(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

Milo: Chloe sucks her thumb too ah? I might try out the plaster method which cool_d suggested. Haven even tried the lemon/chilli mtd yet cos no time today:p You haven decided whether to cont KM or not hor? Hard to dec cos she enjoys so much right? Maybe you let Chloe try other trial classes lor. If better ones come along, then go for them, else can always go back to KM ma.

Cool_d: thanks for your suggestions lei. The plaster mtd sounds gd and harmless enough... can try tonight! As for chilli... my dh also said the same thing (that kiddo mite rub eyes with cspicy fingers then very painful for him). I heard that then xin luan le, dun dare apply... If plaster fails, then I'll try lemon or maybe even vinegar...

Dlim: did the feng you made you stop or did you outgrow on your own? My MIL said that my BIL stopped on his own so she said not to be too kan cheong for Lele to stop...

Min: think D's behaviour quite common. Think our tods sometimes forget that they need to sleep when they have some 'ideas' in their head. Sometimes Lele will fuss like crazy when we leave the room so he can nap. In d end have to bring him out in car and he falls aslp after 5mins:S

kate,
plaster method?....chloe ever hurt her thumb...so i put a plaster on her...thinking tat she might jus stop sucking...but NO...she still suck happily....

Milo: issit? same like my using onion and bittergourd juice on lele. thought he will stop but he jst cont like nothing happened.

Tho wanted to but haven tried the plaster mtd yet cos after think think, I'm afraid that Lele will try to remove the plaster. If he succeeds in removing, he might even put it in his mouth and choke.

Maybe our children will just stop on their own?

millo , i think suck plaster very yucky , coz the saliva + the gauze + the plaster smell ... eeeeee

micK , u think we over-rxted right ? i think my hubby lah , he kiasee type . the dumex milk , he is also the one who mailed them .

cai2,
your hubby and mine can shake hands coz both are "very concerned daddy"! kekekeke

Hi Kate,

How is your home-based classes going on? Are u running any home-based classes at your home now?

Hello Dlim,

How is your 65 days dots programme for Shichida? Did u see any improvement in your boy?

halo mummies

been a long time since i posted a msg. and congrats to all mummies who are expecting their 2nd one!

btw, juz wanted to say that I've also asked my PD how to wean my girl off thumb sucking n he said it's too late to do it now. gotta wait till when she goes to school and she'll stop doing it when her classmates start teasing abt it! so juz have to bear with it.

hi blueroti....
hw r u?
hope u are doing great

terrible 2:
JK likes to scream and he is getting more demanding. Most of the time, i will ignore him and he will come forward to hug my legs and request soothing.

latest "movement"
6mths ago, I was wondering when my JK will sit on the high chair by himself (esp. when I've backache)......2 wks ago, JK "surprised" me by climbing onto the lucky bb's lucky high chair (when the tray is detached). Now whenever I tap on the high chair during milk/meal feeds, he will come foward and "perform".
my "dream" come true????

by now i should train him eats and drink from chair right? w/o the buckle, i doubt he will sit still for long. erm.....

Picnic again

anymore mummies interested?
Instead of my fav. spot - ECP, shall we meet @SENTOSA more central to all mummies?

Date: 1 Nov (Saturday)
Time: 9.30am / 3.30pm
Venue: Sentosa (Palawan Beach)
Food : pot luck

As for the date, most mummies voted for 1 Nov and the timing:
3 hv voted 9.30am
4 hv voted 3.30pm
2 hv no preference

i had a bad day..
my D lately likes to take his toys play for few sec and throw around.
and i get very pek chek when i'm cooking in kitchen then i hear the toys throwing ard and my MIL juz allow him to do it.
then i went out, insist him to clean but he pick them up and threw again. and threw 1 at my MIL's feet
I scolded him and my MIL say nvm. wa liao.. sometimes the more i stay at home, i'm turning into a bad person!

so he cried and i made him sit in his naughty corner for first time but failed as he keep coming over to hug me.

or perhaps i shd turn a deaf ear.. and allow him to throw?? but since no one wanna 'educate' him.. i have to be the bad person.

hope T2 can ends as fast as possible!

my D can now walk 2-4 baby steps oredi! although stil not very steady and can only stand not too long.
and recently he loves walking with us holding both his hands and now refuse to let us carry!

oh no.. i think i forsee i have to do catching up with him once he starts walkin

Min,

yeah, your wish comes true too! You've been hoping he'd walk soon, right?

