(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

SD, my boy notti as usual lah , but no plans to put him in sch yet , my ma not keen on the idea , she kept saying he still small, dun understand instructions etc .

so i can onli send him for GUG ( suntec) , starting tis sat .

planning holiday , tot of going HK w my parents n todd , but see how first .

Chinese Horoscope:
at least:
6 horses
4 each from bunny and dragon
3 snakes
2 each from moo moo, tigress, goat
1 each from monkey, piglet, doggy and hen

still no mouse

SD,
urs aldy included

coolD,
u saw bb safe's products?

cool_d,
thanks. I haven't been to a Baby Fair before, this time feel like cheonging. But intimidated by the crowd.

SpringD,
Ya, thinking if there might be anything for bb. But so far eyes only light up for Babysafe discounts. Wanna check out the kid pillow for M. Oops wrong bb... :p If I go, mostly likely will have to be Sunday.

micK , u know lah , maybe my ma worried that he will fall down / kena bullied, bitten / fall sick
after his nasty fall at giant , she lagi protective over him .
u taking orders for E creative , when is deadline to submit to u ? ( i think i wun be holding party for him AGAIN - such a hassle )

augleo
i tink hv leh .. pillows, mattress etc.

mich
i oso find dat jboy's speech improve tremendously after attend sch. At least now he can count 1-10

coold , my fren's kid 6 mths younger than zac , seems to know his " A to Z "+ "1 to 10" , he has not even start sch wor .
but then again , i cannot compare my son wif him . different kids , different pace

he will surely be there , ONE fine day :D

Caicai,
havent been collecting. the dora cake, 1 of the mar mummyy ordered for the CC's celeb. as long as we got 15names, can submit already.
now i dunno whether i want from ecreative

cai2,
i totally agree with you, diff kid diff phase.
and though he mgt be slower in speech, his other ability could be ahead

this 2 weeks i spend with her in KK, noticed she can talk more, she can even tell the nurse, i want this. :p

caicai
i agree .. dats y all along i was oso not worrying abt jboy's speech tho' he does not seems to knw as much words as some of his peers. But juz dat i noticed he speaks soo much more after he attended sch. But than again, oso dunno izit really sch, or maybe its juz his time to start talkig liao :p

coold, micK , dun forget they nid to communicate wif their peers at sch , maybe that was the catalyst + teacher's coaching ...
so in a way , sch promotes socializing /communication and it indirectly leads to his/her verbal skills improvement

caicai,
ooh thanks for the link.

cool_d,
the last time I was at expo was for the IT fair. Kena pushed from behind so many times. Some pple looked horrified when they realised they pushed a preggie, others didnt even notice my existence. As long as there's enough walking space it should be alright, I hope. For me it's the shopping bug tempting me.

coold,
actually what you said is quite true. dunno whether the timing to start talking is finally here or so happen, forced by circumstances.
in anycase, from 1 syllabus to 1 sentence, is enuf to make me happy.

CaiCai
I also "bu she de" to put my boy in school...but then, he seems be be doing nothing everyday at home with grandma besides watch TV and slow signs of his speech development so far...so I tot maybe I should seriously start to decide on schooling soon...haizz..

If you decide on HK..do consider going over to Macau as well.

Kaexin
You already planned birthday party for K? Will be holding at a function room like last year?

Cherryteq
Jonas still sleeping directly on mattress only... he flips all over the bed so I figured a pillow would be really under-utilised.

Stand close to your hubby if you go to the fair on Sunday.

Leo
OOooo...good thing you never indicate the nick beside. :p

SpringD,
actually I agree with caicai/kaexin/cool_d. Socialising with other kids do help (the downside is picking up bad habits from the others). M is learning how to care for others, and he sometimes describes school activities, but takes alot of guessing from our part. He also remembers his friends after he comes home. Unfortunately, he is only 1 of 2 boys in a class of 8, so his actions are more girly than manly recently because he imitates the girls...

SD , else u enrol jonas in weekend classes , take it as a prelude to schooling .
some todds mite feel shy so u can expose him to weekend play grp first . 2hrs a week :p

gene..
i forgot to reply to ur post! yes yes...tues or thurs are fine for me. we can even go JP...i quite like the new JP!

blueroti...
u r also making me drool. the main sian issit with oysters? i dun like oysters. pig blood and smelly beancurd...eeeeee.... but the rest of the things do sound quite good. thanks for sharing!

s/w...
i agree wif D. better not dig kaizer's ears already...it may get worse cos the dirt may go deeper in.

kaexin...
K speech really improved leh! Can say I want this!

oh btw mommies,

do any of your confinement ladies know how to speak a bit of english? my fren is looking for one...any to recommend?

