(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

D,
jus call Tampines Polyclinic...it will b 12 Jul.

Dlim,
tks for the info whr Jayden gets his MMR jab

Michk,

I chosen Clementi also partially bcox of that & I also prefer that area. Actually the nearest polyclinic
to my area is Bt Batok but I dun really like there.

Augleo,

No Problem..

some qn on potty training
how do you wash the potty after they poo?
i find difficulties in washing his anus if he poos in the potty as D still can't stand on his own. do you all use spray jet to wash their anus or toilet paper?

anybody know if the MMR jab at polyclinic is exactly the same as those at the private clinics? I had heard before that the only diff is polyclinic uses slightly thicker needles so maybe more painful? Myths or truth?

I asked my GP (not even PD), it's $35 for MMR !!

Min,
wah...you started potty training already?

I've started but this is what my friend and my mom told me. they line the potty (think with some toilet paper) so the poo can just "flip" out with the paper and just wash with soap and water.

As for washing his butt, my mom told me she just told us to squat and use the shower head to spray then pat dry. So of course I haven't started yet lor...Jesse doesn't understand "squat" yet. haha. And only recently he has started to squat...maybe I should start telling him that means "squat".

fyi, I think my mom's memory of our childhood is quite hazy. As in, I think she mixes up how old we were when we did things. She likes to think her children are geniuses (so advanced) but I don't think so. I think she has just forgotten how old we were when she trained us to do certain things. I'm not talking bad about my mother, I tell her that all the time.

min , my ma carried my baby to the basin n wash his butt there .
if he is at home wif me n hubby . i will wash his butt wif a spray while my hubby grabbed hold of him at his shoulders ( legs dangling over the toilet bowl)

toilet paper abit hard on their delicate skin . so we never use that .
augleo , can call polyclinic to make appmt ? sengkang is MACHINE operated leh

MMR Jab at Kinderclinic is 62.50!! (excluding consultation)

Hey mommies, for potty training is there a difference between using the "traditional" potty and the "Modern" kind? I have the traditional one left over from my wedding but tempted to buy the modern one since now they come in all shape,size,colors & even music!!

D
so far i only used potty for his poo business coz my boy normally poo after lunch. and i only succeeded when i make the 'hmm hmm' sound to encourage him to poo.
for boys, beta buy those red traditional tum pui coz modern ones are to shallow for them

think i will line the pot with toilet paper. now i will use toilet bowl cleaner to clean his potty.

cai
you are right .. toilet paper to rough liao
guess i will jus wash his butt over the basin

Meddy,
actually we bought a potty for him then I went to buy a seat for him. I thought easier just get him to potty on the seat straightaway don't need to transition him next time from potty to bowl. But that's just a theory lah...
Plus, he knows what the bowl is for...the potty to him is for sitting.

1524953.jpg

This is him way back in Nov.

"big biz"
after few months of using potty (blue color bought from KP) now he is on toilet seat.
End April, bought the pvc cushion type toilet seat from J.little (S$10.70 before 20%)
** w/cushion he can sit longer for trying.

** good timing, can save wipes and diaper.

** wrong timing, some will landed on diaper i will still move him to the toilet seat to let him feel the dryness.

** bad timing... almost done then i will let him be on the diaper.

jus 1 button down to flash no need to wash potty...still washing his bottom @basin.

meddy/ augleo
Wah .. the PDs are really making alota $$ :p But seriously, do u tink there are any diff with the vaccine?

Augleo
My impression of polyclinic is always the long waiting time, even wif appt. Has process change now?

coolD,
the person who takes down my appt. remind me that Saturday sure long wait.

as for the injection needle...i heard b4...dunno hw true.

Cai2,
i've their appointment line to make MMR appt.

Dlim,
Is this Jayden 1st jab from polyclinic?

leo , initially i want to brin him to ur pd too
coz i brot him for pneumococcal .
my pd @ sengkang costs 90 ++++ for MMR !

damn exp !

Yes, they will not have your record since this is yr 1st visit there.

One thing to take note -

When u call to make appt, pls inform them that u want to see the doctor 1st b4 injection
as this is their practise there.

The staff did not inform me abt this & end up, I wasted my time to re-queue to see
the doctor b4 im allow to take the injection.

oh u mean i hv to tell the staff take my appt. that i will b seeing doc.
oh dear, hw long hv u in the clinic?

thks again

Augleo,

Reached there ard 10am, my appt at 10:45am. The whole thing finished at 11:30am.

After the injection, u have to wait for another 15mins before u can leave cox the nurse
want to see is there any allergy / side effect.

Coold - kidslink .
but i must say the 3 jabs zac took there ( NOT a single tear ) he didnt even know

his maiden jab cry was at the bb n child clinic @ tampines .

hahaha , i just met lil Jesse , he is cute !

caicai
Really?? Maybe dats e px to pay for painless jabs :p jboy last time oso no cry when jab, but yday jab, he did. But he stopped once e needle removed. Than 2nd jab, cry again .. haha :p My mama says, when they r young, they dunno pain. But now older le, will know wats going on, which i tink its true.

Jabs

I think there's no difference with the vaccination at PD or Polyclinic lah. In fact, Polyclinic should be better since they probably have a higher turnover (according to my Dr friends lah). That said, PD clinic should be fine to...they were comparing to GP.

As for technique, if I knew Polyclinic so cheap, I would've probably gone there.

As for wait time, the last time we waited more than an hour (after appointment time) to see the PD for the jab and we were on time for the appt. So pay more doesn't mean don't need to wait either.

Lastly, as mentioned before Jesse's a wuss, he cries every time. so it really makes no difference polyclinic or PD. in fact, I tend to trust nurses more...

