(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

cheese:
hw abt melt the cheese over the steaming hot pasta?

grind/blend food:
other than loin pork, other ingred. i dun grind/blend le.

coold: agree! we usually just leave it when he cannot fin his milk sometimes. sometimes even aft a whole night w/out milk he cannot fin 210ml in the morn.

But last night, he drank 210ml at 8pm, 210ml at 3am (usually we dun have midnight feeds but last night he was a little mr. fussy so boh bian) and 210ml at 7am.

Their eating habits are very very inconsistent one. No need to be overly concerned else we will be too stressed up.

Leo: You started giving soup+rice to JK le ah? How long does he take to eat?

Kelley,
those new fabric stuff (including cot bumper, pillow, bloster) i will throw everything in washing machine (using net).

** dun wash nappy cloth w/all these.

yo! Kate,
JK eats rice when he was 10mth old.
he prefers rice than porridge. the probl is JK dun like to chew!!!! i will add some soup into rice.
did i answer ur question?

Min : She is ok. Wouldn't. She like us to give her in bigger pieces. She will hold in her hand, take tiny bites, feed baba and mummy... When she don't want it anymore, she will give baba or sometimes throw on the floor or feed the dog... If we feed her in smaller pieces, she is not very interested.

Cai cai : I think from young, my MIL already gave her food in big pieces. She never blend food for her.

JK so advanced , eat rice liao while his counterparts still eating porridge . my sonny only eats porridge ONCE a day , he is still drinking cereals fm his milk bottle

Choking: The other day I had a food scare w Lele. His papa let him hold on to a whole grape. He was contented to hold it for a few mins while crawl-walking. I was in the kitchen then. He came to look for me and I saw he was chewing something in his mouth. His papa said Lele just pop the whole grape into his mouth. I was like, "what?" and he said, "no worries, I'm watching after him."
Not convinced, I asked hubbie to pick him up and attempted to feed him some water. After just one sip, he gave a few gagging sounds and vomitted the whole grape out!

Was quite angry with hubbie for not taking the whole grape out of his mouth the moment he popped it in, even tho he saw him do it. I mean, it was luckie Lele vomitted the whole piece out, but what if he did not? As both hub and I know no first aid, we would be helpless if the grape is stuck in the throat...

Makes me shudder just to think about the possible consequences...

Imagine my hubbie still quite relax when I tried to communicate my worries to him later... sigh...

Cai cai : Haa... Fishball definitely not the whole thing. Cut into half or even smaller.

Kate : Grape cannot lah... Tell your hubby to give pear, apple, payaya, banana... At least more safe.

caicai,
mine can't toddle so he's not a toddler

Min
I stopped blending a while ago, unless there's big chuncks of meat.

Leo
Wah...you're super detailed man. haha.

Let's see...lunch and dinner, usually porridge. And you know lah, I give instant rice/oats/barley with jarred food. Anyway, recently I've been giving less soft porridge. He likes rice too but find it hard to feed lah...the soup will erm...spill when I feed him. (read: don't like mess.)

Usually I'll make stock for this porridge consisting of 1 carrot, 1 tomato (if available), 1 potatoe...sometimes a handful of lentils. I'll take out the carrots and tomatoes before serving cos he has a tendency of turning "yellow". I mash the potatoes lightly. I also give cabbage. I've given tofu and eggs before and he likes them.

My question about tofu is this: so how do we keep the remaining tofu? Of do you just eat it as part of lunch/dinner?

Sometimes I give the abc pasta. I tried giving him big shell pasta last week but it took too long to feed him (got to cut to small pieces). So in the end, I just gave him my "instant mix". When I give pasta, I like to add some jarred food too...or one packet of a pigeon instant food (he hates anything with tuna).

As for recipe:
I tried this over the weekend (in smaller portion)
500gm beef (or chicken or pork)
5 carrots
8 potatoes
5 tomatoes
700ml of water

Boil water, add veges to boil and then add meat. Simmer for 20 mins. Sieve the ingredients and blend till smooth. Reserve water as stock for other meals. This is suppoesd to make 5 portions, so divide and freeze. To eat, just thaw and steam (I use my microwave) for 10 mins and that's it.

Jesse seems to like it and yes, he ate the carrots there.
It's like the jarred foods but homemade

As for my lunch/dinner. My MIL is the one who gives me those tiny bits of meat and fish (he loves salmon and cod) for Jesse's porridge so I can't share with him. It's like one bite-size worth! I usually eat junk...but I've been doing that for years
Dinner HB usually buys back.

I've also given him broccoli, cauliflower and whatever things I have in the fridge. What I type above is just what he usually has.

I can't give him dairy yet.

