(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

Re: Temper
Remember I used to hit/scold YX when he's notti but no use lor. He'll give me the "I dare you to hit me look". But now, I realised when he cries and whimpers, I'll just look away without saying a word and he'll auto shut up. He's curious why mummy not looking at me?? hahahaa

Caicai/gene: My husband keep wanting me to employ a maid to upkeep my sanity when I become SAHM. He dun wan me to become huang liao po!

Re: P/T maid
I need to engage one to help too. I'm a 38-wang lian.
Anybody has contacts for P/T maid around that area?

Gene,
i hv part tx help at d moment. but we ar tinkg of employing a maid next yr as plan to take ash out of cc n enrol him in 3hrly K1. doubt i can cope wo 1 cos wld need to attend to ash n cook all meals. oso during school holidays, i wld hv to b w 2 young kids full day..
all along we prefer PT help but now dun noe shd i wait n c whether i can cope or get 1 b4 ash starts new school...
my hb does hsework, he noe i very tired coping w kids..
i hv frds whom hb wont touch a single hsework, even washing a cup. n w small kids at hm, they nid help like their mum or a FT helper.

Mrs Chia,
sorry abt my part tx help contact. she wen bk to her hm town for a while as her dad passed away. her frd was cleaning my hse n i tink they hv too many assignments oreadi tat many tx din pick up phone. i dun call her, she noe my schedule n is d 1 who call me regularly.
is gd to hv a part tx help...

Mrs Lai
Yupz I did…but not much difference….He’s taking NAN all the while…so the 1st brand I tried is Mamil Gold…but he wanna puke on 1st sip….so we mixed Mamil Gold & NAN together….no change in his milk intake…..after some time, I tried again to change….this time Enfa with NAN….around the 1st few times he finished what we give him (usually there will be leftover milk for all his milk feed)…was quite happy…then upon the 4th & subsequent time, back to square one…refuse to drink or drink very little again. So now back to juz NAN only.

Hmm…I did hear about adding MILO into the milk before but have not tried…maybe I should give it a shot… you mentioned about the boy drinking Pediasure…this means the boy is OK with the taste? Can drink quite a good volume?

Gene
In that case, you let your hubby know…if he want home-cooked food…gotta get a helper…unless he wan Gladys to walk around the kitchen when you cook, which is dangerous & oily!

The thing abt hubby doing housework .
my hubby helped me wif the laundry , he is the pic for sorting all the clothes , put inside washer , sun them and collect them. all done by him . i only nid to mop floor and look after my sonny over the weekend . sometimes he washes the dishes for me . hahaha

Springdance,
YX these days also not drinking. Both our boys same pattern lei. He's taking half an hour to finish just 100ml and no matter how hard I try, no means no....

I've tried vanilla flavour and added milo too but he still does not take it well. Sigh... force him to drink a bit more, he'll puke and that's it

springD , i recalled my sis drinking milo and milk when she was young . coz she doesnt like her milk , she is very skinny ( even to date, she weighs less than 40kg )
very petite type .... dun drink milk when small , when old , dun eat much , fussy eater

my hubby also lazy bum but he a hands on daddy so compensate lor.

as we stay under with his mum so also pampered son!
but recently my MIL not feeling well so i hv to do all hsework and desperately wanna maid but MIL reject voilently

n my hubby so lazy that can tell me to let the house be dirty lor then his sis will help to do hsework or they will allow me to get a maid

but i told him for my son's health , i rather sacrifice my time!

gene,
now wonder you keep the hours that you post. ur E very free with his $$ ! wahahahahaa....
so now where u staying in teban?

not drinking milk: how about goat's milk? Maybe a diff flavour...? Actually I heard that in the UK (colleague's sister is a mother there), mothers are greatly encouraged to TBF so most of the bbs drink bm. Even for babies who dun drink BM, there is no such thing as Formula/milk powder. Ready-made milk are being sold in a packet and served to baby just as it is.
No warming up whatsoever. Quite ex also. Hence most mothers choose to BF.

Once they turn 1 YO, most mothers will give cow's milk to their children.

Makes one wonder if formula, or the lack of it, is really so so so impt.

Afterall, the westerners seemed to thrive well on cow's milk.

kate,
my sis believes that with cows milk is as gd. my nephew is already grade 2 and he is growing well still. in fact, i remb at age3, he prefers to drink low fat milk.

my boy also recently does not wanna finish his milk leh! quite unlike him bcoz milk is his everything

he used to be able to down 270ml for last feed but last nite only finish 100ml

i also been giving my boy cow milk as snack

gave him Magnolia- strawberry flaver and mini packet of milo and vitasoy

MK: ya lor... my colleague's sis says everyone does that in UK. TBM/"pre-prepard" milk in infancy and then complete switch to cow's milk. Of course there must sure be some toddlers who dun take to cow's milk. But my impression of the westerners is they are not as gan cheong as us. Maybe they will just substitute cow's milk with something else!

oh, come to think of it... milk powder is from where one? My boy on enfa and it's from netherlands. So in netherlands do they take milk powder or not? If not then why do they produce milk powder and promote it?

actually there are formula milk in US and I believe UK too...just that they are so ex mothers either bf or give cow's milk instead.

hi everyone... got back last week but no energy to email or go out.

jesse - how r u ? ur elec bill is like mine. ours also went up since it was too hot. my serious work starts june so i have 10 more free days ;)

Cindy: Thanks for clarifying! Thought that FM nowhere to be found in western countries. Wonder why FM can be so ex there. Actually, FM is very ex here too. But we still give because strongly encouraged to give if cannot give BM...