Re: playgroup

I've also just enrolled my boy to full time cc (playgroup), starting next week. Wanna him to learn to be more independent & socialise with other kids. He's too pampered at home. Hope he adapts well there.

Re: ear infection
My boy juz got treated for his right ear infection. PD said that there're big ear wax blocking & after clearing them, she saw redness in his eardrum. Prescribed antibiotic & ear drops. Juz went for review yesterday & she said he's recovering well. She said no swimming for him in the time being. No wonder my boy always woke up in the middle of the night crying. Always tugging and digging his right ear & made his whole right ear red. Now he can sleep so much better at night. I've asked the PD how to prevent such things to happen. She said that as long as we keep the ears dry (no digging tho'), shouldn't b a problem. Usually the ears will 'auto clean' themselves & she does not encourage us to dig out the ear wax.

fransea,
actually, if your boy keeps tugging his ear, best bring him go see doc, coz usual case is there is ear infection. so next time u know liao.
when bathing, make sure his ears are dry too

Caicai / Cherry
Actually my boy has been attending those 2hrs play classes once a week for more than half a year liao... but he's still rather shy and "slow to warm up" and afraid to try out new things... guess that's his nature. Hmm... I was thinking that could be also one of the reason that he's not willing to try talking....

Fransea
As mummy, you must be feeling excited yet worried at this time now huh? Hope your boy adapts easily to school life.

ear infection
My friend had it once as an adult and said it's really painful...so it must be bad for little children. I read once (don't know true or not) but if the child has ear infection, just lightly blowing pass the ear (not into) would cause pain. Books say it's caused when water gets into and stays the ear...for me I'm quite afraid of Jesse's ear getting wet.

Thankfully antibiotics and ear drops work! Yay!

michelle, D
ya my hubby took him to see a GP when he started digging his right ear & causing his outer ear reddish with his constant scratching. As I was having confinement then, I asked my hubby to take him see doc. It was first day of CNY then. The GP told us that his right ear had quite a no. of ear wax. He gave us ear drop to soften & clear them. He seemed to get better after that. However, after a while, he starting scratching & digging again. Then we decided to take him to see PD instead & that's how we got to know that he's ear infection...

SpringDance,
That's right. Got mixed feeling abt sending him to CC. Actually we don't have to send him now as my in-laws can help to look after him. However, I feel that he's being too pampered at home & I want him to learn to b more independent & socialise with other kids. He's a bit shy & timid so I think maybe putting him in a playgroup will b gd for him.

hey cindy
actually i dun like oyster too but the ah zhong mian xian oysters are the tiny ones so it won't be much of a "hindrance" to enjoy the yummy mian xian!

yeah, cool d, that's the duck web shop! i dun dare to eat tho but my hubby went back to the shop twice! i had the chicken chop at shilin market but duno if it's the 1 u mentioned. i also tried their hua zhi geng (cuttlefish stew) wh was not bad. but i didn't like their oyster omelette tho coz' it's sweet! i luv the smelly tofu! didn't dare to eat the pig's blood tho altho i always think that the zhu xue gao (pig's blood ice cream) looks quite yummy! waaaahhhhh i feel like flying to taiwan now!

ear wax
D got a big pc of ear wax and PD gave ear drops
but D hates it when i applied

so i think the wax still inside.. can't seem to fall off

anyway, PD also scolded me for digging his ear.. she will do it for us if the wax is still inside

SD
yeah, now my son is a walker! and i think starting to run.
now i have problem catching up with his walking pace!
and i started using the restrainer (is that the correct word?) so that i can control his movement.
now he tend to shake off my hand when i hold him

needless to say attracted lots of stares from the passerby

halo mick
haha yeah really want to go taipei but dun think it's the ideal place to bring alexis tho.
so u set on going to hokkaido in may?

Michelle
I’m not sure if Gladys like Dora though she’s got a Dora pillow case and she calls it Dora pillow. The cake’s nice though. How much is it?

Ear Wax
Gladys has 2 big pieces on each side of her ear. They’re harden after the last time when I applied olive oil on them. And looking at it, they’re hard and brown. Almost like stone leh. The other night I tried digging when she’s asleep but before I can ‘kao’ the wax out, she opened her eyes. I’m quite paranoid but the wax.

