(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

cai2,
i more easy, wherelse my husb and ILs are more protective. haiz.. i want her to crawl more, wherelse ILs are more careful coz their houes got dog and scared K crawling 2gether with the dog. so she has less time crawling.
she only crawl on bed

but yesterday, she was alseep on the mat on the floor, then ILS was outside living room watching TV. she crawled out from the bedroom to the living room

michk,

ai yah.. my maid throw the packaging away liao.. i tell you what, i pack a small portion for you on Friday, you let K tries on weekend. If she likes it, then you go and buy from NTUC. I saw only one brand in NTUC, Rivervale plaza.

micK: my dogs even lick my gal and my gal will attempt to kiss them. I don't stop her from touching them either ... she will crawl straight through, over the head of the dog or the body, she doesn't care. So the dogs learn to give way to the bulldozer liao ... I think, if dun expose to germs and what not, I scared next time she will always fall sick. So better to start building some immunity now. Thankfully my dogs are shed free :p

Kelley,

i put carrot, spinach and potato. I cut all in very mini tiny pieces, then cook together with the ABC pasta. It tastes good. i added more water to make it like creamy soup, Ning just simply love it. It's very soft after cooked, so i think bbs like it.

Darbebe
Coz at night then I can get to relax and enjoy myself as everyone else’s asleep. I get to read a bit of book, or watch TV. That’s my ‘me’ time! Luckily my gal wakes up late.

Caicai
She drinks quite a bit of water. She’s got a Barney’s bottle and she can finish ¾ of it, so I guess that’s quite a lot for a bb. Now I’m thinking is it I didn’t give her enough fruits coz I’m not a fruit person so I didn’t really force her to have any.
Ya, I do give her apples, bananas and papayas but not daily though.

Augleo
I don’t know if it’s safe though coz I was desperate and there isn’t any other options so I just give it a try. At least it helps. Maybe I should go to the medical hall and get some bb ones to stand by.
Ya, bbG has eaten pumpkin, heng chye, sweet potato. In fact, she has eaten most stuff. Very ‘fan’ leh. Makes me a very incompetent mummy.

J&R
Huh, must switch over like that ah. But then she has been taking Nan3 for 2 months already (since 10 months). How ah?
I didn’t use the whole bottle of the ‘atomic bomb’ though, just about ¼ only. So should be ok right?

Kate
Ya, I’ve let bbG tried the Dumex milk powder also and found it a bit moist as you said. She eats all the things you’ve stated and drinks a lot of water so I’m not sure where the problem lies and I thought it could be due to not eating enough fruits. I thought of diluting her milk coz it could be the milk powder too heaty for her but then she’s not drinking enough already and by diluting it, she will be getting lesser nutrients from it leh.

Mrs Lai
She’s having Nan3 for 2 months already but her constipation problem is not consistent just that it’s quite often. Is it due to too much iron? Coz sometimes I add a piece of pork liver into her porridge, though she’s not eating it la. I do feed her yoghurt but she doesn’t like it and it ends up in my system. I sometimes give her Vitagen (less sugar) and she also doesn’t quite like it. She avoids fruit juices too. Argghhh..
Yes, prunes. I forgot about it too. Can those preserved but unsweetened ones do? I think Traz mention before but I forgot.

Ixora
I got those from Bake It Yourself store at Bt Timah.

Cool Daughter/ Ixora
I think she is taking enough water that’s why I’m quite lost and still guessing what the problem is. I’ll try giving her prune juice but not sure if she’ll be drinking it though. Btw, what brand do you recommend?

Sanrio
Actually I also thought of sticking to Nan2 but then Nan3 is cheaper lor.
I hope bbC is ok. I know how you feel. We always blame ourselves when our precious bb hurt themselves. It’s like, we could have avoided the accident but we didn’t. But anyhow, since it happened already and bbC is ok, don’t blame yourself la. I know you’re feeling very upset but I’m sure bbC has forgiven you. You are her mommy dearest leh.

Min
She’s only drinking 1 x 120ml in the day. Ok, I’ll remember your 3 Ps. Thanks!
For the cheese cube, if toast liao will chao da or not?

Springdance
Same lor. I don’t give fruits daily and she’s very selective on fruits.

Gene
You mean 3/4 bottle a day? jboy drinks like 4-5 mag mag cups of water a day. Is it too much/ too little? Btw, i dun give him fruits everyday too :p

any suggestion on how to change the habit of drinking water off the milk bottle to those mag cups? my gal refuses those mag cups and only wants her btl. i think it quite embarrassing for her to keep drink off the btl since she is 1 now

aprilmum,

r u gals meeting on fri @ compasspt? If so, I can join in!