For me, when I'm having lunch or doing my own thing, he'll also throw his toys about. I think it's quite normal. When I'm ready, I'll just clear it up and ask him to do it with me. E.g. I'll show him a Duplo piece and say, "come let's put it in the bucket". He can try to put books back on the shelf but it won't be straight and all either... give it time lah...help a little can already...

Btw, the person who looks after the child most will become the "worst" person since we're the one's disciplining also... I believe I'm doing an important job so I don't care if he thinks I'm worse than his father. At the end of the day, I'm all he's got and I tell him that.

To let him have a "better" childhood, I let his grandparents spoil him and I look the other way. I think it's just good for some balance lah...otherwise, he might end up too high strung!

min, after T2, there's T3! just haf to be consistent in your 'teachings' lor... they will 'eventually' understand and do it. i also lose my temper occasionally at C but i realised she reacts even more strongly when i do - so i learnt to just let her 'cool down' then gently explain to her why i did not let her do something. works better than way - i supposed she is as headstrong as me so something's gotta give.

Michele,
for a moment, i tot u ar talking abt airport T2 or T3 cos we go there so often :p

Leo,
i vote for 330pm.

Min,
congrats, D is walking but i forsee u wld b v busy chasing af him in shopping mall wen he walks well. remb to avoid d breakables :p

Min,
mine already had the "Terrible one"..Very bad temper and like to go round hitting ppl.And as Leo mentioned, its best to ignore them cos the more attention they are given, the worse they become.
One classic example is my gal loves hitting my brother, actually she takes him as a playmate so when she wants my brother to play with her, she will hit him continously. When my brother hits her back, she will be super delighted cos it means that he is giving him attention, but if he ignores her, she will get the msg that my bro doesn't want to play with her and she will just go away.

Pacifier:
recently, cher self weaned off her pacifier. she asked me to 'keep'. ash took pacifier for a very short while only n he oso self weaned off by 'throwing' it away. i tink i m 'blessed' as i dun hv prob weaning them off pacifier n so far both hv nvr shown interest in their thumb.

halo augleo!

wah really been a long time since i've last msg anyone! how have u been doing?

anyway, have been very very bzy at work but am on leave today coz' i've 18.5 days to clear for the rest of the year.

am thinking of bringing my girl for a holiday but duno if i should bring her to a cold place or warm place. and didn't know i have to pay for her airfare - thot it's free for kids under 2
= Op

Meddy,
i agree ignoring is d best. at tis age n even older, they jus love attention. even for my boy who is 4 now, if he gets too 'wild', i ignore him n walk awy. then he wld cum to me n say, 'sorry mummy, pls talk to me....'. then i wld explain to him. i realised he v 'scared' mummy wld ignore him. as for cher, if i ignore her tantrum or fake cry, af a while, she wld pick herself up n walk to me. i told my hb if i evyday lost my temper n raise my voice, i wld develop high bp v soon :p

hi hi blueroti,
i wld prefer cold places. kids like 'cold', jus remb to dress them warm enough. we love aussie, free n easy, quite relaxing yet d flight is not too long. quickie go b4 2, is much cheaper.

Sanrio,
*envy* My gal doesnt really take the pacifier but we give it to her cos she likes to put things in her mouth..think by now she would have swallowed a full set of news papers... BTW, did Cher chew on her fingers when her Molars were erupting?

Blueroti,
wah you have so many days leave ah..For Kiddos below 2, their airfare is under Infant category which usually doesnt cost alot :p

Milo
That's really fine....just need alittle more patience my boy also wans to be carried most of the time... guess that's why he was at the hand-holding walk stage for a long long while.

Leo
JK sure is a clever boy...follow mummy's genes rite? Kekek.

Picnic at Sentosa... Would be really keen if it's at 3.30pm on 1 Nov.

Blueroti
Wow...so many days of AL to clear ah! Envy Envy... and how many days are you bringing forward to next year?