Min,
don't know if it's the same for other children...but Jesse (one of the later walkers) refused to hold my hand for a period too (when others were holding their parents' hands) but nowadays he doesn't mind it so much and even offers it on ocassion. The only time he refuses my hand now is when he's going up and down stairs.

I have a feeling, at least for Jesse, that when he's trying to experience something new he wants to do it alone but once the novelty wears out, he'll come back to me.

So maybe D will hold your hand in a few months too...before then, ppl will stare and they still do...I don't care.

any suggestions/tips for travel to HK/Macau around mid-April/May?

HB thinks I should check out NATAS tomorrow pm to see if there are any deals...would like to fish for your advice first

PS: bringing Jesse.

oh...thanks for the tip. So leave by 1st May?

I've been wondering, as I look around, how come prices are higher from 12 Apr - 30 Apr. Anyone knows?

And hotel rec in either HK or Macau?

aug: V's second molars are 1/2 out, so she has 18 teeth? I can't see the top ones cuz she won't let me peer into her mouth!

D: u were asking about kids loft classes? I just brought V today for her first class and she loves it. I like it because the class is small (just happen this class is small - 5 of us but only 3 kids today) and i really enjoy the lesson so much more than GUG. But to be "fair" GUG emphasizes on different things compared to Lavina? Today she read the story book (i forgot the title) by eric carle - even i enjoyed it! V was quite engrossed although she only power napped today for 10 min (she woke up at 5am this morning, we went to the zoo, orchid ville, the columbarium?? then home then the class at 3pm) and she wasn't even cranky at all during the class! But if you dun a car, v hard to go to the place. and it's quite hard to find! it's not even on the map or GPS!

I'll will continue with the class and the drop GUG next term (i just renewed GUG).

NATAS - didn't go Expo cuz so FAR FAR away. and i bet it's v v v crowded. Anyway I booked a 3 D 2 N trip to Banyan Tree Bintan for Good Friday weekend. It's the only weekend I can go cuz dun need to take leave! my schedule then is packed day to day so won't be able to take leave.

Monday V starts childcare - she'll do fine. in fact, she just ignored me (i'm invisible!) and followed the teachers! argh! i feel like a lousy mum now, but it's just V - she inherited my genes for this I know it cuz I never cried first day at school too!

Mrs Lai,
I also never cry on my first day...

Good to hear your review of Lavina. I'll check her out next term. This term I'm buy
If it's really good, guess I'll drive...I like the timing.

D, might be the macau grand prix? have to check their calendar of events.

u asked me how much i spent but u dunno me, i never keep track of $$$ (which is very bad I know). i've to look through the receipts first then let u know.

I just need a ballpark (like 1000, 2000)...haha. do they take HKD? Where did you stay?

Okay, after searching and looking and etc etc

I think I'm going to chicken out and stay two nights at Macau (venetian - HB's request) and two nights at Disneyland hotel. I read that there's an MTR station at Disneyland, right? So we can just scoot in for a bit at "Sweet Dynasty".

It's been years since I was last there (with gfs). I can't say I enjoy HK lah...it's too "dirty/crowded" for me...but I enjoyed that eating place...it's the only thing I remember!

So thought Disneyland would be a good place to be. Seems big enough to entertain Jesse, though I have to find out more about age limit for rides. I remember many rides have a min age of 3. Oi! "It's a small world"...

Anyone been before? Any comments?

Michele...F1 not there then leh...I'll definitely ask their tourism booths tomorrow. Thanks for the reminder!

venetian is great! plenty to see coz the mall is HUGE! but honestly i don't like macau - its too smoky (there's lingering ciggy smell everywhere!)

disneyland hotel is nice too - i think u get 1-for-1 for the park if you stay there. there's a whole area for tots - carousel and all

D, breakdown for my trip

1) airtix : S$886 including taxes (jetstar asia)
2) accommodation (macau 5 stars) : HK/MP$2,244 (2 nights)
3) accommodation (hk 4 stars) : HK$935 (1 night, 1 night FOC)
4) ferry tix : HK$870

disneyland - if you go on a weekday, its cheaper and also less crowded.

exchange rate was abt S$100:HK$510 - HK$520 when i was there.

yes, they take HK$ in macau but u lose out (coz macau$ is worth less) - worthwhile for the convenience (instead of changing 2 currencies!)

and yes, there's a train station at disneyland so its very convenient to get around.