Dreamygal: I know grapes cannot but my clueless-but-too-proud-to-admit hubbie thinks it's okay. Duh...
When i asked,"why let him pop the whole thing in?"
he replied,"I'm watching over him what"
I retorted,"and what are you DOING then?"

cai: actually can try feeding cereal fr a bowl with spoon? they also have to get used to eating from a spoon ma.

cheese: I give "laughing cow" brand creamy cheese cos of the lower sodium content. MIL felt the slice cheese too salty to taste and might nt be good for Lele so I found an alternative. Usually I will use it over litely mashed potato&carrot and give as a meal.
My MIL will apply onto wholemeal bread and give him as snack.

augleo
we cannot trust MAN!!! my hubby also take things for granted
i almost faint when he fed him a spoon of oreo bits fm the base of my cheesecake knowing how heaty it is

and when i told him how worried i am when my son not drinking his milk.. he juz brushed it off.. very relax n not bothered at all

thats the diff betw man and woman

last nite was the first time i did not blend his steam pumpkin , brocoli and asparagus.

luckily he was ok as i juz cute pumpkin into cubes and only use brocoli florets for his mee sua

Jessemom
noodles is messy! when i feed him mee sua, he has it all over his mouth even after i oredi cut it the mee and soup also spill out

augleo
i think combi cutter shd hv got sale mah. its selling at $6 nett at KP so by rite shd be entitled to 20% off

the outlet mgr told me to stock up on Pigeon or Avent teats as they go OOS very fast

and pigeon juz raise its teat price to $6.40 from $6!!
so expensive.. was thinking if i shd juz switch to Piyo or no brand bottle instead

Jesse...
I like to feed caitlyn shell macaroni! I will stuff the minced meat (beef/chix/pork), spinach/brocoli or whatever ingredients i cook with and feed her the whole shell filled with food!

Men and women really operate differently! they just dun understand!!

min:
1)peel the potatoes (1 - 1 1/2 big ones) and carrot (half a medium-sized one)
2)cut potatoes in halves, and carrot into big chunks.
3)put in pot (I use claypot but any pot will do and cover w water (just enough to cover ingre if you want the water to be sweeter.
4)cover. use big fire to bring the water to boil.
5)when boiling, turn to low heat to simmer till contents are soft enough to gum(will break into pieces when poked w a chopstick,for example)
6)pick up the carrots and potato pieces. Mash lightly into pieces with fork.
7)mix with creamy cheese.

Note: steps 6 and 7 can be together.

min: sometimes after step 6, i will just put a piece of creamy cheese (last time it was slice cheese) on top and put into the microwave oven to melt the cheese before mixing them

Jesse
Hehe…the “Ang Mohs” always want their kids to be independent as fast as possible….guess using milk bottles is troublesome so quickly train using cups? Anyway, Asians have really different values lar…so it’s hard for us to follow them closely. But good thing about Asians is I find in general, the children are probably closer to the parents as compared to “Ang mohs”?…which I would prefer. :p

Regarding the “problem”…I’m a visual person…will “eat” things that “look good”.

Min
Dun need to go crazy over one occasion lar…like Cool_D & JesseM says…OK to have bad appetite once awhile…my case is quite different… more of “Dun Like” rather than poor appetite.

Min / JesseM
Dun forget my boy is also in the “Slow & Steady” motor skills development League!

Kate
My hubby is in Bermuda & Tees….very “Ah Pek”…but he has no qualms about my dressing…..to him, anything also can lar….Conclusion: He has no sense of fashion.

Woah…your hubby is certainly overly “fang xi” about the eating ability of Lele….my hubby is the careful type..overly careful sometimes! It’s me who wans to give bigger pieces coz my boy eats so fast…tot of give bigger piece more easier for my feeding. :p

Augleo
So how much rice does JK eat for every meal? One rice bowl? Sure is much easier for you to take care since he can eat the same as you.

Kelley,
u are refering to brand new items, so me oso refering to brand new nappy cloth leh.
due to the ma'tl i won't wash new nappy cloth w/the other.

Kate,
JK is eating "l.cow" spread (triangle pkt) too.
per 100gm "l.cow" sodium read 386gm n sliced cheese 700gm!!!!

Jesse,
if JK is taking porridge, me dun prepare stock. just plain porridge (brown rice/multi-grain + white grain rice) + steamed food.

Food:
my cher recently 'wei kou da kai'. i'm kiping my fingers crossed. all these while, she has been quite a small eater. my mum commented 6m old i c her eat tat tiny bowl cereal/porridge, 1 yr old still tat bowl. but recently yippee, she upgraded to a bigger kids size bowl n cld fin.
wake up: bfg
brkfast: 1 bowl cereal (somtx ask for more)
mid morning nap: bfg
lunch: 1 bowl porridge
2hrs later: bfg
b4 nap: bfg
dinner: 1 bowl porridge
1hr later: fruits
1hr b4 slp: bfg
b4 slp: bfg
somtx she snack on little bit rice biscuits/puff or fruits wen she is not slping or is too 'bored'.
i dun noe how much she is drkg since direct latch but she 'enjoys' being bf. i can c her diaper getting tighter n huggies ultra M finally is bursting. but she probably got high metabolism rate like mummy as she has grown taller but still not fat :p
(ash/my ent doc encouraged me to bf cher till 3 yrs old or as long as i can, i was like ah........ faintz..)

kate
thanks for detailed steps but whats diff betw creamy and slice cheese?
will carrot be soften as fast as potato?