Is you girl able to eat rice/pasta and dishes yet? If so, then your selection of choice for holiday will be much easier.

Picnic again

Instead of my fav. spot - ECP, shall we meet @SENTOSA more central to all mummies?

3 hv voted 9.30am
6 hv voted 3.30pm
2 hv no preference

**forgotten to add the pointers from mummies:
if is on 9.30am = mummies who r keen can continue with other Sentosa attractions after the beach

if is on 3.30pm =
* mummies who r keen can continue with the water fountain show

* can sleep late, has enuff time for preparation of bb food and pot luck

* wknd sure crowded = the beach volley, pubs, etc
best to go on morning.

pls advise if any changes on ur voting

blueroti,
me oso long for a longer holiday w/JK.
hopefully can hv 1 b4 JK turns 2 yrs old

min,
congrats on D's walking

PG,
I remembered I mentioned to b4 that we have stopped the 65 days dots programme.

Leo,
I would prefer 3:30pm timing cox I have appt in the morning.

Min,
Congrats on D's walking!

min,
congrats...
chloe oso started walking in KM class yesterday..she shocked mi...haha...but oni in class..after tat she wants to be hand hold..

SD,
thanks...i will wait patiently...

Augleo,
yes..count mi in...i prefer the 3.30pm

meddy,
chloe oways put her fingers in her mouth when teething...

hi sanrio

i'm thinking of going either japan or perth. for tokyo, at least i can stay with my fren so i save on accomodation. and the air is fresher i suppose. juz worried that it'll be too cold for my girl. think it's around 10 degrees celsius in nov. my fren in tokyo sugg that my girl takes the flu jab b4 the trip.

hi meddy
u're right! i juz called the airline and the tix for my girl is $176. thankfully it's cheap!

halo springdance
as for my leave, have a hard time clearing coz still have a lot of things to do and cannot clash with the leave of my 2 other colleagues - 1 is taking 1 month, and another 2 weeks. i will be carrying 15 days to next yr. but as it is, i'm even finding problems trying to take the leave that i've applied for coz' things juz keep cropping up!

halo augleo
yeah, m trying to bring my girl for a holiday before she turns 2 too, altho think she'll be too young now to remember anything. but she sticks to me alot so cannot imagine if i leave her home for 1 week!

Picnic again

3 hv voted 9.30am
8 hv voted 3.30pm
2 hv no preference

**forgotten to add the pointers from mummies:
if is on 9.30am = mummies who r keen can continue with other Sentosa attractions after the beach

if is on 3.30pm =
* mummies who r keen can continue with the water fountain show

* can sleep late, has enuff time for preparation of bb food and pot luck

* wknd sure crowded = the beach volley, pubs, etc
best to go on morning.

milo...sure! welcome

any1 else interested to meet us on 1 Nov @Sentosa.

"voting" will be closed on Wednesday (15/Oct)

pls advise if any changes on ur voting

thanks for all wishes! a part of me hopes that he can be independent and hold my hands and walk with me

but i know its gonna be the start of my night mare coz now he is dictating to us where to walk and don't wanna walk our directions!!

Nowadays, my D prefer to use Pigeon rubber toothbrush as pacifier. i realise he got 4 molars sprouting out at same time!

Dlim,

No leh !?!? I remembered asking u about the 65 days dots programme via sms but u never reply me about it.

Anyway, why did u stop the 65 days dots programme? How many rounds have u done already? Your son doesn't like it, is it?

we be going on holiday to Korea in Nov tog with D.
but i think it be near to winter season. i hope we can survive it! and we be going on guided tour.

do u think i need to get flu jab for D?

