(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

shirley u are back ah .. how is ur gal , nvr post her pic

sandwich,
good to hear both of you are doing better...aiyah, the big boy can take care of himself and at least won't wake you up at night. haha...or ask him go to another room :p

coold,
It also depends on the GP. The only thing is you want "fresh" vaccine lor. So if your GP has high turnover also, it's okay...polyclinic and PD will have higher turnover lor...

Ya, I've heard that babies have priority in a polyclinic which I think is great. PD clinic, all babies, all treated like dirt.

Don't know if you all are aware, but there are two different healthgroups running the polyclinics - singhealth and NHG. And I think my friends were saying that their policies differ...so can take note lah. I kind of tuned out lah...so I can't remember what they said.
Of course, I might be the only mountain turtle who had to be told that there were differences...I cite "being away" as my excuse. :p

Dlim,
Hope Jayden's gums get better...teething pains really suck. I'm going through it everyday with Jesse too.

Caicai,
he kuai but he's still a wuss. haha. Maybe because he's a wuss that's why he scared of me too!

sanrio,
thanks for sharing the pics!

Shirley,
Hope you're recovering well! Ya, the thing closed liao and even the the process of going out to their new families already!

I think depend on the GP as well. Glynnis took her pneumo at GP since Poly don't have. The GP we brought her to will only place order for the vaccine when someone requested for it.

Shirley : Waiting to see your daughter's picture.

milo,
last nite, K also knocked herself in the dark against my bed. then this morning, while she was rolling around, she knocked again

Since the board is so slow...

this is my father's contribution
I think he sent this to me because of point #4. He also posted it on his hardly updated (3 posts only) blog. haha

Ten Commandments for Those Over Fifty Years Old

*1*. Focus on enjoying people, not on indulging in or accumulating material things.

*2*. Plan to spend whatever you have saved. You deserve to enjoy it and the few healthy years you have left. Travel if you can afford it. Don'tleave anything for your children or loved ones to quarrel about. Byl eaving anything, you may even cause more trouble when you are gone.

*3*. Live in the here and now, not in the yesterdays and tomorrows. Itis only today that you can handle. Yesterday is gone, tomorrow may not even happen.

*4! *. Enjoy your grandchildren (if blessed with any) but don't be their full time baby sitter. You have no moral obligation to take care of them. Don't have any guilt about refusing to baby sit anyone's kids, including your own grandkids. Your parental obligation is to your children. After you have raised them into responsible adults, your duties of child-rearing /babysitting are finished. Let your children raise their own off-springs.

*5*. Accept physical weakness, sickness and other physical pains. It is a part of the aging process. Enjoy whatever your health can allow..

*6*. Enjoy what you are and what you have right now. Stop working hard for what you do not have. If you don't have them, it's probably too late.

*7*. Enjoy your life with your spouse, children, grandchildren and friends. People, who truly love you, love you for yourself, not for whatyou have!. Anyone who loves you for what you have will just give you misery.

*8*. Forgive and accept forgiveness. Forgive yourself and others. Enjoy peace of mind and peace of soul.

*9*. Befriend death. It's a natural part of the life cycle. Don't be afraid of it. Death is the beginning of a new and better life. So, prepare yourself not for death but for a new life with the Almighty. Remember John 3:16 if nothing else.

*10*. Be at peace with your Creator. For ... He is all you have after you leave this life.

min,
its her panty, my mum bought fm market one

let her wear at home when its hot! kekeke

D,
can you still find it at the PI ?

min,
its her panty, my mum bought fm market one

let her wear at home when its hot! kekeke

D,
can you still find it at the PI ?

