO until next morning....heehee

coold,
I was in penang's Northam hotel and felt tremors there!

I didn't think it was anything spiritual but just thought it was an earthquake! Even called the reception to find out if need to leave! It was late at night.