Can leave sch at 1+ that day. Tuition at compassheight at 3pm....so can meet u in between

I want to hv some of the pasta too! Think i saw some recipes in the archives...but just now no time to trace and read ...hope tonight will hv the time and energy to do so.

I want to buy the magic pot...my electricity bill is $200+ ever since MIL stays over during wkdays! Used to be abt $100 only...

And i feel so stressed abt watching fire/water level etc...can't rest properly...

yday felt so tired...i actually skipped dinner and KOed from 7pm-1am...woke up to eat something...slept again from 2am-5am...

Still feeling very tired now...hippo is having runny/blocked nose + cough and cant sleep/eat well...caught the bug from infant care. Thought of not sending him to the centre these 2 days but too paiseh to take child sick leave...just started work mah...although i'm feeling giddy and sick, and i know my gynae will sure give me MC if i see him, still dun feel good abt doing it...

haiz...

and my pimply face feels itchy all the time!!!! This time very jialat...small and reddish "dots" all over my face, esp on my forehead....everyone says its a boy for me....boohoohoo...

Traz
How did ur ultility times 2? Anyway, everytime i read ur post, i will feel dat u r pushing urself too hard leh .. now wif #3 you lagi more need to relax & rest more, take care of yourself.

Btw, I also thinking of buying the magic pot. Seems like the most convenient way of cooking bb's food

traz,

ya.. we're meeting on friday @ compasspoint. Morning 10.30am, Ning having her trial class (kindermusic). So, after the trial class, I'll go direct to CP to meet you all. Sure, i will pack for you too

ai yo, you better take care!! If really not feeling well, dun be pai seh to take MC!! Now you're preg, need to take extra care! I think the magic pot can decrease some of your stress too. i can say that it's worth buying!

Gene: I suddenly something an acquaintance told me. She is a preschool owner and teacher. She told us that one of her kids suffers from long-term consti due to some "internal" problem (forgot what that is liao, sorry!). So in her case it's not diet. If babyG tried everything and yet still have consti, perhaps you might want to bring her for more detailed check-up by the PD?

Magic pot: yes,I agree it really is very convenient for preparing baby food! My magic cooker comes w 2 pots. So I'll use the big pot for staples (porridge/pasta) and the small pot for ingredients (such as root vege).
But need some trial and error to get the "softness" just right. If left for too long in cooker, the stuff will become too soft...

Ixora: Ya lor. Now I can log in more often liao... on the sly la. hee ...

Sanrio
Much appreciated for your description of nectarines…think I know how it looks like liao.. saw b4.

My house also not as nice as b4 liao…it’s only 2 year old (brand new when we moved in)…still remember that time reno, we go on forums to find out where to get all the nice furniture, displays, accessories….now is like heck care….cannot imagine the big mess that will happen when we do the grilles…I should have been more ‘practical’ when we did reno…never think of child safety…only wan house to be nicely designed. Hiaz….now very headache….furniture also got many sharp edges.

Michk
Hmmm….Nectarines must be really sweet…K love them too ya?

Aprilmum
The ABC pasta boil with the vege for how long? Need to add salt to taste?

Gene
Jonas also dun like yogurt…wan to puke at the 1st mouth….I think he dun like anything that have some sourish taste.

Pork liver porridge taste really nice though…must be fresh….I given my boy once or twice b4….

Michelle,
if u want organic, d brand of the abc pasta is Eden. abt $6+ a pkt (cum in a small box) bigger ntuc outlets, cold stoarge shd hv.

Aprilmum,
i din send cher to any pd for her fall. she is happy, active, eating well today. how is Ning tat tx? she fell fr bed or ? hb still asking me shd send her to kk for check or not??

Gene,
cher cant fin her magmag 180ml of water a day. but since she is tbf, i din really monitor her water intake. since gladys is 1, u can try half a ripened sweet kiwi, very gd for constipation. my frd's bb (1 yr+) has bad constipation, anus area tear n got blood. her pd advised kiwi n more water or diluted prune juice. apple, banana not tat 'effective' to ease constipation.

fong,
mayb u can try to let ur princess suck from the straw/drink from mag after she taking biscuits (or something dry). thirsty do help them to drink better

augleo
i tried this method . but jboy only bcomes more angry when he is thirsty n can't suck .. haha. End up still change back his sprout.

Kate
Sorry, I am sure u ladies were talking abt this before .. what's the brand of the magic pot & how much is it?