michk
i wanna get one for my boy!!!
i realise can go HDB shops to buy children clothes to wear at home. so much cheaper then Kiddy palace

feeling a bit depressed now. cos for the past two days, kaizer has stopped eating the food meant for his lunch/dinner. the excuse of course is that he's just recovered from his illness, but argghhhhhhhzzzzz why can't he just eat normally? anyway, not that he's totally off food. he enjoys his diet of teddy puffs + baby bites + banana, but that's abt all the food in the world that he can stomach for the past two days. three days ago he liked carrot. but he didnt like it yesterday and today

depressed cos i have to wake up early to heat up the food meant for his lunch (usually carrot/potato soup and spagetti) before preparing the both of us to go to work/school

depressed cos if he doesn't eat normally, he won't gain weight and then my parents will nag at me to withdraw him from school and put him back with the bbsitter. which i don't really want to, cos i enjoy spending a lot more time together with him now that we're at our own home.

depressed cos although i am concerned abt his weight, i can't discuss this issue openly with my parents or even blog abt it, otherwise it's back to them nagging at me.

hiyahz, made an appt with at NUH tomorrow afternoon. will be asking PD if there's any wonderous caloric supplement that's tasteless and ordourless and can be added to kaizer's plain water (which he takes a lot everyday, but that's just empty calories). i hope they don't prescribe the appetite booster to us again, cos that tastes like medicine, and didnt go down too well with kaizer the last time round.

don't worry. i'm not suicidal or anything. just felt like i needed an outlet to vent my thoughts.

some of the stuff that i'm now doing to manage my depressed thoughts ...

1. planning for a shopping trip to vivo's organic supermkt tomorrow after the PD appt. surfing now to see the organic snacks that i can pick up that are similar to his teddy puffs + baby bites. actually, i don't really like the baby bites cos it's quite low on nutrients as compared to teddy puffs. but as of now, i do praise him for eating it, cos at least that's better than just drinking water.

2. checking out totspot.com, apparently it's a facebooky thing that's meant for babies and tots.

3. googling articles abt poor weight gain. the more i read, the more i feel that my plight isn't all that bad cos a lot of people are worse off as their tots have organ failures, developmental problems etc.

(4. thinking whether i should prepare his lunch for tomorrow or not, since it might end up in the bin eventually)

feeling infinately better after two scoops of choc ice cream. hahaa, good nite everyone. hope tomorrow will turn out to be a good eating day for the bb!

dear dear sandwich *hugs*

there's probably nothing I can say to make you feel better and "please don't feel depressed" sounds silly to me.

But do feel free to vent here cos I'll read it and feel with you about your plight.

Just thought you'd like to know that when Jesse's sick or just recovered or even when he's teething, he can reject food (all meals) everyday for up to two weeks. Even his favourite foods, then I start giving him nonsense like chips and butter.

I read up a forum from the US and check up on Jesse's old playgroup. Right about this time last month, many of them were surviving on Goldfish crackers or Cheerios all day, everyday. And they say it'll pass...and all of the babies don't seem worse for wear because of it. Though all mothers (even experienced ones) get rattled by it.

When Jesse goes through his "don't want to eat anything" phase (it's almost like a time of the month for him!) I just give him jarred foods and rice cereal. Or anything simple. Because I can't bear with the frustration of him being hard to feed and wasting my efforts in preparing at the same time. I've seen you deal with Kaizer, you are very patient with him.

I feel maybe I'm not in the position to say anything (more) since you'll probably think I have a fat boy, so I don't understand. Actually, I think he's fat because it's genetic and has nothing to do with his food intake. He eats less than babies smaller than him.

Lastly, (and I think this would affect me the most and was probably the trigger to my depression years ago) - I'm sorry you're not able to share it with your mom. It just hurts especially since she's the one who can comfort us right/best (don't tell my HB).

I hope the PD can come up with something for Kaizer and at least tell if everything's alright with him. Kaizer seems so bright and active and I reckon he just doesn't want to slow down and sit down just to eat. (Jesse's becoming more fidgety too.) You're such a trooper, you're probably already getting over it as I type. :) I also hope your mom will come to understand the situation and be there for you. Hang in there!