Augleo,

I am interested in the picnic at Sentosa. However, can I suggest to have it in the month of October coz those who have Passion cards will have entitlement to the underworld world. If I remember correctly, it is about 25%. Therefore, those mummies who want to go to underwater world are able to enjoy the discounts. The promotion is only until end of October ;p

If all of u are still sticking to 1 November, I don't mind 3.30pm instead so that we can watch the water fountain show after the picnic
!

min and millo,
congrats on the new milestone!

augleo,
my colleagues are most prob planning something at sentosa on 1 nov too! just nice, i can go for both office and forum gatherings. but count me out of the potluck though, in case i eat with them instead. i opt for morning 9.30am!

michelle,
i go home then email you the orders, cos i bookmarked it on the home PC

piscesgal,
always see you on the thread asking other mummies abt classes for bb/todd. well, it's good to be enthusiastic abt classes, but just trying to offer my two cents worth here ... opinions about classes can be very different depending on the mummy/todd who's attending them. so best if you're able to attend them personally (with your kid of course) first, and then get a gut feel of whether or not you like the class. subsequently can exchange feedback with mummies on the forum. but the other mummies on the forum should not influence your decision much - as to whether or not to sign up for classes. cos they have their own individual considerations that may be different from yours, like considerations abt cost, locations, vendor reputability, course materials, character of kid, mummy's gut feel, etc.

blueroti, lucky u! the infant fare depends largely on the airlines lor. i paid almost S$750 for C's ticket to brisbane (whereas our tix only costs S$1.1K) and that's on SQ.

min, good idea to take the flu jab i think. remember that the shots have to be taken 1 mth apart (0.5 dose each time) so plan ahead.

i'm also contemplating on tokyo or seoul for end of year holiday but hb 'complained' that he has no leave so i guess it will be our CNY getaway instead.

if picnic is 3.30pm, also have to count me out for potluck coz i will not be on time - that timing is too hot for picnic and i will 'melt'! :p

Min & Milo
Way to go for Dillion & Chloe...

Just when the both of you were commenting only last week that your kiddos are crawling, your tod decide to show you some "power" by taking the surprising steps in front of you. Hehe! Children are just so amazing...

Min
Think can consult PD recommendation on the flu jab? But 1st instinct to me is better to take ba....

PG,
Yes, I did replied your sms telling u I have stop the 65 days dots programme cox Im very tired & kind of lazy
to go through the programme. U ask me why & so on but I dun have the time to reply u.

Actually what sandwich mentioned above is quite true. It has to depend on individual. If u have time & hard
working enough, i think u shld continue with the 65 days dots programme. For me, Im very tired everyday after
work so there are times i didnt go through with Jayden. Its not he doesnt like it etc...

hey michk

u going tokyo too? i was supposed to go next monday but my hubby cant coz of work, so postponed to nov. if not, we could meet up in tokyo then! ; o )
btw a fren of mine went in sept with his 13-mth old girl n he said u can find packet milk for infants in supermkts. so his girl juz had tt when they were thr. ok let me know how's japan when u're back. enjoy!

hi michele
actually i m travelling with SQ too and i was really surprised that my girl's airfare is cheap! i was expecting to pay at least $500.

hi blue roti , long time nvr seen u hanging around here

congrats to min n millo . well done , D n Chloe

zac did take a few steps too . but it happened so fast , n he squatted n started to crawl AGAIN .

micK , when u going tokyo ? fri ?

min , i think Korea is cold even COLDER than jpn but i went during CNY , mayb that was the reason why , coz snowing
but if i were u , i wun take chance , sure brin thick clothing along.dunno the part abt flu jab though , u better consult ur pd

Augleo , got outing
??? sounds fun , sentosa is my fav place ...

Min, Milo & Caicai: Congratz to D, Chloe n Zac! Your days r gonna get busy(ier) from now on keke.

Milo: It was quite touching to see Chloe walk into my arms during the KM class lei. I just stretched out my arms and was pleasantly surprised when she decided to take a short break with me before going to you
It brought back so many nice memories of when Lele first walked into my arms! Oh, do you wan the pic we took together? I can email you if you will PM me your email add.

hi caicai

yeah, been a long time since i last came into the forum. usually if i've time to post means i'm either on leave or MC = o p

Min, Milo & Caicai,
Congrats that your kids took their baby steps! And yes, get ready to chase them ard!!

Hi Blueroti,
long time no 'see'... *wave*

blueroti/caicai,
we are leaving on sat midnte. heading to kyoto first then back from narita. we will be awau for 10days:p
yalor, if you going this wkend, can meet up there, how is alexis?
since u heading to oz, go n change aud.. $ changer is back in biz after last week.

caicai,
wat happen to you today? din see u online? when u leving for italy?