SpringD,

i cooked with gas for 20mins, then put in the magic pot. after 1.5-2 hours like that, i take it out for Ning's meal. I never add oil/salt, just pure carrot, potato and spinach + water + ABC pasta.

Sanrio,

Ning fell from my bed. My bed quite high type. Her mouth full of blood, cos teeth gum "bang" the floor and got slight cut. Imagine, i was holding her with her bleeding mouth.. it's scarrryyyy!!! my T-shirt got her blood also cos i was hugged and calmed her in my arms that time. In KK emergency, they did X-ray scan for her, cos i told them her head and face "bang" the floor.

the DR. told me to monitor for 8 hours, if everything ok, she is active and can eat/drink well.. then shd be alright. Really thank GOD!

Sanrio,

I hope you're feeling better and that cher has forgotten all about it. Babies are very hardy but I completely understand how traumatising it is for you...

J&R,
Hope baby is doing better...Jesse once slipped on the floor too and bit his lips but flesh didn't get caught. Hope for a speedy recovery.

SpringDance,
Can check if the installation ppl wrt Grilles. I installed my curtain rods and a few months later blinds after we were all settled. Also drill into the wall. But they have this new type of drill that vacuums as it drills. Not dusty at all. Got the guy to help with drilling holes on the wall for my picture frames as well. Really good.

ABC Pasta
What is it? Is it just alphabet pasta? Or does it stand of some other special thing?

Magic Pot
I bought one last week from FP Xtra at Hougang (1.7l, $40+, if I remember correctly). Still experimenting with it (water volume etc)...can't really get rice to be really soft (unlike stove top cooking) but it's soft enough for Jesse to eat lah. I agree that it's a lot easier to cook for baby with it since it's less time involved...esp since now alone with baby. (E.g. if I don't have it, I'll be standing at the stove cooking his dinner instead of sitting on the couch surfing! He's taking a nap

I usually dump everything in the bigger pot and I have already stored away the smaller pot.

Friday Meet Up
Are you meeting at 10:30am or is that the time of Ning's trial? Would love to try to meet up as well...but we'll see because Jesse has a viral thing going on but it's clearing...

Gene
Have you tried rubbing the tummy (not too hard) in a CLOCKWISE direction around the belly button? It works for Jesse...Usually he'll go about 30 mins after.

Wish I could chat more but it's really not easy being alone with him...last time maid can watch him for 5- 10 mins and I sit where I can see them play and I can post here and there. Now, I have to keep my hands off the computer otherwise, he'll also want to "use" it. sigh...He slams on it so hard, I'm afraid it'll spoil (laptop).

Thread has also been moving too fast for me to follow!

Okay, guess it's time to go check on him now...I'm a really lousy mom. I'll deliberately close one eye on him and he has fallen off the couch so many times in the last few days, he's afraid to come down from it by himself anymore!

cai cai: i got from B-I-Y at newton. Phoon Huat also sells them, most of this baking specialist shops will sell them. I using plastic disposable bags also, cuz too lazy to wash the "permanent" bag. I am also eco friendly since i use parchment bags ;P

jesse,

join us!! 10.30am is the time for Ning's trial class. For the meeting in CP, you check with michellek. Cos i'll be slightly late for the meet up after the lesson
.. we'r meeting ixora and traz also. Anyone wanna join??

coolD,
oic, mayb u try let Jordon "play with the straw" with his lips for cont' few days.
1 day he will master of sucking from the straw.

BTW, izzit John Little sale @EXPO again?
coz earlier, i saw 2 aunties holding J.Little EXPO sale plastic bags.

Jesse,
dun worry, u can do better.
initially me can't cope too...keep thinking i m a lousy SAHM. things will get better

ABC pasta = alphabet pasta

SongHE rice - i saw it in giant vivo city last weekend and also in cold storaage last week.

sanrio - dun take it hard on yourself, these accidents happen.

darbebe, michk, caicai, sanrio, cool_d,
yup will install the grille soon.. hv asked for quotations le..

michk,
yup she climbs to my chair, my bed, sofa, and the activity walker.. that day it juz striked me when i see the walker near window.. what if she climbs near the window.. scary..

aprilmum,
tks for offerring, i got the ABC pasta too.. bot a very small pack fr the provision shop nearby, 70cts only.. jo din like it.. mayb i'll try Augleo's method, steam with apples..

so fri is on ah? i can make it at 130 cos need to feed jo lunch first..

jesse,
do join us! i'm bringin my gal...