As they say, "this too shall pass".

s/w
*hugs*
my D also did not eat for 4 days when he was down with high fever..
I cooked mee sua, he reject then i immediately when to cook porridge, he reject too.
at that point , i almost wanna break down coz he was not eating and not even milk!!

then we went mc donald.. he actually wanna eat my fillet burger.

so perhaps its due to teething that affecting his appetite.. try not to make feeding a stressful manner for K
maybe bring him out for a yummy meal outside to entice him?

michelle,
ooo tats pain...2 knocks...
her panty is cute, mayb i shd oso get some for my girl.

dlim,
my girl still a crawler, kips getting bums, cant image when she starts to walk.

sandwich, min,
my girl oso din really eat and sleep well for the past few days.
she can wake up in the nite and cry
she is teething...the 5th tooth...slow hor...
hmm we try to b positive...they will gain weight after they recovered

Long time no "see"!

sandwich,
well...i can fully understand ur feelings.
Remember what i've told u abt gorgor?
He was severely anaemic, had to be put on pure iron drops since he was 10 mths old. All bcos of his picky eating habits.
All along he is at the bottom 3rd percentile of the weight chart.
He was seeing a food nutritionist at KKH but still there wasn't any improvement. And yes, there is such a "powder" that gives calories but no taste, no smell....just add into his milk/food...but he didn't gain much weight too...coz all he wanted was to latch on for breastmilk..
Until now he is still 14+kg at 5 years old...hippo is already 12 kg now!
This gorgor vomits easily, esp if he eats too quickly or too much at a time...he cant swallow big mouthfuls of food too..mealtime is always abt an hr.
Recently my sil suggested that i bring him to this very famous TCM doc - CHEN MEI ER who has treated a lot of young children with eating prob...but u must endure the long queue (2-3hrs even with appt!)
I think I will start exploring TCM after i've given birth to ah girl.
Now i'm so tired with the schwork + tuition + preg + 2 energetic boys...can't wait to start my maternity + no pay leave!

Thinking of going to the ZOO this coming mon, 7/7, which is a sch hol (but not a public hol though..)

anyone interested?

michK/ixora/aprilmum/catherine
When shall we hv ice-cream? My treat!
Next Tue can?

gacc,
always very heartwarming to see your 2 kids. Cher is so demure, Ash is Mr Sunshine

sandwich,
hope you're feeling better today. Hang in there!

Min,
maybe can try wet wipes to clean excess off D at the potty, before carrying him to the sink to wash? My mum does that to M. When home, we'll use spray gun as M does it into the toilet bowl. I prefer not seeing and smelling the poop much...

Sandwich,
hugz.. is a stage tat wld pass. very much undstd ur feeling as a mum. but yes like wat traz said, some kids are jus better eater than others. so poor mummy has to do lots of trial n experiments n hv lots of patience. i undstd is tough but dun b hard on urself, u ar doing great. remb motherhood journey is not easy but exciting n certainly w joy.
cher is not a difficult bb but tis past week, she has been waking up at 3 or 4am - 530am. if i leave her alone in cot, she wld cry. if i take her out, she wld 'play' n disturb me. tat precious hrs of slp is v impt for me cos i m a light sleeper who oreadi suffer fr insomia some days. w tis lost of slp, my allergies/sinus started to 'attack' me. so i do feel depressed somtx cos i m a sahm oreadi takg care of her full day so somtx i jus feel so tired n moody if i cant even hv some proper rest.. ydy nite, while bfg her, i softly told her but repeatedly', 'if u wake up 2nite to play, i wld ignore u n let u cry ok'. n she slp tru :p

Some organic food that ash n cher (or either) take:
1) Saint barbara organic brown rice crispies
2) Breakfast 'O'
3) Envirokid organic rice crisp bar (ash takes but u need to check out the ingredients as more suitable for toddler but is tasty n filling)
4) Organix banana cereal or apple & fig cereal or pear & apple cereal (cher likes n still eating this)
5) Organic pearl rice cook into porridge w sweet-corn+carrot+pork+tomato(dun cut) stock. kids love this but must b very generous w ingredients so stock is super sweet
6) Boiled shell pasta n stuff w mashed banana (i saw this receipe in 1 of d tv programme)

u can try buying fresh figs (fr yu ren sheng) n cook w some soup for kaizer. supposed to kai1 wei4 n is nutritious

we did try TCM for ash allergies n stomach problem but failed n he simply cant swallow d chinese med powder loh...