Min: actually we are still on stage 2... hee hee... will switch when finish up the stock! I think I have a tin of enfagrow in my cupboard should be vanilla.

kate...
u r welcome! i think more or less the same pr lah (i dun really know how much a tin cost in singapore or US)...but i guess in US, fresh milk (and organic ones too)is cheap! And fresh milk is good!

Taro
Signzzzz…..dun understand why our boys hate milk so much….my boy’s mummy & daddy OK to drink milk ..but he’s not.

CaiCai
You are very slim yourself too…maybe the petite size runs in your family.

For girls it perfectly fine to be petite….. but I certainly hope Jonas will NOT grow up to be a petite boy.

Kate / MichK
Hmmm…..so maybe I should also give my boy Daisy, Magnolia or Meiji fresh milk a try? Only thing is that these milk dun have all the Omega ..DHA…AHA….etc etc.

Mrs Chia
I’ve shifted just before x’mas last year. It’s really far from Bishan but I’m just a block away from my mum.
Oh ya, bbJ bites real hard! But then he’s really cute so it makes up.

Caicai
Of coz, ah lian better than huang lian po! The later got no friends one leh.

Kate
Agree! That’s why I make it a point to look nice, or at least presentable, when I leave the house. I also pamper myself with mani/ pedi and on occasions, facials. Men will stray for sure, if we don’t ‘maintain’ our outlook.

Sanrio
Getting a maid is a better bet! At least you can sneak out for a breather, should you need some. With more than 1 kid at home is really insane. But then it’s a bet to get a good maid. I damn scared to get new maid coz not every time lucky to get a good one.
You’re really fortunate to have a hb who shares the housework. Rather rare these days!

Springdance
Gladys is on Pediasure now, coz she’s recovering from diarrhea and Pediasure is lactose-free. She loves the taste and always finishes her milk. Once, I took a sip and understand why. It’s really sweet and tastes pretty good, just like vanilla ice cream. Wondering if she’s able to switch back to her normal milk or not.
My hb is not against getting a maid. It’s my irritating MIL.

Michelle
I stay just behind Alfa Romeo’s showroom. Come here call me la.

SD: if I'm not wrong, according to wholesome babyfoods, it is perfectly fine to give milk to our children, but it advises that milk should not substitute FM because it does not have all the nutrients a growing toddler needs. Believe or not is up to you ba?

Or you can try pediasure which is a nutritional supplement for poor wt gain children.

SpringD
cow milk is not their main source of milk. i only give it as a snack or it goes with bread in morning but i don't give him everyday

so sad my boy got another mozzie bite on his face and hands..

his great grandfather likes to bring him down for walks so i guess thats whr he got those bites.
got them mozzie patch but forgot to use on my boy

and mozzie bites are scary.. big and red swollen patch

Min
I tot can substitute fresh milk with formula since my boy hates the latter … well...guess not then….

Gene / Kate
In that case, Pediasure does sound like a good option! Let me try call up the Co. see if I can get any samples to test waters on my boy. Thanks!

Gene
Your MIL not staying with you rite? If not, then dun need be bothered too much about her comments...after you get another maid and gets on fine, think she'll keep quiet after awhile.

Hey Disneytokyo!
Welcome back. Hope you had fun during your trip and your boy was happy there

I'm okay, exhausted by the weekend! And also bought a book (novel) and just finished reading it. Actually I bought 3 so 2 more to go... Yay!

Housework
I've already admitted that I'm probably one of the laziest SAHMs around... If I ever cook (which is like once a fortnight), my HB does the washing up. Even when I used to cook everyday, he does the wash up while I watch tv
We don't have helper now but he has been cleaning Jesse's mat and doing the floors about once a week. Probably my only good moment was when I ironed all the clothes (that needed it) yesterday. Some had been hanging there for a few weeks! The only thing I do is cook for J and laundry (exclude ironing). Slacker, right? oh well...he knew I was like that even before we were married.

Milk
If Jesse could take cow's milk, I'd give it to him. Most of the ppl I know in the US have already transitioned their children (Jesse's age) to full table foods (what adults eat) and cow's milk (as in fresh milk).

The first 6+ months of Jesse life, he had ready-to-feed formula which cost about US$6-7 for 32oz. It lasted one day. They sell powder formula there and concentrate as well (liquid concentrated formula, just add water - easier to mix and don't have to count scoops). There's such an amazing selection of formula in the US - all sorts of brands/types and in those 3 forms. Also, It's just one formula that's suitable from 0 - 12 months and then they switch to cow's milk. Some have mentioned a "step up" formula at 9 months but I think very few bother with that.