Btw, if I'm not wrong, at polyclinic if don't see dr, just go for jab, can cut queue.
Ask the nurse...

D: my colleague just told me they waited for 4 hours to see the doc (not baby ah) cuz they LOST her dad's medical records (they were just there last week). She told me there was another lady there crying, because she was there just 5 days ago and they also lost her records.

agent d,
me and the small boy have recovered. the big boy is still sick, so he didn't go to work yesterday and today. might bring the small boy to the PD this thursday to check him just in case, since his nasals sound blocked still, esp when he sleeps.

dlim and other mummies,
come to think of it, i don't know how much i pay for each PD visit and jab! cos i usually pay via CSC card, where they'll deduct the costs through my next pay check. i don't even bother to ask for a receipt. hmm, maybe if i start keeping track, then maybe everything will add up to quite a bit, since kaizer has gone for those extra skin patch tests and all.

Augleo
JK won't move abt when you place on toilet seat? hmm.. it really seem easier then potty leh.
when i wash the potty.. i wana puke oredi!!

s/w , is kaizer better now ?
he is allergic to egg white rite ,then how is he going to take MMR huh ?
D why u said jesse is a wuss , he is so well behaved n he listens to ur instructions !!!
my son ignores me most of the time

Leo,
which poly you going to? I called the Toa Payoh one, they mentioned sat appts are full for the next 1.5 months!!

Caicai,
you paid for the numbing creme? does it really work? The clinic mentioned that if wan to apply the creme must be there 0.5hrs before the jab..

Jessemom,
i agree there is not difference in the waiting time between PD and polyclinics. At my PD i have to wait at least 1.5 - 2.0hrs

meddy , ya . numb cream works ( we are usually 20min earlier @ pd )

the nurse will apply the cream on his thigh n we will wait for our turn ...despite hving appmt , usually still need to wait 1.5hr .very sianz .

D
Why would vacc be worse off at GP, as compared to PD or polyclinic? I am curious coz jboy has most of his jab at a GP.

Anyway, i hate to wait, especially when we had made an appt. That's probably 1 reason why I am sticking to my GP .. juz wait till we are like 2 more in q, quickly go down

Btw, was talking to Leo yday .. anybody know if poly carries all vaccines, especially the optional ones like Pnuemo, chic pox etc etc. I guess if the saving is alot, than it's worth the wait afterall ..

Last nite, I tried to rub some "Jing Feng San" onto Jayden's gum cox his 1st Molar erupting
from his lower teeth. Guess he was struggling when I tried to rub on his gum & end up his
gum was bleeding. My pillow all stained with his blood. What a lousy mom I am..
I feel so bad...

He has been so cranky & keep waking up & cried in the middle of the night. I also dunno
how to comfort him. End up have to carry & pat him back to sleep. Really dunno how long
this will last...

CoolD, I think Poly carries all except Pneumococcal. Maybe you can call the Poly which you intend to go, i was quite surprise that the customer service respond was quite fast & helpful.
What i heard was you only have to pay consultation for first visit. Subsequent just pay for jabs..that saves like abt min 60 bucks (if you are going to a pd now)

No time never log in. Seems like the discussion now is on vaccination at polyclinic.

Glynnis took most of her jab at poly, except those that they do not offer. My experience with them are quite good. The waiting time is not long either. The nurse told us to go for weekday if baby has to see doctor so that the queue is better, and there are not as many sick patient around. If going for jab only, they let me book Sat.

Dlim,
ya, dun upset...tell u...thrice liao, i found blood stains on hanky. that was after i brush his teeth. our toddler's gum are sensitive ...
btw, jus call the polyclinic appt. line again. the staff said 1st time must see doc 1st. she has directed me which room to go.

Meddy n cai2,
MMR jab appt @Tampines P.clinic
there is a phone# call for appt.

Min,
usually i will bring a stool and sit infront of him and talk to him + sound urmm..... to him.

more than thrice let him sit alone for less than 1 min ba (i went to next room to get his diaper n clothings)

my cher: innocent look?? (hb said blur blur look), eyes big big, forehead high high, hair little little. n 1 ba lu ku on forehead as she fell.
my ash: happy boy who wants to b 10yrs old, can't wait to grow up evyday. some days wan to b 22 yrs old..
1526948.jpg
1526949.jpg

i can share my experience on polyclinic vaccination. shannon has all her compulsary vaccin from outram polyclinic @ HPB

normal wait time (w/appointment) for vaccination is usually btw 15-20mins. however, there is 1 occassion that the nurse decides to refer to the doc b4 vaccination, i have to queue for doc consultation for another 30mins (with baby prority queue). but its was immediate back to tkae the vaccin after the doc consultation

so i think with appointment done and being there on time, it wont be a long wait

Hi Fong,

Me also quite satisfied with all the experiences.

I will normally book the earliest appt available so that there are lesser ppl. Normally by 30 mins, we will be done and out for breakfast.

Cool daughter : Poly don't have pneumo and rota.

hi Fong,
thks for sharing

D,
not really potty training yet...jus the timing.
After trying 10mins on the seat, he can poo on his diaper. ever 1 whole wk, no output if he sits on the seat loh.

coold,

yes, cos her bb din eat whole egg alone...
*hi 5* mi too..i bring my girl to GP for all her jabs...like u, i will call first b4 going down...LOL

dlim,
accidents do occurs, mi oso bad mummy, my girl fell off fr bed and a bum on her forehead..

Milo,

Oh no.. a bum on her head. Hope she is ok..

Yup I know. A fall is not so bad as long as there is no serious injury.

Now Jayden likes to run ard in the house & Im so worry that he may fall & knock onto sharp edges.