Augleo
JL has a bazaar sales at Tamp Central. The field opp Tamp mall. I did not see any JL Expo sales banner this morn so I dun tink there's anything at Expo.

oh Cool_D,
I see... that bazaar sales is there for quite sometime le.. i thot it was pasar malam... did u chk there out? any gd buys?

Augleo/ Ixora
Was at Tamp mall yday & look over only. Raining, so me din go over.

Talking abt gd buy .. I am looking for :-
1) forward facing car seat
2) Tricycle with hand bar to prevent bb from falling off
3) magic pot

Any1 know where to buy them .. gd & cheap ones, coz really broke. hehe.

Hi CoolD,
My son also doesn't know how to suck from straw.

Augleo, I have let Xyrus tried sucking from the straw but he only bite the straw.

ixora,
showed WS joannie PS standing, sitting on your chair
so envious.. K can only climb to the bed, if she some1 gives her a hand up. (meaning stand on the palm)

we meet at 12 again on friday ok? swensen ???

Beyond,
after few bites i'm sure Xyrus will suck from straw 1 day

must cont' give him to "bite" or to play with the straw.

kelley dear , i also short of the barcode , i more deprived than u . i short of 2 :p
most prob will go and buy when there is a carrefour 10% rebate :p over the weekend .
talking abt car seats , coolD , did u see any cheap deals @ TAKA fair , i saw the ferarri brand type , 170+++ nia . dunno cheap or not .
i got a handmedown fm my uncle . so i dunno abt mkt price .

kelley: sorry leh we dun use huggies ultra =(

I just saw cindy's baby is so advanced!

At 11 months, Lil' Angel...
Can kiss Mommy! <--- my gal only kissed my maid ONCE
Stands well independently <--- nope
Able to walk with assistance <--- NOPE
Loves to talk...using her own language... <--- only "mum mum mum" and "ba ba ba" and screaming :p
Can say "Cow", "Car" &amp; "Blue" <--- NOPE!
Knows quite a no. of words - she can point to the items correctly when asked <--- *sigh* NOPE

is my gal very slow?

Where would you go to buy baby boy's clothes? Jesse's grandparents (my in laws) would like to buy a birthday outfit for him (plus shoes) TOMORROW!

Beyond,
Jesse also didn't know what to do with a normal straw. But I bought him a rubbermaid water bottle with a straw (hard plastic, white) and he miraculously could suck from it! We were very surprised...didn't expect him to do it. He has been drinking water that way ever since. I think he still doesn't know how to drink from a normal straw.

Cool_D, Cai cai,
I bought our car seat (maxicosi) for over $400! But I called around and price was about there.

Bought a packet of ABC pasta from Carrefour the other day...will try it on Jesse tomorrow.

What time is the lunch meeting on Friday? And Where?

Mrs Lai - NO, i dun think so! i saw your bb during gug trial. She is not slow! Her eyes communicate a lot. You shld keep on talking to her even while you are doing something. I think it will help

had PS at foto u last friday.

baby belle was very cranky. benjamin was very patience and tried his very best to make baby belle smile &amp; laugh.

the most tiring were daddy, mummmy &amp; benjamin. ;p

p/s: posted some pics in the blog.

gene: maybe u can monitor how much meat or veggies that are high in iron you are giving baby? Like if liver soup, then dun add spinach, etc.

You can use dried figs instead of prunes, if you worried about preservatives / sweeteners. Bunalun has some, my bro was working there part time and he bought 1 particular type - must go and check i cannot rem what it is. it is VERY sweet on it's own, and normally can soak in hot water before giving baby. If u are giving cereal still, i think can mash with it and serve to baby?

Sigh my bro just told me today his last day, I still haven't stock up on her brown rice yet! He bought me some organic wolfberries and I almost fell off my chair when he told me how much it was. The normal pack we buy from hock hua is like $2 to $4 and is quite a big pack rt? I think the jar, maybe 1/3 of the pack cost $29! So each time i use some on my gal's porridge, I keep thinking, there goes $1 !

Hi Everyone!

Just saw some of u meeting up this friday @ Compass Point. I may be able to make it....can someone pls sms me @ nine eight four four five nine one three when venue &amp; timing confirmed?? Thanks!! Sure miss seeing u all...

Aprilmum,
oops, u mus hv a big shock too. thank God our babies are ok.

Meeting up at compass point:
so sad... sk is too far for me else i wld brg cher. my hb dun hv 'customers' there leh..

Jesse/ caicai
400+ for car seat abit out of my budget .. Caicai's 170+++ can consider tho':p

But Taka bb fair over oredi?

KSS,
Saw belle's PS pix from the blog .. nice. I like e one wif whip n mixing bowl. Cute
U brot the props?