Cindy's right...there's just a lot more choice there when it comes to milk and it's cheap. HB used to be able to get lactose free milk relatively cheap there but now he can't drink milk again...it's hard to get and it's expensive.

Maid
I think it's good to have if can find a good one lah...and nowadays (cos economy still good) even the part time ones are super choosy. They want people close to their place and don't want to use broom only vacuum cleaner, etc etc...

Which makes me wonder... How many of you (or your maids) use broom to sweep the floor or has everyone already switched to using vacuum cleaners? This is besides wet mopping.

SD: About Pediasure, one of my colleagues using on her girl cos she had very poor appetite for milk and all foods since baby. She told me NOT to give pediasure chocolate cos very heaty.
Hmm...
Another one's giving Pediasure to her son cos she feels he is not of good weight (actually he looks of quite a good weight la).

Michelle,
I'm not from pg, both my parents are...I was born and raised here...just go back there a lot...since the rest of the family is there. Even now...
How about you? My mom attended SGGS and my dad was at PFS. The rest of my father's siblings attended CLHS and PH.

Kate,
was told by PD NOT to give pediasure to Jesse cos he's of good height and weight. hahah...she said, "he's doing well". hmm... :p Lele looks fine leh...

jesse: ya lor, I think lele is quite okay la. He dun need any supplement. Just that my colleague was very convinced that Pediasure can be given to my boy. Even when i told her no need since my boy eating well etc she still say "no harm trying la, jus a sup ma." haha...

I heard that Pediasure is a weight gainer. Maybe that's why your PD advised against giving it to your boy ba?

Kate,
yup...Jesse definitely doesn't need more weight!
It's one of or probably the only lactose free step up formula available and we can't give it to him. Headache about how to proceed...*sigh* Lele looks fine...don't worry about it lah. If you think/know he's alright, don't bother what other's "think".

jesse: regarding your prev question of whether anyone still uses broom to sweep floor...

I do...

Actually more accurate to say my (dinosaur) MIL does. We have vacuum cleaner but she says she dunno how to use so prefers to use broom. Just an excuse la. She prefers things oldstyle one.

But when during a few times when I sweep the floor, I use the broom over the vacuum cleaner, cos lele is asleep and I dun wanna wake him, so xin ku abit.

Milk:
if u look into d 'history' of Pe....re, it is actually a milk specially formulated/used for tube feeding to sick children. it contains high protein n sucrose as main ingredients. subsequently it was marketed as a milk supplement for fussy/picky eaters or children who ar very much underweight.
ash did take pedia for a while as it is almost lactose free. he likes cos it is sweet. but as d milk protein is very high n cause him to hv outbreak of ezcema, ended up tis is not for him oso.
i m 1 mummy who really worry my boy was lacking in many nutrients like calcium, DHA etc as he cld not tolerate milk at all. but his pd n ent doc kip assuring me tat he (kids af 1) dun nid milk at all if they are eating well. d absorption of nutrients fr food is much easier as compared to milk protein tat are hard to breakdown n digest.
me d ks mum still try to introduce milk/diary to him somtx but he just cant take it.
but i do give him fish oil/DHA supplement. pd told me he dun nid calcium supplement as he can get fr fish, meat, vege, tofu, brown rice etc..
n as kids grow older, is ok/normal for them to drk lesser milk which shd b d way, then they wld hv better appetite for solid food.

i'm back in singapore and back at work! had a very good break in bintan. thanks for all your b-day wishes =) super busy at work today since i'm rushing to finish up stuff so that i can take friday off again!

jessesmom,
the insects annoyed me too! but spa was relaxing (i went to the one at angsana instead of the one at banyan tree), the sea view at the room was great, had dinner at the beach, hotel provided b-day cake, managed to catch the sunrise from the room, and service was impeccable. enjoyed my stay there, but dun think i will be going back there again cos i've already decided that my next bintan destination would be club med! child friendly + can bring the baby along!

Jesse,
i dun use broom. i use d magic clean 'mop' if i want a quick one to get rid of dust esp under d bed/sofa minus d trouble of a vacuum cleaner.

Sanrio/Kate
Hahah…hmmm…..Seeing your comments…I am quite sure if I ask my son’s PD whether to give him Ped****re…...he will say “No Need” coz even though he dun drink FM, he’s eating solids (porridge & cereal) and is not underweight (50% percentile). But hor…this mummy here KS lah and dun feel at ease… has a “old-fashion” mindset that babies & toddlers should drink milk… :p

Jesse
Me being notti again...so for the US people...must always consume fresh milk...either from human or cow... :p

Sanrio: That's great tip you gave
I used to use the magic broom when in Japan. Found that it was not as thorough as the vacuum cleaner. But your suggestion to use it for a quick clean of dust under bed and furniture is good!

Mummies, anymore tips for the SAHM-to-be to save her from huanglianpo-ness?

i use magic mop ( those fake types ) not the magiclean one ! very clean too . i use the dried type to mop the hair strands, the wet type to wipe the floor

if i still very energetic , i wil use my blue sponge mop to wipe wif water + dettol