cherryteq,
tks. my hb said cher is ms blur blur, eyes big big, forehead high high, hair little little :p ash had chickenpox vaccine wen he was 13m old. no side effect or fever then.

cherryteq
jboy juz had his on MOn .. together wif his 4th pnuemo jab. Luckily, no fever
I tell u, tis chic pox vacc is jab beneath the skin kind, i find it quite painful, but GP says jab into the fresh more painful. Well, she's the doc .. hehe.

sandwich: the strange thing was when I was coming to work today, I just happen to think about you, and if your big man was still sick.

whereas my problem is different from yours, but I understand that part what's the point of cooking for your child if it's going to end up in the bin anyway. At one time, my gal dun wan my porridge but the food cooked by my ma jie, I was so heartbroken since I would wake up early to cook the porridge for her.

Your problem is prob compounded since he is allergic to various foodstuff, so it's not simply trying new food for him to eat.

If you rem Sanrio was sharing about burdock some time ago, and i hope Kaizer is not allergic to it. When he's back to his "normal self" you can add a teaspoon of "wah shan" powder (i buy from the chinese medical hall and grind myself) to his food. According to my ma jie, it will help to "boost" the appetite and strengthen the body constitution.

I cannot tell you not to worry, because I know you still will. And as somebody put it "it's not your kid we are talking about", I can only wish you the best and pray for little K to buck up on his food intake!

Sanrio: How about like chinese herbs that can be added to soup stock like wai shan to help with his stomach? did the sinseh recommend those? I hate taking pills and powder too, but I don't mind drinking herbal soups :p

Hi Sandwich,
hope you are feeling better.
I have been having feeding problems with my daughter since she started weaning and it became worse when she turned 1. She will just swallow the first few mouthfuls of porridge and then start to keep the rest in her mouth. Every meal will at least take up 2 hrs and that also does not mean she has completed her meal. Most of the time is becos i have given up.

Most of the time i supplement her with milk feeds, ribena,bread, cheese, peanut butter, cheerios or even Rice Krispies!

Btw, my daughter is super thin so i feel when you mentioned that your parents nag about weight gain.
My parents too always mentioned that she looks thin, pale etc but i think they very "Kua Chang" cos pd always say my gal's weight is normal.

Maybe what grandparents should realise that now, times are different. My PD once told me "Fat Baby may not be Healthy baby and Thin Babies may not be unhealthy too"!

Dun worry *Hugz* this is just a passing Phase, Kaizer will get over it soon! Dun be too bog down by your parents comments and naggings ya?

Sandwich,
if you are coming to Vivo City, do pop by VitaKids if you are looking for organic snacks/supplements for Kaizer cos they have a better range compared to the Marketplace.
They have a range of cookies (can't remember the brand) with a "No Junk Promise!" logo which i think is pretty good.

Jessemom,
your dad so cool ah? even got his own blog!
I think Honda Airwave is nice also hehe

my boy also super thin. no weight gain for past 6months. his weight still remain stagnant at 8.8kg.
PD ask me why.. i'm puzzled too coz he can eat but perhaps he crawls alot

Milo
this is my 5th sleepless nite oredi. my boy also cutting his 5th tooth.
Can anyone tell me when will this end? and some say when molar comes out it be even unbearable!
and i can't always give paracetomal to let him sleep mah..
otherwise i beginning to suspect that my room is spooky!!!

Hi Traz,
how far along are you now? When are you due? Can see you're really eager for your maternity and no pay leave to start. Have a safe and healthy delivery!

