jesse: <font color="0000ff">Pork</font>
My MIL also grinds her own meat cos she's quite particular about food quality and doesn't trust the stuff they use in meat stalls. She doesn't own a blender so she just chop chop into very small pieces. Alot more work than blender/grinder lor... In order to prevent the meat from clumping together when cooking in hot water, she will first add some drinking water to the pork and mix together, before adding the meat minus water to the porridge. She uses "wu hua rou" (5 flower meat) cos she says it's much more tender than other parts.
<font color="0000ff">staying w MIL</font> <font color="ff0000">*hugz* to Jessemum</font>
Thanks for your opinions and suggestions on the matter. It really got me thinking... I agree w you that when MIL is the main caregiver, then have to close one eye to the way they do things. That's why I never insisted that she let lele self-feed or eat w hands, or quit the bottle etc. I let her do her style. But when I'm @ hme at night or weekend i will let lele do the above.
Yes it gets messy and cleaning up can be a chore but I dun mind it. Since lele sits in high chair to eat, only the high chair, himself and the surrounding area gets abit dirty. I get quite pissed when mil comment zui zui even thou I already said that I will do the cleaning up. Ya... it's her territory ma. So cannot expect to do things my way... That's why wanna move out soooooooooo bad. but then hub is the eldest son so he wants a flat in d area. but in my area the resale flats so crazy prices cannot afford. bto flats will take a couple of years. Now it's a matter of stay-home-w-mil or work-till-house-comes. I still haven decided yet.............
michK: it makes suchq great deal of diff whether we stay in their home or they stay on ours lor. For me it's not 2 queens, but 2 tigress! Haha! one mountain cannot conceal 2 tigress. Always tell my hub that. If I get a breather away from them like during the weeknights and weeekends, I think I'll be able to tolerate much more!
Shirley: Thanks for the advice! Very useful coming from someone who actually living w MIL fulltime! But we no maid (now my house no space for a maid... else sure will get one!) Regarding greeting MIL. I always ask lele to greet nainai or go to nai nai etc. But she kept on continuing her ways till I super DL liao. Now I treat her the same. Bad of me hor. I know.
Move out? DEFINITELY. but as I "mentioned" above to jessemum, currently not poss.
Hub is in diff position too. He is eldest son ma, so cannot really say much. He sees both sides of the situation like Jessemum analysed, which makes it all the more diff to take sides. So he just keep mum, smile at the situation or advised me to stop dwelling on the negativities. But he is not at home early most of the time what. So it's much easier for him. For him it's his territory but for me I feel like I dun belong in that home.
Cai Cai: Thanks for well-wish
After venting out here I feel better le... We dun wanna put lele in childcare till at least a couple of years (3 years) cos we both feel that it is best to build strong foundation in child (let him build strong value sys) before putting in childcare. That;s why I just feel very "lang4 fei4" that he spends the whole day w ILs without them "teaching" him anything, not even independence, as opposed to our original intention of letting one parent (me) stay home to nurture the kid.