Laughing Cow
I have one triangle with bread every morning! haha. My mom bought for Jesse...but I'm eating it instead.

I think baby bel is a good choice too.

Cindy,
you mean Caitlyn can "navigate" through a stuffed pasta shell the size of my thumb! So Clever!!
One day...one day...Jesse will get there...hehe.

SpringD,
So I guess you can't "eat" with blindfolds. :p

Yup, the culture is so different, and I think if we compare with other cultures, it'll be all different. That's why I don't really bother lah...at the end of the day, we just do what we think its good lor.

Leo
i just thought I should give it a little more flavour. I hated porridge when I was young...h.a.t.e.d it soooo much, I told my bro...you eat my share, I wash your bowl.

caicai - nope i am not.

pgal - yah we met. my boy was the one who crawled across the room and was very active

jesse - i woke up this morning having a stye in my eyes! dunt know what to do. i might hv to see a specialist

disney,
is it just a stye, is there any pus, swelling, etc? Anyway, I think a GP would do, unless you have reason to believe it's more than just a stye. It must be uncomfortable, hope you have time to get some shut eye. For now, if you have, use eye drops to sooth the eye and remember to wash your hands regularly (esp if you have contact with the eye). BBS won't get it from you by looking at you, but if he has contact if it, wash his hands...you probably already know that... *nag*

Me also like to 'upgrade' jboy to adult food. Nowadays, whatever I am eating, will juz give a little bit to him .. even bak gua yday:p But dan, it's really juz a little for him to explore new taste coz i still feel dat adult food too high in sodium etc.

Anyway, gd thing is dat jboy will ask for food when we are eating, but we give him a little bit, he is satisfy liao & will walk away. At times, he walk walk awhile dan will come back for more. Sometimes, he doesn't.

Augleo
Wanna go for the motherhood exibit together?

jessemom - ay yo i was abt to ask you how can my bb get that from me... it is swelling and becoming like a stye. well u just answered my question. thanks.... don:t worry abt nag... appreciate it.

Disney,
unless it's viral ("pink eye"/conjunctivitis) , it's probably not contagious but it's always better err on the side of caution. It's usually bacterial, so see a GP to get some medication/antibiotics. It'll last about a week.

If it's viral though, it's EXTREMELY contagious so do not touch your eyes or near it. Even if it's just to scratch a little, wash your hands. If your baby S touched you/it, wash his hands with soap. If you're "scared", put a compress on it (or even some folded tissue) and keep it closed.

It sucks but I hope you feel better by the end of the week.
Hang in there.

Michelle/ Mrs Chia
When Gladys bit me last time, I’ll really slap her mouth and bite her back to teach her a lesson. It sort of works for me. Now, the only time she’ll bite is when I brush her teeth with the finger brush.

Springdance
I thank my lucky stars that I do not have to stay with my MIL. You know, one mountain cannot accommodate two tigers.

Jesse
My maid still uses the broom. She rather use the broom than the vacuum cleaner.
I think by the volume of applause and the judges’ comments, the younger David will win this season although I give my vote to the older David. He’s so charming!

Kate/ Jesse
Gladys always wakes up in the middle of her sleep these couple of nights. Coz you know that time she was sick right? So I let her bunk in with me on my bed. So 2 nights ago I thought she’s well so I put her back in her own bed. Guess what, she wakes up and kept fussing. I tried patting her back to sleep but she’ll do it again like every 10-15 mins. I buay tahan, dump her on my bed and we both slept like pigs till the next day. Last night, same thing happen. I’m in trouble.

Dreamygal
Same! Gladys also enjoy feeding the dog when we’re at my mum’s. She’ll keep asking for bread/ biscuits, even though she had enough. Then she’ll keep breaking the crumps to feed my greedy dog. She also don’t like small pieces of food. Like biscuits, if it’s those broken pieces, she doesn’t even look at it! She very yim chim.

Gene,
I already know who won. haha... and yes, I very much prefer the older guy too. The younger one just seems sooo young. I actually liked Cook's songs better... but the young boy really sang his heart out.

eh...don't start what you don't want lah...it's easier to break the habit now than tomorrow, if you know wat I mean. She probably won't cry as hard if you keep her in her crib tonight and NOT take her out. If you do then she'll cry even harder the next time...and harder the next. It's why I refuse to let Jesse sleep in my room and it's a good thing he can't sleep in my bed.

Hi jesse, i am also watching it and hated that young kid. I think he has the vote of the teenagers but there was nothing special on the songs he had choosen. Yes, he sang his heart out. i cant wait to see tonight.....

gene , dun put her in ur bed
last time i saw a program , it says hving a baby in btw a married couple is not good for the marriage too . coz it is like the 3rd party ...
DUN let her sleep , let her cry out for sometime .