Min,
why can't keep giving paracetemol? hahah I can give it to him up to every last feed for a week! But I monitor him lor, if he's not doing so badly in the day, I don't give at night.

Can't tell you when it'll end but well, the molars have been bothering him for a month now... So what happens if you just leave him in his room to cry? Will he stop after 30 mins or 2 hours? I always think he'll stop at some point and I haven't heard of a kid who's died of crying. If we're tired we do check to see that nothing's wrong (diaper no poop, there's no blood anywhere) and then leave him to cry. But not every person's heart can take the crying lah...as my in laws would say, "zhen ke lian". (And if I'm moody, I'll say, "zhen ke lian ni lai bao lor".)

Meddy,
yes, I have a very cool dad...he's trying to live out his lost adolescence. He watches youtube, surfs the Internet a lot, rollerblades, golfs, organises parties, etc etc. AND he will not slow down for any baby (even Jesse) and gets upset if he has to follow a baby's schedule in any way. Which is why he emphasizes point #4. My mom loves point #2.

D
i dunno if he be 'addicted' paracetemol so i wld try not to give unless he is inconsolable.
I also wanna let him cry it out.. but staying with MIL is impossible

the heartbreaking point is he only wants my hubby to carry and wld calm down if he is carried by Daddy
if i carry him, he wld struggle to get off me with his eyes close!

D/Mrs lai
thanks for telling me abt Pigeon toothbrush.
i let my boy play with it during bath.. for once he did not cry when we carry him out (as he still wanna play with water)

but funny thing is he prefer the other side of the toothbrush
1529371.jpg

Min,

Oh, is that what that disc thing is for? haha. I just give the stick to Jesse without the disc. I think the toothbrush is such a great (cheap) toy!

Ya, it's hard when someone else is in the home...even when we had a maid. She complains about us letting him cry!

Yes, Jesse wants his dad too! So I'm officially "off" when my HB comes home from work. He handles all night-calls and I don't even bother waking up (HB sleeps next to the monitor and I've told him to turn it off before he leaves the room). Actually, weekends, Jesse also wants his dahdi. Hmm...scratch that, Jesse wants his daddy whenever his daddy is around. Which I think is very healthy. Psychologically, boys need to learn from their fathers and have been learning from them since about 8 months old. I accept that and find it a great blessing ;)

D
i'm really glad to hear this from you!!
as i'm part-time working mum.. i do spend fair bit of time with my boy.. i sling and bring him out for coffee break, shopping etc.

BUT when daddy is home with us. i downgrade to the bottom
at first.. i'm wondering issit bcoz i'm too fierce or stern with him but his Daddy is strict with him as well

and he also starting sticking to his daddy at abt 9months.

when i think abt it.. it does help to give me abit of 'me' time to do my stuffs!!

Min / D,

My boy is opposite. He will prefer me than his daddy. Whenever my hubby & I reach home, Jayden will run
to me & ask me to carry & hug. When I said go to daddy, he will but when daddy want to carry him, he
will struggle off.

Im like no off time at all...he always stick to me until sometimes Im so angry cox I cant have my personal
time to do my things..

Min: My gal will chew on any side that fancies her :p but I worry when she chews on the wrong end cuz it's quite long. But so far so good lah. these days she prefers the correct end.

My gal been teething her first molar and canines for over 5 weeks already (she started teething her first molars when my FIL came back and tt was in early/ mid May). So far OK though, just that she likes cold water to sooth her gums sometimes. Only fever once initially. Didn't give her panadol after that though.

And the worst thing also, my girl is also experiencing growth spurts now. I've tried giving her thicker milk feed (260ml with 5 scoops) and she slept thru the nite till 6am. So will try and see wat happens.

As for her dinner, last nite she had her own porridge dinner, 1/2 a mango, 1/3 of her dad's macaroni and 1 slice of orange - i worry if her tummy will explode! And this is not including the other junks that the oldies at home are giving her (despite my protests). I just dun want her to turn out to be me like, a APPLE!